Detailed Action
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 10/18/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202211291350.9 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the S or sawtooth shape of the emitters of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the alternating narrow and wide rows and equal row planting patterns of claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 reads “wherein when the lateral is the drip irrigation tape with the labyrinth on one
side, an emitter discharge of the drip irrigation tape with labyrinth on one side is 2.0-3.4 L/h; an operating pressure of the drip irrigation tape with labyrinth on one side is 0.03-0.07 MPa” which should read “wherein when the lateral is the drip irrigation tape with the labyrinth on one side, an emitter discharge of the drip irrigation tape with labyrinth on one side is 2.0-3.4 L/h[[;]], an operating pressure of the drip irrigation tape with labyrinth on one side is 0.03-0.07 MPa” as the operating pressure limitation is only associated with the tape with the labyrinth and therefore must be within the condition “when” statement.
Claim 1 should be amended with proper indentations for increased readability, as seen
below.
“A low-cost high-efficiency drip irrigation system for a cotton field, comprising a filtering device
and a water supply device;
wherein the filtering device comprises one or both of a surface water resource irrigation filtering
system and an underground water resource irrigation filtering system to correspond to different water source types;
the water supply device comprises a plurality of stages of main pipes, submain pipes and laterals, each lateral comprising a drip irrigation tape, the filtering device is installed or connected between a head of the irrigation system and the main pipes, and irrigation water resources are delivered to the main pipes by a centrifugal pump or submersible pump, and then enter the submain pipes or laterals from the main pipes, wherein the main pipes, the submain pipes and the laterals form a pipe network; a drain valve is disposed at a tail end of the main pipe that is disposed below a frozen soil layer or at a depth of less than 80 cm underground;
each main pipe correspondingly communicates with a plurality of submain pipes, the submain pipes comprise PE hoses having a bearing pressure of 0.25 MPa and are laid disposed on the surface of the ground, and a laying length of a single submain pipe is 50-100 m;
each submain pipe correspondingly communicates with a-the plurality of laterals, the laterals are disposed on the surface of the ground and located below a mulch film, a laying length of the a single drip irrigation tape on a single side is less 40-60 m, the lateral comprises the drip irrigation tape with labyrinth on one side or the drip irrigation tape inlaid with emitters inside, an emitter spacing is 200-300 mm, and emitters of the laterals face upward;
wherein an emitter channel of the drip irrigation tape inlaid with emitters inside is in a sawtooth shape or S shape or a derived shape of the sawtooth shape or S shape, and
wherein when the lateral is the drip irrigation tape inlaid with emitters inside, an emitter discharge of the drip irrigation tape inlaid with emitters inside is 1.5- 2.5 L/h;
wherein when the lateral is the drip irrigation tape with the labyrinth on one side, an emitter discharge of the drip irrigation tape with labyrinth on one side is 2.0-3.4 L/h[[;]], an operating pressure of the drip irrigation tape with labyrinth on one side is 0.03-0.07 MPa.”
Claim 1 reads “a drain valve is disposed at a tail end of the main pipe that is disposed below
a frozen soil layer or at a depth of less than 80 cm underground” which should read “a drain valve is disposed at a tail end of the main pipe that is configured to be disposed below a frozen soil layer or at a depth of less than 80 cm underground”
Claim 5 reads “and the submain pipe is PE pipe with a service life of 2-3 years.” Claim 1 now
claims that the submain pipes are PE hoses and therefore this should be amended to “and the submain pipe has a service life of 2-3 years” to avoid duplicate limitations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue (CN 105981632 A) in view of Mazzei (US-6890126-B2), Wang (CN-106342430-A), Zhang (CN-107231925-A, hereafter referred to as Zhang ‘925), and Zhang (CN-106856958-A, hereafter referred to as Zhan ‘958).
Regarding claim 1, Xue discloses a low-cost high-efficiency drip irrigation system for a cotton field, comprising a filtering device (2) and a water supply device (water source pipeline, see page 4);
wherein the filtering device (2) comprises one or both of a surface water resource irrigation filtering system and an underground water resource irrigation filtering system to correspond to different water source types (see fig 1, filtering device 2);
the water supply device comprises a plurality of stages of main pipes, submain pipes and laterals (see annotated fig 1), each lateral comprising a drip irrigation tape (drip irrigation tape 28, see fig 2), the filtering device is installed or connected between a head of the irrigation system and the main pipes (see annotated fig 1), and irrigation water resources are delivered to the main pipes and then enter the submain pipes or laterals from the main pipes (see annotated fig 1 below), wherein the main pipes, the submain pipes and the laterals form a pipe network (see annotated fig 1);
a drain valve is disposed at a tail end of the main pipe that is disposed below a frozen soil layer or at a depth of less than 80 cm underground (drain valves 10 and 11, see fig 1, irrigation products in the soil near the roots);
each main pipe correspondingly communicates with a plurality of submain pipes (see annotated fig 1), the submain pipes are disposed on the surface of the ground (see fig 2); each submain pipe correspondingly communicates with a plurality of laterals (see annotated fig 1), the lateral comprises the drip irrigation tape with labyrinth on one side or a drip irrigation tape inlaid with emitters inside (tape 28 with emitters 29, see fig 1 and page 3), and emitters (29) of the laterals face upward (see fig 1).
Annotated fig 1
Xue fails to disclose irrigation water resources are delivered to the main pipes by a centrifugal pump or submersible pump, where the submain pipes comprise PE hoses having a bearing pressure of 0.25 Mpa, the laterals are disposed on the surface of the ground and located below a mulch film, a laying length of a single drip irrigation tape on a single side is less than 40-60 m, the lateral comprises the drip irrigation tape with labyrinth on one side, an emitter spacing is 200-300 mm, wherein an emitter channel of the drip irrigation tape inlaid with emitters inside is in a sawtooth shape or S shape or a derived shape of the sawtooth shape or S shape, and the lateral comprises the drip irrigation tape with labyrinth on one side, an emitter discharge of the drip irrigation tape inlaid with emitters inside is 1.5-2.5 L/h; wherein when the lateral is the drip irrigation tape with the labyrinth on one side, an emitter discharge of the drip irrigation tape with labyrinth on one side is 2.0-3.4 L/h; an operating pressure of the drip irrigation tape with labyrinth on one side is 0.03-0.07 MPa.
Mazzei teaches the laterals are disposed on the surface of the ground and located below a mulch film (tape emitters 60 below a mulch layer, below plastic sheet 23, see col 3, lines 39-44 and figs 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the laterals to be below a mulch film as taught by Mazzei with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the root area of the growing plants is water sufficiently to ensure optimal growing conditions without overwatering.
Zhang ‘925 teaches wherein when the lateral is the drip irrigation tape inlaid with emitters inside, an emitter discharge of the drip irrigation tape inlaid with emitters inside is 1.5-2.5 L/h (1.8-2.2L/h for clay corn drop irrigation belt, see page 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the emitter discharge values of Zhang ‘925 with a reasonable expectation of success as these will ensure the plants are provided with adequate hydration levels and timing without overwatering.
Wang teaches irrigation water resources are delivered to the main pipes by a centrifugal pump or submersible pump (submersible pump 7, see fig 1), and then enter the submain pipes or laterals from the main pipes (main pipe from well 6, transports water to submain pipe at 14, and then to lateral pipes extending from 13, see fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the pumps of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for efficient delivery of water to the plants as needed to ensure plant health and therefore growth.
Zhang ‘958 teaches wherein the submain pipes comprise a PE hoses (pipes in serial connection with drip irrigation (i.e. submain) pipes are PE, see page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the submain pipes being Pe hoses as taught by Zhang ‘958 with a reasonable expectation of success as the PE hose for the submain pipes will allow increased flexibility for variations in laying.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except a laying length of a single drip irrigation tape on a single side is less than 40-60 m. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the irrigation tape to be 40-60 m with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide ample room for growing a large number of plants, without straining the capabilities of the irrigation system, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein an emitter spacing is 200-300 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the emitter spacing to be 200-300mm with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide space for plants to prevent overcrowding, while still allowing for high crop yield and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein an emitter channel of the drip irrigation tape inlaid with emitters inside is in a sawtooth shape or S shape or a derived shape of the sawtooth shape or S shape. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified with the drip tape emitter channel shape to be an S or sawtooth shape with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide beneficial changes in pressure to the fluid in the drip tape prior to exiting the drip tape, and since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23. Applicant does not provide criticality regarding the shape of the emitter channel.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except where the submain pipe has a bearing pressure of 0.25 Mpa. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the submain pipe with a bearing pressure of 0.25MPa with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide adequate flow of water to the plants without excessive pressure on the hose and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue (CN-203435489-U) in view of Mazzei (US-6890126-B2), Wang (CN-106342430-A), Zhang (CN-107231925-A) and Zhang (CN-106856958-A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fan (AU 2020102419 A4) and Du (CN-114982579-A).
Regarding claim 2, the modified reference teaches the low-cost high-efficiency drip irrigation system for a cotton field according to claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein when the filtering device comprises the surface water resource irrigation filtering system, the surface water resource irrigation filtering system comprises a pre-pumping filtering device and a post-pumping filtering device, wherein the pre-pumping filtering device comprises a sediment tank for filtering and a pressureless self-cleaning screen filter with a filtering accuracy of greater than or equal to 100 mesh, and the matched post-pumping filtering device comprises one or a combination of a screen filter and a disc filter with a filtering accuracy greater than or equal to 120 mesh; and wherein, when the filtering device comprises the underground water resource irrigation filtering system, the underground water resource irrigation filtering system does not comprise a pre-pumping filtering device but comprises a post-pumping filtering device, the post-pumping filtering device is any one of the following four combination devices, which are sand filter and screen filter, sand filter and disc filter, centrifugal filter and screen filter and centrifugal filter and disc filter, respectively, or the screen filter or disc filter is used alone, and filtering precision parameters of the screen filter and the disc filter are both > 120 mesh.
Fan teaches wherein when the filtering device comprises the surface water resource irrigation filtering system (suction pump placed in water supply source), the surface water resource irrigation filtering system comprises a pre-pumping filtering device (pre-pump filter 10 before pump 1, see fig 1) and a post-pumping filtering device (and post pump filter 12 after pump 1, see fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the pre and post pumping filtration of Fan with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the plants receive clean water the is free from debris or contaminants present in a surface water irrigation source.
Du teaches wherein the pre-pumping filtering device comprises a sediment tank for filtering (sedimentation tank, see page 3) and a pressureless self-cleaning screen filter (screen filter, see page 4), the matched post-pumping filtering device comprises one or a combination of a screen filter (screen filter, see page 4 and 8) and a disc filter; the post-pumping filtering device is any one of the following four combination devices, which are sand filter and screen filter (screen filter and sand filter, see page 3-4), sand filter and disc filter, centrifugal filter and screen filter (screen filter and centrifugal filter, see page 3-4) and centrifugal filter and disc filter, respectively, or the screen filter or disc filter is used alone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the filtration system with the screen, sand and centrifugal filters of Du with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the plants receive clean water the is free from debris or contaminants.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the screen filter has a filtering accuracy of greater than or equal to 100 mesh; a screen filter and a disc filter have a filtering accuracy greater than or equal to 120 mesh; and filtering precision parameters of the screen filter and the disc filter are both > 120 mesh. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the filtration system a filtering accuracy of 100 mesh and 120 mesh respectively, with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure smaller particulates are removed from the water supply prior to reaching the plants, to ensure the plants receive clean water the is free from debris or contaminants.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue (CN-203435489-U) in view of Mazzei (US-6890126-B2), Wang (CN-106342430-A), Zhang (CN-107231925-A) and Zhang (CN-106856958-A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Golubenko (RU-2685139-C1).
Regarding claim 3, the modified reference teaches the low-cost high-efficiency drip irrigation system for a cotton field according to claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the main pipe is a PVC pipe with a pipe diameter greater than a pipe diameter of the submain pipe; the pipe diameter of the submain pipe is selected from 75 mm, 90 mm, 110 mm and 125 mm.
Zhang ‘958 teaches wherein the main pipe is a PVC pipe (main pipes are PVC, see page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the main pipes to be PVC and the submain to be PE as taught by Zhang ‘958 with a reasonable expectation of success as the main being PVC will provide increased durability for higher amounts of water and pressure.
Golubenko teaches the main pipe with a pipe diameter greater than a pipe diameter of the submain pipe (main pipes with larger diameter than submain or dropper lines, see abstract and page 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the main pipes to have a larger diameter than the submain as taught by Golubenko with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide increased durability for higher amounts of water and pressure.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the pipe diameter of the submain pipe is one or a combination of more of 75 mm, 90 mm, 110 mm and 125 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the submain pipe with a diameter of one or a combination of more of 75 mm, 90 mm, 110 mm and 125 mm with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide adequate flow of water to the plants without excessive pressure on the hose and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue (CN-203435489-U) in view of Mazzei (US-6890126-B2), Wang (CN-106342430-A), Zhang (CN-107231925-A) and Zhang (CN-106856958-A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou (CN-106613760-A).
Regarding claim 4, the modified reference teaches the low-cost high-efficiency drip irrigation system for a cotton field according to claim 1, and Xue further discloses wherein the laterals are in a one-row-one-belt laying pattern (see fig 1).
The modified reference fails to teach wherein when the cotton field adopts a planting pattern of alternating wide rows and narrow rows, the laterals are in a two-row-one-belt laying pattern, and the laterals are laid in the middle or one side of the narrow row, wherein the distance from the nearest planting row is 5-7 cm; the laterals are in a one-row-one-belt laying pattern corresponding to equal row spacing of 76 cm, the laterals are in a one-row-one-belt laying pattern, and the distance of the laterals from a target planting row for water supply is 5-7 cm.
Zhou teaches wherein when the cotton field adopts a planting pattern of alternating wide rows and narrow rows (two narrow rows then wide row, see fig 1), the laterals are in a two-row-one-belt laying pattern (two narrow rows then wide row, see fig 1), and the laterals are laid in the middle or one side of the narrow row (see fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the planting pattern with alternating wide and narrow rows as taught by Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow increased spacing for larger plants while still ensuring that the growing space is used efficiently.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the distance from the nearest planting row is 5-7 cm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system with the distance from the nearest planting row is 5-7 cm with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for spacing for plants to not become waterlogged, while ensuring that they receive adequate hydration, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the laterals are in a one-row-one-belt laying pattern corresponding to equal row spacing of 76 cm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system with the equal row spacing of 76cm with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide adequate spacing for the plants while still ensuring that the growing space is used efficiently, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the distance of the laterals from a target planting row for water supply is 5-7 cm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system with the distance of the laterals from a target planting row for water supply is 5-7 cm with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for spacing for plants to not become waterlogged, while ensuring that they receive adequate hydration, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue (CN-203435489-U) in view of Mazzei (US-6890126-B2), Wang (CN-106342430-A), Zhang (CN-107231925-A) and Zhang (CN-106856958-A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gallegos (WO-2017035410-A1) and Golubenko (RU-2685139-C1).
Regarding claim 5, the modified reference teaches the low-cost high-efficiency drip irrigation system for a cotton field according to claim 1, and Xue further discloses wherein the lateral is a drip irrigation tape (tape 28).
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the lateral is a single-year disposable drip irrigation tape, and the submain pipe is a PE pipe with a service life of 2-3 years.
Gallegos teaches wherein the lateral is a single-year disposable drip irrigation tape (drip tape lifespan is 1-2 years, see page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the drip tape to be single-year disposable tape as taught by Gallegos with a reasonable expectation of success as this will prevent disease or infection spread to plants from reuse.
Golubenko teaches the submain pipe is a PE pipe (submain pipe is polyethylene hose, see page 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the submain pipe to be a PE hose as taught by Golubenko with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide a more durable pipe with a larger water delivery capacity to ensure all plants receive adequate water.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the service life of the PE pipe is 2-3 years. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the service life of the PE hose to be 2-3 years with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for reuse, thereby providing a more environmentally friendly planting system, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to Applicant’s drawings in their arguments – Applicant must file these as new drawings as figures included in the remarks are not sufficient.
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach the operating pressure range of 0.03-07 MPa. The Office respectfully disagrees. This pressure range is only recited with regard to the drip tape with a labyrinth on one side, which is recited in the alternative form. The rejection fully maps the other option within the alternative limitation, i.e. the drip irrigation tape with emitters, and its further limitations throughout the claim. Therefore, the elements pertaining to the drip tape with the labyrinth on one side are not required. However, it is noted that one of the new references cited but not relied upon, Yang (CN-108401882-A) teaches drip tape with a labyrinth, and an operating pressure of 0.02-0.25 MPa. Additionally, Brown (US 4726520 A), which is also cited but not relied upon, teaches an operating pressure of 6-12 PSI (0.04-0.08 MPa), and specifically states that higher pressure can cause deformation in the thin flexible drip tapes.
In regard to Applicant’s arguments about the sawtooth or S shape of the emitter channel of the drip tape, the wording of the rejection has been updated. However, it is noted that Applicant does not provide any details in their specification as to why that specific shape is critical to their invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Those references cited on the attached 892 form, but not referenced in the rejection above, exhibit similarities to the present invention, particularly, Feld, which discloses an S shaped labyrinth (35, see fig 3a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642