DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang Hexing (CN115969889A).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Hexing discloses an application of the extract of the fruiting body of cordyceps militaris is characterized in that the extract is used for preparing a medicine for improving the blue light damage resistance effect; wherein the extract of the Cordyceps militaris sporocarp (aka fruiting body) is obtained by extracting a Cordyceps militaris sporocarp sample by using an ethanol water solution (see claim 1). With the broadest reasonable interpretation an ethanol aqueous extract would also be an ethanol extract when so broadly claimed as they both include ethanol. Hexing discloses orally administering the composition (see claims 6-8). Hexing does not disclose that the method is for alleviating dry eye disease, however discloses that the method is for improving damage caused to the eyes from blue light, which is known to cause dry eyes as a symptom and thus the patient populations would be the same. Additionally, the administration of the same ethanol extract of the fruiting bodies of the same species of fungi would inherently have the same effects.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang Hexing (CN115969889A) and Wei Chih-Hao (TW201932122A).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Hexing discloses an application of the extract of the fruiting body of cordyceps militaris is characterized in that the extract is used for preparing a medicine for improving the blue light damage resistance effect; wherein the extract of the Cordyceps militaris sporocarp (aka fruiting body) is obtained by extracting a Cordyceps militaris sporocarp sample by using an ethanol water solution (see claim 1). With the broadest reasonable interpretation an ethanol aqueous extract would also be an ethanol extract when so broadly claimed as they both include ethanol. Hexing discloses orally administering the composition (see claims 6-8). Hexing does not disclose that the method is for alleviating dry eye disease, however discloses that the method is for improving damage caused to the eyes from blue light, which is known to cause dry eyes as a symptom and thus the patient populations would be the same. Additionally, the administration of the same ethanol extract of the fruiting bodies of the same species of fungi would inherently have the same effects.
Chih-Hao teaches that an ethanol extract of Cordyceps militaris is used for preparing eye-protection compositions (see abstract) and teaches that the extract is from the fruiting bodies (see page 3, para. 1-3) and teaches the composition is for treating dry eye syndrome (see page 4, para. 2-4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date to use the invention taught by Hexing and/or Chih-Hao for a method of treating dry eye because that is exactly what the inventions are directed to. The same administration of the same components and to the same patient population would ultimately have the same effects. Additionally, it would have been obvious to use the method of treating dry eyes for the causes listed in claims 2 and 3 because Chih-Hao teaches the use of the same composition for treating dry eye syndrome and it is not so limited to any particular cause. The benefits of treating dry eyes would be made obvious to use for different causes of dry eyes because the symptom which is dry eye is the same in each case.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the instant invention given the prior art because both pieces of art are directed to the ethanol extracted Cordyceps militaris compositions which are given as a composition to protect eyes and to treat dry eyes.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
JACOB A BOECKELMAN Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/TERRY A MCKELVEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655