DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant submits that Gupta in view of Thompson does not expressly disclose a soundscape recording comprises AR comprising AR sounds associated with the target environment that are native to the target environment and have not been recorded. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Thompson (¶0046) discloses, “The object-based spatializer can be used in a… artificial reality system (such as, for example, an augmented or virtual reality system)… Each of plural (M) artificial sound objects can be defined within the soundscape. For example, in a forest soundscape, a bird sound object high up in a tree may be defined at one xyz position (e.g., as a point source), a waterfall sound object could be defined at another xyz position or range of positions (e.g., as an area source), and the wind blowing through the trees could be defined as a sound object at another xyz position or range of positions (e.g., another area source)… The sound of the waterfall object could be captured from a real waterfall, or it could be synthesized in the studio.” The waterfall in the augmented reality soundscape is a native sound to the target environment (forest) that has not been recorded (instead synthesized in the studio).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1, 8 and 15, it is unclear if “that have not have been recorded” is intended to be “that have not been” or “that have been” recorded. For the purposes of examination, the claims are interpreted as “that have not been recorded.”
Claims 2, 4-7, 9, 11-14, 16 and 18-20 are rejected for depending on the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (US 2011/0160882 A1), hereinafter “Gupta,” in view of Thompson (US 2023/0132774 A1).
As to claim 1, Gupta discloses a system (¶0001) comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 1.); and
logic encoded in one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media for execution by the one or more processors (¶0098) and when executed operable to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving an environmental recording of a target environment (¶0038. “the encoded stream with embedded environmental parameters is provided to the environmental parameter based decoder 110.”),
wherein the environmental recording comprises a soundscape recording (¶0034, Fig. 1. “a system 100 for providing an immersive surround environment for enhanced content experience, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. In various embodiments of the present invention, enhanced content experience includes viewing, listening, feeling, touching or any other sensory experience related to the rendered content. The system of the invention uses environmental parameters to extend existing concepts of `surround` sound and vision to provide an immersive experience to users.” A soundscape is a sound or combination of sounds that forms an immersive environment. The sound use to form an immersive environment reads on the claim.);
transmitting the environmental recording to at least one home entertainment system (¶0038, Fig. 1. “The media and environmental parameter splitter 112 splits the media output from the environmental effects. The media output is provided to audio/visual equipment for rendering the stream. In an embodiment of the present invention, environmental effects from the media and environmental parameter splitter 112 is provided to the environmental effect playback system 114.”); and
enabling the at least one home entertainment system to present the environmental recording such that a presentation of the environmental recording replicates the target environment in an immersive experience (¶0038, Fig. 1. “The system 100 controls the environment so that the viewer is fully involved in the audio-visual scene, experiences what is going on and becomes part of content happening.”).
Gupta does not expressly disclose wherein the soundscape recording comprises augmented reality (AR), wherein the AR comprises sound AR that comprises AR sounds associated with the target environment that have not have been recorded, and wherein the AR sounds are native to the target environment.
Thompson discloses wherein the soundscape recording comprises augmented reality (AR), wherein the AR comprises sound AR that comprises AR sounds associated with the target environment that have not have been recorded, and wherein the AR sounds are native to the target environment (Thompson, ¶0046 and ¶0049. “The object-based spatializer can be used in a… artificial reality system (such as, for example, an augmented or virtual reality system).” “Each of plural (M) artificial sound objects can be defined within the soundscape. For example, in a forest soundscape, a bird sound object high up in a tree may be defined at one xyz position (e.g., as a point source), a waterfall sound object could be defined at another xyz position or range of positions (e.g., as an area source), and the wind blowing through the trees could be defined as a sound object at another xyz position or range of positions (e.g., another area source).” “the sound of the waterfall object could be captured from a real waterfall, or it could be synthesized in the studio.” Waterfall example of native sound to a target environment (forest soundscape) that has been synthesized and not recorded.).
Gupta and Thompson are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to immersive audio.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art for the soundscape to augmented reality, as taught by Thompson. The motivation would have been to simulate sound sources so we perceive them having realistic spatial locations in 3D space (Thompson, ¶0004).
As to claim 2, Gupta in view of Thompson discloses wherein the soundscape recording comprises 360-degree spatial audio (Thompson, ¶0017 and ¶0048. “This enables a sound designer to precisely position sound sources in a soundscape, creating the illusion of realistic 3D sound.” “The resulting collection or library of sound files 109 can be stored (FIG. 1A block 208) and used to create and present one or more sound objects in a virtual 3D soundscape.”).
The motivation is the same as claim 1 above.
As to claim 4, Gupta in view of Thompson discloses wherein the environmental recording comprises one or more images (Gupta, ¶0013 and ¶0040, Fig. 1. “the media stream includes, but is not limited to, an image stream.”).
As to claim 5, Gupta in view of Thompson discloses wherein the environmental recording comprises metadata associated with the target environment (Gupta, ¶0047 and Figs. 1 and 5. Real time environmental parameters, such as temperature, wind velocity, humidity, light intensity, illumination details, encoded with the real time media.).
As to claim 6, Gupta in view of Thompson discloses extracting metadata from the environmental recording (Gupta, ¶0034, ¶0040 and ¶0066, Figs. 1 and 2. “The media decoder 202 decodes the encoded media stream to extract raw media data.” The content analyzer 204 extracts environmental parameters such as temperature, ambient light, humidity, wind velocity, thunders (such as ice, snow, fore, thunder, wind etc.) etc. from the raw media stream.”);
parsing the metadata into sound components and visual components (Gupta, ¶0034, ¶0040 and ¶0066, Figs. 1 and 2. “the environmental parameters are embedded at different granular levels of the color layout, structure, shape, region, texture, location, face, motion etc. of image/video stream and/or pitch, harmony, tempo, rhythm, loudness, lyrics analyzer for audio/speech stream and all of the above for audio video stream.”); and
transmitting the sound components and visual components to a plurality of media devices, wherein the plurality of media devices presents the sound components and visual components to replicate the target environment (Gupta, ¶0038 and ¶0070, Fig. 1. “The media and environmental parameter splitter 112 splits the media output from the environmental effects. The media output is provided to audio/visual equipment for rendering the stream. In an embodiment of the present invention, environmental effects from the media and environmental parameter splitter 112 is provided to the environmental effect playback system 114. Output from the environmental effects playback system 114 is presented to one or more output devices that control environmental conditions.”).
As to claim 7, Gupta in view of Thompson discloses causing lighting associated with the at least one home entertainment system to be displayed based on the soundscape recording (Gupta, ¶0034 and ¶0038. “The content analyzer 104 extracts environmental parameters such as… ambient light.” “The centralized system may activate lighting system to simulate white light that may signify moonlight.”).
Claims 8 and 15 are directed to substantially the same subject matter as claim 1 and are therefore rejected using the same motivation as claim 1 above.
Claims 11-14 and 18-20 are rejected under claims 8 and 15 using the same motivation as claims 4-7 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES K MOONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695