DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 1/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panagotacos et al. (US20120063166) in view of KIM et al. US20090257245).
Regarding claim 1, Panagotacos teaches an optical system (Panagotacos, figs.1-23, abstract, a collimating waveguide, an optical backlight apparatus ; paragraph [0074], FIG. 22 is a diagram 500 of a method of producing a collimated beam of radiant electromagnetic energy using the embodiments of the collimating waveguide 100, 200 and/or the collimating optical backlight described herein with reference to FIGS. 1-21) comprising:
a plurality of light sources (Panagotacos, the light emitting elements; paragraph [0054] the point source 203 may comprise one or more light emitting elements; paragraph [0047], FIGS. 8-14 illustrate one embodiment of a collimating waveguide 200, comprises an input surface 202 to receive radiant electromagnetic energy; a point source 203; also see annotated image, fig.11, light sources: the light emitting elements);
a light guide member (Panagotacos, figs.8-14, waveguides 200) having a rectangular plate shape (Panagotacos, figs.8-14, waveguides 200 having a rectangular plate shape ), with a width direction being an X-axis direction, a depth direction being a Y-axis direction, and a thickness direction being a Z-axis direction (see annotated image, Panagotacos, fig.10, with a width direction being an X-axis direction, a depth direction being a Y-axis direction, and a thickness direction being a Z-axis direction), the light guide member (200) having an incident surface (see annotated image, Panagotacos, fig.10, fig.13, the incident surface which is virtual surface dividing light control bodies from the light guide member 200) onto which light from the plurality of light sources (see annotated image, Panagotacos fig.10, light sources) is incident in the Y-axis direction (see annotated image, Panagotacos, fig.10, the light guide member 200 having an incident surface onto which light from the light sources is incident in the Y-axis direction), and a first surface (the first surface 208) and a second surface (second surface 204) facing each other in the Z-axis direction (see annotated image, Panagotacos, fig.10, and fig.11, first surface 208 and a second surface 204 facing each other in the Z-axis direction), with the second surface being an emission surface of light (paragraph [0074], collimated beam 224 of radiant electromagnetic energy from the output surface 204);
a prism (fig.11, prism 209; paragraph [0041], the linear prism 209) that is provided on the first surface (fig.11, surface 208), the prism reflecting light passing through an inside of the light guide member toward the second surface (see Panagotacos, fig.11, the prism 209 reflecting light passing through an inside of the light guide member 200 toward the second surface 204); and
a plurality of light control bodies (see annotated image, Panagotacos, fig.11 and fig.13, plurality of light control bodies) that are positioned between the light sources (see annotated image, Panagotacos, fig.11, light source 203) and the incident surface (fig.10, the incident surface, the plurality of light control bodies controlling light rays output from the light sources and incident on the incident surface (see annotated image, Panagotacos, fig.10 and fig.13, the plurality of light control bodies controlling light rays output 224 from the light sources 203 and incident on the incident surface), wherein
the light guide member (see annotated image, Panagotacos, fig.10-11 and fig.13, guide member 200) and the plurality of light control bodies are seamlessly integrated (see annotated image, Panagotacos, fig.10-11 and fig.13, guide member 200 and the plurality of light control bodies are seamlessly integrated),
each of the plurality of light control bodies includes an incident lens (see annotated image, Panagotacos, fig.13, incident lens 205 ; paragraph [0038] plurality of linear prisms 205; micro-prismatic structures 205; paragraph [0048], first film comprising the input surface 202 micro-prismatic structures) facing one of the plurality of light sources in the Y-axis direction (see annotated image, Panagotacos, fig.10 and fig.13, the incident lens 205 facing one of the plurality of light sources in the Y-axis direction),
each of the plurality of light control bodies causes the light incident from a corresponding one of the light sources to the incident lens to be incident on the incident surface (see Panagotacos, figs.10-11, 13, each of the plurality of light control bodies causes the light incident from a corresponding one of the light sources to the incident lens to be incident on the incident surface),
and
directions of optical axes of light rays incident on the incident surface by at least two light control bodies among the plurality of light control bodies are different from each other(fig.13, at least two light control bodies --- the linear prisms) among the plurality of light control bodies are different from each other (see Panagotacos,fig.10, fig.13, and see annotated image, Panagotacos, fig.11, directions of optical axes of light rays incident on the incident surface by at least two light control bodies among the plurality of light control bodies are different from each other).
Panagotacos does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of light control bodies are continuously connected to the incident surface of the light guide member without a seam.
However, Kim teaches the analogous Light guide member (Kim, abstract, Improved apparatus and method for collecting and directing light from a source via a light guide), and further teaches wherein
the plurality of light control bodies (see annotated image, Kim, fig.1, light control member 124) are continuously connected to the incident surface (see annotated image, Kim, fig.1, the incident surface which is virtual surface dividing light control member 124 from the light guide member 125) of the light guide member (see annotated image, Kim, fig.1, the light guide member 125) without a seam (see annotated image, Kim, fig.1, wherein without a seam), and the light guide member (see annotated image, Kim, fig.1, the light guide member 125) and the plurality of light control bodies (light control member 124) are seamlessly integrated ((see annotated image, Kim, fig.1, described above are seamlessly integrated).
Kim also teaches wherein the light guide member (see annotated image, Kim, fig.1, the 125) having an incident surface (incident surface) onto which light from the plurality of light sources (122) is incident in the Y-axis direction (Y-axis direction).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Panagotacos to have the plurality of light control bodies are continuously connected to the incident surface of the light guide member without a seam as taught by Kim for the purpose to provide improved light emission, efficient energy usage, color uniformity, and limited visual artifacts, particularly when multiple, spatially separated light sources are employed to illuminate the backlight (Kim, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, combination Panagotacos-Kim discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Panagotacos further teaches wherein an angle (fig.8, the angle between beam 220 and 222) formed by the optical axes of the light rays incident on the incident surface (described in claim 1) by the at least two light control bodies (described in claim 1) is more than 0 degrees and less than or equal to 15 degrees (see Panagotacos, fig.12, where the difference in the angle of 220 of adjacent light control bodies is more than 0 degrees and less than 15 degrees).
Regarding claim 3, combination Panagotacos-Kim discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Panagotacos further teaches wherein each of the incident lenses includes a plurality of lens units having lens characteristics different from each other (Panagotacos, fig.13, micro-prismatic structures; paragraph [0048], first film comprising the input surface 202 micro-prismatic structures; paragraph [0075], a plurality of linear prisms 202, FIG. 13, each one defining an apex angle θ2, a top tip radius r4, and a bottom tip radius r3, wherein the top tip radius r4 is greater than the bottom tip radius r3), each of the plurality of light control bodies causes light rays incident on the plurality of lens units from the corresponding one of the light sources to be incident on the incident surface, and directions of optical axes of light rays incident on the incident surface by at least two lens units among the plurality of lens units are different from each other (see Panagotacos, fig.12 shows 220 which are incident on the incident surface in different directions. Thus the lens units that make up 205/202 perform this function of creating different optical axes ).
Regarding claim 4, combination Panagotacos-Kim discloses the invention as described in Claim 3 and Panagotacos further teaches wherein each of the incident lenses is equally divided into the plurality of lens units by a plurality of planes intersecting each other (see fig.10 and fig.13, the incident lens is equally divided into the plurality of lens units 205/202 by a plurality of planes intersecting each other).
Regarding claim 5, combination Panagotacos-Kim discloses the invention as described in Claim 3 and Panagotacos further teaches wherein the plurality of lens units of each of the incident lenses are smoothly continuous (see Panagotacos, fig.13, plurality of lens units are smoothly continuous).
Regarding claim 7, combination Panagotacos-Kim discloses the invention as described in Claim 3, and Panagotacos further teaches wherein the plurality of lens units of each the incident lenses (lens units 205/202) includes refraction lens units that refract light rays (paragraph [0004] This type of optical system limits the ability to collimate the field of view and to use micro lens film arrays) and reflection lens units that reflect light rays (paragraph [0037], the input surface 202 of the collimating waveguide 200 shown in FIGS. 8-14.; paragraph [0038] a plurality of linear prisms 205; so reflection lens units that reflect light rays).
Regarding claim 8, combination Panagotacos-Kim discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Kim further teaches wherein the light guide member (see annotated image, Kim, fig.1, 125) includes a direct optical path along which the light rays incident on the incident surface (see annotated image, Kim, fig.1, the 125 includes a direct optical path along which the light rays incident on the incident surface) are emitted from the second surface (the top surface) only by one-time reflection at prisms (the prism 130).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Panagotacos to have a direct optical path along which the light rays incident on the incident surface are emitted from the second surface only by one-time reflection at prisms as taught by Kim for the purpose to provide improved light emission, efficient energy usage, color uniformity, and limited visual artifacts, particularly when multiple, spatially separated light sources are employed to illuminate the backlight (Kim, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, combination Panagotacos-Kim discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Panagotacos further teaches wherein an illumination system comprising:
the optical system according to claim 1; and the light sources that output the light rays incident on the incident surface (see annotated image, Panagotacos, fig.11, the light sources that output the light rays incident on the incident surface).
Regarding claim 10, combination Panagotacos-Kim discloses the invention as described in Claim 9 and Panagotacos further teaches wherein a display system comprising; the illumination system according to claim 9; and a display that receives light emitted from the illumination system and displays an image (Panagotacos, paragraph [0003] Large area backlight systems are used in a variety of display systems including laptop or notebook computer systems, large screen LCD TV screens, sunlight readable avionic/automotive displays, air traffic control displays, and medical display systems, to mention a few.. so the display system comprising; the illumination system according to claim 9; and the display that receives light emitted from the illumination system and displays an image—paragraph [0001] Common liquid crystal display, LCD architectures employ the use of a backlight unit located behind the LCD pixels to provide an illuminated image).
Regarding claim 11, combination Panagotacos-Kim discloses the invention as described in Claim 10 and Panagotacos further teaches wherein a moving body (paragraph [0003], automotive) comprising: the display system (paragraph [0003], automotive displays) according to claim 10; and a moving body main body on which the display system is mounted (Panagotacos, paragraph [0003], Large area backlight systems are used in a variety of display systems including laptop or notebook computer systems, large screen LCD TV screens, sunlight readable avionic/automotive displays, air traffic control displays, and medical display systems, to mention a few. Systems such as commercial aircraft cockpit displays and automotive displays including global positioning systems (GPS) navigation systems require extremely bright backlit LCD displays and the ability to direct the output light into an asymmetric field-of-view, as for a pilot and co-pilot LCD displays and to a lesser extent for automotive GPS displays).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panagotacos et al. (US20120063166) in view of KIM et al. US20090257245), and further in view of Powell et al. (US20160209574).
Regarding claim 6, combination Panagotacos-Kim discloses the invention as described in Claim 3, Panagotacos does not explicitly teach wherein each of the incident lenses includes four lens units, each of which has a different curvature distribution.
However, Powell teaches the analogous light guide member (Powell, paragraph [0003] a light guide and multiple light sources positioned along an input end of the light guide), and further teaches wherein each of the incident lenses (see annotated image, Powell, fig.6, incident lens from fig.3, having incident lenses) includes four lens units, each of which has a different curvature distribution (see annotated image, Powell, fig.6, each of the incident lenses includes four lens units, each of which has a different curvature distribution ).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Panagotacos to have lenses includes four lens units, each of which has a different curvature distribution as taught by Powell for the purpose to enable a higher level of concentration of light into the light guide, in a shorter optical path or length (Powell, paragraph [0016]).
Response to amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references or portions of the reference being used in the current rejections.
Examiner's Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872