Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11-13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik US 20200106573 in view of Takano WO 2020031762.
Regarding claims 1, 11, 17, Cirik teaches a method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1 box 110A), the method comprising:
the control information further indicating a first communication type and a second communication type are associated with a common set of time resources; and
based on a first data type of first data corresponding to a first communication type and further based on a second data type of second data corresponding to a second communication type, performing a wireless communication using the one or more first frequency resources to communicate the first data and using the one or more second frequency resources to communicate the second data ([0389] In an example, when configured with multiple BWPs for a cell, a gNB and a UE may communicate on multiple active BWPs of the multiple BWPs in parallel (e.g., simultaneously or overlapped in time) to accommodate multiple services (e.g., eMBB, URLLC, or MTC). In an example, on a first active BWP, a gNB may transmit an eMBB data packet to a UE. In an example, on a second active BWP, the gNB may transmit an URLLC data packet to the UE. In an example, on a third active BWP, the gNB may transmit an MTC data packet to the UE. Transmitting multiple data packets for different services on different active BWPs in parallel (e.g., simultaneously or overlapped in time) may reduce latency).
Although Cirik teaches control information indicating the control information further indicating a first communication type and a second communication type are associated with a common set of time resources of the BWP, the reference is silent on receiving control information indicating a single bandwidth part (BWP) that is included in a single carrier and that includes the first frequency resources and the second frequency resources.
Takano teaches receiving control information indicating a single bandwidth part (BWP) that is included in a single carrier and that includes the first frequency resources and the second frequency resources (The capability information includes information indicating the number of beams that can be received using a plurality of frequency resources in the same time resource. In other words, the capability information includes information indicating the number of frequency resources capable of receiving the measurement signal beam-sweeped using the same time resource. It can be said that the number of frequency resources is the number of resources or the number of resource sets that can be received on the same time resource. The capability information may include the number of different frequency resources that can be received on the same time resource, or may include the number of different resource sets of frequency resources that can be received on the same time resource. From the viewpoint of reducing the complexity of reporting, it is preferable that the capability information include the number of different resource sets of frequency resources that can be received on the same time resource. The resources or resource sets of different frequency resources that can be received on the same time resource are, for example, resources or resource sets of different frequency bands in the same BWP or CC.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Cirik by receiving control information indicating a single bandwidth part (BWP) that is included in a single carrier and that includes the first frequency resources and the second frequency resources, as shown by Takano. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for the UE to receive the control information.
Regarding claim 12, one of the first communication type or the second communication type is associated with a first part of a frequency spectrum that is different than a second part of the frequency spectrum associated with the other of the first communication type or the second communication type (Cirik: [0389]).
Regarding claim 13, the first communication type or the second communication type is associated with a first latency sensitivity that is greater than a second latency sensitivity associated with the other of the first communication type or the second communication type (Cirik: [0389]: Note, different communication types are associated with different latencies.
Regarding claim 16, given the rejection to claim 15 above with respect to the first communication type, the rejection with respect to the second communication type would have been obvious in view of the combination.
Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Cirik and Takano and as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xiao 20210136763.
Regarding claim 23, the combination is silent on receiving an indication of a mapping of one or more of the first frequency resources or the second frequency resources to one or more of the first communication type or the second communication type, wherein the wireless communication is performed in accordance with the mapping.
Xiao teaches on receiving an indication of a mapping of one or more of the first frequency resources or the second frequency resources to one or more of the first communication type or the second communication type, wherein the wireless communication is performed in accordance with the mapping ([0081]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by receiving an indication of a mapping of one or more of the first frequency resources or the second frequency resources to one or more of the first communication type or the second communication type, wherein the wireless communication is performed in accordance with the mapping, as shown by Xiao. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the UE to know which frequency resources to use for each communication type.
Regarding claim 24, receiving a message indicating a pattern of uplink to downlink slots associated with one or more of the first communication type or the second communication type, wherein the wireless communication is performed in accordance with the pattern (Xiao: [0112]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Cirik and Takano as applied to claims 17 above, and further in view of Ryu 20200413348.
Regarding claim 18, the combination is silent on sending a request indicating one or more characteristics of the control information.
Ryu teaches sending a request indicating one or more characteristics of the control information (When the TX UE requests a resource, the resource may information about whether the resource is for unicast communication, groupcast communication, or broadcast communication (a V2X communication type, [0303]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by on sending a request indicating one or more characteristics of the control information, as shown by Ryu. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the system to choose an optimal method of communication.
Claims 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Cirik, Takano, and Ryu as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Liu US 20090042581.
The combination is silent on the request indicates a first bandwidth of the one or more first frequency resources.
Liu teaches a request indicates a first bandwidth/frequency of the one or more first frequency resources (time frequency resource request, [0100]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by the request indicates a first bandwidth of the one or more first frequency resources, as shown by Liu. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the UE to select an optimal bandwidth for communication.
Claims 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Cirik, Takano, and Ryu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zarifi US 10333688.
Regarding claim 4 the combination is silent on the request indicates one or more of a first ratio associated with the first communication type or a second ratio associated with the second communication type.
Zarifi teaches the request indicates one or more of a first ratio associated with the first communication type or a second ratio associated with the second communication type (the request
is based on characteristics of the UE, the characteristics including at least one of a downlink to uplink (DL/UL) traffic load ratio of the UE, possible device-to-device (D2D) communication, the UE's traffic type, and a factor relating to interference of the UE, claim 18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by the request indicates one or more of a first ratio associated with the first communication type or a second ratio associated with the second communication type, as shown by Zarifi. This modification would benefit the system by allocating an optimal ratio of UL/DL slots to the UE.
Regarding claim 5, the first ratio is based on one or more first slots for a downlink communication of the first communication type, one or more second slots for an uplink communication of the first communication type (Ryu: request based on (DL/UL) traffic load ratio, possible D2D communication, claim 18).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Cirik and Takano as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Sun US 20190246419.
The combination is silent on the first communication type corresponds to one of an enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) communication type or a ultra-reliable low- latency communications (URLLC) communication type, and wherein the second communication type corresponds to the other of the eMBB communication type or the URLLC communication type.
Sun teaches the first communication type corresponds to one of an enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) communication type or a ultra-reliable low- latency communications (URLLC) communication type, and wherein the second communication type corresponds to the other of the eMBB communication type or the URLLC communication type ([0067]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by the first communication type corresponds to one of an enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) communication type or a ultra-reliable low- latency communications (URLLC) communication type, and wherein the second communication type corresponds to the other of the eMBB communication type or the URLLC communication type, as shown by Sun. This modification would benefit the system by providing a method for concurrently transmitting eMBB and URLLC communication types.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 9, 10, 15, 21, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD B ABELSON/