DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claim 1, 3-6, 8 and 10-12 in the reply filed on 05/08/2026 is acknowledged. In particular, the traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction requirement has not provided any evidence that the species pose a serious search and/or examination burden because none of the reasons listed in page 4, lines 14-20 as set forth in the restriction requirement from 04/09/2026 has been provided. This is not found persuasive because as indicated in the restriction requirement, page 4, line 4-8, the species for Category A are directed to different configurations of the grooves which for example, would clearly require a different field of search. Similarly, for Category B, the species are drawn to different compositions/materials of the fire-retardant plate which would also require a different field of search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 2, 7, 9 and 13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/09/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are currently pending in the application, of claims 2, 7, 9 and 13 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8 and 10-12 are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 and 11-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 2-3, it is suggested to amend “the grooves” to - -the at least one groove pairs- - to conform to prior recitation.
In claim 11, it is suggested to amend “the flame-retardant plate and/or a plate-shape compression element” to - -the at least one flame-retardant plate and/or at least one plate-shaped compression element- -.
In claim 12, it is suggested to amend “the housing chambers-“ to - -the two housing chambers- -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the form". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0294634).
Regarding claim 1, Cho teaches a traction battery (100) (paragraph [0034]) (see figure 5) comprising:
a battery housing (i.e., cartridge frame 10, upper cover 16, and lower cover 17 corresponds to the battery housing) (paragraph [0057]) and a plurality of battery cells (1) arranged in the battery housing (paragraph [0057]),
at least one flame-retardant plate (11) (i.e., inter-cell separation plate) arranged in the battery housing that separates the battery housing into two housing chambers (see figure 2) (paragraph [0037]-[0040]), and
a plate receiving structure (12) (i.e., sidewall part) disposed in the battery housing (see figure 2) (paragraph [0037]-[0039]), the plate receiving structure including at least one groove pair having two opposite grooves (see figure 2),
wherein the at least one flame-retardant plate (11) is held in the battery housing by the plate receiving structure (12) (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches at least a subset of the grooves of the plate receiving structure is defined by a frame structure (12 a) arranged in the battery housing (paragraph [0039]) (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Choi teaches the frame structure is held by at least a subset of the battery cells (see figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Choi teaches the battery housing comprises a housing part in the form of a hollow profile (see figure 1 where housing comprises a hollow profile).
Regarding claim 6, Choi teaches the battery further comprising a cell carrier element (i.e., electrode terminal connection part) (15) to which connection elements of at least a subset of the battery cells are fastened (paragraph [0055]), wherein the cell carrier element has at least one groove (15b) (i.e., engaging groove) into which the at least one flame-retardant plate is inserted (paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 11, Choi teaches the flame-retardant plate and/or a plate-shaped compression element is/are respectively arranged between two adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells in relation to at least one spatial direction (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Choi teaches the housing chambers, in which at least one battery cell of the plurality of battery cells is arranged, respectively contain a heat-conducting medium (i.e., metal having a high thermal conductivity) (paragraph [0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0294634) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dorgan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0069380).
Regarding claim 8, Choi teaches the battery as described above in claim 1 including the flame-retardant plate.
Choi does not teach the flame-retardant plate is a multilayer composite.
Dorgan, also directed to a battery (i.e., energy storage assembly) (abstract), teaches a plate (64A) positioned in between battery cells (58A) (paragraph [0044]). Further, Dorgan teaches the plate formed of one or more layers in order to create a thermal barrier and reduce heat transfer between battery cells (paragraph [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi flame-retardant plate to have a multilayered composite, as suggested by Dorgan, in order to create a thermal barriers and reduce heat transfer between cells.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0294634) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakurrai (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0220126).
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches the battery as described above in claim 1.
Choi does not teach the battery further comprising at least one plate-shaped compression element arranged in the battery housing and held in the battery housing by the plate receiving structure.
Sakurai, also directed to a battery (i.e., electricity storage module) (abstract), teaches a battery having a plate-shaped compression element (4) in between battery cells (3) so each battery cell is held without rattling (paragraph [0033]) (see figures 2 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi battery to include a plate-shape compression element as suggested by Sakurai, in order for the cells to be held without rattling in the battery housing.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0287252). Li teaches a plate-shape compression element (4) configured for supporting expansion of battery cells (1) (paragraph [0042]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723