Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
Claims 1 and 5 have been amended.
Claims 7-8 have been newly added.
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 8/26/2026 has been fully considered, but does not place the application in condition for allowance.
This Action has been made final.
Status of Rejections Pending since the Office Action of 29 May 2026
All rejections from the previous Office Action are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment. However, new grounds of rejection have been set forth below as necessitated by Applicant’s argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno et al. (US 20240105996 A1), hereinafter Mizuno.
Regarding claim 1, Mizuno teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte solution used in an electricity storage device, the components being:
an electrolyte salt that is a fluorine-containing lithium salt ([0017] LiN(FSO2)2);
a nonaqueous solvent that is carbonate ([0165]);
and a scavenger that captures fluorine ions,
wherein
the scavenger is trimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate ([0017], [0069]-[0072]), which corresponds to the claimed formula [Chemical 1]:
wherein R1 is any of an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, or a phenyl group with 1 carbon atom (falls within claimed range of less than or equal to 6 carbon atoms) and in which at least one hydrogen atom is substituted with halogen; and R2,R3, and R4 are methyl groups (See structure of trimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate below).
Mizuno does not specifically teach that the nonaqueous electrolyte solution consists of these components.
However, it would have been obvious to obtain such an electrolyte because the reference teaches all the components. Mizuno teaches of a non-aqueous electrolyte solution containing: as an electrolyte, LiN(FSO2)2 (sulfonylimide compound); and as an additive, a carbon atom-containing compound represented by the general formula (4): C(═O)(R5)(OR6) [0017]. The electrolyte can also contain other components, such as a dissolved carbon molecule, but this is optional [0017]. If the electrolyte contains only these components, then the limitation of a nonaqueous electrolyte solution consisting of the claimed materials is met.
Regarding claim 2, Mizuno teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to claim 1, wherein in the general formula (1), R2,R3, and R4 are each a methyl group ([0072], see structure above).
Regarding claim 3, Mizuno teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to claim 1, wherein in the general formula (1), R1 contains at least one halogen atom ([0072] see structure above).
Regarding claim 4, Mizuno teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to claim 1, wherein the scavenger is trimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate [0072].
Regarding claim 5, Mizuno teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to claim 1, wherein the nonaqueous electrolyte solution contains the scavenger in 0.1M or more.
Mizuno states that the nonaqueous electrolyte solution comprises of 0.01% by mass or more of the scavenger [0143]. Assuming that the scavenger compound is trimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate and the electrolyte solution is ethyl carbonate, the range of around 1.4% or more by mass of the scavenger relative to 100% by mass of the electrolytic solution overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1M or more of the scavenger.
0.014
g
t
r
i
m
e
t
h
y
l
s
i
l
y
l
t
r
i
f
l
u
o
r
o
a
c
e
t
a
t
e
1
g
e
t
h
y
l
c
a
r
b
o
n
a
t
e
*
1
m
o
l
t
r
i
m
e
t
h
y
l
s
i
l
y
l
t
r
i
f
l
u
o
r
o
a
c
e
t
a
t
e
186.2
g
t
r
i
m
e
t
h
y
l
s
i
l
y
l
t
r
i
f
l
u
o
r
o
a
c
e
t
a
t
e
*
1.32
g
e
t
h
y
l
c
a
r
b
o
n
a
t
e
1
c
m
3
*
1
c
m
3
0.001
L
≈
0.1
M
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior a rt" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F. 2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F. 2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 6, Mizuno teaches an electricity storage device comprising: an electrode body; the nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to claim 1, a case housing the electrode body and the nonaqueous electrolyte solution [0240].
Regarding claim 7, Mizuno teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to claim 1, wherein a concentration of the scavenger in the nonaqueous electrolyte solution is 2 M or more and 10 M or less.
Mizuno states that the nonaqueous electrolyte solution comprises of 0.01% by mass or more of the scavenger [0143]. Assuming that the scavenger compound is trimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate and the electrolyte solution is ethyl carbonate, the range of around 28% or more by mass of the scavenger relative to 100% by mass of the electrolytic solution overlaps with the claimed range of 2 M or more and 10 M or less of the scavenger.
0.28
g
t
r
i
m
e
t
h
y
l
s
i
l
y
l
t
r
i
f
l
u
o
r
o
a
c
e
t
a
t
e
1
g
e
t
h
y
l
c
a
r
b
o
n
a
t
e
*
1
m
o
l
t
r
i
m
e
t
h
y
l
s
i
l
y
l
t
r
i
f
l
u
o
r
o
a
c
e
t
a
t
e
186.2
g
t
r
i
m
e
t
h
y
l
s
i
l
y
l
t
r
i
f
l
u
o
r
o
a
c
e
t
a
t
e
*
1.32
g
e
t
h
y
l
c
a
r
b
o
n
a
t
e
1
c
m
3
*
1
c
m
3
0.001
L
≈
2
M
Regarding claim 8, Mizuno teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to claim 1, wherein a concentration of the scavenger in the nonaqueous electrolyte solution is 5 M or more and 10 M or less.
Mizuno states that the nonaqueous electrolyte solution comprises of 0.01% by mass or more of the scavenger [0143]. Assuming that the scavenger compound is trimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate and the electrolyte solution is ethyl carbonate, the range of around 71% or more by mass of the scavenger relative to 100% by mass of the electrolytic solution overlaps with the claimed range of 5 M or more or 10 M or less of the scavenger.
0.71
g
t
r
i
m
e
t
h
y
l
s
i
l
y
l
t
r
i
f
l
u
o
r
o
a
c
e
t
a
t
e
1
g
e
t
h
y
l
c
a
r
b
o
n
a
t
e
*
1
m
o
l
t
r
i
m
e
t
h
y
l
s
i
l
y
l
t
r
i
f
l
u
o
r
o
a
c
e
t
a
t
e
186.2
g
t
r
i
m
e
t
h
y
l
s
i
l
y
l
t
r
i
f
l
u
o
r
o
a
c
e
t
a
t
e
*
1.32
g
e
t
h
y
l
c
a
r
b
o
n
a
t
e
1
c
m
3
*
1
c
m
3
0.001
L
≈
5
M
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 8/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mizuno et al. as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YVONNE WEI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722