DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagae et al. (US 20210384550 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20200343582 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kumagae discloses a method for producing a rechargeable battery comprising at least one lithium-ion cell in which a negative electrode, a positive electrode, and a solid electrolyte are arranged (paragraphs 0013, 0032, 0105), comprising: mixing an electrolyte suspension comprising an electrolyte material for creating the solid electrolyte; creating a green sheet using the electrolyte suspension (paragraphs 0053-0057, 107-109); and applying a protective layer onto the green sheet (paragraphs 0132-0136, figure 8C, protective layer 50). Kumagae does not explicitly disclose that the protective layer comprises a base element for a lithium alloy.
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the protective layer is made of an oxide of an alloy of Li and another metal (Li paragraph 0037, equivalent to comprising a base element for a Li alloy). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layer of Li in the battery disclosed by Kumagae. Doing so would suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kumagae further discloses sintering the green sheet together with the protective layer so that the solid electrolyte is formed from the green sheet (paragraphs 0132-0136, figure 8C, battery layers are sintered together).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kumagae is silent regarding forming the negative electrode during a formation process in that lithium is conducted from the solid electrolyte using an electrical voltage to the protective layer, so that a lithium alloy is created from the base element and the lithium.
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the anode lithium alloy is formed by charging the battery, using the protective layer as the precipitation starting point (Li paragraphs 0050, 0099). The reference teaches that the resulting structure provides excellent battery characteristics (Li paragraph 0033). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the anode formation method disclosed by Li in the battery of Kumagae. Doing so would provide excellent battery characteristics.
Regarding claim 4, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kumagae further discloses mixing a suspension; and applying the suspension onto the green sheet for creating the protective layer (paragraphs 0132-0134, figure 8C). Kumagae is silent regarding the suspension comprising the base element.
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the protective layer is made of an oxide of an alloy of Li and another metal (Li paragraph 0037, equivalent to comprising a base element for a Li alloy). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layer including the base element of Li in the green sheet suspension disclosed by Kumagae. Doing so would suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kumagae is silent regarding wherein the base element and the electrolyte material are configured such that the base element has a melting point that is higher than the sintering temperature of the electrolyte material. Kumagae does disclose a sintering temperature of the battery laminate of 550°C to 5000°C (paragraph 0116).
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the protective layer is made of an oxide of an alloy of Li and at least one of Mg, Au, Al, and Sn, and preferably Mg in order to increase charge-discharge efficiency (Li paragraph 0037, Mg, Au, and Al having a melting temperature greater than the lower bound of the sintering temperature of Kumagae). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layer including the base element of Li greater than the sintering temperature of the electrolyte disclosed by Kumagae. Doing so would suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer and improve charge-discharge efficiency.
Regarding claim 6, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kumagae further discloses sintering the green sheet together with the protective layer (paragraphs 0132-0136, battery layers are sintered together). Kumagae is silent regarding applying a current collector onto the protective layer prior to sintering. Kumagae does disclose applying the current collector to the laminate battery prior to sintering (paragraphs 0109, 0113, 0135).
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the current collector is applied to the protective layer to form the anode active material (Li paragraphs 0034, 0049-0050, figure 1, anode layer is precipitated after the current collector and protective layer are disposed on each other). The reference teaches that the resulting battery structure provides excellent battery characteristics (Li paragraph 0033). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the current collector and battery layer positioning disclosed by Li applied before sintering as disclosed by Kumagae. Doing so would suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer and improve charge-discharge efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 8. Kumagae further discloses that the current collector is formed by a metal film (paragraph 0060), and further comprising applying the metal film while dispensing with an additional binder (paragraphs 0060, 0109, 0114, current collector sheet includes additional binder and is attached to battery assembly, equivalent to attaching while dispensing additional binder).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kumagae further discloses sintering the green sheet together with the protective layer so that the solid electrolyte is formed from the green sheet; mixing an electrode suspension, comprising an electrode material, to create the positive electrode; and applying an electrode layer onto the solid electrolyte with the electrode suspension (paragraphs 0123-0124, 0132-0136, figure 8C, battery layers are sintered together).
Regarding claim 9, Kumagae discloses a rechargeable battery, comprising: at least one lithium-ion cell in which a negative electrode, a positive electrode, and a solid electrolyte (paragraphs 0013, 0032, 0105), wherein the solid electrolyte comprises a mixed electrolyte suspension comprising an electrolyte material; a green sheet configured from the electrolyte suspension (paragraphs 0053-0057, 107-109); and a protective layer being applied to the green sheet (paragraphs 0132-0136, figure 8C, protective layer 50). Kumagae does not explicitly disclose a lithium alloy comprising a base element configured from the protective layer.
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the protective layer is made of an oxide of an alloy of Li and another metal (Li paragraph 0037, equivalent to comprising a base element for a Li alloy). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layer including the alloy including the base element of Li in the battery disclosed by Kumagae. Doing so would suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 9. Kumagae further discloses that the green sheet is sintered together with the protective layer so that the solid electrolyte is formed from the green sheet (paragraphs 0132-0136, figure 8C, battery layers are sintered together). Furthermore, Claim 10 is considered a product-by-process claim. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 9. Kumagae is silent regarding the negative electrode is configured such that lithium is conducted from the solid electrolyte using an electrical voltage to the protective layer, so that a lithium alloy is created from the base element and the lithium.
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the anode lithium alloy is formed by charging the battery, using the protective layer as the precipitation starting point (Li paragraphs 0050, 0099). The reference teaches that the resulting structure provides excellent battery characteristics (Li paragraph 0033). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the anode formation method disclosed by Li in the battery of Kumagae. Doing so would provide excellent battery characteristics.
Furthermore, Claim 11 is considered a product-by-process claim. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113). Kumagae discloses the battery and negative electrode comprising a lithium alloy (paragraph 0039). Therefore, as Kumagae discloses the positively recited structure of claim 11, the claim is unpatentable.
Regarding claim 12, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 9. Kumagae further discloses wherein the protective layer comprises a mixed suspension, wherein the mixed suspension is applied onto the green sheet (paragraphs 0132-0134, figure 8C). Kumagae is silent regarding the suspension comprising the base element.
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the protective layer is made of an oxide of an alloy of Li and another metal (Li paragraph 0037, equivalent to comprising a base element for a Li alloy). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layer including the base element of Li in the green sheet suspension disclosed by Kumagae. Doing so would suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer.
Regarding claim 13, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 9. Kumagae is silent regarding wherein the base element and the electrolyte material are configured such that the base element has a melting point that is higher than the sintering temperature of the electrolyte material. Kumagae does disclose a sintering temperature of the battery laminate of 550°C to 5000°C (paragraph 0116).
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the protective layer is made of an oxide of an alloy of Li and at least one of Mg, Au, Al, and Sn, and preferably Mg in order to increase charge-discharge efficiency (Li paragraph 0037, Mg, Au, and Al having a melting temperature greater than the lower bound of the sintering temperature of Kumagae). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layer including the base element of Li greater than the sintering temperature of the electrolyte disclosed by Kumagae. Doing so would suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer and improve charge-discharge efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 9. Kumagae further wherein the green sheet is sintered together with the protective layer (paragraphs 0132-0136, battery layers are sintered together). Kumagae is silent regarding applying a current collector onto the protective layer prior to sintering. Kumagae does disclose applying the current collector to the laminate battery prior to sintering (paragraphs 0109, 0113, 0135).
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the current collector is applied to the protective layer to form the anode active material (Li paragraphs 0034, 0049-0050, figure 1, anode layer is precipitated after the current collector and protective layer are disposed on each other). The reference teaches that the resulting battery structure provides excellent battery characteristics (Li paragraph 0033). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the current collector and battery layer positioning disclosed by Li applied before sintering as disclosed by Kumagae. Doing so would suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer and improve charge-discharge efficiency.
Regarding claim 15, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 14. Kumagae further discloses that the current collector is formed by a metal film (paragraph 0060), and the metal film is applied while dispensing with an additional binder (paragraphs 0060, 0109, 0114, current collector sheet includes additional binder and is attached to battery assembly, equivalent to attaching while dispensing additional binder).
Furthermore, Claim 15 is considered a product-by-process claim. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113). Kumagae discloses the metal film current collector attached to the battery assembly. Therefore, as Kumagae discloses the positively recited structure of claim 15, the claim is unpatentable.
Regarding claim 16, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 9. Kumagae further discloses wherein the solid electrolyte is formed from the green sheet by sintering the green sheet together with the protective layer, wherein the positive electrode is formed from a mixed electrode suspension comprising an electrode material, and wherein an electrode layer is applied onto the solid electrolyte with the electrode suspension (paragraphs 0123-0124, 0132-0136, figure 8C, battery layers are sintered together).
Regarding claim 17, Kumagae discloses a method for producing a rechargeable battery comprising at least one lithium-ion cell in which a negative electrode, a positive electrode, and a solid electrolyte are arranged (paragraphs 0013, 0032, 0105), comprising: mixing an electrolyte suspension comprising an electrolyte material for creating the solid electrolyte; creating a green sheet using the electrolyte suspension (paragraphs 0053-0057, 107-109); and applying a protective layer onto the green sheet, and sintering the green sheet together with the protective layer so that the solid electrolyte is formed from the green sheet (paragraphs 0132-0136, figure 8C, protective layer 50). Kumagae does not explicitly disclose that the protective layer comprises a base element for a lithium alloy.
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the protective layer is made of an oxide of an alloy of Li and another metal (Li paragraph 0037, equivalent to comprising a base element for a Li alloy). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layer of Li in the battery disclosed by Kumagae. Doing so would suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer.
Regarding claim 18, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 17. Kumagae is silent regarding forming the negative electrode during a formation process in that lithium is conducted from the solid electrolyte using an electrical voltage to the protective layer, so that a lithium alloy is created from the base element and the lithium.
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the anode lithium alloy is formed by charging the battery, using the protective layer as the precipitation starting point (Li paragraphs 0050, 0099). The reference teaches that the resulting structure provides excellent battery characteristics (Li paragraph 0033). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the anode formation method disclosed by Li in the battery of Kumagae. Doing so would provide excellent battery characteristics.
Regarding claim 19, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 16. Kumagae further discloses mixing a suspension; and applying the suspension onto the green sheet for creating the protective layer (paragraphs 0132-0134, figure 8C). Kumagae is silent regarding the suspension comprising the base element.
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the protective layer is made of an oxide of an alloy of Li and another metal (Li paragraph 0037, equivalent to comprising a base element for a Li alloy). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layer including the base element of Li in the green sheet suspension disclosed by Kumagae. Doing so would suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer.
Regarding claim 20, modified Kumagae discloses the limitations of claim 16. Kumagae further discloses sintering the green sheet together with the protective layer (paragraphs 0132-0136, battery layers are sintered together). Kumagae is silent regarding applying a current collector onto the protective layer prior to sintering. Kumagae does disclose applying the current collector to the laminate battery prior to sintering (paragraphs 0109, 0113, 0135).
Li discloses an all-solid-state battery which is, by disposing a protective layer comprising a composite metal oxide in the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer, configured to suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Li paragraph 0033, figure 1, protective layer 18 between anode layer 13 and solid electrolyte layer 11). Li further discloses that the current collector is applied to the protective layer to form the anode active material (Li paragraphs 0034, 0049-0050, figure 1, anode layer is precipitated after the current collector and protective layer are disposed on each other). The reference teaches that the resulting battery structure provides excellent battery characteristics (Li paragraph 0033). Li and Kumagae are analogous because they both disclose solid state batteries with protective layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the current collector and battery layer positioning disclosed by Li applied before sintering as disclosed by Kumagae. Doing so would suppress an increase in the resistance of the interface between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer and improve charge-discharge efficiency.
Conclusion
/B.T.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1727 /Maria Laios/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727