DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 2, 4, 5, 18 and 19 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 6-10, 17 and 20 are amended. Claims 21 and 22 are new. Claims 1, 3, 6-17 and 20-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-13, 15-17 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huebner (US PG Pub. 20100277696) in view of Lee et al. (US PG Pub. 20130120719).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Huebner discloses a projector (projection device 800 of fig. 48), comprising:
a pattern portion (film plate 836 of fig. 48) comprising a pattern (plurality of distinct film images 346 of fig. 10) to be projected onto a projection area (projection surface 250 of fig. 5);
a light source unit (light array disk 232 of fig. 4) that irradiates the pattern (236 of fig. 4 or 836 of fig. 48) with projected light, the light source unit comprising a plurality of light sources (para. 0111; plurality of white LEDs 306 of fig. 4); and
a projection lens unit (bug-eyed lens plate 840 of figs. 48 and 49) comprising a projection lens (plurality of convex lens 986 of fig. 48) that enlarges a design of the pattern in a region irradiated with the projected light (a convex lens enlarges the image that is illuminated by the light source 306) and projects the design onto the projection area to form a projected image thereon (illustrated in fig. 5),
wherein the projected image formed on the projection area is changed by switching the region of the pattern irradiated with the projected light (para. 0281; At the device's side, a film shift lever 806 is mechanically linked to the replaceable film plate 836 using a ratchet and pawl like mechanism (not shown). That is, pressing down and releasing the film shift lever 806 causes the replaceable film plate 836 to rotate 1/3 turn within the device's housing) or by changing an in-plane angle of the pattern.
Huebner fails to teach a condenser lens unit comprising a plurality of condenser lenses that are arranged for each of the plurality of light sources to collect the projected light which is output from the light source unit; and a partition member that separates between each of the plurality of light sources, wherein the plurality of light sources each comprises at least one light-emitting element, and wherein the partition member is disposed in a space between the light source unit and the condenser lens unit.
Lee discloses a light source for a projection device (projection device 700 of fig. 7) wherein a condenser lens unit (optical element 220 can be a lens such as a focusing lens) comprising a plurality of condenser lenses (illustrated in fig. 5) that are arranged for each of the plurality of light sources to collect the projected light which is output from the light source unit (illustrated in fig. 5 and fig. 2A); and a partition member (shell 210 and fixed ring 230 of fig. 2A) that separates between each of the plurality of light sources (illustrated in fig. 5), wherein the plurality of light sources each comprises at least one light-emitting element (illustrated in fig. 5), and wherein the partition member (210 and 230) is disposed in a space between the light source unit (light-emitting element 240 of fig. 2A) and the condenser lens unit (220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Huebner with the light source elements of Lee in order to increase the brightness of the projected images.
Huebner as modified by Lee fails to teach wherein the plurality of condenser lenses are integrally formed; however, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify combine the condensing lenses into one piece in order to reduce the labor of placing each lens within the shell, since it has been held forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893)
Regarding claim 3, Huebner discloses further comprising a control unit (120) that controls the emission state of the plurality of light sources included in the light source unit, wherein the pattern portion, the light source unit and the projection lens unit are housed in one housing (para. 0096; control unit 120 may be a microprocessor, microcontroller, digital timer, analog sequencer, or any other control apparatus capable of switching electronic circuitry on and off and further, para. 0167; The light beam is then filtered by film image 341, passing through lens 381, and exits as projection beam 336A that illuminates the dog image 338A. About 0.10 second later, the white LED 301 is turned off.).
Regarding claim 6, Huebner discloses wherein the projection lens unit (840) projects a plurality of the projection images onto the same location in the projection area (more clearly illustrated in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Huebner discloses wherein the projection lens unit projects a plurality of the projected images including the projected image onto different locations in the projection area (para. 0119; the overlaid, illuminated image 252 becomes splayed or spread apart on the projection surface 250).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Huebner discloses further comprising a control unit (120) that controls the emission state of the plurality of light sources included in the light source unit wherein the control unit (120) continuously controls turning on and off of the light-emitting element (para. 0167; to illuminate and animate an overlaid image, the light sources contained in the array disk pack 230 are turned on in sequence. So starting with FIG. 16, the control unit (not shown) turns on the white LED 301) to switch the projected image and project the projected image dynamically onto the projection area (para. 0167).
Regarding claim 9, Huebner discloses further comprising a control unit (120) that controls the emission state of the plurality of light sources (light array disk 232 of fig. 4) included in the light source unit wherein when a light source of the plurality of light sources comprises a plurality of the light-emitting elements (306) including the at least one light emitting element (306), the control unit (120) controls turning on and off of the light-emitting elements to cause at least one of an increase/decrease in brightness of the projected image and color change of the projected image unit (para. 0096; control unit 120 may be a microprocessor, microcontroller, digital timer, analog sequencer, or any other control apparatus capable of switching electronic circuitry on and off and further, para. 0167; The light beam is then filtered by film image 341, passing through lens 381, and exits as projection beam 336A that illuminates the dog image 338A. About 0.10 second later, the white LED 301 is turned off.).
Regarding claim 10, Huebner discloses further comprising a control unit (120) that controls the emission state of the plurality of light sources (light array disk 232 of fig. 4) included in the light source unit wherein a plurality of the projected images are sequentially projected onto the projection area by controlling turning on and off of the light-emitting elements by the control unit to display an image changing with time (para. 0096; control unit 120 may be a microprocessor, microcontroller, digital timer, analog sequencer, or any other control apparatus capable of switching electronic circuitry on and off and further, para. 0167; The light beam is then filtered by film image 341, passing through lens 381, and exits as projection beam 336A that illuminates the dog image 338A. About 0.10 second later, the white LED 301 is turned off).
Huebner fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of projected images are projected in such a manner that each projected image is faded in and faded out; however, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the circuitry of the controller to fade in and fade out as it would make the images more visually pleasing.
Regarding claim 11, Huebner discloses wherein the image changing with time comprises an image comprising a portion changing in a flickering manner, or an image comprising a portion moving in a specific direction (para. 0167-0170; the illumination cycle starts over again, and continues its operation defined by FIGS. 16-18 for a desired period of time. The end result being, an illuminated, animated dog appears to walk to the right on the projection surface 250).
Regarding claim 12, Huebner discloses wherein, by moving the pattern portion relative to the light source unit, the region of the pattern irradiated with the projected light is switched (para. 0281; At the device's side, a film shift lever 806 is mechanically linked to the replaceable film plate 836 using a ratchet and pawl like mechanism (not shown). That is, pressing down and releasing the film shift lever 806 causes the replaceable film plate 836 to rotate 1/3 turn within the device's housing) or the in-plane angle of the pattern is changed.
Regarding claim 13, Huebner discloses wherein, by moving the pattern portion while fixing the light source unit in the projector, the region of the pattern irradiated with the projected light is switched (para. 0281; At the device's side, a film shift lever 806 is mechanically linked to the replaceable film plate 836 using a ratchet and pawl like mechanism (not shown). That is, pressing down and releasing the film shift lever 806 causes the replaceable film plate 836 to rotate 1/3 turn within the device's housing) or the in-plane angle of the pattern is changed.
Regarding claim 15, Huebner discloses wherein the in-plane angle of the pattern (film plate 836 of fig. 48) is changed by rotating the pattern portion (the angle of the rotating film 836 is rotated in-plane in order to change the image that is projected).
Regarding claim 16, Huebner discloses wherein, by sliding the pattern portion relative to the light source unit, the region of the pattern irradiated with the projected light is switched (para. 0281 discloses the rotation of the film plate…The film plate is sliding within the housing relative to the light source).
Regarding claim 21, Huebner discloses wherein the partition member (210 and 230) directly contacts an area of the light source unit (240) respectively between each of the plurality of light sources (illustrated in fig. 5), and directly contacts an area of the condenser lens unit (220) respectively between each of the plurality of condenser lenses, whereby the light source unit and the condenser lens unit are spaced apart and separated from each other by the partition member (illustrated in figs. 2A and 5).
Regarding claim 22, Huebner discloses wherein the partition member (210 and 230) directly contacts an area of the light source unit (240) respectively between each of the plurality of light sources (illustrated in fig. 5), and directly contacts an area of the condenser lens unit (220) respectively between each of the plurality of condenser lenses, whereby the light source unit and the condenser lens unit are spaced apart and separated from each other by the partition member (illustrated in figs. 2A and 5).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huebner (US PG Pub. 20100277696) and Lee et al. (US PG Pub. 20130120719) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kim (KR 101770400 B1).
Regarding claim 14, Huebner as modified by Lee discloses a pattern projector comprising a light array (illustrated in figs. 48 and 49).
Huebner as modified by Lee fails to teach wherein, by moving the light source unit while fixing the pattern portion in the projector, the region of the pattern irradiated with the projected light is switched.
Kim discloses a projection device wherein, by moving the light source unit (illumination unit 410 of fig. 2) while fixing the pattern portion in the projector (pattern unit 600 of fig. 8), the region of the pattern irradiated with the projected light is switched (illustrated in fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify pattern projector of Huebner and Lee rotating the light source in order to adjust the projection angle of the pattern projected onto the projection surface in a state where the pattern unit 600 is held parallel to the projection surface (Kim; pg. 5 8th para.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 2 April 2026
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882