DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication on October 18th, 2023.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nagarajan et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2018/0034648, hereinafter Nagarajan).
With respect to claims 1, 9, and 17, Nagarajan discloses a computer-implemented method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer readable medium of reducing border gateway protocol (BGP) signaling for multi-homed devices (paragraph [0006], lines 1-10, a Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) join synch route to synchronize a join request for a multicast group across the Ethernet segment, wherein a customer edge (CE) router is multi-homed top the plurality of the PE routers), comprising:
receiving one or more signals from one or more provider edge devices (paragraph [0032], lines 1-8, provider edge (PE) router 10 learn the MAC address for customer equipment 4), wherein the one or more signals include an address of a membership group associated with a multi-homed device (paragraph [0034], lines 1-4, receive group membership information);
receiving, from a provider edge device of the one or more provider edge devices, a service prefix (paragraph [0140], lines 1-3, considered to be part of the prefix), wherein the service prefix is associated with the multi-homed device and the membership group (paragraph [0139], lines 28-34, group address of the IGMP membership report);
storing the service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices (paragraph [0038], PE routers within an EVPN may communicate such IGMP instructions by exchanging routing information and forwarding information); and
connecting, according to the service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices, to the multi-homed device associated with the membership group (paragraph [0114], attached to the multi-homed ES and receives an IGMP membership report).
With respect to claims 2, 10, and 18, Nagarajan discloses the computer-implemented method of claims 1, 9, and 17, further comprising: updating the stored service prefix and the stored one or more provider edge devices after a deviation of the one or more signals (paragraph [0118], update their state information).
With respect to claims 3, 11, and 19, Nagarajan discloses the computer-implemented method of claims 2, 10, and 18, wherein the deviation is caused by a change of a signal of the one or more signals, indicating a withdrawal of a failed provider edge device from the membership group (paragraph [0116]-[0117]).
With respect to claims 4, 12, and 20, Nagarajan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2 and 10, wherein the deviation is caused by a change of a signal of the one or more signals, indicating an addition of a new provider edge device to the membership group (paragraph [0092], new IGMP join request).
With respect to claims 5 and 13, Nagarajan discloses the computer-implemented method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the provider edge device is an elected provider edge device selected by the one or more provider edge devices of the membership group (paragraph [0060], lines 1-6, elected PE router).
With respect to claims 6 and 14, Nagarajan discloses the computer-implemented method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the service prefix is further associated with one or more VPN service routes (paragraph [0140], lines 11-17, participating within the EVPN domain).
With respect to claims 7 and 15, Nagarajan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6 and 14, wherein the one or more VPN service routes are updated according to a withdrawal of a failed provider edge device by removing a VPN service route of the one or more VPN service routes, wherein the VPN service route is associated with the failed provider edge device (paragraph [0116]-[0117]).
With respect to claims 8 and 16, Nagarajan discloses the computer-implemented method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices are stored in a data table associated with the membership group (paragraph [0038], PE routers within an EVPN may communicate such IGMP instructions by exchanging routing information and forwarding information).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pati Pat. Pub. 2012/0177054
Elizabeth Pat. Pub. 2021/0099400
Vattem Pat. Pub. 2019/0132241
Nagarajan Pat. Pub. 2018/0248803
Kebler Pat. Pub. 2017/0289217
Zhang Pat. Pub. 2024/0235999
3/23/26
/BLAKE J RUBIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457