DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lui et al. (CN 112467239 A) in view of Hallmark et al. (US 10,320,034 B2) and Chang (US 2021/0075227 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lui et al. discloses an energy storage system (energy storage device, 50) comprising: a battery system (battery cluster management unit, 211) configured to comprise battery banks (group of battery pack, 23) electrically connected to each other; battery management systems (battery management unit, 211), the battery management systems (211) being configured to communicate with the battery banks (23); the battery cluster management unit (211) and the battery management unit (221) are connected by daisy chain, battery management unit (221) is connected with the battery pack (23) through wiring harness; and initializing the TCP/IP protocol stack, establishing the TCP server, when the battery array management component is connected to the TCP when the server, the battery cluster management unit starts to work, if there is no battery array management component connected to the TCP server, it can broadcast the IP address of the primary battery cluster management unit according to the set time interval (such as 250 ms) (see Abstract; figures 2 and 7-8; and Specific implementation examples).
Lui et al. fails to disclose a system comprising: battery management systems comprising first and second ports for transmission control protocol/Internet protocol (TCP/IP) communication, configured to receive state data from a corresponding one of the battery banks, and configured to communicate in a daisy chain manner with one another.
Hallmark et al. discloses an energy storage system comprising: a battery system (power system, 10) configured to comprise battery banks (battery submodules (20, 20A, 20B,…20N)) electrically connected to each other; and battery management system (70, 70A, 70B) comprising first and second ports for transmission control protocol/Internet protocol (TCP/IP) communication, the battery management system being configured to communicate with the battery banks, configured to receive state data from a corresponding one of the battery banks (see Abstract; figures 1-9; and column 4, line 24 through column 13, line 60), since the battery management system may employ Control Area Network bus (CANbus) implementation, Ethernet User Data Protocol (Ethernet UDP) communication linkage, may employ Modbus TCP/IP communication linkage, and/or may employ any communication linkage suitable for providing peer-to-peer communications amongst the submodule controllers (74A, 74B, 74N) (see figure 9 and column 11, lines 29-61).
Hallmark et al. fails to disclose that the battery management systems being configured to communicate with the battery banks configured to communicate in a daisy chain manner with one another.
Chang discloses a battery system (1000) includes battery modules 100[1]~100[n] and the battery modules 100[1]~100[n] are connected to one another in daisy-chain configuration and communicate with one another through the daisy chain according to a communication interface protocol (see figure 2 and paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lui et al. with the teachings of Hallmark et al. resulting in a system comprising: battery management systems comprising first and second ports for transmission control protocol/Internet protocol (TCP/IP) communication, configured to receive state data from a corresponding one of the battery banks in order to manage a large number of battery banks based of a specific battery bank.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lui et al. with the teachings of Chang resulting in a system wherein battery management systems being configured to communicate with the battery banks configured to communicate in a daisy chain manner with one another.
wherein the battery management systems are configured to perform communication as a server using the first port, and to perform communication as a client using the second port.
Regarding claim 2, Lui et al. discloses a system wherein the battery management systems are configured to perform communication as a server using the first port, and to perform communication as a client using the second port, since Lui et al. discloses establishing the TCP server (Specific implementation examples).
Regarding claim 10, Lui et al. discloses an energy storage system (energy storage device, 50) comprising: a battery system (battery cluster management unit, 211) configured to comprise battery banks (group of battery pack, 23) electrically connected to each other; battery management systems (battery management unit, 211), the battery management systems (211) being configured to communicate with the battery banks (23); the battery cluster management unit (211) and the battery management unit (221) are connected by daisy chain, battery management unit (221) is connected with the battery pack (23) through wiring harness; and initializing the TCP/IP protocol stack, establishing the TCP server, when the battery array management component is connected to the TCP when the server, the battery cluster management unit starts to work, if there is no battery array management component connected to the TCP server, it can broadcast the IP address of the primary battery cluster management unit according to the set time interval (such as 250 ms) (see Abstract; figures 2 and 7-8; and Specific implementation examples).
Lui et al. fails to discloses a system comprising: battery management systems comprising first and second ports for user datagram protocol (UDP) communication, the battery management systems being configured to communicate with the battery banks, configured to receive state data from a corresponding one of the battery banks, and configured to communicate in a daisy chain manner with one another.
Hallmark et al. discloses a system comprising: a battery system (power system, 10) configured to comprise battery banks electrically connected to each other; and battery management systems (70, 70A, 70B) comprising first and second ports for user datagram protocol (UDP) communication, the battery management systems (70, 70A, 70B) being configured to communicate with the battery banks (battery submodules (20, 20A, 20B,…20N)), and configured to receive state data from a corresponding one of the battery banks (battery submodules (20, 20A, 20B,…20N)) (see Abstract; figures 1-9; and column 4, line 24 through column 13, line 60), since Hallmark et al. discloses that the battery management system may employ Control Area Network bus (CANbus) implementation, Ethernet User Data Protocol (Ethernet UDP) communication linkage, may employ Modbus TCP/IP communication linkage, and/or may employ any communication linkage suitable for providing peer-to-peer communications amongst the submodule controllers (74A, 74B, 74N) (see figure 9 and column 11, lines 29-61).
Hallmark et al. fails to disclose that the battery management systems being configured to communicate with the battery banks configured to communicate in a daisy chain manner with one another.
Chang discloses a battery system (1000) includes battery modules 100[1]~100[n] and the battery modules 100[1]~100[n] are connected to one another in daisy-chain configuration and communicate with one another through the daisy chain according to a communication interface protocol (see figure 2 and paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lui et al. with the teachings of Hallmark et al. resulting in a system comprising: battery management systems comprising first and second ports for user datagram protocol (UDP) communication, the battery management systems being configured to communicate with the battery banks in order to manage a large number of battery banks based of a specific battery bank.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lui et al. with the teachings of Chang resulting in a system wherein battery management systems being configured to communicate with the battery banks configured to communicate in a daisy chain manner with one another.
Regarding claim 11, Lui et al. discloses a system wherein the battery management systems are configured to perform communication as a server using the first port, and to perform communication as a client using the second port, since Lui et al. discloses establishing the TCP server (Specific implementation examples).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 and 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art references are Lui et al. (CN 112467239 A), Hallmark et al. (US 10,320,034 B2), Chang (US 2021/0075227 A1), and Jung et al. (KR 10-2021-0101537 A, provided with IDS filed on October 17, 2023)
Regarding claims 3-4 and 9, the prior art references fails to disclose an energy storage system wherein IDs are respectively assigned to the battery management systems, and wherein IPs of the battery management systems are set according to the IDs; and wherein IDs are respectively assigned to the battery management systems, and wherein data zones in a transmission frame are respectively allocated according to the IDs.
Claims 5-8 depend on claim 4.
Regarding claim 9, Jung et al. discloses the battery management device (300) comprises the tray BMS (410), the remote I/O unit (420), and the rack BMS (430) (see figure 4 and page 9 of 17, paragraph 8).
Jung et al. fails to discloses or suggest a system wherein the battery banks comprise racks electrically connected to each other and configured to communicate with each other through controller area network (CAN) communication, and wherein the battery management systems are configured to receive the state data obtained from battery modules constituting a corresponding one of the racks in a daisy-chain manner based on CAN communication.
Regarding claims 12-13 and 18, the prior art references fails to discloses a system wherein IDs are respectively assigned to the battery management systems, and wherein IPs of the battery management systems are set according to the IDs; and wherein IDs are respectively assigned to the battery management systems, and wherein data zones in a transmission frame are respectively allocated according to the IDs
Claims 14-17 depend on claim 13.
Regarding claim 18, Jung et al. discloses the battery management device (300) comprises the tray BMS (410), the remote I/O unit (420), and the rack BMS (430) (see figure 4 and page 9 of 17, paragraph 8).
Jung et al. fails to disclose or suggest a system wherein the battery banks comprise racks electrically connected to each other and configured to communicate with each other through controller area network (CAN) communication, and wherein the battery management systems are configured to receive the state data obtained from battery modules constituting a corresponding one of the racks in a daisy-chain manner based on CAN communication.
Conclusion
NATASHA E. YOUNG
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/NATASHA E YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774