Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11-14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BOROUJENI WO 2020069165.
Regarding claims 1, 11, 17, BOROUJENI teaches a method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving control information indicating allocation, to the UE (In the case multiple SPS configurations are active, methods may be needed to signal the properties of each configuration to the WTRU, [0073]), of one or more first frequency resources that are associated with a first communication type and further indicating allocation, to the UE, of one or more second frequency resources that are associated with a
second communication type (To enable SPS support for different use cases, e.g. eMBB and URLLC, or different traffic types
within the same use case, multiple SPS configurations may be configured and activated within a single serving cell and/or within a single BWP, [0073]), the control information further indicating the first communication type and the second communication type are associated with a common set of time resources (there may be a probability that some configuration resources overlap for the same WTRU, [0073]) of a single bandwidth part (BWP) that is included in a single carrier (single carrier FDMA, [0015], The base station 1 14a and/or the base station 1 14b may be configured to transmit and/or receive wireless signals on one or more carrier frequencies, which may be referred to as a cell, [0017]) and that includes the first
frequency resources and the second frequency resources (multiple SPS configurations may be configured and activated within a single serving cell and/or within a single BWP, [0073]); and
based on a first data type of first data corresponding to the first communication type and further based on a second data type of second data corresponding to the second communication
type, performing a wireless communication using the one or more first frequency resources to communicate the first data and using the one or more second frequency resources to communicate
the second data ((multiple SPS configurations may be configured and activated within a single serving cell and/or within a single BWP, [0073]).
Note, US 20200382157 teaches different communication types simultaneously transmitting using a single BWP at a single TTI (Moreover, multiple communication processes, possibly including different
communication types and/or plural communication devices may be performed using a single BWP within a TTI., [0085])
Regarding claim 12, (overlap, [0073]).
Regarding claim 13, (eMBB, URLLC, [0073]).
Regarding claim 14, (eMBB, URLLC, [0073]).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOROUJENI and as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xiao 20210136763.
Regarding claim 23, BOROUJENI is silent on receiving an indication of a mapping of one or more of the first frequency resources or the second frequency resources to one or more of the first communication type or the second communication type, wherein the wireless communication is performed in accordance with the mapping.
Xiao teaches on receiving an indication of a mapping of one or more of the first frequency resources or the second frequency resources to one or more of the first communication type or the second communication type, wherein the wireless communication is performed in accordance with the mapping ([0081]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of BOROUJENI by receiving an indication of a mapping of one or more of the first frequency resources or the second frequency resources to one or more of the first communication type or the second communication type, wherein the wireless communication is performed in accordance with the mapping, as shown by Xiao. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the UE to know which frequency resources to use for each communication type.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOROUJENI as applied to claims 17 above, and further in view of Ryu 20200413348.
Regarding claim 18, BOROUJENI is silent on sending a request indicating one or more characteristics of the control information.
Ryu teaches sending a request indicating one or more characteristics of the control information (When the TX UE requests a resource, the resource may information about whether the resource is for unicast communication, groupcast communication, or broadcast communication (a V2X communication type, [0303]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of BOROUJENI by on sending a request indicating one or more characteristics of the control information, as shown by Ryu. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the system to choose an optimal method of communication.
Claims 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of BOROUJENI and Ryu as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Liu US 20090042581.
The combination is silent on the request indicates a first bandwidth of the one or more first frequency resources.
Liu teaches a request indicates a first bandwidth/frequency of the one or more first frequency resources (time frequency resource request, [0100]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by the request indicates a first bandwidth of the one or more first frequency resources, as shown by Liu. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the UE to select an optimal bandwidth for communication.
Claims 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOROUJENI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zarifi US 10333688.
Regarding claim 4, BOROUJENI is silent on the request indicates one or more of a first ratio associated with the first communication type or a second ratio associated with the second communication type.
Zarifi teaches the request indicates one or more of a first ratio associated with the first communication type or a second ratio associated with the second communication type (the request
is based on characteristics of the UE, the characteristics including at least one of a downlink to uplink (DL/UL) traffic load ratio of the UE, possible device-to-device (D2D) communication, the UE's traffic type, and a factor relating to interference of the UE, claim 18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of BOROUJENI by the request indicates one or more of a first ratio associated with the first communication type or a second ratio associated with the second communication type, as shown by Zarifi. This modification would benefit the system by allocating an optimal ratio of UL/DL slots to the UE.
Regarding claim 5, the first ratio is based on one or more first slots for a downlink communication of the first communication type, one or more second slots for an uplink communication of the first communication type (Ryu: request based on (DL/UL) traffic load ratio, possible D2D communication, claim 18).
Claims 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOROUJENI as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Dimou US 20130252621.
BOROUJENI is silent on the one or more processors are further configured to select the one or more first frequency resources and the one or more second frequency resources to reduce or minimize one or more of an intra-cell interference within a coverage range associated with the network node or an inter-cell interference between the network node and another network node.
Dimou teaches frequency resources to reduce or minimize one or more of an intra-cell interference within a coverage range associated with the network node ([0018]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 9, 10, 15, 16, 21, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RONALD B ABELSON/