DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least three different spacings or distances between neighboring pairs of permanent magnets of the N pairs of permanent magnets” in claims 1 and 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As amended, claim 1 recited: “there are at least three different spacings or distances between neighboring pairs of permanent magnets of the N pairs of permanent magnets”, such limitation is new matter which was not disclosed in the original disclosure as filed.
Claims 2-10 are rejected for their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 11-20 are rejected for similar reason as claims 1-10.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 14, 15, 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 and 20 of co-pending Application No. Application No. 18/489,088 in view of Sun et al. (US 20180159392 A1)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, the conflicting application teaches every aspect of the instant application claim except for that there are at least three different spacings or distances between neighboring pairs of permanent magnets of the N pairs of permanent magnets.
Sun teaches at least three different spacings or distances (D3, D4 and D5, see annotated Fig.7 below) between neighboring pairs of permanent magnets of the N pairs of permanent magnets (see Fig.7). By selecting appropriate radial distances and rib distances for each segment, the PM motor may be configured to have a lower overall ripple torque than a symmetrically designed motor (¶ 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instant application by having at least three different spacings or distances between neighboring pairs of permanent magnets of the N pairs of permanent magnets, as taught by Sun, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Instant Application (18/489,084)
Conflicting Application (18/489,088)
1. An electric motor system for an electrified vehicle, the electric motor system comprising:
a permanent magnet motor (PMM) including:
a hollow cylindrical stator defining a circular inner portion with a plurality of slots, defined between a respective plurality of ferromagnetic teeth, and having a plurality of electromagnetic coils arranged in the plurality of slots, respectively; and
a cylindrical rotor disposed within the stator and defining a circular outer portion having N pairs of permanent magnets arranged thereabout to define N rotor poles, respectively,
wherein at least one pair of the N pairs of permanent magnets is asymmetrically staggered or offset relative a symmetric N pole positioning, and
wherein N is an even integer greater than or equal to four; and
a controller configured to control the PMM to mitigate or eliminate magnetic cogging.
4. The electric motor system of claim 1, wherein the symmetric N pole positioning is every 360/N degrees.
5. The electric motor system of claim 1, wherein at least two pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
6. The electric motor system of claim 5, wherein the at least two asymmetrically staggered or offset pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets include circularly opposed pairs.
8. The electric motor system of claim 5, wherein the at least two asymmetrically staggered or offset pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset by different amounts relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
9. The electric motor system of claim 1, wherein the stator is configured such that the stator has a plurality of electromagnetic coils with one of the plurality of ferromagnetic teeth therebetween the electromagnetic coils.
10. The electric motor system of claim 9, wherein
the controller is configured to control each pair of electromagnetic coils to stagger or offset a stator magnetic field generated by the pair of electromagnetic coils relative to the rotor magnetic pole, and wherein the controller utilizes N/2 times as many switching transistors to individually control each electromagnetic coil of each pair of electromagnetic coils to receive a different current magnitude.
11. A method of arranging and operating an electric motor system for an electrified vehicle, the electric motor system including a permanent magnet motor (PMM) and a controller, the method comprising:
providing the PMM including:
forming a hollow cylindrical stator defining a circular inner portion with a plurality of slots defined between a respective plurality of ferromagnetic teeth and having a plurality of electromagnetic coils arranged in the plurality of slots, respectively; and
forming a cylindrical rotor disposed within the stator and defining a circular outer portion having N pairs of permanent magnets arranged thereabout to define N rotor poles, respectively,
wherein at least one pair of the N pairs of permanent magnets is asymmetrically staggered or offset relative a symmetric N pole positioning, and wherein N is an even integer greater than or equal to four; and
providing a controller configured to control the PMM to mitigate or eliminate magnetic cogging.
14. The method of claim 11, wherein the symmetric N pole positioning is every 360/N degrees.
15. The method of claim 11, wherein at least two pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the circularly opposed pairs are asymmetrically staggered or offset by a same amount relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
18. The method of claim 15, wherein the at least two asymmetrically staggered or offset pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset by different amounts relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
19. The method of claim 11, wherein the stator is configured such that the stator has a plurality of electromagnetic coils with the plurality of ferromagnetic teeth therebetween the electromagnetic coils.
20. The method of claim 19, wherein the controller is configured to control each pair of electromagnetic coils to stagger or offset a stator magnetic field generated by the pair of electromagnetic coils relative to the rotor magnetic pole, and
wherein the controller utilizes N/2 times as many switching transistors to individually control each electromagnetic coil of each pair of electromagnetic coils to receive a different current magnitude.
1. An electric motor system for an electrified vehicle, the electric motor system comprising:
a permanent magnet motor (PMM) including:
a hollow cylindrical stator defining a circular inner portion with a plurality of slots, defined between a respective plurality of ferromagnetic teeth, and having a plurality of electromagnetic coils arranged in the plurality of slots, respectively; and
a cylindrical rotor disposed within the stator and defining a circular outer portion having N pairs of permanent magnets arranged thereabout to define N rotor poles, respectively,
see claim 5
wherein N is an even integer greater than or equal to four; and
a controller configured to control the PMM to mitigate or eliminate magnetic cogging
by controlling each pair of electromagnetic coils to stagger or offset a stator magnetic field generated by the pair of electromagnetic coils relative to the rotor magnetic poles, wherein the controller utilizes N/2 times as many switching transistors to individually control each electromagnetic coil of each pair of electromagnetic coils to receive a different current magnitude.
4. The electric motor system of claim 1, wherein at least some of the N pairs of permanent magnets of the rotor are arranged to have a symmetric N pole positioning, and wherein the symmetric N pole positioning is every 360/N degrees.
5. The electric motor system of claim 4, wherein at least one pair of the N pairs of permanent magnets is asymmetrically staggered or offset relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
7. The electric motor system of claim 5, wherein at least two pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
8. The electric motor system of claim 7, wherein the at least two asymmetrically staggered or offset pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets include circularly opposed pairs.
10. The electric motor system of claim 7, wherein the at least two asymmetrically staggered or offset pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset by different amounts relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
See claim 1 section (b)
See claim 1 section (f)
11. A method of arranging and operating an electric motor system for an electrified vehicle, the electric motor system including a permanent magnet motor (PMM) and a controller, the method comprising:
providing the PMM including:
forming a hollow cylindrical stator defining a circular inner portion with a plurality of slots, defined between a respective plurality of ferromagnetic teeth, and having a plurality of electromagnetic coils arranged in the plurality of slots, respectively; and
forming a cylindrical rotor disposed within the stator and defining a circular outer portion having N pairs of permanent magnets arranged thereabout to define N rotor poles, respectively,
wherein N is an even integer greater than or equal to four; and
(see claim 15, 17 for permanent magnets is asymmetrically staggered or offset relative a symmetric N pole positioning)
providing a controller configured to control the PMM to mitigate or eliminate magnetic cogging
by controlling each pair of electromagnetic coils to stagger or offset a stator magnetic field generated by the pair of electromagnetic coils relative to the rotor magnetic poles,
wherein the controller utilizes N/2 times as many switching transistors to individually control each electromagnetic coil of each pair of electromagnetic coils to receive a different current magnitude.
14. The method of claim 11, wherein at least some of the N pairs of permanent magnets of the rotor are arranged to have a symmetric N pole positioning, and wherein the symmetric N pole positioning is every 360/N degrees.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein at least one pair of the N pairs of permanent magnets is asymmetrically staggered or offset relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
17. The method of claim 15, wherein at least two pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the at least two asymmetrically staggered or offset pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset by different amounts relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
See claim 11 section (b)
See claim 11 section (f) (g)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam (WO 2020092647 A1) in view of Moon et al. (US 2019/0135118 A1) and Sun et al. (US 2018/0159392 A1).
RE claim 1, Islam teaches an electric motor system (Figs.2, 3, 8 and 9) for an electrified vehicle (see ¶ 2), the electric motor system comprising: a permanent magnet motor (PMM) (¶ 1, 22) including: a stator (Fig.8) defining a circular inner portion with a plurality of slots, defined between a respective plurality of ferromagnetic teeth (see ¶ 38 for stator teeth is made of electromagnetic material), and having a plurality of electromagnetic coils (¶ 17, 40) arranged in the plurality of slots (Figs.8, 9), respectively; and a cylindrical rotor (rotor, see Figs.2, 9) disposed within the stator and defining a circular outer portion having N pairs of permanent magnets arranged thereabout to define N rotor poles (Fig.2), respectively, wherein at least one pair of the N pairs of permanent magnets is asymmetrically staggered or offset relative a symmetric N pole positioning (see Fig.2B), and wherein N is an even integer greater than or equal to four (N=12); the PMM is being utilized to mitigate or eliminate magnetic cogging (see ¶ 21).
Islam does not teach:
the stator included hollow cylindrical stator, the rotor includes a cylindrical rotor and a controller configured to control the PMM.
there are at least three different spacings or distances between neighboring pairs of permanent magnets of the N pairs of permanent magnets
RE (i) above, Moon teaches stator 110 include hollow cylindrical stator 110 (¶ 74), the rotor 120 includes a cylindrical rotor 120 (¶ 74) and a controller configured to control the PMM (¶ 12, 16). The cylindrical shape stator/rotor allows the rotor to rotates (¶ 74) in the most efficient manner. Further, the controller can be utilized to control the motor to have small torque ripple (¶ 89-92).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam by having the stator include hollow cylindrical stator, the rotor includes a cylindrical rotor and a controller configured to control the PMM, as taught by Moon, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE (ii) above, Sun teaches at least three different spacings or distances (D3, D4 and D5, see annotated Fig.7 below) between neighboring pairs of permanent magnets of the N pairs of permanent magnets (see Fig.7). By selecting appropriate radial distances and rib distances for each segment, the PM motor may be configured to have a lower overall ripple torque than a symmetrically designed motor (¶ 50).
[AltContent: textbox (D5)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam in view of Moon by having at least three different spacings or distances between neighboring pairs of permanent magnets of the N pairs of permanent magnets, as taught by Sun, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 2/1, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam further teaches the magnetic cogging is caused by the rotor poles passing under the ferromagnetic stator teeth and is mitigated or eliminated due to the asymmetric staggering or offsetting of the at least one pair of the N pairs of permanent magnets (Fig.2B).
RE claim 3/1, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam further teaches the magnetic cogging is caused by a periodic strength of a magnetic field resulting from a periodic layout of the electromagnetic coils and the ferromagnetic stator teeth, and wherein the controller is configured to control the PMM to mitigate or eliminate the magnetic cogging when the electromagnetic coils are energized (functional and/or intended result limitation. Because Islam in view of Moon disclosed the same structure as claimed, such structure is capable of performing and/or obtaining the function/result as claimed).
Insofar as this recitation refers to an intended use of an electric machine, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
RE claim 4/1, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam further teaches the symmetric N pole positioning is every 360/N degrees (Figs.2).
RE claim 5/1, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam further teaches at least two pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset relative to the symmetric N pole positioning (Fig.2).
RE claim 6/5, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam further teaches the at least two asymmetrically staggered or offset pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets include circularly opposed pairs (Fig.2).
RE claim 7/6, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam does not teach the circularly opposed pairs are asymmetrically staggered or offset by a same amount relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
However, Islam suggests that the angular shift (staggered/offset) is a result effective variable whose value can be adjusted base on pole number to reduce ripple and cogging torque (¶ 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam in view of Moon and Sun by having the circularly opposed pairs are asymmetrically staggered or offset by a same amount relative to the symmetric N pole positioning, as suggested by Islam, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 8/5, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam does not teach the at least two asymmetrically staggered or offset pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset by different amounts relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
However, Islam suggests that the angular shift (staggered/offset) is a result effective variable whose value can be adjusted base on pole number to reduce ripple and cogging torque (¶ 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam in view of Moon by having the at least two asymmetrically staggered or offset pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset by different amounts relative to the symmetric N pole positioning, as suggested by Islam, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
RE claim 9/1, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam further teaches the stator is configured such that the stator has a plurality of electromagnetic coils with one of the plurality of ferromagnetic teeth therebetween the electromagnetic coils (see Fig.9A, ¶ 38, 40).
RE claim 11, Islam teaches a method of arranging and operating an electric motor system (Figs.2, 3, 8 and 9) for an electrified vehicle (¶ 2), the electric motor system including a permanent magnet motor (PMM) (¶ 1, 22), the method comprising: providing the PMM including: forming a stator defining a circular inner portion with a plurality of slots defined between a respective plurality of ferromagnetic teeth (see Figs.8, 9 and ¶ 38 for stator teeth is made of electromagnetic material) and having a plurality of electromagnetic coils arranged in the plurality of slots (Figs.8, 9), respectively; and forming a rotor (Fig.9) disposed within the stator and defining a circular outer portion having N pairs of permanent magnets arranged thereabout to define N rotor poles (Fig.2 and ¶ 30), respectively, wherein at least one pair of the N pairs of permanent magnets is asymmetrically staggered or offset relative a symmetric N pole positioning (Fig.2), and wherein N is an even integer greater than or equal to four (N=12); and the PMM is being utilized to mitigate or eliminate magnetic cogging (see ¶ 21).
Islam does not teach
the stator includes hollow cylindrical stator, the rotor includes a cylindrical rotor and a controller configured to control the PMM.
there are at least three different spacings or distances between neighboring pairs of permanent magnets of the N pairs of permanent magnets
RE (i) above, Moon teaches stator 110 include hollow cylindrical stator 110 (¶ 74), the rotor 120 includes a cylindrical rotor 120 (¶ 74) and a controller configured to control the PMM (¶ 12, 16). The cylindrical shape stator/rotor allows the rotor to rotates (¶ 74) in the most efficient manner. Further, the controller can be utilized to control the motor to have small torque ripple (¶ 89-92).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam by having the stator include hollow cylindrical stator, the rotor includes a cylindrical rotor and a controller configured to control the PMM, as taught by Moon, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE (ii) above, Sun teaches at least three different spacings or distances (D3, D4 and D5, see annotated Fig.7 above) between neighboring pairs of permanent magnets of the N pairs of permanent magnets (see Fig.7). By selecting appropriate radial distances and rib distances for each segment, the PM motor may be configured to have a lower overall ripple torque than a symmetrically designed motor (¶ 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam in view of Moon by having at least three different spacings or distances between neighboring pairs of permanent magnets of the N pairs of permanent magnets, as taught by Sun, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 12/11, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam further teaches the magnetic cogging is caused by the rotor poles passing under the ferromagnetic stator teeth and is mitigated or eliminated due to the asymmetric staggering or offsetting of the at least one pair of the N pairs of permanent magnets (functional and/or intended result limitation. Because Islam in view of Moon disclosed the same structure as claimed, such structure is capable of performing and/or obtaining the function/result as claimed).
Insofar as this recitation refers to an intended use of an electric machine, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
RE claim 13/11, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam further teaches the magnetic cogging is caused by a periodic strength of a magnetic field resulting from a periodic layout of the electromagnetic coils and the ferromagnetic stator teeth, and wherein the controller is configured to control the PMM to mitigate or eliminate the magnetic cogging when the electromagnetic coils are energized (Insofar as this recitation refers to an intended use of an electric machine, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim).
RE claim 14/11, Islam in view of Moon has been discussed above. Islam further teaches the symmetric N pole positioning is every 360/N degrees (see Fig.2).
RE claim 15/11, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam further teaches at least two pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset relative to the symmetric N pole positioning (see Fig.2).
RE claim 16/15, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam further teaches the at least two asymmetrically staggered or offset pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets include circularly opposed pairs (Fig.2).
RE claim 17/16, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam does not teach the circularly opposed pairs are asymmetrically staggered or offset by a same amount relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
However, Islam suggests that the angular shift (staggered/offset) is a result effective variable whose value can be adjusted base on pole number to reduce ripple and cogging torque (¶ 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam in view of Moon by having the circularly opposed pairs are asymmetrically staggered or offset by a same amount relative to the symmetric N pole positioning, as suggested by Islam, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 18/15, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam does not teach the at least two asymmetrically staggered or offset pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset by different amounts relative to the symmetric N pole positioning.
However, Islam suggests that the angular shift (staggered/offset) is a result effective variable whose value can be adjusted base on pole number to reduce ripple and cogging torque (¶ 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam in view of Moon by having the at least two asymmetrically staggered or offset pairs of the N pairs of permanent magnets are asymmetrically staggered or offset by different amounts relative to the symmetric N pole positioning, as suggested by Islam, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
RE claim 19/11, Islam in view of Moon and Sun has been discussed above. Islam further teaches the stator is configured such that the stator has a plurality of electromagnetic coils with one of the plurality of ferromagnetic teeth therebetween the electromagnetic coils (see Fig.9A, ¶ 38, 40).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On page 7 of the Remark, Applicant argued that a terminal has been filed concurrently to the ‘084 application.
In response: Applicant’s argument was not found persuasive because Applicant has not filed a terminal respond with regard to the instant application 18/489,088 as well as the conflicting application 18/489,084.
Therefore, the double patenting rejection has been maintained as noted above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834