724891Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Status of Claims
Claims 1-37 are pending and are presented for this examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 01/21/2024, 01/31/2024, 05/07/2024, 08/27/2024, 10/30/2024, 04/10/2025, 05/29/2025, 07/30/2025, 09/05/2025 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Instant claims 1, 13, 25 and 37 recite an alloy comprising Mg, Mn, Si, Zr and Al. Without reciting amount of Al, it is unclear whether Al content is the base material of the alloy or merely an microalloying element of the alloy. Since the base material of claimed alloy is lacking, instant claims fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of claimed invention.
Instant claims 6-12, 18-24, 30-36 recited “an as-printed alloy”. It is unclear whether the recited as-printed alloy is the same additive manufactured alloys of claims 1, 13 and 25 or a different alloy from additive manufactured alloys of claims 1, 13 and 25. Clarification is required.
As a result of rejected 1, 13, 25 and 37, all dependent claims are also rejected under the same statue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-12 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (CN107502795A).
As for claims 1-5, 9-12 and 37, Chen anticipated instant claims as follows.
Chen discloses a high strength additive manufacturing Al alloy. Inventive Example 1 ([0028]) has elemental alloy compositions all within instant claims 1-5 and 37 required ranges as illustrated in Table 1 below. Broad range of tensile strength is >=450 MPa ([0017]) Hence, instant claims 9-12 required UTS ranges are all met.
Table 1
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Chen et al.
(weight %)
Inventive Example 1 ([0028])
Within
(weight %)
Mg
2.5-5.3
3
3
Mn
0.01-4
0.2
0.2
Si
0.1-1.5
0.1
0.1
Zr
0.01-2
0.02
0.02
Ti (Claims 2-3)
0.01-2
0.15
0.15
Zn (Claims 4-5)
0.01-3
0.25
0.25
Mn (Claim 37)
0.01-2.9
0.2
0.2
Si (Claim 37)
0.01-3.9
0.1
0.1
Zr (Claim 37)
0.01-2.8
0.02
0.02
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN108330344A).
As for claims 1-37, Li discloses a 3D printed 7xxx aluminum alloy. ([0001]) Hence, instant claimed additive manufacturing alloy is met.
The 7xxx aluminum alloy has broad ranges of elemental compositions overlapping with instant claimed ranges as illustrated in Table 4 below. ([0008]) The as-printed alloy has UTS>=300 MPa and elongation >=12% ([0034]) which overlaps instant claims 6-12, 18-24, 30-36 required UTS and elongation ranges respectively.
Table 4
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Li et al.
(weight %)
[0008]
Overlap
(weight %)
Mg (Claim 1)
2.5-5.3
2.1-6.9
2.5-5.3
Mn(Claim 1)
0.01-4
0.1-6.3
0.1-4
Si(Claim 1)
0.1-1.5
0.1-6
0.1-1.5
Zr(Claim 1)
0.01-2
0-6
0.01-2
Ti (Claims 2-3, 14-15,26-27)
0.01-2
0-6.2
0.01-2
Fe (Claims 4-5, 16-17, 28-29)
0.01-2.5
0-6
0.01-2.5
Mg(Claim 13)
2.0-5.3
2.1-6.9
2.1-5.3
Mn(Claims 13, 25)
0.7-2.9
0.1-6.3
0.7-2.9
Si(Claims 13, 25)
0.1-0.8
0.1-6
0.1-0.8
Zr(Claims 13, 25)
0.01-1
0-6
0.01-1
Mn (Claim 37)
0.01-2.9
0.1-6.3
0.1-2.9
Si (Claim 37)
0.01-3.9
0.1-6
0.1-3.9
Zr (Claim 37)
0.01-2.8
0-6
0.01-2.8
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Hence, based on the teaching of Li, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, to select the amount of each element within the ranges disclosed by Li in order to arrive at alloy of claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 4-13, 16-25 and 28-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN110724891A).
As for claims 1, 4-5, 13, 16-17, 25, 28-29 and 37, Zhu discloses an additive manufacturing Al alloy obtained by heat treatment to control UTS and elongation. The Al alloy has broad ranges of elemental composition overlapping instant claimed ranges as illustrated in Table 2 below.
Table 2
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Zhu et al.
(weight %)
Claim 8
Overlap
(weight %)
Mg (Claim 1)
2.5-5.3
3-10
3-5.3
Mn(Claim 1)
0.01-4
0.3-1
0.3-1
Si(Claim 1)
0.1-1.5
0.01-3
0.1-1.5
Zr(Claim 1)
0.01-2
0.2-0.6
0.2-0.6
Zn (Claims 4-5, 16-17, 28-29)
0.01-3
0.01-0.2
0.01-0.2
Mg(Claim 13)
2.0-5.3
3-10
3-5.3
Mn(Claims 13, 25)
0.7-2.9
0.3-1
0.7-1
Si(Claims 13, 25)
0.1-0.8
0.01-3
0.1-0.8
Zr(Claims 13, 25)
0.01-1
0.2-0.6
0.2-0.6
Mn (Claim 37)
0.01-2.9
0.3-1
0.3-1
Si (Claim 37)
0.01-3.9
0.01-3
0.01-3
Zr (Claim 37)
0.01-2.8
0.2-0.6
0.2-0.6
In addition, Inventive Example 2 [0044] discloses elemental composition ranges all within or overlapping claimed ranges as illustrated in Table 3 below.
Table 3
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Zhu et al.
(weight %)
Inventive Example 2 ([0045]
Within/Overlap
(weight %)
Mg (Claim 1)
2.5-5.3
4.5
4.5
Mn(Claim 1)
0.01-4
0.5
0.5
Si(Claim 1)
0.1-1.5
0.01
Broad:0.01-3
0.1-1.5
Zr(Claim 1)
0.01-2
0.3
0.3
Zn (Claims 4-5, 16-17, 28-29)
0.01-3
0.2
0.2
Mg(Claim 13)
2.0-5.3
4.5
4.5
Mn(Claims 13, 25)
0.7-2.9
0.5
Broad:0.3-1
0.7-1
Si(Claims 13, 25)
0.1-0.8
0.01
Broad:0.01-3
0.1-0.8
Zr(Claims 13, 25)
0.01-1
0.3
0.3
Mn (Claim 37)
0.01-2.9
0.5
0.5
Si (Claim 37)
0.01-3.9
0.01
0.01
Zr (Claim 37)
0.01-2.8
0.3
0.3
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Hence, based on the teaching of Zhu, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, to select the amount of each element within the ranges disclosed by Zhu in order to arrive at alloy of claimed invention.
As for claims 6-9, 18-21, 30-33, Zhu discloses Inventive Example 2 has UTS= 417 MPa and elongation at 18%. Hence, instant claimed elongation and UTS are met.
As for claims 10-12, 22-24, 34-36, Zhu discloses UTS at about 514 MPa can be obtained after solid solution treatment. ([0040]) Hence, instant claimed UTS are met.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-39 of U.S. Patent No. 12,378,643. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claimed inventions are directed to an Al-based alloy with Mg, Mn, Si, Zr ranges overlapping. The U.S. Patent No. 12,378,643 also teaches the alloy is an additive manufacturing alloy.
Claims 1-37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 and 17-42 of co-pending Application No. 16/526,679. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claimed inventions are directed to an Al-based alloy with Mg, Mn, Si, Zr ranges overlapping. The co-pending application also teaches the alloy is an additive manufacturing alloy.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, to select the amount of each element within the ranges disclosed by the co-pending application in order to arrive at alloy of claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-46 of co-pending Application No. 18/814,143. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claimed inventions are directed to an Al-based alloy with Mg, Mn, Si, Zr ranges overlapping. The co-pending application also teaches the alloy is an additive manufacturing alloy.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, to select the amount of each element within the ranges disclosed by the co-pending application in order to arrive at alloy of claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JENNY R WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733