DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on May 12, 2026 has been received and considered. Claims 2 and 9 and canceled. Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the new limitation “wherein the bonding layer overlaps the welded portion” (at line 16) is unclear.
Referring to FIG. 2, the new limitation reads as a bonding layer 500 that extends radially outward across an upper portion 202, down the entire length of a side wall 201, and radially inward beneath the button cell and towards the bottom plate 300, such that the bonding layer 500 wraps around to the bottom side of the button cell 1000 to overlap the welded portion 600. Referring to FIG. 4, the new limitation also reads as a bonding layer 500 that extends radially outward across the upper portion 202 and down nearly the entire length of the side wall 201, such that the bonding layer 500 wraps around to nearly the bottom side of the button cell 1000 to overlap the welded portion 600. Such configuration of the bonding layer 500, however, contradicts the disclosure.
Applicant (see arguments at paragraph bridging pages 5-6) states that support for the new limitation may be found in the specification at paragraph [0067], which states,
“The welded portion 600 is formed by a welding process in which a welding means (mechanism) such as a laser beam is irradiated in a vertical direction VD between the sidewall 201 of the case 200 and the bottom plate 300. Even if the bonding layer 500 overlaps the sidewall 201 of the case 200 and the first stepped portion 230 in the vertical direction VD, an interference due to the welded portion 600 is not generated in the bonding layer 500 and an interference with respect to the welded portion 600 is not generated by the bonding layer 500 when the welded portion 600 is formed. That is, welding between the case 200 and the bottom plate 300 is easily performed by the welded portion 600 and interference by the welded portion 600 is avoided.” (with emphasis added).
However, the new limitation lacks the key phrase “in the vertical direction”.
As best understood, when a vertical direction VD (vertical axis, shown by dashed-line) is drawn through the sidewall 201 of the case and the first stepped portion 230 or the second stepped portion 310 (which is also the location of the welded portion 600), the vertical direction VD can further intersect the bonding layer 500.
See the annotated FIG. 2 and 4 below:
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector]
Accordingly, an interference between the bonding layer 500 located in the upper portion of the button cell and the welded portion 600 located in the lower portion of the button cell is avoided, and a short circuit between the case 200 and the terminal plate 400 is prevented (see, e.g., specification at paragraph [0068]).
The remaining claims are also rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 113826250 A) in view of Ochi (US 2023/0037438 A1) and Chen et al. (CN 115101861 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yan et al. discloses a button cell (i.e., a button battery 100; see, e.g., FIG. 1, 2, 7, 21, 36; see translation, in particular, at the underlined portions), comprising:
an electrode assembly 30 comprising a first electrode (i.e., a second pole piece 32), a second electrode (i.e., a first pole piece 31), a separator (i.e., a third layer 35) between the first electrode and the second electrode, a first electrode tab (i.e., a second metal part 321) extending from the first electrode 32, and a second electrode tab (i.e., a first metal part 311) extending from the second electrode 31 (see translation at paragraph bridging pages 12-13);
an exterior body (i.e., a first conductive part 10) accommodating the electrode assembly 30, the exterior body comprising a through hole (i.e., an opening 121) exposing an upper central region of the electrode assembly 30 and a bottom wall (i.e., a first wall 111) connected to the first electrode tab 321;
a terminal plate (i.e., a second conductive part 20 comprising a first part 21 having a plate-shaped structure; see translation at page 12, second paragraph) insulated from and bonded to the exterior body 10 (i.e., by a material of a first layer 40) to cover the through hole 121, and connected to the second electrode tab 311; and
a bonding layer (i.e., the first layer 40; translation at page 10, second to last paragraph; page 14, fifth paragraph) between the exterior body 10 and the terminal plate 21, the bonding layer being configured to insulate and bond the exterior body and the terminal plate (i.e., the first layer 40 comprises an insulating material, such as a high molecular polymer, to insulate and seal the first conductive part 10 and the second conductive part 20).
Yan et al. discloses that the exterior body 10 (see FIG. 7) comprises:
a case (i.e., a concave part 11 comprising the bottom wall 111 and a side wall 112) accommodating the electrode assembly 30, the case 11 comprising an opening exposing an upper portion of the electrode assembly 30; and a top plate (i.e., a second wall 122 of a cover part 12) coupled to the case to cover the opening; wherein the top plate 122 comprises the through hole 121 exposing the upper central region of the electrode assembly 30; and wherein the case 11 comprises the bottom wall 111 connected to the first electrode tab 321.
Yan et al. fails to disclose an exterior body having the claimed construction, in which the exterior body comprises:
a case accommodating the electrode assembly 30, the case comprising the through hole 121 exposing the upper central region of the electrode assembly 30 and an opening exposing a lower portion of the electrode assembly 30; and a bottom plate coupled to the case to cover the opening, wherein the bottom plate is connected to the first electrode tab 321.
Ochi discloses a button cell (i.e., a secondary battery 20,30, FIG. 2-3; preferably having a button shape, FIG. 9(a), paragraph [0146]), comprising:
an electrode assembly 10 (see FIG. 1(A)-(B); paragraph [0034]) comprising a first electrode 1, a second electrode 2, a separator 3 between the first electrode and the second electrode, a first electrode tab (i.e., a tab 27,37) extending from the first electrode, and a second electrode tab (i.e., a tab 26,36) extending from the second electrode;
an exterior body 23,33 accommodating the electrode assembly 10, the exterior body 23,33 comprising a through hole (i.e., a cavity 25,35) exposing an upper central region of the electrode assembly 10, and a bottom wall connected to the first electrode tab 27,37;
a terminal plate (i.e., an electrode terminal 21,31 comprising a plate 22,32) insulated from and bonded to the exterior body 23,33 (i.e., by a layer of insulating material 24,34) to cover the through hole 25,35, and connected to the second electrode tab 26,36; and
a bonding layer (i.e., the layer of insulating material 24,34) between the exterior body 23,33 and the terminal plate 22,32, the bonding layer being configured to insulate and bond the exterior body and the terminal plate (paragraphs [0089],[0123],[0127]).
Specifically, Ochi discloses that the exterior body 23,33 can be constructed in the manner of one of two embodiments:
In a first embodiment, which is similar to Yan et al., the exterior body 23 (see FIG. 2) comprises: a case (i.e., a cup-shaped member 23b) having an opening exposing an upper portion of the electrode assembly 10, and a top plate (i.e., a lid-shaped member 23a) coupled to the case 23b via a welded portion (i.e., joined together, such as by a welding process; see paragraph [0082]) to cover the opening; wherein the top plate 23a comprises the through hole 25 exposing the upper central region of the electrode assembly 10, and wherein the case 23b comprises the bottom wall connected to the first electrode tab 27.
In a second embodiment, which is the same as the claimed structure, the exterior body 33 (see FIG. 3) comprises: a case (i.e., a cup-shaped member 33a) having an opening exposing a lower portion of the electrode assembly 10, and a bottom plate (i.e., a lid-shaped member 33b) coupled to the case 33a via a welded portion (i.e., joined together, such as by a welding process; see paragraph [0082]) to cover the opening; wherein the case 33a comprises the through hole 35 exposing the upper central region of the electrode assembly 10; and wherein the bottom plate 33b comprises the bottom wall connected to the first electrode tab 37.
Chen et al. also discloses a button cell (i.e., a button battery 1; see FIG. 1-2; second translation, in particular, at the underlined portions) comprising:
an electrode assembly 15; an exterior body comprising a case (i.e., a shell 11 comprising a side wall 110 and a bottom wall 111) accommodating the electrode assembly 15, the case 11 comprising a through hole 1111 exposing a lower central region of the electrode assembly and an opening 1101 exposing an upper portion of the electrode assembly; a plate (i.e., a cover plate 12) coupled to the case 11 to cover the opening 1101, and connected to a first electrode tab (i.e., a second tab 17) of the electrode assembly; a terminal plate (i.e., a cap 13) insulated from and bonded to the case 11 (i.e., by a first insulator 14) to cover the through hole 1111, and connected to a second electrode tab (i.e., a first tab 16) of the electrode assembly; and a bonding layer (i.e., the first insulator 14) between the case 11 and the terminal plate 13, the bonding layer 14 being configured to insulate and bond the case to the terminal plate.
Specifically, Chen et al. (see translation at page 4, second to last paragraph, to page 5, first paragraph; with emphasis) discloses,
“In the prior art, the cover plate of the button battery and the cap are located at the same end of the shell, so that the distance between the cover plate and the cap is very close, when the cover plate and the shell are welded, it is very easy to damage the insulating connection structure between the cap and the shell, so as to reduce the whole sealing performance of the button battery.
… the present disclosure provides a button battery, the cover plate 12 and the cap 13 are respectively located at the two ends of the side wall 110, cover plate 12 and the cap 13 is far away; when the cover plate wall 110 for laser sealing welding, the heat generated by the welding will not affect the insulating connection structure between the cap 13 and the bottom wall 111, so as to ensure the whole sealing performance of the button battery.”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the claimed structure, which includes a case and a bottom plate coupled to the case via a welded portion to cover its opening, for the exterior body in the button cell of Yan et al. because the claimed structure was considered a suitable alternative construction of the exterior body for accommodating the electrode assembly, as taught by Ochi, and, furthermore, with such construction, the bottom plate and the terminal plate would be located far away from one another, at the respective ends of the sidewall of the case, and, as such, when the bottom plate is coupled to the case by a welding process, the heat generated by the welding process would not affect or melt the bonding layer located between the case and the terminal plate, and the whole sealing performance of the button cell would be ensured, as taught by Chen et al. (see translation at page 2, first and second paragraphs; page 3, twelfth paragraph; and page 4, second to last paragraph, to page 5, first paragraph).
Thus, in the modified button cell of Yan et al. (FIG. 21, 36), the location of the welded portion would be shifted to the lower portion of the button cell, such that the welded portion welds a sidewall 112 of the case to a bottom plate 111, and the bonding layer 40 overlaps the welded portion in the vertical direction. See the annotated figures below:
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 3, Ochi (see FIG. 3) further discloses that the case 33a comprises a side wall (i.e., the cylindrical wall), and the welded portion is located between the sidewall and the bottom plate 33b.
Regarding claim 8, Yan et al. (see FIG. 21 and 36) discloses that the bonding layer 40 protrudes from the terminal plate 20 in a direction toward the side wall 112.
Regarding claim 10, Yan et al. (see FIG. 21) discloses that the terminal plate comprises: a flange portion (i.e., a first part 21 of the second conductive part 20) covering the through hole 121 and in contact with the bonding layer 40; and a protrusion (i.e., a second part 22 of the second conductive part 20) extending from the flange portion, passing through the through hole 121, and connected to the second electrode tab 311.
Regarding claim 11, Yan et al. (see FIG. 21) discloses that the bonding layer 40 is in contact with the flange portion 21 and the protrusion 22. Such bonding layer configuration may be provided when it is desired to increase the extending path of the bonding layer 40 and the space occupied by the bonding layer 40, so as to enhance a fluid tightness of the button cell (see translation at page 15, second paragraph).
However, in other embodiments (see, e.g., FIG. 3, 5, 6), the bonding layer 40 can be configured to be in contact with the flange portion 21, but not in contact with the protrusion 22 (i.e., a gap exists between the first layer 40 and the second part 22 (see translation at paragraph bridging pages 14-15).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious design consideration for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the bonding layer 40 to be in contact with the flange portion 21 but not in contact with the protrusion 22 in the modified button cell of Yan et al., on the basis of suitability for the intended use thereof, because either bonding layer configuration would have satisfactorily sealed the terminal plate to the case. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP § 2123.
Regarding claim 12, Yan et al. (see FIG. 21) discloses that each of a rear surface of the protrusion 22 in contact with the second electrode tab 311 (i.e., a surface 222(C) of the second part 22 in contact with the first metal part 311) and a front surface of the flange portion 21 not in contact with the bonding layer 40 (i.e., an outward facing surface of the first part 21) is flat.
Regarding claim 13, Yan et al. (see FIG. 21) discloses that an area of the rear surface 222(C) of the protrusion 22 is smaller than an area of the front surface of the flange portion 21.
Regarding claim 14, Yan et al. (see FIG. 21) discloses that a length of the second electrode tab 311 is shorter than a length of the first electrode tab 321.
Regarding claim 15, Yan et al. (see FIG. 21) discloses that the housing 10 has a same polarity as the first electrode 321 (i.e., since the first conductive part 10 is connected to the second metal part 321, and the parts 10,321 have the same polarity); and the terminal plate 20 has the same polarity as the second electrode 311 (i.e., since the second conductive part 20 is connected to the first metal part 311, and the parts 20,311 have the same polarity).
Therefore, in the modified button cell of Yan et al., the case and bottom plate would have the same polarity as the first electrode 321, and the terminal plate 20 would have the same polarity as the second electrode 311.
Regarding claim 16, Yan et al. (see FIG. 1, 21) discloses that a ratio of a height to a diameter of the button cell 100 is 1 or less (i.e., its height is less than its diameter).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 113826250 A) in view of Ochi (US 2023/0037438 A1) and Chen et al. (CN 115101861 A), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Cao et al. (CN 113497297 A).
Regarding claim 4, Ochi (see FIG. 3) fails to disclose that the sidewall (i.e., the cylindrical wall of the cup-shaped member 33a) comprises a first stepped portion recessed to correspond to the bottom plate 33b, wherein the bottom plate 33b is received in the first stepped portion.
Cao et al. discloses a button cell (see FIG. 1-2) comprising: an electrode assembly (i.e., an electric core 1); a case (i.e., a second shell 22) accommodating the electrode assembly, the case 22 comprising an opening; a plate (i.e., a first shell 21) coupled to the case to cover the opening; and a welded portion welding the case 22 to the plate 21; the case 22 comprising a sidewall (i.e., its cylindrical wall), and the welded portion is located between the sidewall and the plate 21. Specifically, Cao et al. discloses that the sidewall can further comprise a first stepped portion (i.e., an inner convex step in the second shell 22; FIG. 5; translation at page 9, fourth and fifth paragraphs) recessed to correspond (i.e., provide a matched sealing connection) to the plate 21, with the plate received in the first stepped portion.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first stepped portion in the sidewall to correspond to the bottom plate in the modified button cell of Yan et al. because the first stepped portion would help match the bottom plate to the case and avoid a displacement between the bottom plate and the case during the sealing process, so that the bottom plate and the case can be reliably sealed together, and the risk of liquid leakage would be greatly avoided, as taught by Cao et al. (see page 9, fourth and fifth paragraphs).
Regarding claim 5, Cao et al. further discloses that the welded portion is in the first stepped portion (i.e., a sealing connection mode by a welding process in the inner convex step between the first shell 21 and the second shell 22; see translation at page 9, fourth paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Ochi (see FIG. 3) fails to disclose that the bottom plate 33b comprises a second stepped portion recessed to correspond to the sidewall (i.e., the cylindrical wall of the cup-shaped member 33a), wherein the sidewall is received in the second stepped portion.
Cao et al. discloses a button cell (see FIG. 1-2) comprising: an electrode assembly (i.e., an electric core 1); a case (i.e., a second shell 22) accommodating the electrode assembly, the case 22 comprising an opening; a plate (i.e., a first shell 21 as a cover plate) coupled to the case to cover the opening; and a welded portion welding the case 22 to the plate 21; the case 22 comprising a sidewall (i.e., its cylindrical wall), and the welded portion is located between the sidewall and the plate 21. Specifically, Cao et al. discloses that the plate 21 can further comprise a second stepped portion (i.e., an inner convex step in the first shell 21; FIG. 8; translation at page 9, fourth and fifth paragraphs) recessed to correspond (i.e., provide a matched sealing connection) to the sidewall, wherein the sidewall is received in the first stepped portion.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second stepped portion in the bottom plate to correspond to the sidewall in the modified button cell of Yan et al. because the second stepped portion would help match the bottom plate to the case and avoid a displacement between the bottom plate and the case during the sealing process, so that the bottom plate and the case can be reliably sealed together, and the risk of liquid leakage would be greatly avoided, as taught by Cao et al. (see page 9, fourth and fifth paragraphs).
Regarding claim 7, Cao et al. further discloses that the welded portion is in the second stepped portion (i.e., a sealing connection mode by a welding process in the inner convex step between the first shell 21 and the second shell 22; see translation at page 9, fourth paragraph).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 12, 2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to the Ochi reference, Applicant (at page 6, second paragraph) argues,
“As illustrated in FIG. 3 of Ochi, reproduced below, Ochi discloses a secondary battery 30 including an exterior body 33 including a cup-shaped member 33a and a lid- shaped member 33b, an electrode assembly 10, an electrode terminal 31, and insulating material 34. However, the insulating material 34 does not overlap the weld between the cup-shaped member 33a and the lid-shaped member 33b.” (with emphasis added).
Referring to FIG. 3 of Ochi, the Office agrees that the insulating material 34 does not overlap the weld between the cup-shaped member 33a (case) and the lid-shaped member 33b (bottom plate) in the vertical direction. In other words, when a vertical axis (dashed-line) is drawn through the welded portion located in the lower portion of the button cell, the vertical axis does not intersect the insulating material 34 located in the upper portion of the button cell. See the annotated figure below:
[AltContent: connector]
Therefore, in view of the amendment to claim 1, the rejection of claims 1-3, 8, 15, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ochi (US 2023/0037438 A1) is withdrawn.
With respect to the combination of Yan et al., Ochi, and Chen et al. in the rejection of claim 1, Applicant (at the paragraph bridging pages 6 and 7) argues,
“Additionally, as illustrated in FIG. 21 of Yan, reproduced below, Yan discloses a battery 100 including a first conductive part 10 including a first wall 111 and a first sidewall 112, a second conductive part 20, an electrode assembly 30, and a first layer 40 including a first region 41 and a second region 42. However, Yan discloses that the first wall 111 and the first sidewall 112 of the first conductive part 10 are integral with each other rather than welded to each other. Accordingly, Yan fails to disclose that the first layer 40 overlaps a weld between the first wall 111 and the first sidewall 112.”
Applicant (at page 7, second and third paragraphs) further argues,
“Moreover, there is no apparent reason that a person of ordinary skill in the art would be led to combine the teachings of Ochi and Yan to achieve a button cell including "a welded portion welding the case to the bottom plate, wherein the bonding layer over- laps the welded portion," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Furthermore, Chen and Cao fail to remedy the deficiencies of Ochi and Yan. For the aforementioned reasons, neither Ochi, nor Yan, nor Chen, nor Cao, whether taken alone or in combination, disclose, teach, or even suggest at least the abovementioned limitations of independent claim 1, and there is no apparent reason why a person having ordinary skill in the art would have, upon reviewing the cited references as a whole, combined or modified their disclosures in such a way as to arrive at the claimed embodiment of claim 1.”
The Office respectfully disagrees.
In response to the arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Also, in response to the argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, the button cell of Yan et al. (see FIG. 21, 36) is the same as the claimed button cell, except that Yan et al. fails to disclose a welded portion being located in a lower portion of the button cell, between a sidewall of the case and a bottom plate. Therefore, the secondary references to Ochi and Chen were relied upon to teach this missing feature.
Ochi discloses a button cell 20 according to a first embodiment (in FIG. 2) and a button cell 30 according to a second embodiment (in FIG. 3).
In the first embodiment, the button cell 20 comprises a welded portion (paragraph [0082]) between the cup-shaped member 23b (case) and the lid-shaped member 23a (top plate), such that the welded portion and the bonding layer 24 are located at the same end of the button cell— in the upper portion of the button cell. The construction of the button cell 20 of Ochi is therefore like the construction of the button cell of Yan et al.
In the second, alternative embodiment, the button cell 30 comprises a welded portion between the cup-shaped member 33a (case) and the lid-shaped member 33b (bottom plate), such that the welded portion and the bonding layer 34 are located at opposite ends of the button cell— the welded portion is located in the lower portion of the button cell while the bonding layer 34 is located in the upper portion of the button cell. The construction of the button cell 30 of Ochi is therefore like the construction of the claimed button cell.
In addition, Chen et al. discloses a button cell 1 (see FIG. 1-2) comprising a welded portion (at location A) between the side wall 110 of a shell 11 (case) and a cover plate 12, such that the welded portion A and the bonding layer 14 are located at opposite ends of the button cell— the welded portion is located in the upper portion of the button cell, as illustrated, and the bonding layer 14 is located in the lower portion of the button cell, as illustrated. The construction of the button cell 1 of Chen et al. is therefore like the construction of the button cell 30 of Ochi and the claimed button cell. Note that the image is simply rotated by 180°.
Chen et al. further establishes motivation for locating the welded portion and the bonding layer at opposite ends of the button cell. In particular, Chen et al. (see translation at page 4, second to last paragraph, to page 5, first paragraph) discloses,
“In the prior art, the cover plate of the button battery and the cap are located at the same end of the shell, so that the distance between the cover plate and the cap is very close, when the cover plate and the shell are welded, it is very easy to damage the insulating connection structure between the cap and the shell, so as to reduce the whole sealing performance of the button battery.
… the present disclosure provides a button battery, the cover plate 12 and the cap 13 are respectively located at the two ends of the side wall 110, cover plate 12 and the cap 13 is far away; when the cover plate wall 110 for laser sealing welding, the heat generated by the welding will not affect the insulating connection structure between the cap 13 and the bottom wall 111, so as to ensure the whole sealing performance of the button battery.” (with emphasis added).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the button cell of Yan et al. by shifting the location of the joint to the opposite side of the button cell— so that the joint (welded portion) was located in the lower portion of the button cell, between a sidewall of the case and a bottom plate, and the bonding layer was located in the upper portion of the button cell, because either joint location would have been suitable for the construction of the exterior body, as taught by Ochi, and, furthermore, by locating the welded portion and the bonding layer at opposite sides of the button cell, the heat generated during the formation of the welded portion would not have affected or melted the material of the bonding layer, and the whole sealing performance of the button cell would be ensured, as taught by Chen et al.
Accordingly, in the modified button cell of Yan et al. (FIG. 21, 36), the welded portion welds the case to the bottom plate, and the bonding layer 40 overlaps the welded portion in the vertical direction. In other words, when a vertical direction (vertical axis, shown by dashed-line) is drawn through the welded portion located in the lower portion of the button cell, the vertical direction intersects the bonding layer 40 located in the upper portion of the button cell. See the annotated figures from the rejection of claim 1, above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Yan et al. (US 2024/0021966 A1) is the English language equivalent to Yan et al. (CN 113826250 A).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
* * *
/JENNIFER A LEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774