DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 01/17/2024 have been considered by the examiner to the extent permitted by 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
______________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 USC 112
Claims 3, 12, 22, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant, regards as the invention.
Claim 3
Analysis
Claim 3 recites that the braking bristles are stiffer than the free pulling bristles "to be able to hold the cable in place and outweigh a portion of the cable and a plug that extends outside the electric charging station." The term "outweigh" is unclear in this context. It is not clear whether the claim requires the braking bristles to have a physical weight greater than the weight of the cable and plug, to exert a frictional holding force greater than a gravitational load from the cable and plug, or to otherwise counterbalance the cable and plug. Because the metes and bounds of the required relationship between the bristles, the cable, and the plug cannot be determined with reasonable certainty, claim 3 is indefinite.
Suggested Correction
Applicant may amend the claim to replace "outweigh" with a definite functional relationship. For example, if supported by the original disclosure, Applicant may recite that the braking bristles apply a frictional holding force sufficient to hold the cable and plug outside the charging station against retraction or gravitational loading.
______________________________
Claim 12
Analysis
Claim 12 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 does not recite a mobile pulley system. Accordingly, the phrase "the mobile pulley system" in claim 12 lacks proper antecedent basis. Because it is unclear which mobile pulley system is locked by the recited lock, the scope of claim 12 is unclear.
Suggested Correction
Applicant may amend claim 12 to depend from a claim that positively recites the mobile pulley system, or may amend claim 1 to introduce the mobile pulley system before reciting "the mobile pulley system" in claim 12.
______________________________
Claim 22
Analysis
Claim 22 recites that the third indication is activated "in response to the plug being connected to an electric vehicle." The claim previously recites a cable, a charging station, a magnet, an anchor, a plug holder, a lock, a mobile pulley system, and an additional mechanical cable braking system, but it does not positively introduce a plug before reciting "the plug." Because "the plug" lacks clear antecedent basis, the scope of the triggering condition for the third indication is unclear.
Suggested Correction
Applicant may amend claim 22 to introduce a plug before reciting "the plug," for example by reciting a plug connected to the cable or a plug received by the plug holder, if supported by the original disclosure.
______________________________
Claim 23
Analysis
Claim 23 recites "a lock configured to restrict movement of a mobile pulley system," but the claimed system does not positively recite the mobile pulley system as part of the system or otherwise define the structural relationship between the lock and the mobile pulley system. The claim therefore leaves unclear whether the mobile pulley system is part of the claimed system, an external environment of use, or a separate unclaimed component. Because the scope of the recited system cannot be determined with reasonable certainty, claim 23 is indefinite.
Suggested Correction
Applicant may amend claim 23 to positively recite the mobile pulley system as part of the claimed system, or to clarify that the lock is configured to restrict movement of an external mobile pulley system of the charging station.
______________________________
Claim 24
Analysis
Claim 24 recites "the plug," but claim 23 does not positively introduce a plug. Claim 23 recites a plug holder, but a plug holder is not the same component as a plug. Because "the plug" lacks proper antecedent basis, the scope of the condition that activates the additional mechanical cable braking system is unclear.
Suggested Correction
Applicant may amend claim 23 to introduce a plug, or amend claim 24 to recite "a plug" connected to the cable before relying on "the plug," if supported by the original disclosure.
______________________________
REFERENCES USED
Reference 1 - Diemer et al., US 2022/0388808 A1, Charge Cable Management System and Method for Retracting a Charge Cable, published December 8, 2022. Reference 1 is used as the primary reference.
Reference 2 - Li, CN 107804188 A, A Kind of Electric Automobile Charging Pile, published March 16, 2018.
Reference 3 - Calloway et al., US 11,399,623 B2, Cable Broom, issued August 2, 2022.
Reference 4 - Sempliner et al., US 2009/0151983 A1, Grommet for Cables, published June 18, 2009.
Reference 5 - Fournier et al., US 2017/0129355 A1, Electric Vehicle Charging System, published May 11, 2017.
Reference 6 - Bianco et al., US 2011/0074351 A1, Overhead Electric Vehicle Charging System, published March 31, 2011.
Reference 7 - Feuz, US 3,856,118 A, Brake System for a Travelling Brake Carriage of an Aerial Cableway, issued December 24, 1974.
Reference 8 - Cansler, US 6,079,087 A, Method for Making Wavy Tapered Brush Bristles, issued June 27, 2000.
Reference 9 - Xu et al., CN 111853058 A, Circular Arc Motion Mechanism, published October 30, 2020.
Reference 10 - Jenko et al., US 3,802,654 A, Strain Relief Cable Anchor, issued April 9, 1974.
Reference 11 - Ehmann et al., US 7,806,374 B1, Cable Grommet, issued October 5, 2010.
______________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 USC 103
______________________________
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim 1
1. A cable management system for an electric charging station for an electric vehicle, the cable management system comprising: a braking device located at a cable outlet of the electric charging station, the braking device having a free pulling zone having free pulling bristles and a braking zone having braking bristles, the braking bristles being stiffer than the free pulling bristles and the braking bristles being configured to at least partially immobilize a charging cable outside of the cable outlet of the electric charging station by applying friction to the charging cable to brake any movement of the cable into the charging station during charging of the electric vehicle, the friction applied to the charging cable by the braking bristles being higher than by the free pulling bristles.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches charge cable management system 100 for charging electric vehicle 104. The system includes charging cable 102, plug 103, cable storage 106, tensioning module 108, brake module 116, brake release module 118, controller 120, charging detection module 124, pulley assembly 140, pulleys 142, and weight mass 130. Reference 1 teaches that a user pulls cable 102 out of cable storage 106 using pulling force 114 to connect plug 103 to vehicle inlet socket 107. Reference 1 further teaches that tensioning module 108 applies retraction force 109 to retract cable 102 into cable storage 106, and that brake module 116 applies braking force 122 to cable 102 to prevent cable 102 from recoiling into cable storage 106 during charging. Reference 1 therefore teaches an electric-vehicle charging-station cable management system having a braking device that applies friction/braking force to a charging cable to restrict movement of the cable into the charging station during charging.
Reference 1 does not expressly teach forming the cable-outlet braking device as free-pulling bristles and braking bristles at the cable outlet. Reference 2 is in the electric-vehicle charging-pile field and teaches charging pile body 1, storage cavity 11, take-up pulley 111, first actuator 112, cable 2, wire hole 12 through which cable 2 extends, rollers 113 located at wire hole 12, second actuator 114, charging plug 21, slot 15 for receiving charging plug 21, infrared sensor 151, and bristles 121 on the inner peripheral wall of wire hole 12 contacting the surface of cable 2. Reference 2 therefore teaches placing bristles at the outlet/wire hole of an EV charging pile so that the bristles contact the charging cable at the cable outlet.
Reference 3 teaches a bristle assembly having first bristles 330 and second bristles 340, where first bristles 330 have a first stiffness and second bristles 340 have a second stiffness greater than the first stiffness. Reference 3 teaches that bristle stiffness may be selected by material, diameter, cross-sectional area, cross-sectional geometry, wall thickness, outer layers, coatings, ribbing, openings, and related structural properties. Reference 3 further teaches arranging bristles having different stiffnesses in selected regions or patterns to change the aggressiveness of bristle contact. Reference 3 therefore teaches the known bristle-design concept of using different bristle stiffnesses to create different friction/contact characteristics.
As applied to claim 1, Reference 1 supplies the EV charging-station environment, cable 102, plug 103, cable storage/outlet path, and the need to brake cable 102 against retraction into the charging station during charging. Reference 2 supplies field-specific EV charging-pile outlet bristles 121 contacting cable 2 at wire hole 12. Reference 3 supplies different-stiffness bristle zones. The modified cable outlet would include lower-stiffness free-pulling bristles in one region to permit ordinary cable extension and higher-stiffness braking bristles in another region to apply higher friction and at least partially immobilize the charging cable outside the outlet.
Motivation for Claim 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the EV charging cable management system of Reference 1 to include the field-specific cable-outlet bristles of Reference 2 and the different-stiffness bristle arrangement of Reference 3 because Reference 1 identifies the need to prevent charging cable 102 from recoiling into cable storage 106 during a charging session, Reference 2 teaches EV charging-pile bristles 121 at wire hole 12 contacting cable 2 at the cable outlet, and Reference 3 teaches selecting first and second bristles having different stiffnesses to produce different contact aggressiveness. The combination would predictably provide an outlet brake in which lower-stiffness bristles permit pulling and higher-stiffness bristles provide increased friction to restrict retraction.
______________________________
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of Reference 7.
Claim 2
2. The cable management system of claim 1 further comprising a pair of braking blocks having a braking gap therebetween and located in the braking zone of the braking device for immobilization of the charging cable when the charging cable is placed into the braking zone by moving the charging cable out from the free pulling zone.
Analysis
Claim 2 depends from claim 1 and therefore includes the EV charging cable management system, cable-outlet bristles, free-pulling zone, braking zone, and different-stiffness bristles discussed for claim 1. Reference 1 further teaches brake module 116 that clamps cable 102 between one-way bearing 206 and guiding wheel 210 to prevent cable 102 from recoiling. Reference 2 also teaches two rollers 113 located at wire hole 12 that commonly clamp cable 2, with anti-slip rubber 1131 on the roller surfaces to increase friction. References 1 and 2 therefore reinforce the use of opposed cable-contacting members at the charging-cable outlet to hold or control the cable.
Reference 7 teaches a cable brake having braking blocks 58, braking shoes 56, sliding pistons 62, and bores 64. Reference 7 teaches that braking shoes 56 are arranged at opposite sides of associated support cable 22 and are urged toward the cable to brake movement. The opposed braking shoes 56 and braking blocks 58 define a cable-receiving braking gap. The braking block/shoe structures of Reference 7 teach a pair of braking blocks or equivalent braking block members having a gap therebetween for immobilizing a cable when the cable is positioned in the braking region.
As applied to the modified cable outlet of claim 1, the opposed braking block/shoe structure of Reference 7 would be located in the higher-friction braking zone so that the charging cable can be moved from the free-pulling bristle zone into a braking zone where the cable is mechanically held. Reference 1 supplies the field-specific reason to immobilize charging cable 102 during charging, Reference 2 supplies field-specific EV cable-outlet clamping rollers 113, and Reference 7 supplies the specific opposed braking-block/gap structure.
Motivation for Claim 2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to add the opposed braking block/shoe arrangement of Reference 7 to the braking zone of the cable outlet formed from References 1, 2, and 3 because Reference 1 teaches preventing charging cable 102 from recoiling into cable storage 106 during charging, Reference 2 teaches opposed outlet rollers 113 clamping and frictionally controlling charging cable 2 at wire hole 12, and Reference 7 teaches a known cable-braking structure in which opposed braking shoes 56 carried by braking blocks 58 act from opposite sides of a cable to stop cable movement. The combination would predictably provide a positive braking gap in the braking zone while preserving the lower-friction free-pulling zone for ordinary cable extension.
______________________________
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim 3
3. The cable management system of claim 1 wherein the braking bristles are stiffer than the free pulling bristles to be able to hold the cable in place and outweigh a portion of the cable and a plug that extends outside the electric charging station.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches cable 102 and plug 103 extending outside cable management system 100 when plug 103 is connected to vehicle inlet socket 107. Reference 1 teaches brake module 116 applying braking force 122 to cable 102, where braking force 122 prevents cable 102 from being retracted into cable storage 106. Reference 2 teaches bristles 121 at wire hole 12 contacting cable 2 of an EV charging pile. Reference 3 teaches first bristles 330 and second bristles 340 having different stiffnesses, with second bristles 340 being stiffer and providing more aggressive contact than first bristles 330.
As applied to claim 3, the higher-stiffness braking bristles of the modified cable outlet correspond to the stiffer second bristles 340 of Reference 3, while the free-pulling bristles correspond to lower-stiffness first bristles 330. The higher-stiffness braking bristles apply greater frictional force to the cable than the lower-stiffness bristles and thereby hold the cable and plug outside the charging station against movement or retraction.
Motivation for Claim 3
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use higher-stiffness bristles in the braking zone because Reference 1 teaches the desirability of holding charging cable 102 against retraction during charging, Reference 2 teaches cable-contacting bristles 121 at the EV charging-pile wire hole 12, and Reference 3 teaches that bristle stiffness is a selectable design parameter used to adjust contact aggressiveness. Increasing stiffness in the braking zone would predictably increase frictional holding force without preventing the lower-friction pulling function of the free-pulling zone.
______________________________
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim 4
4. The cable management system of claim 1 wherein the diameter of the braking bristles is larger than the diameter of the free pulling bristles.
Analysis
Reference 3 teaches that bristle stiffness can be determined by bristle diameter, cross-sectional area, and cross-sectional geometry. Reference 3 teaches first bristles 330 and second bristles 340 and teaches that the second bristles may have a second diameter greater than a first diameter of the first bristles. In the modified cable outlet of References 1 and 2, the higher-friction braking bristles correspond to the larger-diameter second bristles of Reference 3, and the lower-friction free-pulling bristles correspond to the smaller-diameter first bristles.
Motivation for Claim 4
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to make the braking bristles larger in diameter than the free-pulling bristles because Reference 3 expressly teaches diameter as a way to control bristle stiffness, and the modified EV charging cable outlet benefits from higher stiffness and higher friction in the braking zone while maintaining lower resistance in the free-pulling zone.
______________________________
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of Reference 8.
Claim 5
5. The cable management system of claim 1 wherein the free pulling bristles are curled.
Analysis
Claim 5 depends from claim 1 and therefore includes the lower-friction free-pulling bristles and higher-friction braking bristles discussed for claim 1. Reference 8 teaches brush bristles having a non-straight wavy or curved shape. Reference 8 teaches tapered synthetic brush bristles with a substantially uniform wave amplitude and teaches making wavy bristles by passing bristles through crimping gears 20 and 30. Reference 8 further teaches non-straight bristle shapes including curved, S-shaped, hooked, looped, wavy, or crimped bristle configurations. The wavy/curved bristles of Reference 8 correspond to curled bristles under a broad reading of claim 5.
As applied to claim 5, the free-pulling bristles in the modified EV charging-pile outlet would be formed as wavy/curved bristles as taught by Reference 8. Reference 3 already teaches selecting bristle geometry and stiffness to tailor contact properties, and Reference 8 provides a specific known non-straight bristle geometry suitable for a more compliant bristle region.
Motivation for Claim 5
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use wavy, curved, or curled bristles for the free-pulling bristles because References 2 and 3 already teach cable-contact bristles and selectable bristle properties, while Reference 8 teaches known non-straight bristle geometries that alter bristle flexibility and contact behavior. Applying that known bristle geometry to the free-pulling zone would predictably reduce pulling resistance and cable surface abrasion while still allowing the bristles to wipe, guide, or close around the cable at the outlet.
______________________________
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of Reference 4.
Claim 6
6. The cable management system of claim 1 wherein the braking bristles and the free pulling bristles are attached to bristle holders.
Analysis
Claim 6 depends from claim 1 and therefore includes the modified EV charging cable outlet having free-pulling bristles and braking bristles. Reference 4 teaches brush elements 23 having relatively rigid backings 24 that mount and secure bristles 25. Reference 4 further teaches that backings 24 are received in channels 20 and retained by channel flanges so that bristles 25 extend through the partially restricted open sides of the channels. The rigid backings 24 and channels 20 function as bristle holders for bristles 25.
As applied to claim 6, the free-pulling bristles and braking bristles of the modified EV charging outlet would be attached to respective bristle holders/backings so that the bristles remain positioned in the free-pulling and braking zones during repeated cable extension and retraction.
Motivation for Claim 6
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to attach the free-pulling and braking bristles to bristle holders because Reference 4 teaches a known cable-grommet construction in which bristles 25 are mounted to rigid backings 24 and retained in channels 20. Providing holders would predictably retain the bristles at the cable outlet and preserve the intended free-pulling and braking zones during repeated use.
______________________________
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of Reference 5.
Claim 7
7. The cable management system of claim 1 further comprising: a mobile pulley system and a fixed pulley system, each comprising a plurality of cable wheels located on arcs along which the charging cable moves when the charging cable is extended out of the charging station by a pulling force applied by a user to the charging cable and when the charging cable is retracted into the charging station by a force of gravity on a weight object of the mobile pulley system which simultaneously displaces towards a lowered position, the mobile pulley system being located lower than the fixed pulley system and being configured to travel up and down along ledges of the charging station.
Analysis
Claim 7 depends from claim 1 and therefore inherits the Reference 1, Reference 2, and Reference 3 combination applied to claim 1. Reference 1 also teaches tensioning module 108 having pulley assembly 140 configured to facilitate recoiling cable 102. Pulley assembly 140 includes pulleys 142 and weight mass 130. Reference 1 teaches that when cable 102 is pulled out by a user, pulleys 142 move upwardly, and when cable 102 is recoiled, pulleys 142 move downwardly due to gravity. Reference 1 also teaches wheels 136 located on lateral sides of pulley assembly 140 cooperating with guide portions of the cable-management-system housing to allow vertical movement of pulley assembly 140.
Reference 5 teaches EV charging station 2 having elongated upstanding enclosure 2a housing EV charging cable 6 with EV charging connector 7. Reference 5 teaches cable management system 18 in enclosure 2a, fixed pulley 20 mounted at an upper end of support structure 22, mobile pulley 24 mounted under fixed pulley 20 for up-and-down movement, and cable 6 running over fixed pulley 20, downwardly over mobile pulley 24, and upwardly to junction box 14. Reference 5 teaches upright members 22a and 22b forming vertical tracks and runners 26 extending laterally from mobile pulley 24 to engage those tracks. Reference 5 further teaches counterweight 28 mounted to mobile pulley 24 to calibrate cable tension and adjust the cable retraction force.
References 1 and 5 together teach the claimed mobile pulley system, fixed pulley system, cable wheels, user pulling, gravity-based return, weight object, mobile pulley lower than the fixed pulley, and vertical travel of the movable pulley structure along guide/track portions of the charging station. The claimed arcs are met by the circular cable paths around pulleys 142 of Reference 1 and fixed/mobile pulleys 20 and 24 of Reference 5. The claimed ledges are met under a broad reading by Reference 5's support structure 22, upright members/tracks 22a and 22b, and runners 26 guiding mobile pulley 24 up and down.
Motivation for Claim 7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 1 with Reference 5, while retaining the Reference 2 and Reference 3 teachings used for claim 1, because References 1 and 5 both address EV charging cable extension and retraction using movable cable-support elements, pulleys, and gravity-assisted return. Applying Reference 5's fixed pulley 20, mobile pulley 24, support structure 22, runners 26, and counterweight 28 to Reference 1's EV charging cable system would predictably improve cable reach, maintain cable tension, reduce slack, and provide compact vertical cable storage.
______________________________
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, further in view of Reference 5, and further in view of Reference 9.
Claim 8
8. The cable management system of claim 7, wherein the mobile pulley system comprises rollers, each roller having a groove configured to receive a portion of one ledge to allow the mobile pulley system to slide up and down the ledges.
Analysis
Claim 8 depends from claim 7 and therefore inherits the Reference 1, Reference 2, Reference 3, and Reference 5 combination applied to claim 7. Reference 9 teaches an arc motion mechanism having guide rail 7, sliding block 1, and rollers 5. Reference 9 teaches that the arc-shaped track is a V-shaped protruding structure, that roller 5 has a V-shaped groove structure, and that the V-shaped groove structure is clamped on the V-shaped protruding structure to form a roller guide mechanism. Reference 9 therefore teaches a grooved roller receiving a protruding rail/ledge portion, including in an arc-track environment.
As applied to the mobile pulley system of References 1 and 5, the rollers/wheels that guide the vertically moving mobile pulley would be configured with grooves as taught by Reference 9, and the upright ledges/tracks of the charging station would include corresponding rail portions received in those grooves. The V-shaped groove of roller 5 corresponds to the groove of each roller, and the V-shaped protruding track of guide rail 7 corresponds to the portion of the ledge received by the groove. The combined structure allows the mobile pulley system to slide up and down the ledges while maintaining lateral alignment.
Motivation for Claim 8
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the grooved roller and V-shaped protruding guide-rail arrangement of Reference 9 in the mobile pulley system of References 1 and 5 because a vertically moving pulley/counterweight assembly must remain aligned during repeated upward and downward travel. Reference 9 teaches that a V-shaped groove on roller 5 engaging a V-shaped protruding track improves movement stability by maintaining side-surface contact. Applying that known guide structure would predictably reduce wobble, binding, and misalignment of the mobile pulley system in the charging station.
______________________________
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, further in view of Reference 5, and further in view of Reference 9.
Claim 9
9. The cable management system of claim 8, wherein the groove of each roller has a tapered inner surface.
Analysis
Claim 9 depends from claim 8 and therefore inherits the Reference 1, Reference 2, Reference 3, Reference 5, and Reference 9 combination applied to claim 8. Reference 9 teaches that roller 5 has a V-shaped groove structure. A V-shaped groove has opposed tapered inner side surfaces that converge toward the bottom of the groove. Those tapered inner side surfaces correspond to the claimed tapered inner surface of each roller groove.
As applied to claim 9, each grooved roller of the mobile pulley system would include the V-shaped groove taught by Reference 9 so that the groove receives the corresponding ledge/rail portion and stabilizes vertical movement of the mobile pulley system.
Motivation for Claim 9
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the tapered V-shaped groove of Reference 9 because the tapered side surfaces maintain guided contact with the corresponding V-shaped guide rail and improve stability. The same guided-contact benefit would apply to the mobile pulley system of claim 8 as it travels up and down the charging-station ledges.
______________________________
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of Reference 10.
Claim 10
10. The cable management system of claim 1 having an anchor and a plug holder configured to receive the anchor.
Analysis
Claim 10 depends from claim 1 and therefore includes the cable management system of References 1, 2, and 3. Reference 1 teaches charging cable 102, plug 103, and charge plug dock 110. Reference 1 therefore teaches a charging-cable end structure and a holder/dock for receiving the plug when the cable is stored. Reference 10 teaches strain relief cable anchor support 10, openings 16, removable cable clamp 19, grooves 18, member 20, protrusion 22, extension 23, serrations 24, straps 26, and cable 27. Reference 10 teaches a cable-attached anchor/clamp 19 that is received in support opening 16 and locked in place by cooperating grooves and locking structure.
As applied to claim 10, the plug dock 110 of Reference 1 would be configured to receive a cable-attached anchor as taught by Reference 10. The cable-attached anchor provides positive retention and strain relief at the plug-holder area of the charging station.
Motivation for Claim 10
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to add the cable-anchor and receiving-support arrangement of Reference 10 to the plug dock of Reference 1 because charging cables are repeatedly pulled, stored, and docked, and a cable-attached anchor received at the holder area would predictably reduce cable stress at the plug and provide a positive mechanical interface for retaining the cable end at the holder.
______________________________
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, further in view of Reference 10, and further in view of Reference 11.
Claim 11
11. The cable management system of claim 10 wherein the anchor has a tunnel for receiving a portion of the charging cable therein and a slit which defines two edges of the anchor that permit the anchor to be clamped onto the charging cable and grip the cable immovably when a distance between the two edges is reduced when the anchor is fit into an anchor groove located in the plug holder.
Analysis
Claim 11 depends from claim 10 and therefore inherits the Reference 1, Reference 2, Reference 3, and Reference 10 combination applied to claim 10. Reference 11 teaches cable grommet 10 having frame 12 with wings 14 and 16, openings 20 to 34, strain relief clamps 40 to 56, and strain relief clamp 500. Reference 11 teaches that hollow strain relief clamps are attached to cables or wires, are generally made of rubber or elastic plastic, and have a slit in the longitudinal direction so that they may be attached to the wire sideways. Reference 11 teaches strain relief clamp 500 having slit 502, opening 504 fitted to the diameter of the cable, side surfaces 503 and 505 with grooves, and insertion into wings 14 and 16. Reference 11 further teaches that the slits 502 are closed during assembly, tightly surrounding the inserted cable, and that the strain relief clamps are compacted so that the cables are held firmly and immovably.
The opening 504 corresponds to the claimed tunnel for receiving a portion of the charging cable. The slit 502 corresponds to the claimed slit. The portions of strain relief clamp 500 on opposite sides of slit 502 correspond to the two edges of the anchor. The grooves on side surfaces 503 and 505 and the openings 20 to 34 in the holder/frame correspond to the claimed anchor groove/receiving groove relationship. When strain relief clamp 500 is inserted and compressed in the holder/frame, the slit closes and the distance between the two edges is reduced, causing the anchor to grip the cable immovably.
As applied to the plug-holder arrangement of References 1 and 10, the cable-attached anchor would use the slotted strain-relief clamp structure of Reference 11 so that the anchor can be clamped onto the charging cable and received in a complementary groove or holder portion of the plug dock.
Motivation for Claim 11
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the slotted strain-relief clamp structure of Reference 11 with the charging-cable plug holder and anchor arrangement of References 1 and 10 because EV charging cables experience repeated tensile loading and docking cycles. A slotted elastic anchor with opening 504, slit 502, side grooves 503 and 505, and holder openings 20 to 34 allows side installation on the cable, positive cable gripping, and reduced strain at the plug holder.
______________________________
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of Reference 5.
Claim 12
12. The cable management system of claim 1 having a lock configured to lock the mobile pulley system in a locking position.
Analysis
Claim 12 depends from claim 1 and therefore inherits the Reference 1, Reference 2, and Reference 3 combination applied to claim 1. To the extent claim 12 is understood in view of the specification and related independent claim 15, Reference 5 teaches the additional lock limitation. Reference 5 teaches EV charging station 2, cable management system 18, fixed pulley 20, mobile pulley 24, support structure 22, runners 26, counterweight 28, electronic lock 32, and electromagnetic lock 34. Reference 5 teaches that electronic lock 32 can selectively lock mobile pulley 24a or 24b in a lowered position, preventing associated cable 6a or 6b from being pulled out of enclosure 2a. Electronic lock 32 therefore teaches a lock configured to lock the mobile pulley system in a locking position.
Motivation for Claim 12
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use electronic lock 32 of Reference 5 in the modified EV charging cable-management system because Reference 5 teaches locking a mobile pulley to prevent unauthorized cable withdrawal, and Reference 1 teaches controlled charging-cable storage and brake release. The combination would predictably provide controlled access to the charging cable and prevent unintended mobile-pulley movement.
______________________________
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim 13
13. The cable management system of claim 1 further comprising an additional mechanical cable braking system configured to pinch the cable to prevent the cable from retracting back into the charging system.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches brake module 116 as a mechanical brake for cable 102. Brake module 116 includes lever 202, one-way bearing 206, guiding wheel 210, urging member 212, brake release module 118, engagement member 216, and solenoid module 218. Reference 1 teaches that urging member 212 causes cable 102 to be clamped between guiding wheel 210 and one-way bearing 206 when brake module 116 is activated, thereby preventing cable 102 from recoiling into the system. This teaches the claimed additional mechanical cable braking system configured to pinch the cable to prevent retraction.
Motivation for Claim 13
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include the mechanical brake of Reference 1 in the bristle outlet system because Reference 1 expressly teaches using brake module 116 to stop charging cable 102 from retracting during a charging session. A separate pinch brake provides predictable redundancy and controlled cable retention while the bristle zone provides passive outlet friction.
______________________________
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim 14
14. A charging station for an electric vehicle comprising the cable management system of claim 1.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches charge cable management system 100 for charging electric vehicle 104, including charging cable 102, plug 103, cable storage 106, tensioning module 108, brake module 116, brake release module 118, controller 120, and charging detection module 124. Reference 2 teaches an EV charging pile body 1 having cable 2, wire hole 12, bristles 121 at wire hole 12, rollers 113, and charging plug 21. Reference 3 teaches using bristles of different stiffnesses. The modified cable management system of claim 1 is therefore incorporated in an EV charging station.
Motivation for Claim 14
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to place the modified cable management system in an EV charging station because References 1 and 2 are both directed to EV charging equipment and cable handling, while Reference 3 provides predictable bristle-stiffness features for controlling cable contact at the outlet.
______________________________
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim 25
25. A method for operating an electric charging station for an electric vehicle, the method comprising: placing a cable in a free pulling zone for displacing freely into the electric charging station, and restricting movement of a charging cable when the charging cable is placed into a braking zone of a braking device located at a cable outlet of the electric charging station, a braking friction applied to the charging cable in the braking zone being higher than a free-moving friction applied to the charging cable in the free pulling zone.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches operating charge cable management system 100 by allowing user pulling force 114 to pull cable 102 out of cable storage 106 and by applying brake module 116 to cable 102 to prevent cable 102 from retracting into cable storage 106 during charging. Reference 2 teaches operating an EV charging pile by extending and retracting cable 2 through wire hole 12 and by contacting cable 2 with bristles 121 at wire hole 12. Reference 3 teaches first bristles 330 and second bristles 340 having different stiffnesses and contact aggressiveness. The combined method places the charging cable in a lower-friction bristle region for free movement and in a higher-friction bristle region for braking at the outlet.
Motivation for Claim 25
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to operate the modified system by placing the cable in a lower-friction bristle zone for free pulling and in a higher-friction bristle zone for braking because Reference 1 teaches the need for both cable withdrawal and cable retention during charging, Reference 2 teaches bristles 121 at an EV charging-pile cable outlet, and Reference 3 teaches selecting bristle stiffness to vary friction/contact characteristics.
______________________________
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 5.
Claim 15
15. A cable management system comprising: a mobile pulley system and a fixed pulley system, each comprising a plurality of cable wheels located on arcs along which the charging cable moves when the charging cable is extended out of the charging station by a pulling force applied by a user to the charging cable and when the charging cable is retracted into the charging station by a force of gravity on a weight object of the mobile pulley system which simultaneously displaces towards a lowered position, the mobile pulley system being located lower than the fixed pulley system and being configured to travel up and down along ledges of the charging station.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches pulley assembly 140, pulleys 142, weight mass 130, wheels 136, charging cable 102, and user pulling force 114. Reference 1 teaches that pulleys 142 move upwardly when cable 102 is pulled out and move downwardly due to gravity to recoil cable 102. Reference 5 teaches EV charging station 2, cable management system 18, cable 6, fixed pulley 20, mobile pulley 24, support structure 22, upright members/tracks 22a and 22b, runners 26, and counterweight 28. Reference 5 teaches fixed pulley 20 at a higher elevation than mobile pulley 24, mobile pulley 24 moving vertically in support structure 22, and cable 6 extending around the fixed and mobile pulleys. References 1 and 5 therefore teach or render obvious the mobile/fixed pulley cable-management arrangement recited in claim 15.
Motivation for Claim 15
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the pulley assembly of Reference 1 with the fixed/mobile pulley arrangement of Reference 5 to provide a predictable gravity-assisted cable extension and retraction system for an EV charging cable, thereby reducing cable slack, maintaining cable tension, and improving compact vertical cable storage.
______________________________
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 5, and further in view of Reference 9.
Claim 16
16. The cable management system of claim 15, wherein the mobile pulley system comprises rollers, each roller having a groove configured to receive a portion of one ledge to allow the mobile pulley system to slide up and down the ledges.
Analysis
Claim 16 depends from claim 15 and therefore inherits the Reference 1 and Reference 5 combination applied to claim 15. Reference 9 teaches guide rail 7, sliding block 1, and rollers 5, with each roller 5 having a V-shaped groove structure clamped on a V-shaped protruding guide-rail structure. The V-shaped protruding structure corresponds to a ledge or rail portion, and the V-shaped groove of each roller corresponds to a groove configured to receive a portion of the ledge.
As applied to claim 16, the mobile pulley system of References 1 and 5 would include grooved rollers using the V-shaped groove/guide relationship taught by Reference 9. The grooved rollers would receive ledge portions of the charging-station support structure and allow the mobile pulley system to slide up and down the ledges while remaining laterally guided.
Motivation for Claim 16
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the grooved roller and protruding guide-rail arrangement of Reference 9 in the mobile pulley system of References 1 and 5 for the same reason stated for claim 8: the mobile pulley system repeatedly travels vertically and benefits from a stable guided engagement that reduces misalignment and binding.
______________________________
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 5, and further in view of Reference 9.
Claim 17
17. The cable management system of claim 16, wherein the groove of each roller has a tapered inner surface.
Analysis
Claim 17 depends from claim 16 and therefore inherits the Reference 1, Reference 5, and Reference 9 combination applied to claim 16. Reference 9 teaches roller 5 having a V-shaped groove structure. The V-shaped groove has opposed tapered inner side surfaces, which correspond to the claimed tapered inner surface of each roller groove.
As applied to claim 17, each grooved roller of the mobile pulley system would include the V-shaped groove taught by Reference 9 so that the tapered inner surfaces guide the roller along the ledge/rail structure.
Motivation for Claim 17
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the V-shaped groove of Reference 9 because the tapered groove surfaces maintain contact with the guide ledge and improve stability during guided travel of the mobile pulley system.
______________________________
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 5, and further in view of Reference 10.
Claim 18
18. The cable management system of claim 15 having an anchor and a complementary plug holder.
Analysis
Claim 18 depends from claim 15 and therefore inherits the Reference 1 and Reference 5 combination applied to claim 15. Reference 1 teaches plug 103 and charge plug dock 110. Reference 10 teaches support 10, openings 16, removable cable clamp 19, grooves 18, member 20, protrusion 22, straps 26, and cable 27. Reference 10 teaches a cable-attached anchor/clamp 19 that is received and locked in support 10. The cable-attached anchor and receiving support of Reference 10 teach an anchor and complementary holder relationship.
As applied to claim 18, the cable management system of claim 15 would include a cable-attached anchor and complementary plug holder at the charging-cable storage/docking location. The combination provides positive retention and strain relief for the cable end when the mobile-pulley charging-cable system is stored.
Motivation for Claim 18
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include the anchor and complementary holder arrangement of Reference 10 in the cable management system of claim 15 because a mobile-pulley charging-cable system benefits from positive plug/cable retention and strain relief when the cable is stored in the charging station.
______________________________
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 5.
Claim 19
19. The cable management system of claim 15 having a lock configured to lock the mobile pulley system to restrict movement of the mobile pulley system.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches brake module 116 and brake release module 118, controlled by controller 120, for selectively preventing retraction of cable 102. Reference 5 teaches electronic lock 32 for selectively locking mobile pulley 24a or 24b in a lowered position, thereby preventing associated cable 6a or 6b from being pulled out of enclosure 2a. Reference 5 further teaches that lock 32 may be operatively connected to the control unit so that a valid access code releases mobile pulley 24a or 24b, and that electromagnetic lock 34 may be integrated with counterweight 28. When applied to the movable pulley/weight system of Reference 1, the controlled lock teachings of Reference 5 render obvious a lock configured to restrict movement of the mobile pulley system.
Motivation for Claim 19
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to lock the movable pulley system because Reference 5 expressly teaches locking mobile pulley 24a or 24b to prevent unauthorized cable withdrawal, while Reference 1 teaches controlling EV charging cable movement during stored and charging states. Locking the movable pulley assembly would predictably restrict cable movement and protect the charging cable when access is not authorized or when a controlled cable state is needed.
______________________________
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 5.
Claim 20
20. The cable management system of claim 15 further comprising an additional mechanical cable braking system configured to pinch the cable to prevent the cable from retracting back into the charging system.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches brake module 116 including one-way bearing 206, guiding wheel 210, urging member 212, brake release module 118, engagement member 216, and solenoid module 218. Reference 1 teaches that cable 102 is clamped between guiding wheel 210 and one-way bearing 206 to prevent recoiling. This teaches the claimed additional mechanical cable braking system configured to pinch the cable to prevent the cable from retracting back into the charging system.
Motivation for Claim 20
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include the mechanical pinch brake of Reference 1 with the pulley system of claim 15 because Reference 1 teaches that brake module 116 prevents cable 102 from retracting into cable storage 106 during charging, which is the same cable-retention function claimed.
______________________________
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 5.
Claim 21
21. A charging station for an electric vehicle comprising the cable management system of claim 15.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches charge cable management system 100 for charging electric vehicle 104. Reference 5 teaches EV charging station 2, upstanding enclosure 2a, EV charging cable 6, EV charging connector 7, and cable management system 18. The cable management system of claim 15 would therefore be incorporated in a charging station for an electric vehicle.
Motivation for Claim 21
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include the pulley cable-management arrangement in an EV charging station because both References 1 and 5 are directed to EV charging equipment and cable handling.
______________________________
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 5 and Reference 6.
Claim 22
22. A method for managing a cable of a charging station, the method comprising: in response to receiving a first indication from a processor, the first indication being generated when a magnet located on an anchor is detected by a magnet detector located on a plug holder, locking a lock restricting movement of a mobile pulley system; in response to receiving a second indication from the processor, unlocking the lock restricting movement of the mobile pulley system to allow the cable to be extended outside of the charging station; and after the mobile pulley system has moved, in response to receiving a third indication from the processor, activating an additional mechanical cable braking system to restrict movement of the cable while the cable is in an extended position, the indication from the processor being activated in response to the plug being connected to an electric vehicle.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches controller 120, charging detection module 124, plug 103, charge plug dock 110, brake module 116, brake release module 118, and tensioning/pulley assembly 140. Reference 1 teaches determining whether plug 103 is in charge plug dock 110, determining charging-session start/end conditions, applying brake force 122 to prevent retraction during charging, and releasing brake force when retraction is allowed.
Reference 5 teaches electronic lock 32 for selectively locking mobile pulley 24a or 24b in a lowered position, thereby restricting movement of the mobile pulley system and cable 6a or 6b. Reference 5 also teaches that lock 32 may be operatively connected to the control unit and released in response to authorized access so that the user may draw cable 6a or 6b out of enclosure 2a.
Reference 6 teaches magnetic ring 934 proximate J1772 connector 930 and magnetic sensor 936 mounted at housing 902 to electronically sense the retracted position of power cable 950. Reference 6 also teaches Hall sensors sensing magnets placed on the cable and a microprocessor responsive to sensor signals and EVSE inputs. Reference 6 further teaches controlled locking/retraction behavior to prevent unauthorized cable use.
Under a broad reading, Reference 6's magnetic ring 934 proximate connector 930 corresponds to a magnet associated with a cable-end anchor or connector-associated anchor structure, and magnetic sensor 936 at housing 902 corresponds to the magnet detector associated with a holder/housing location. Combined with Reference 1's charge plug dock 110, controller 120, brake module 116, and pulley assembly 140, and Reference 5's lock 32 for locking mobile pulley 24a or 24b, the references render obvious locking and unlocking cable movement in response to magnetic detection and activating a mechanical brake while the plug is connected to the EV.
Motivation for Claim 22
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to add Reference 6's magnetic ring/magnetic sensor connector-position detection to Reference 1's cable management controller and Reference 5's pulley lock because Reference 1 already teaches controlling brake release based on plug dock and charging-session conditions, and Reference 5 already teaches locking a mobile pulley to prevent cable withdrawal. Magnetic position sensing would predictably provide reliable detection of the connector/cable storage state for deciding when to lock, unlock, or brake the cable.
______________________________
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 5 and Reference 6.
Claim 23
23. A system for managing a cable of a charging station, the system comprising: a magnet located on an anchor, the anchor being attached to the cable, the magnet configured to be detected by a magnet detector located on a plug holder of the charging station; and a lock configured: to restrict movement of a mobile pulley system in response to receiving a first indication that the magnet is detected by a magnet detector located on a plug holder, and to be unlocked in response to receiving a second indication to allow the cable to be extended from the charging station.
Analysis
Reference 6 teaches magnetic ring 934 proximate connector 930, magnetic sensor 936 mounted at housing 902, Hall sensors sensing magnets on a cable, microprocessor control, and controlled cable extension/retraction. Reference 5 teaches electronic lock 32 for selectively locking mobile pulley 24a or 24b in a lowered position and releasing the lock in response to authorized access. Reference 1 teaches charge plug dock 110, controller 120, brake module 116, brake release module 118, cable 102, plug 103, and pulley assembly 140. The combined system includes a cable-associated magnetic element detected at the housing/holder, and a lock/brake arrangement controlled to restrict or allow mobile-pulley and cable movement.
Motivation for Claim 23
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 6's magnetic sensing with Reference 1's brake-controlled pulley cable management and Reference 5's mobile pulley lock because doing so would provide a predictable sensor input for deciding whether to lock or release the cable based on connector/cable position.
______________________________
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 5 and Reference 6.
Claim 24
24. The system of claim 23 further comprising an additional mechanical cable braking system configured to restrict movement of the cable while the cable is in an extended position in response to the plug being connected to an electric vehicle.
Analysis
Claim 24 depends from claim 23 and therefore inherits the Reference 1, Reference 5, and Reference 6 combination applied to claim 23. Reference 1 teaches brake module 116 mechanically engaging cable 102 to prevent retraction during a charging session, and teaches that plug 103 is inserted into vehicle inlet socket 107 to begin charging. Reference 1 further teaches charging detection module 124 and controller 120 controlling brake release based on charging-session conditions. Thus, the additional mechanical cable braking system is taught by brake module 116, including one-way bearing 206, guiding wheel 210, urging member 212, brake release module 118, engagement member 216, and solenoid module 218.
Motivation for Claim 24
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to activate the mechanical brake while the plug is connected to the vehicle because Reference 1 teaches preventing retraction of the cable into the system during the charging session, thereby avoiding unwanted pulling on the connected EV charge plug.
Claim Disposition
Rejected claims
Under 35 U.S.C. 112: Claims 3, 12, 22, 23, and 24.
Under 35 U.S.C. 103: Claims 1-25.
Objected-to claims
None.
Allowed claims
None.
Conclusion
US 3,661,431 A, US 2012/0225578 A1, US 3,014,194 A, US 6,058,541 A, and EP 1 236 256 B1 were reviewed but not relied upon. CN 111853058 A was selected over US 3,661,431 A for the grooved-roller limitations because it more directly teaches an arc guide rail, V-shaped protruding track, V-shaped groove structure on rollers 5, and sliding block 1. US 7,806,374 B1 was selected over EP 1 236 256 B1 because it is the U.S. family member with the same cable-grommet/strain-relief clamp disclosure.
The selected references provide the strongest available mapping to EV charging cable management, EV outlet bristles, bristle stiffness, pulley/lock operation, magnetic sensing, opposed braking blocks, grooved rollers, cable anchors, and slotted strain-relief clamping.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615