DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on June 25, 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 8 have been amended, claims 3 and 6 have been canceled, and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 8 are presently pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 11-12, it is suggested that “central rigid disc” be amended to read --central rigid disk-- for consistency.
In claim 1, line 18, it is suggested that “central rigid disc” be amended to read --central rigid disk-- for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 1, “interlocking means” is interpreted according to page 3 lines 19-21 of the Specification as “one or more grooves or cavities”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Holroyd (US 2004/0025867).
As to claim 1, Holroyd discloses a breath actuated inhaler device (Fig. 1) comprising:
an actuator housing 400;
a canister 25 containing a dose; and
a pneumatic force holding unit (Fig. 8) for triggering the dose in response to a breath;
wherein pneumatic force holding unit comprises a compression spring 460 (Fig. 8, paragraph [0033]), a lower cap 420 that engages the canister 25 (see Fig. 1), a diaphragm 640 (Figs. 4-8) attached to an upper surface of the lower cap 420 (Fig. 8, paragraph [0056]), and a flap (valve seal/flap 540) to seal a valve port 695 located in the diaphragm 640 (paragraph [0057]),
wherein the diaphragm 640 includes a central rigid disk 641 and a peripheral flexible polymer ring 647 for triggering the dose in response to the breath (Figs. 4-8, paragraph [0056]),
wherein the central rigid disk 641 of the diaphragm 640 is provided with an interlocking means (axial grooves 708) to firmly secure and bound the peripheral flexible polymer ring 647 with the central rigid disc 641 of the diaphragm 640 (see Figs. 6-7, paragraphs [0054]-[0055]; see also applicant’s specification on page 3, lines 19-21, which describes “interlocking means” as “one or more grooves or cavities”), and
wherein the central rigid disk 641 and the peripheral flexible polymer ring 647 of the diaphragm 640 is formed by two shot injection molding process, wherein the central rigid disk 641 is prepared having the interlocking means (grooves 708) in first shot (paragraph [0054]: rigid disc-like section 641 is portion "A" of the diaphragm 640, molded in a first step; paragraph [0055]: axial grooves 708 are part of central rigid disc-like section 641) and the peripheral flexible polymer ring 647 is prepared in second shot (paragraph [0054]: peripheral attachment ring 647 is part of portion "B" of the diaphragm 640, along with central portion 700 and annular flexure 645, which is molded in a second step; paragraph [0054]: part "B" is an optimally flexible thermoplastic elastomer material (TPE)) during which a flexible polymer (optimally flexible thermoplastic elastomer material (TPE) forming part "B", which includes ring 647, central portion 700, and annular flexure 645) is allowed to flow through the interlocking means of the central rigid disk 641 (paragraph [0054]-[0055]: since part "B" is bonded to part "A" during the molding of part "B" in the second step/shot, when the TPE material is injected into the mold during the second shot, it will flow through the interlocking means/grooves 708 of central rigid disc 641) and solidify to form the projections/walls 706 within the grooves 708 which forms the bond between the parts "A" and "B") to form a continuous uninterrupted part on either side of the central rigid disc 641 of the diaphragm 640 (the resulting molded part (diaphragm 640) is continuous and uninterrupted on each side (no other components are attached through the diaphragm 640 that would "interrupt" its surface on either side, the only opening in either surface of the resultant diaphragm 640 is that of valve port 690/695, which is the same as applicant's valve port 204 present on the continuous "uninterrupted" surface of diaphragm 33 It is further noted that the diaphragm 33 of Applicant's allows for projections such as baffle 202, boss 204, and radial rib 205 on the "uninterrupted" surface of the diaphragm 33 (see Fig. 3 and page 6, the last paragraph continuing to page 7 of the instant specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holroyd (US 2004/0025867), in view of Stenzler et al. (US 2018/0093051).
As to claim 2, Holroyd discloses the breath actuated inhaler device according to claim 1, but lacks detailed description as to the limitation that the flap (valve seal/flap 540) comprises a soft elastomer component to form an air tight lock with the valve port of the diaphragm. However, Stenzler discloses a valve seal/flap 142 which is formed of a soft elastomer material to form an air tight lock with a valve port 140 (Figs. 6A-6C, 7A-7B, paragraph [0042]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Holroyd so that the flap/valve seal 540 is made of a soft elastomer, as taught by Stenzler, in order to provide a suitable material choice for the flap that allows it to seal the valve port when closed and to flex and open upon a suitable inhalation pressure.
As to claim 5, Holroyd discloses the breath actuated inhaler device according to claim 2, wherein the hardness of the soft elastomer component is between 5-20 Shore A (see Stenzler, paragraph [0042]: valve 142 material may be silicone rubber or similar hyper-elastic material having a durometer between 5 and 80, preferably between 10 and 40).
As to claim 7, Holroyd discloses a breath actuated inhaler device (Fig. 1) comprising:
an actuator housing 400;
a canister 25 containing a dose; and
a pneumatic force holding unit (Fig. 8) for triggering the dose in response to a breath;
wherein pneumatic force holding unit comprises a compression spring 460 (Fig. 8, paragraph [0033]), a lower cap 420 that engages the canister 25 (see Fig. 1), a diaphragm 640 (Figs. 4-8) attached to an upper surface of the lower cap 420 (Fig. 8, paragraph [0056]), and a flap (valve seal/flap 540) to seal a valve port 695 located in the diaphragm 640 (paragraph [0057]), and
wherein the flap forms an air tight lock with the valve port of the diaphragm (paragraph [0057]: valve seal/flap 540 seals the valve port when closed).
Holroyd does not expressly disclose that the flap comprises a soft elastomer component. However, Stenzler discloses an inhaler device having a valve seal/flap 142 which is formed of a soft elastomer material to form a seal with a valve port 140 (Figs. 6A-6C, 7A-7B, paragraph [0042]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Holroyd so that the flap/valve seal 540 is made of a soft elastomer, as taught by Stenzler, in order to provide a suitable material choice for the flap that allows it to seal the valve port when closed and to flex and open upon a suitable inhalation pressure.
As to claim 8, modified Holroyd discloses the breath actuated inhaler device according to claim 7, wherein a hardness of the soft elastomer component is between 5-20 Shore A (see Stenzler, paragraph [0042]: valve 142 material may be silicone rubber or similar hyper-elastic material having a durometer between 5 and 80, preferably between 10 and 40).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holroyd (US 2004/0025867), in view of Gilbert et al. (US 2014/0053835).
As to claim 4, Holroyd discloses the breath actuated inhaler device according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose that a hardness of the flexible polymer ring (portion 647 of diaphragm 640) is between 55-75 Shore A. However, Gilbert teaches a gas dispenser having a diaphragm 206 (Fig. 5) made of elastomer material having a hardness between 40-50 (paragraph [0061]: silicone material having a Shore A hardness ranging from 40-90 or from about 50 to 80). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Holroyd so that the flexible polymer ring of the diaphragm is made of a material having a hardness within the claim range, as taught by Gilbert, in order to provide a suitable material choice allowing flexure of the material upon increased pressure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on pages 6-8 of the remarks:
“Conversely, Holroyd requires axial walls (706) which are received within and bonded to axial grooves (708) of the rigid disc-like section (641), providing bonding surfaces substantially parallel with the central axis of the diaphragm (640). See para. [0055]. Thus, the two surfaces are merely in close vicinity of one another and not locked mechanically. Applicant asserts that this type of bonding is fragile, leading to the peeling off of the peripheral flexible polymer ring from the central rigid disc while the vacuum is being retained…Holroyd does not teach "wherein the central rigid disk is prepared having the interlocking means in first shot and the peripheral flexible polymer ring is prepared in second shot during which a flexible polymer is allowed to flow through the interlocking means of the central rigid disk to form a continuous uninterrupted part on either side of the central rigid disc of the diaphragm"
However, the argument is not well taken, because, as described in the above rejection, Holroyd does actually disclose the two part injection mold process as claimed (see paragraph [0054]) where the central disc 641 (rigid disc-like section 641 is portion "A" of the diaphragm 640) is molded in a first step and the peripheral ring 647 (peripheral attachment ) is molded in a second step, at which point it is bonded to the central disc/first portion "A". As to the limitation that the polymer material is allowed to flow through the interlocking means of the central disk to form a “continuous uninterrupted part on either side of the central rigid disc, it is noted that the claim language only "either side" can be interpreted as one of the two sides of the disk. The flexible polymer of part "B" in Holroyd is continuous and uninterrupted on at least the bottom side of central disk 641/part "A" (no components of part A extend entirely through part "B" or are exposed on the bottom side, as shown in Fig. 6 of Holroyd, see also Holroyd paragraph [0018], "the disk, the annular flexure and the peripheral ring form a contiguous assembly"). Thus, the limitation is met and the rejection stands.
Applicant further argues on pages 8-10 of the remarks:
“Stenzler does not teach a generic elastomeric valve seal, but a disc-shaped, slit-based valve (142, 144) formed of hyperelastic material specifically to achieve threshold-triggered snap-through behavior. The valve remains closed during an initial inhalation phase and then snaps open at a defined negative pressure, with flaps that recess and partially obstruct airflow, producing a bi-stable, two-stage inhalation profile. See Stenzler, para. [0042]. Thus, the material selection is inseparably tied to this specialized structure and function, not merely generic sealing or flexure.
Furthermore, Stenzler fails to teach or suggest the flap comprising a soft elastomer component "to form an air tight lock with the valve port of the diaphragm," as required by claim 7. Stenzler discloses an integral elastomeric valve structure that seals via deformation, rather than a discrete flap cooperating with a valve port of a diaphragm. See Stenzler, Figs. 6c and 7b. In contrast,9
Applicant's valve seal (see Fig. 6, 372) provides a predictable sealing interface with continuous opening under inhalation, without slit geometry, snap action, or bi-stable airflow. Applicant respectfully asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to extract only the "soft elastomer" aspect from Stenzler absent its associated structure and function, as this would alter the principle of operation and introduce unintended nonlinear behavior.”
However, the argument is not well taken. Though the structure of Holroyd's valve is different than Stenzler, they both include a flexible material designed to move to open a port/opening upon a threshold inhalation pressure being reached. Thus, Stenzler's teaching of a soft elastomer as a material choice for a valve flap is relevant to the valve design of Holroyd's. Further, the functions of the inhaler and/or valve disclosed by Holroyd would not be prevented or inhibited by the use of Stenzler's soft elastomer material choice for the flap part since it would still function to seal the valve port when closed and move to open the port when inhalation pressure achieved. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art, lacking a particular material for the valve of Holroyd, upon seeing the soft elastomer material taught by Stenzler, would be motivated to try it as a suitable material choice for a valve member meant to move/open under inhalation while maintaining enough resilience to return to its sealed position upon release of said pressure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cecka et al. (US 2007/0083677) discloses a valve for use in endobronchial therapy comprising a flexible flap material with a hardness as low as Shore A 20 designed to open at relatively low pressure drops (paragraph [0114]).
DiCastri et al. (US 2025/0065059) discloses a powder inhaler having a sealing element with a hardness between 1A Shore A and 60 Shore A (paragraph [0030]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALERIE L WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785