DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 10-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C.
103(a) as being obvious over Chen (USPN 7169062).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a ball striking device having a ball striking
plate. The ball striking plate has a front surface and a rear surface and includes a
geometric center, a desired contact region, and a perimeter. Chen also discloses one or
more spoke-like reinforcement ribs located on the rear surface of the ball striking plate
and extending away from the geometric center toward the perimeter. Each spoke-like reinforcement rib has a cross-sectional shape, height, width, and cross-sectional area
(See Figure 3-9). Applicant does not disclose why the dimension and shape of the
spoke-like reinforcement ribs are critical in order to attain the invention. According to
the applicant, the spoke-like reinforcement ribs can have a maximum height of 2mm,
and maximum width of 3mm, and a maximum cross-section of 1mm2 (See Paragraphs
61, 62, and 64 of the specification). Chen does note that the thickness (height) of the
ribs can range from 0 to 30mm (See Column 4, lines 55 through 67) and that the width
can vary. Applicant notes that the length of the spoke-like reinforcement ribs are of equal or unequal lengths; however, there is no disclosed advantages of having the same or different lengths. Chen discloses the lengths of the spoke-like reinforcement ribs having equal lengths. Further, Chen also notes that the spoke-like reinforcement ribs obstruct the stress forces to reduce deformation of the strike face. One having ordinary skill in the art would find the dimensions and shape of the spoke-reinforcement ribs to be an obvious choice of design.
Regarding claim 2, Applicant does not disclose why having curved ribs are
critical in attaining the invention. Chen discloses a club head having a ball striking plate
with spoke-like reinforcement ribs wherein the ribs gradually increase in thickness (See
Figure 7). Though Chen does not show the ribs being curved, curved ribs would
gradually increase in thickness also. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would
have found the curved profile of the ribs to be an obvious choice of design. The ribs
disclosed by Chen would perform equally as well since it reinforces the ball striking
plate and places more flexure emphasis on the geometric center of the ball striking
plate.
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses at least one of the spoke-like reinforcement
rips being a linear element (See Figure 2, 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the spoke-like reinforcement ribs extending to
the perimeter of the ball striking plate (See Figures 2, 3, and 7).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses that having a thickened portion with an
elevated area on the rear surface of the ball striking plate is well known. This is evident
by Figure 1 and the description of the related art disclosed by Chen. Further Chen also
discloses that the disclosed invention and the invention in Figure 1 have similar
configuration and function (See Column 3, lines 33 through 40). Based on the above,
one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the elevated thickened area to be
and obvious
Regarding claim 11, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, see the above regrading claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, see the above regarding claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, see the above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, see the above regarding claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chen does not teach the spoke-like reinforcement ribs being unequal in length. A change in the dimensions, shape, and size of an element must result in a new or unexpected result. In the instant situation, there is not evidence that a new or unexpected result is achieved by varying the length of the spoke-like reinforcement ribs. For this reason, the above rejection has been furnished.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8 have been considered but are moot. These claims have been cancelled by the applicant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711