DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-28, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 2018/0296343) in view of Ullrich, et al. (US 2012/0312778) and Sameoto (US 2014/0363610).
In reference to Claim 1, Wei discloses creating a porous implant ([0010]) (a method of making a spinal implant device or orthopedic device or bone implant device) by 3-D printing ([0012]) (the structure is produced through a 3D printing additive process) a tool to etch after it is removed from the printing surface ([0169]) creating pores on the nano scale ([293]) for attachment ([0118]) in the instance of trabecular bone ([0304]) (then further processed with a laser etching technology that results in a nanotechnology structure at the surface including a porous portion that facilitates bone attachment and growth while mimicking trabecular bone structure and forms a network of nanochannels at the surface).
Ullrich discloses laser etching an implant ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the porous implant creation method of Wei using the laser etching of Ullrich because the subtractive process can be used to shape the implant to promote bone healing and fusion ([0051]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the laser etching of Ullrich to promote bone healing and fusion. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the laser etching to ensure proper adhesion of the implant and success for implantation.
Sameoto discloses a creation of microfluidic channels through direct printing ([0151]) using a laser ([0151]) (with a laser etching technology).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the porous implant creation method of Wei using the structure and laser etching of Sameoto because the subtractive process can be used to shape the implant to promote bone healing and fusion ([0051]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the laser etching of Sameoto to promote bone healing and fusion. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the laser etching to ensure proper adhesion of the implant and success for implantation.
In reference to Claim 5, modified Wei discloses creating a porous implant ([0010]) (a method of making a spinal implant device or orthopedic device or bone implant device) by 3-D printing ([0012]) (comprises the steps of: fabricating an implant body structure using 3D printing to create the implant body structure); using an ink strong enough to be load bearing comparable to bone ([0237]) (additively building the body structure having a superior load bearing surface and an inferior load bearing surface and a wall structure); and creating a porous hollow structure ([0075]) (wherein the body structure has at least a portion having a plurality of interconnected struts forming porous walls with openings extending inwardly) with a thickness from 2-30 mm ([0089]) (from an exterior surface to a depth of 1.0 mm or greater forming a porous portion with a void volume to solid mass volume mimicking trabecular bone).
Ullrich discloses laser etching an implant ([0050]) (further comprising laser etching exposed surfaces of the plurality of interconnected struts to form a nanometer-scale network of channels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the porous implant creation method of Wei using the laser etching of Ullrich because the subtractive process can be used to shape the implant to promote bone healing and fusion ([0051]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the laser etching of Ullrich to promote bone healing and fusion. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the laser etching to ensure proper adhesion of the implant and success for implantation.
In reference to Claim 6, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 5, as described above.
Wei discloses 70% or more ([0113]) (the average or nominal ratio of void volume to mass volume in the porous portion is in the range of 65 percent or more, preferably 75 percent replicating that of trabecular bone in an adult male).
In reference to Claim 7, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 6, as described above.
Wei discloses the bone fibers can be formed in curved shapes ([0045]) (the struts of the porous walls are curved or arch shaped with openings communicating with adjacent walls).
In reference to Claim 8, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 7, as described above.
Wei discloses the laser forms the product ([0165]) channels may be formed in the bone ([0314]) (the porous portion of the implant body structure extends at least partially across the implant body structure to the exterior surfaces forming conduits for fluid passage throughout the device).
In reference to Claim 9, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 8, as described above.
Wei discloses formed in curved shapes ([0045]) using an ink strong enough to be load bearing comparable to bone ([0237]) (the curved or arch shaped struts of the porous walls create a load bearing capacity to withstand vertical loads without collapsing).
In reference to Claim 10, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 5, as described above.
Wei discloses channels may be formed in the bone ([0314]) (the device has the superior load bearing surface and the inferior load bearing surface, each load bearing surface having nano channels etched on exposed surfaces).
In reference to Claim 11, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 6, as described above.
Wei discloses channels may be formed in the bone ([0314]) (the nano channels are made into a network of features in either a random pattern or an organized pattern).
In reference to Claim 12, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 11, as described above.
Wei discloses the laser forms the product ([0165]) channels may be formed in the bone ([0314]) (the nano channels are formed by emitting laser beams unobstructed to surfaces within the path of the laser beams).
In reference to Claim 13, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 11, as described above.
Wei discloses the printing surface is moveable ([0077]) (the implant body structure is stationary and a laser moves about the implant body structure to create the network of features or wherein a laser is stationary and the implant body structure moves relative to the laser to create the network of features).
In reference to Claim 14, Wei discloses creating a porous implant ([0010]) (a method of making a spinal implant device or orthopedic device or bone implant device) creating a porous implant ([0010]) (comprises the steps of: providing an implant body structure); and the laser forms the product ([0165]) a tool to etch ([0169]) channels may be formed in the bone ([0314]) (laser etching nano channels on at least a portion of an exterior surface or surfaces of the implant body structure, the nano channels creating new bone growth attachment features to enhance osteoinductivity of the device) trabecular bone ([0304]) (while mimicking trabecular bone structure, wherein the nanochannels form a network on the at least a portion of the exterior surface or the surfaces of the implant body strucute).
Ullrich discloses laser etching an implant ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the porous implant creation method of Wei using the laser etching of Ullrich because the subtractive process can be used to shape the implant to promote bone healing and fusion ([0051]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the laser etching of Ullrich to promote bone healing and fusion. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the laser etching to ensure proper adhesion of the implant and success for implantation.
Sameoto discloses a creation of microfluidic channels through direct printing ([0151]) using a laser ([0151]) (with a laser etching technology).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the porous implant creation method of Wei using the structure and laser etching of Sameoto because the subtractive process can be used to shape the implant to promote bone healing and fusion ([0051]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the laser etching of Sameoto to promote bone healing and fusion. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the laser etching to ensure proper adhesion of the implant and success for implantation.
In reference to Claim 15, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 14, as described above.
Wei discloses the laser forms the product ([0165]) channels may be formed in the bone ([0314]) (the laser etched nano channels are made into a network of features in either a random pattern or an organized pattern).
In reference to Claim 16, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 15, as described above.
Wei discloses the laser forms the product ([0165]) channels may be formed in the bone ([0314]) (the laser etching is formed by emitting laser beams unobstructed to the exterior surfaces).
In reference to Claim 17, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 16, as described above.
Wei discloses the laser forms the product ([0165]) (the step of moving a laser about the implant body structure to create the network of features).
In reference to Claim 18, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 16, as described above.
Wei discloses the printing surface is moveable ([0077]) (the step of moving the implant body structure about a laser to create the network of features).
In reference to Claim 19, Wei discloses creating a porous implant ([0010]) (a method of making a spinal implant device or orthopedic device or bone implant device) by 3-D printing ([0012]) (comprises the steps of: fabricating an implant body structure using 3D printing to create the implant body structure); using an ink strong enough to be load bearing comparable to bone ([0237]) (additively building the body structure having a superior load bearing surface and an inferior load bearing surface and a wall structure); and creating a porous hollow structure ([0075]) (wherein the body structure has at least a portion of the body structure having a plurality of walls with openings extending inwardly) with a thickness from 2-30 mm ([0089]) (from an exterior surface to a depth of 1.0 mm or greater forming a porous portion with a void volume to solid mass volume mimicking trabecular bone) the laser forms the product ([0165]) a tool to etch after it is removed from the printing surface ([0169]) channels may be formed in the bone ([0314]) (after the 3D printing, laser etching nano channels on at least a portion of the exterior surface or surfaces of the implant body structure, the nano channels forming a network on at least the portion of the exterior surface or surfaces of the implant body structure and creating new bone growth attachment features to enhance osteoinductivity of the spinal implant fusion device) trabecular bone ([0304]) (in conjunction with the porous portion mimicking trabecular bone).
Ullrich discloses laser etching an implant ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the porous implant creation method or Wei using the laser etching of Ullrich because the subtractive process can be used to shape the implant to promote bone healing and fusion ([0051]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the laser etching of Ullrich to promote bone healing and fusion. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the laser etching to ensure proper adhesion of the implant and success for implantation.
Sameoto discloses a creation of microfluidic channels through direct printing ([0151]) using a laser ([0151]) (with a laser etching technology).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the porous implant creation method of Wei using the structure and laser etching of Sameoto because the subtractive process can be used to shape the implant to promote bone healing and fusion ([0051]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the laser etching of Sameoto to promote bone healing and fusion. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the laser etching to ensure proper adhesion of the implant and success for implantation.
In reference to Claim 20, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 19, as described above.
Wei discloses 70% or more ([0113]) (the average or nominal ratio of void volume to mass volume of the porous portion is in the range of 65 percent or more, more preferably 75 percent replicating that of trabecular bone in an adult male).
In reference to Claim 21, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 19, as described above.
Wei discloses formed in curved shapes ([0045]) using an ink strong enough to be load bearing comparable to bone ([0237]) (one or more of the plurality of walls is curved or arch shaped with openings communicating with adjacent walls).
In reference to Claim 22, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 19, as described above.
Wei discloses the laser forms the product ([0165]) channels may be formed in the bone ([0314]) (the porous portion of the implant body structure extends across the implant body structure from the exterior surfaces inwardly forming conduits for fluid passage throughout the porous portion of the implant body structure).
In reference to Claim 23, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 22, as described above.
Wei discloses formed in curved shapes ([0045]) using an ink strong enough to be load bearing comparable to bone ([0237]) (the curved or arch shaped walls create a load bearing capacity to withstand vertical loads without collapsing).
In reference to Claim 24, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 19, as described above.
Wei discloses channels may be formed in the bone ([0314]) (the device has the superior load bearing surface and the inferior load bearing surface having nano channels etched on exposed surfaces).
In reference to Claim 25, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 24, as described above.
Wei discloses the laser forms the product ([0165]) channels may be formed in the bone ([0314]) (the nano channels are made into a network of features in either a random pattern or an organized pattern).
In reference to Claim 26, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 19, as described above.
Wei discloses the laser forms the product ([0165]) channels may be formed in the bone ([0314]) (the nano channels are formed by emitting laser beams unobstructed to surfaces within the path of the laser beams).
In reference to Claim 27, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 25, as described above.
Wei discloses the printing surface is moveable ([0077]) (the implant body structure is stationary and a laser moves about the implant body structure to create the network of features).
In reference to Claim 28, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 25, as described above.
Wei discloses the printing surface is moveable ([0077]) (a laser is stationary and the implant body structure moves relative to the laser to create the network of features).
In reference to Claim 30, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 5, as described above.
Sameoto discloses a creation of microfluidic channels through direct printing ([0151]) using a laser ([0151]) (laser-etching exposed surfaces of the interconnected struts to form a nano-meter scale network of channels, wherein the channels have a width and depth of 10 nm to 1000 nm).
In reference to Claim 31, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 1, as described above.
Sameoto discloses a creation of microfluidic channels through direct printing ([0151]) using a laser ([0151]) (the laser etching is formed via a laser beam directed through openings of the porous portion such that network of nanochannels are formed at different depths within the porous portion).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Wei discloses nanoporous structure, Ulrich discloses laser etching, and Sameoto discloses last-created channels, but Wei does not disclose nanopores created by laser etching.
Examiner would argue the arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims. Claim 1 states “the structure is produced through a 3D printing additive process, which is then further processed … at the surface” which does not include laser etching the interior structure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELSEY C. GRACE
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742