DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed March 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7, 11-19, 21, 22, and 26 have been amended.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0330996 A1) in view of FAXÉR et al. (hereinafter Faxer) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0299907 A1), and further in view of Liu (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0173607 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches and discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE, figures 1, 2, and 10), comprising: one or more memories (memory, figure 10); and one or more processors (processors, figure 10), coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination, to cause the UE to:
transmit capability information associated with performing reciprocity-based communications (a non-codebook-based SRS transmission; [0047]; “…The non-codebook-based transmission relies on channel reciprocity…”), the reciprocity-based communications being in accordance with one or more sounding reference signals associated with one or more ports ([0048]; “…based on UE capability information of the UE 220 indicating that the UE 220 supports non-codebook-based SRS transmissions…”; teaches the UE transmits UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission, wherein the non-codebook-based transmission being in accordance with SRS associated with port); and
receive, in accordance with transmitting the capability information, an indication (configuration information) to perform the reciprocity-based communications ([0048]; “…the gNB 210 configures the UE 220 to perform a non-codebook-based SRS transmission…the gNB 210 sends SRS configuration information 212 to the UE 220. This configuration information 212 can be sent based on UE capability information of the UE 220 indicating that the UE 220 supports non-codebook-based SRS transmissions. The configuration information 212 indicates to the UE 220 that such transmissions are to be used…”; teaches the UE receiving configuration information, based on the capability information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission).
However, Zhang may not explicitly disclose receive, in accordance with transmitting the capability information, at least one of an indication to perform the reciprocity-based communications, an indication to perform the codebook-based communications, or an indication to perform a combination of the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications, the codebook-based communications being in accordance with one or more channel state information measurements.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Faxer teaches receive, in accordance with transmitting the capability information, at least one of an indication to perform the reciprocity-based communications, an indication to perform the codebook-based communications, or an indication to perform a combination of the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications, the codebook-based communications being in accordance with one or more channel state information measurements ([0018]; “…determining a precoding configuration for the SRS transmission comprises determining whether codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding is to be applied. The determining the precoding configuration for the SRS transmission may be based on a precoding indicator. The precoding indicator may be comprised in the at least one SRS transmission setting…”; [0023]; [0050]; “…a wireless device for either codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding, depending on the UE and/or network capabilities…”; [0051]; “…For the UE to determine by itself the UL precoder candidates, it needs to measure a DL reference signal, such as a CSI-RS in order to attain a DL channel estimate…”; [0059]; teaches the UE receives an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE receives an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission as taught by Faxer with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang for the purpose of providing means for efficient UL handling of SRS and precoding configuration are needed for codebook and non-codebook based precoding, as suggested by Faxer ([0015]).
However, Zhang, as modified by Faxer, may not explicitly disclose transmit a reciprocity factor that indicates a switching point between the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications (although Faxer does teach dynamic switching between codebook based and non-codebook based UL transmissions).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches and suggests transmit a reciprocity factor (control signaling; [0302]) that indicates a switching point (time domain/slot; [0281]) between the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications ([0281]; “…a time domain resource occupied by the downlink configuration instruction and a time domain resource occupied by the downlink reference signal are in a same time unit, the time unit is a timeslot or a subframe or a transmission time interval…”; [0302]; [0306]-[0309]; “…the terminal can quickly switch between different transmission modes…a codebook-based open-loop precoding scheme…a codebook-based closed-loop precoding scheme…a channel reciprocity-based open-loop precoding scheme…a channel reciprocity-based closed-loop precoding scheme…”; [0310]; teaches transmitting control signaling that indicates the switching instance between modes such as a codebook-based precoding scheme and channel reciprocity-based precoding scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate transmitting control signaling that indicates the switching instance between modes such as a codebook-based precoding scheme and channel reciprocity-based precoding scheme as taught by Liu with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer, for the purpose of improving transmission performance of the uplink data, as suggested by Liu.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Zhang discloses transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the indication to perform the reciprocity-based communications, the indication to perform the codebook-based communications, or the indication to perform the combination of the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications comprises receiving a plurality of bits, wherein a first value of the plurality of bits indicates to perform the reciprocity-based communications, a second value of the plurality of bits indicates to perform the codebook-based communications, and a third value of the plurality of bits indicates to perform the combination of the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Faxer teaches wherein receiving the indication to perform the reciprocity-based communications, the indication to perform the codebook-based communications, or the indication to perform the combination of the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications comprises receiving a plurality of bits, wherein a first value of the plurality of bits indicates to perform the reciprocity-based communications, a second value of the plurality of bits indicates to perform the codebook-based communications, and a third value of the plurality of bits indicates to perform the combination of the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications ([0021]; “…determined precoding configuration for the SRS transmission comprises one of codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding. The precoding configuration for the SRS transmission may be determined based on a precoding indicator. The precoding indicator may be comprised in the at least one SRS transmission setting….a selected SRS resource set comprises a DL control information (DCI) indicator…”; [0024]; [0055]; [0061]; teaches the indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission is based on a setting value of a DCI message, wherein the setting value is a plurality of bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission is based on a setting value of a DCI message, wherein the setting value is a plurality of bits as taught by Faxer with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, for the purpose of providing means for efficient UL handling of SRS and precoding configuration are needed for codebook and non-codebook based precoding, as suggested by Faxer ([0015]).
Regarding claim 6 and 18, Zhang discloses transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication to perform the reciprocity-based communications is an indication to switch to performing the reciprocity-based communications at a select slot of a plurality of slots, or wherein the indication to perform the codebook-based communications is an indication to switch to performing the codebook-based communications at the select slot of the plurality of slots.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Faxer teaches wherein the indication to perform the reciprocity-based communications is an indication to switch to performing the reciprocity-based communications at a select slot of a plurality of slots, or wherein the indication to perform the codebook-based communications is an indication to switch to performing the codebook-based communications at the select slot of the plurality of slots ([0059]; “…dynamic switching between codebook-based and non-codebook-based UL transmission is provided…”; [0064]; Table 1; “…OFDM symbol location of the SRS resource within a slot including number of OFDM symbols (1, 2, or 4 per SRS resource)… Periodicity and slot offset for periodic/semi-persistent SRS…”; teaches the indicator for dynamically switching the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook at a select slot of a plurality of slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the indicator for dynamically switching the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook at a select slot of a plurality of slots as taught by Faxer with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, for the purpose of providing means for efficient UL handling of SRS and precoding configuration are needed for codebook and non-codebook based precoding, as suggested by Faxer ([0015]).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, further teaches and suggests wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to perform one or more channel reciprocity measurements, wherein transmitting the capability information comprises transmitting the capability information in accordance with the one or more channel reciprocity measurements, and wherein the one or more channel reciprocity measurements include at least one of a distance measurement, a path-loss measurement, or a transmission timing difference ([0048]; “…based on UE capability information of the UE 220 indicating that the UE 220 supports non-codebook-based SRS transmissions…”; [0078]; teaches the UE transmits UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission, wherein the non-codebook-based transmission being in accordance with SRS associated with port).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches and discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (base station/gNB, figures 1, 2, and 11), comprising: one or more memories (memory, figure 11); and one or more processors (processors, figure 11), coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination, to cause the network node to:
receive capability information associated with a user equipment (UE) (UE, figures 1, 2, and 10) performing reciprocity-based communications (a non-codebook-based SRS transmission; [0047]; “…The non-codebook-based transmission relies on channel reciprocity…”), the reciprocity-based communications being in accordance with one or more sounding reference signals associated with one or more ports ([0048]; “…based on UE capability information of the UE 220 indicating that the UE 220 supports non-codebook-based SRS transmissions…”; teaches the gNB receives, from the UE, UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission, wherein the non-codebook-based transmission being in accordance with SRS associated with port); and
transmit, in accordance with receiving the capability information, an indication (configuration information) to perform reciprocity-based communications ([0048]; “…the gNB 210 configures the UE 220 to perform a non-codebook-based SRS transmission…the gNB 210 sends SRS configuration information 212 to the UE 220. This configuration information 212 can be sent based on UE capability information of the UE 220 indicating that the UE 220 supports non-codebook-based SRS transmissions. The configuration information 212 indicates to the UE 220 that such transmissions are to be used…”; teaches the gNB transmits to the UE configuration information, based on the capability information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission).
However, Zhang may not explicitly disclose transmit, in accordance with receiving the capability information, at least one of an indication to perform reciprocity-based communications, an indication to perform codebook-based communications, or an indication to perform a combination of reciprocity-based communications and codebook-based communications, the codebook-based communications being in accordance with one or more channel state information measurements.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Faxer teaches transmit, in accordance with receiving the capability information, at least one of an indication to perform reciprocity-based communications, an indication to perform codebook-based communications, or an indication to perform a combination of reciprocity-based communications and codebook-based communications, the codebook-based communications being in accordance with one or more channel state information measurements ([0018]; “…determining a precoding configuration for the SRS transmission comprises determining whether codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding is to be applied. The determining the precoding configuration for the SRS transmission may be based on a precoding indicator. The precoding indicator may be comprised in the at least one SRS transmission setting…”; [0023]; [0050]; “…a wireless device for either codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding, depending on the UE and/or network capabilities…”; [0051]; “…For the UE to determine by itself the UL precoder candidates, it needs to measure a DL reference signal, such as a CSI-RS in order to attain a DL channel estimate…”; [0059]; teaches the UE receives an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE receives an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission as taught by Faxer with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang for the purpose of providing means for efficient UL handling of SRS and precoding configuration are needed for codebook and non-codebook based precoding, as suggested by Faxer ([0015]).
However, Zhang, as modified by Faxer, may not explicitly disclose receive a reciprocity factor that indicates a switching point between the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications (although Faxer does teach dynamic switching between codebook based and non-codebook based UL transmissions).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches and suggests receive a reciprocity factor (control signaling; [0302]) that indicates a switching point (time domain/slot; [0281]) between the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications ([0281]; “…a time domain resource occupied by the downlink configuration instruction and a time domain resource occupied by the downlink reference signal are in a same time unit, the time unit is a timeslot or a subframe or a transmission time interval…”; [0302]; [0306]-[0309]; “…the terminal can quickly switch between different transmission modes…a codebook-based open-loop precoding scheme…a codebook-based closed-loop precoding scheme…a channel reciprocity-based open-loop precoding scheme…a channel reciprocity-based closed-loop precoding scheme…”; [0310]; teaches receiving control signaling that indicates the switching instance between modes such as a codebook-based precoding scheme and channel reciprocity-based precoding scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate receiving control signaling that indicates the switching instance between modes such as a codebook-based precoding scheme and channel reciprocity-based precoding scheme as taught by Liu with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer, for the purpose of improving transmission performance of the uplink data, as suggested by Liu.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to generate the indication to perform the reciprocity-based communications, the indication to perform the codebook-based communications, or the indication to perform the combination of the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications in accordance with the capability information.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Faxer teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to generate the indication to perform the reciprocity-based communications, the indication to perform the codebook-based communications, or the indication to perform the combination of the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications in accordance with the capability information ([0018]; “…determining a precoding configuration for the SRS transmission comprises determining whether codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding is to be applied. The determining the precoding configuration for the SRS transmission may be based on a precoding indicator. The precoding indicator may be comprised in the at least one SRS transmission setting…”; [0023]; [0050]; “…a wireless device for either codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding, depending on the UE and/or network capabilities…”; [0051]; “…For the UE to determine by itself the UL precoder candidates, it needs to measure a DL reference signal, such as a CSI-RS in order to attain a DL channel estimate…”; [0059]; teaches the UE receives an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE receives an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission as taught by Faxer with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, for the purpose of providing means for efficient UL handling of SRS and precoding configuration are needed for codebook and non-codebook based precoding, as suggested by Faxer ([0015]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to generate the indication to perform the reciprocity-based communications, or indication to perform the codebook-based communications, or the indication to perform the combination of the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications without using the capability information.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Faxer teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to generate the indication to perform the reciprocity-based communications, or indication to perform the codebook-based communications, or the indication to perform the combination of the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications without using the capability information ([0018]; “…determining a precoding configuration for the SRS transmission comprises determining whether codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding is to be applied. The determining the precoding configuration for the SRS transmission may be based on a precoding indicator. The precoding indicator may be comprised in the at least one SRS transmission setting…”; [0023]; [0051]; “…For the UE to determine by itself the UL precoder candidates, it needs to measure a DL reference signal, such as a CSI-RS in order to attain a DL channel estimate…”; [0059]; teaches the UE receives an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE receives an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission as taught by Faxer with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, for the purpose of providing means for efficient UL handling of SRS and precoding configuration are needed for codebook and non-codebook based precoding, as suggested by Faxer ([0015]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to receive one or more sounding reference signals in accordance with transmitting the indication to perform the codebook-based communications.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Faxer teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to receive one or more sounding reference signals in accordance with transmitting the indication to perform the codebook-based communications ([0018]; “…determining a precoding configuration for the SRS transmission comprises determining whether codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding is to be applied. The determining the precoding configuration for the SRS transmission may be based on a precoding indicator. The precoding indicator may be comprised in the at least one SRS transmission setting…”; [0023]; [0050]; “…a wireless device for either codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding, depending on the UE and/or network capabilities…”; [0051]; “…For the UE to determine by itself the UL precoder candidates, it needs to measure a DL reference signal, such as a CSI-RS in order to attain a DL channel estimate…”; [0059]; teaches the UE receives an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE receives an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission as taught by Faxer with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, for the purpose of providing means for efficient UL handling of SRS and precoding configuration are needed for codebook and non-codebook based precoding, as suggested by Faxer ([0015]).
Claims 2-4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0330996 A1) in view of FAXÉR et al. (hereinafter Faxer) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0299907 A1) and Liu (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0173607 A1), and further in view of YUM et al. (hereinafter Yum) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0274578 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, discloses transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission and a channel state information measurement in accordance with receiving the indication to perform reciprocity-based communications, but may not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting the channel state information measurement comprises transmitting at least one of a channel quality indicator, a precoding matrix indicator, or a rank indicator.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yum teaches wherein transmitting the channel state information measurement comprises transmitting at least one of a channel quality indicator, a precoding matrix indicator, or a rank indicator ([0043]; “…estimate a channel state based on the received at least one reference signal, thereby generating channel state information (CSI)…may include at least one of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a layer indicator (LI), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) and a reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) corresponding thereto, and an SRS resource indicator (SRI)…”; [0045]; teaches CSI measurement in accordance including a CQI, RI, and/or PMI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate CSI measurement in accordance including a CQI, RI, and/or PMI as taught by Yum with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, for the purpose of improving channel state information estimation and feedback, as suggested by Yum.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, discloses transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to reduce a frequency of channel state information measurement or channel state information transmissions by the UE in accordance with receiving the indication to perform the reciprocity-based communications.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yum teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to reduce a frequency of channel state information measurement or channel state information transmissions by the UE in accordance with receiving the indication to perform the reciprocity-based communications ([0061]; “…decrease a time taken in estimating a channel state based on an SRS. In the CSI feedback scheme of FIG. 4A, when at least one reference signal includes an SRS and frequency hopping is enabled, N may be set similar to the channel reciprocity scheme…may reduce a time taken in generating CSI based on an SRS, and a time at which CSI is fed back (or reported) (e.g. a period or an offset in a periodic feedback) may be more freely set.…”; [0045]; teaches reducing the time and period of CSI measurement and feedback).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate reducing the time and period of CSI measurement and feedback as taught by Yum with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, for the purpose of improving channel state information estimation and feedback, as suggested by Yum.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, discloses transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to reduce a frequency of sounding reference signal transmissions by the UE in accordance with receiving the indication to perform the codebook-based communications.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yum teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to reduce a frequency of sounding reference signal transmissions by the UE in accordance with receiving the indication to perform the codebook-based communications ([0061]; “…decrease a time taken in estimating a channel state based on an SRS. In the CSI feedback scheme of FIG. 4A, when at least one reference signal includes an SRS and frequency hopping is enabled, N may be set similar to the channel reciprocity scheme…may reduce a time taken in generating CSI based on an SRS, and a time at which CSI is fed back (or reported) (e.g. a period or an offset in a periodic feedback) may be more freely set.…”; [0045]; teaches reducing the time and period of SRS transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate reducing the time and period of SRS transmission as taught by Yum with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, for the purpose of improving channel state information estimation and feedback, as suggested by Yum.
Claims 8-11 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0330996 A1) in view of FAXÉR et al. (hereinafter Faxer) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0299907 A1) and Liu (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0173607 A1), and further in view of QIANG et al. (hereinafter Qiang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0047335 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, discloses transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit a reciprocity indicator that indicates a similarity between an uplink channel and a downlink channel.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Qiang teaches and suggests wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit a reciprocity indicator that indicates a similarity between an uplink channel and a downlink channel ([0011]; “…the reciprocity based precoder, in a TDD system, by utilizing the reciprocity between a DL channel and a UL channel, the DL channel can be estimated by UL channel…”; [0067]; [0068]; [0069]; teaches an indication for reciprocity-based that indicates the similarity between DL and UL channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an indication for reciprocity-based that indicates the similarity between DL and UL channels as taught by Qiang with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, for the purpose of improving selection of non-codebook-based or codebook-based precoding for transmission based on channel state information estimation and reports, as suggested by Qiang.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, discloses transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the reciprocity indicator, are configured to cause the UE to periodically transmit the reciprocity indicator in accordance with an interval.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Qiang teaches and suggests wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the reciprocity indicator, are configured to cause the UE to periodically transmit the reciprocity indicator in accordance with an interval ([0011]; “…the reciprocity based precoder, in a TDD system, by utilizing the reciprocity between a DL channel and a UL channel, the DL channel can be estimated by UL channel…”; [0073]; [0076]; teaches an indication for reciprocity-based wherein the indication is transmitted according to a periodic interval).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an indication for reciprocity-based wherein the indication is transmitted according to a periodic interval as taught by Qiang with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer, Liu, and Qiang, for the purpose of improving selection of non-codebook-based or codebook-based precoding for transmission based on channel state information estimation and reports, as suggested by Qiang.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, discloses transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the reciprocity indicator, are configured to cause the UE to aperiodically transmit the reciprocity indicator in accordance with an occurrence of an event.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Qiang teaches and suggests wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the reciprocity indicator, are configured to cause the UE to aperiodically transmit the reciprocity indicator in accordance with an occurrence of an event ([0011]; “…the reciprocity based precoder, in a TDD system, by utilizing the reciprocity between a DL channel and a UL channel, the DL channel can be estimated by UL channel…”; [0076]; [0077]; teaches an indication for reciprocity-based wherein the indication is transmitted aperiodically).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an indication for reciprocity-based wherein the indication is transmitted aperiodically as taught by Qiang with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer , Liu, and Qiang, for the purpose of improving selection of non-codebook-based or codebook-based precoding for transmission based on channel state information estimation and reports, as suggested by Qiang.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, discloses transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to perform the codebook-based communications in accordance with the reciprocity indicator having a value that is less than a first threshold, perform the reciprocity-based communications in accordance with the reciprocity indicator having a value that is greater than a second threshold, or perform the combination of the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications in accordance with the reciprocity indicator having a value that is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Qiang teaches and suggests wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to perform the codebook-based communications in accordance with the reciprocity indicator having a value that is less than a first threshold, perform the reciprocity-based communications in accordance with the reciprocity indicator having a value that is greater than a second threshold, or perform the combination of the reciprocity-based communications and the codebook-based communications in accordance with the reciprocity indicator having a value that is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold ([0011]; “…the reciprocity based precoder, in a TDD system, by utilizing the reciprocity between a DL channel and a UL channel, the DL channel can be estimated by UL channel…”; [0066]; [0068]; [0069]; “…select the non-codebook-based precoders (e.g., the reciprocity-based precoder) or the codebook-based precoder…if the estimated SINR is above than a threshold, the non-codebook-based precoder (e.g., the reciprocity-based precoder) is selected…If the doppler spread is less than a threshold, the non-codebook-based precoder (e.g., the reciprocity-based precoder) is selected…”; teaches selecting between the non-codebook-based precoders (e.g., the reciprocity-based precoder) or the codebook-based precoder based on a values less than a first threshold or greater than a second threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting between the non-codebook-based precoders (e.g., the reciprocity-based precoder) or the codebook-based precoder based on a values less than a first threshold or greater than a second threshold as taught by Qiang with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer, Liu, and Qiang, for the purpose of improving selection of non-codebook-based or codebook-based precoding for transmission based on channel state information estimation and reports, as suggested by Qiang.
Regarding claim 21, Zhang, as modified by Faxer and Liu, discloses transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to identify whether to communicate with the UE using the reciprocity-based communications or using the codebook-based communications in accordance with the reciprocity indicator and a plurality of thresholds.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Qiang teaches and suggests wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to identify whether to communicate with the UE using the reciprocity-based communications or using the codebook-based communications in accordance with the reciprocity indicator and a plurality of thresholds ([0011]; “…the reciprocity based precoder, in a TDD system, by utilizing the reciprocity between a DL channel and a UL channel, the DL channel can be estimated by UL channel…”; [0066]; [0068]; [0069]; “…select the non-codebook-based precoders (e.g., the reciprocity-based precoder) or the codebook-based precoder…if the estimated SINR is above than a threshold, the non-codebook-based precoder (e.g., the reciprocity-based precoder) is selected…If the doppler spread is less than a threshold, the non-codebook-based precoder (e.g., the reciprocity-based precoder) is selected…”; teaches selecting between the non-codebook-based precoders (e.g., the reciprocity-based precoder) or the codebook-based precoder based on a values less than a first threshold or greater than a second threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting between the non-codebook-based precoders (e.g., the reciprocity-based precoder) or the codebook-based precoder based on a values less than a first threshold or greater than a second threshold as taught by Qiang with the method and apparatus for transmitting UE capability information associated with non-codebook-based transmission and the UE receiving configuration information, to perform non-codebook-based transmission as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Faxer, Liu, and Qiang, for the purpose of improving selection of non-codebook-based or codebook-based precoding for transmission based on channel state information estimation and reports, as suggested by Qiang.
Claims 22-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FAXÉR et al. (hereinafter Faxer) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0299907 A1) in view of Carames et al. (hereinafter Carames) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0030417 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Faxer teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE, figures 3-4), comprising: one or more memories (memory, figure 4); and one or more processors (processor, figure 4), coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination, to cause the UE to: transmit capability information that indicates a plurality of operating modes (SRS transmission setting/transmission mode) supported by the UE ([0021]; [0024]; [0050]; “…a wireless device for either codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding, depending on the UE and/or network capabilities…”; [0057]; [0059]; teaches the UE transmits capability information including an operating mode, such as SRS transmission setting), and receive, in accordance with transmitting the capability information, configuration information associated with one or more operating modes of the plurality of operating modes supported by the UE ([0024]; [0050]; “…a wireless device for either codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding, depending on the UE and/or network capabilities…”; [0059]; [0060]; [0061]; teaches the UE receives configuration information associated with the capability of the UE).
However, Faxer may not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of operating modes is associated with a combination of a network performance indicator and at least one of a location of the UE, a power savings indicator, or one or more applications associated with the UE.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Carames teaches and suggests wherein at least one of the plurality of operating modes (operating mode; [0019]) is associated with a combination of a network performance indicator and at least one of a location of the UE, a power savings indicator, or one or more applications associated with the UE ([0019]; “…the network decisions for a UE device's operating mode may take into account policy considerations such as (a) geographical location of a UE device, (b) frequency bands available at the UE device's location, (c) traffic load in an area, (d) subscription parameters, such as services supported, quality of service (QoS) requirements, and past service mean opinion score (MOS) measurements…may take into account other factors, such as provisioned attributes, use cases, historical network performance data, and/or network capabilities provisional attributes…”; teaches an operating mode of a UE is associated with network performance data and the location of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an operating mode of a UE is associated with network performance data and the location of the UE as taught by Carames with the method and apparatus for UE receiving an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission as disclosed by Faxer for the purpose of improving selection of operation mode of a UE in order to improve effective use of network resources, as suggested by Carames.
Regarding claim 23, Faxer, as modified by Carames, further teaches and suggests wherein the configuration information indicates for the UE to enable the one or more operating modes of the plurality of operating modes (SRS transmission setting/transmission mode) supported by the UE ([0024]; [0050]; “…a wireless device for either codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding, depending on the UE and/or network capabilities…”; [0059]; [0060]; [0061]; teaches the UE receives configuration information associated with the capability of the UE).
Regarding claim 24, Faxer, as modified by Carames, further teaches and suggests wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to adjust, in accordance with receiving the configuration information, at least one of an application associated with the UE, a mobility parameter, a radio frequency parameter, a location parameter, or a sensor parameter ([0024]; [0055]; [0059]; [0060]; [0065]; teaches the UE receives configuration information associated with the capability of the UE and the UE modifying frequency and mobility parameters).
Regarding claim 25, Faxer discloses the UE receiving an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit an indication that the UE has activated an operating mode of the one or more operating modes.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Carames teaches and suggests wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit an indication that the UE has activated an operating mode (operating mode; [0019]) of the one or more operating modes ([0018]; [0019]; “…the network decisions for a UE device's operating mode may take into account policy considerations such as (a) geographical location of a UE device, (b) frequency bands available at the UE device's location, (c) traffic load in an area, (d) subscription parameters, such as services supported, quality of service (QoS) requirements, and past service mean opinion score (MOS) measurements…may take into account other factors, such as provisioned attributes, use cases, historical network performance data, and/or network capabilities provisional attributes…”; teaches UE indicates the operating mode of a UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate UE indicates the operating mode of a UE as taught by Carames with the method and apparatus for UE receiving an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission as disclosed by Faxer, as modified by Carames, for the purpose of improving selection of operation mode of a UE in order to improve effective use of network resources, as suggested by Carames.
Regarding claim 26, Faxer teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (network node, figure 3), comprising: one or more memories (memory, figure 3); and one or more processors (processor, figure 3), coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination, to cause the network node to:
receive capability information that indicates a plurality of operating modes (SRS transmission setting/transmission mode) supported by a user equipment (UE) (UE, figures 3-4) ([0021]; [0024]; [0050]; “…a wireless device for either codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding, depending on the UE and/or network capabilities…”; [0057]; [0059]; teaches the network node receives from the UE transmits capability information including an operating mode, such as SRS transmission setting); and transmit, in accordance with receiving the capability information, configuration information associated with one or more operating modes of the plurality of operating modes supported by the UE ([0024]; [0050]; “…a wireless device for either codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding, depending on the UE and/or network capabilities…”; [0059]; [0060]; [0061]; teaches the network node transmits to the UE receives configuration information associated with the capability of the UE).
However, Faxer may not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of operating modes is associated with a combination of a network performance indicator and at least one of a location of the UE, a power savings indicator, or one or more applications associated with the UE.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Carames teaches and suggests wherein at least one of the plurality of operating modes (operating mode; [0019]) is associated with a combination of a network performance indicator and at least one of a location of the UE, a power savings indicator, or one or more applications associated with the UE ([0019]; “…the network decisions for a UE device's operating mode may take into account policy considerations such as (a) geographical location of a UE device, (b) frequency bands available at the UE device's location, (c) traffic load in an area, (d) subscription parameters, such as services supported, quality of service (QoS) requirements, and past service mean opinion score (MOS) measurements…may take into account other factors, such as provisioned attributes, use cases, historical network performance data, and/or network capabilities provisional attributes…”; teaches an operating mode of a UE is associated with network performance data and the location of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an operating mode of a UE is associated with network performance data and the location of the UE as taught by Carames with the method and apparatus for UE receiving an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission as disclosed by Faxer for the purpose of improving selection of operation mode of a UE in order to improve effective use of network resources, as suggested by Carames.
Regarding claim 27, Faxer, as modified by Carames, further teaches and suggests wherein the configuration information indicates for the UE to enable the one or more operating modes of the plurality of operating modes supported by the UE ([0024]; [0050]; “…a wireless device for either codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding, depending on the UE and/or network capabilities…”; [0059]; [0060]; [0061]; teaches the UE receives configuration information associated with the capability of the UE).
Regarding claim 28, Faxer, as modified by Carames, further teaches and suggests wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to identify the one or more operating modes of the plurality of operating modes based at least in part on network node capability information ([0024]; [0050]; “…a wireless device for either codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding, depending on the UE and/or network capabilities…”; [0059]; [0060]; [0061]; teaches the UE receives configuration information associated with the capability of the UE).
Regarding claim 29, Faxer discloses the UE receiving an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to receive an indication that the UE has activated an operating mode of the one or more operating modes.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Carames teaches and suggests wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to receive an indication that the UE has activated an operating mode of the one or more operating modes (operating mode; [0019]) ([0018]; [0019]; “…the network decisions for a UE device's operating mode may take into account policy considerations such as (a) geographical location of a UE device, (b) frequency bands available at the UE device's location, (c) traffic load in an area, (d) subscription parameters, such as services supported, quality of service (QoS) requirements, and past service mean opinion score (MOS) measurements…may take into account other factors, such as provisioned attributes, use cases, historical network performance data, and/or network capabilities provisional attributes…”; teaches UE indicates the operating mode of a UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate UE indicates the operating mode of a UE as taught by Carames with the method and apparatus for UE receiving an indicator for indicating the UE to perform reciprocity-based or non-codebook based precoding for SRS transmission as disclosed by Faxer, as modified by Carames, for the purpose of improving selection of operation mode of a UE in order to improve effective use of network resources, as suggested by Carames.
Regarding claim 30, Faxer, as modified by Carames, further teaches and suggests wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit a grant indication, a handover indication, or a redirection indication in accordance with receiving the indication that the UE has activated the operating mode ([0050]; “…a wireless device for either codebook based precoding or non-codebook based precoding, depending on the UE and/or network capabilities…”; [0061]; [0157]; teaches the network node signals an UL grant in accordance with the capability of the UE).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
April 3, 2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477