The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 3/20/2026 in which claims 1, 3-12, 15 are pending, claims 1, 7, 8, 9 and 11 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (U.S. Patent 9,956,626). In regards to claim 9, Wang discloses a vacuum source (extracting turbine 12); a circular saw blade (4); and a worktable (20) comprising a center slot (slot 2) axially aligned with the circular saw blade (4) and further comprising a negative pressure housing (blade housing 8) coupled to the vacuum source (12), the vacuum source configured to provide a plurality of negative pressure regions (lower pressure areas) beneath the worktable, wherein a first of the plurality of negative pressure regions is within the center slot (2), and wherein a second of the plurality of negative pressure regions is provided via an opening (see Fig. 7, either above or below 5) on an exterior side wall (7)of the negative pressure housing. The debris suction source draws air from within the housing (8) thereby creating a region of reduced pressure within the enclosure. This reduced pressure region extends to area adjacent the blade, including the region proximate element 5 such that debris is drawn toward the suction source (12).
In regards to claim 11, Wang discloses wherein the opening (area around 5; fig. 7) is substantially perpendicular to the center slot (2)
In regards to claim 12, Wang discloses wherein the negative pressure housing comprises a second opening (on opposite side of housing 8’ similar to the opening around 5; fig. 7) substantially perpendicular to the center slot (2), wherein a third of the plurality of negative pressure regions is outside of the center slot and proximate to the second opening on the second side wall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (U.S. Patent 9,956,626) in view of Bartho (DE102014211567).
In regards to claim 15, Wang discloses the claimed invention except for at least one negative pressure sensor configured to monitor a negative pressure level of at least one of the plurality of negative pressure regions. Bartho discloses a sheet metal working machine having a chip suction device and further teaches providing a negative pressure sensor (25) positioned between an exhaust fan and sieves (24) to detect a pressure drop across the sieves, thereby identifying blockage conditions. It is considered that as both Bartho and Wang are analogous art in that they are both concerned with the removal of debris from the working machine by a suction means. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide one or more pressure sensors as taught by Bartho within the air flow channels of Wang in order to monitor pressure conditions and detect blockage within the suction system. Such modification would have predictably enabled monitoring of airflow performance and improved debris removal efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-8 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a partition positioned within the center slot and proximate an anticipated point of contract between the circular saw blade and a workpiece, wherein the partition is configured to provide a first negative pressure region via a first air flow channel and a second negative pressure region via a second air flow channel on an opposite side of the partition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724