DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 10/31/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “pluggable module bays 130” disclosed in paragraphs [0057]-[0060] are not labeled/shown in the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraphs [0057]-[0064] mentions: “blocking unit 161”, “blocking unit 162”, “blocking unit 181”, “blockers 162”. Same numeral reference for different parts, and same parts with different numeral references.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 8 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 7-8, line 2, “the” should be inserted before “module”.
In claim 14, in lines 10-11, “cold state” should be changed to “cold plates”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites the information processing device of claim 14, wherein the module locking mechanism is configured to be in the locked state if the cold plates are in the disengaged state and to be in the unlocked state if the cold plates are in the engaged state. This subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leigh et al. U.S. Patent 10,874,032.
Regarding claim 1, Leigh et al. teaches an information processing device, comprising:
a chassis (3; figure 9);
a group of bays (600; figure 9) coupled to the chassis (3), each of the bays (600) configured to removably receive a pluggable module (700; figures 1-9; see column 5, lines 20-27);
a liquid cooling system (610; figures 1 and 9) comprising a group of cold plates (630; figures 1 and 9) disposed in the bays, respectively, wherein the cold plates (630) are movable between (i) an engaged state (see column 16, lines 48-52; and see figures 9-13) in which the cold plates (630) are positioned to thermally contact (see column 15, lines 8-15) pluggable modules received in the bays (600), respectively, and (ii) a disengaged state (see column 16, lines 48-52; and see figures 9-13) in which the cold plates (630) are positioned to disengage from the pluggable modules (700); and
a module locking mechanism (lock pin 627; figures 1 and 9) configured to:
prevent (by locking pins 627extend downward) insertion and removal of the pluggable modules into or out of the bays if the cold plates are in the engaged state; and
allow (lock pin 627 move upward) insertion and removal of the pluggable modules into or out of the bays if the cold plates are in the disengaged state.
Regarding claim 2, Leigh et al. teaches the information processing device of claim 1, wherein the module locking mechanism (651) is moveable between (column 7, line 40 to column 8 line 10) a locked state and an unlocked state, in the locked state the locking mechanism prevents insertion and removal of the pluggable modules, and in the unlocked state the locking mechanism allows (column 7, line 40 to column 8 line 10) insertion and removal of the pluggable modules; and wherein the module locking mechanism is configured to:
automatically (see column 4, lines 24-33) transition from the unlocked state to the locked state in response to the cold plates (630) being moved to the engaged state; and automatically transition (see column 8, lines 5-10; “conversely…”) from the locked state to the unlocked state in response to the cold plates (630) being moved to the disengaged state.
Regarding claim 3, Leigh et al. teaches the information processing device of claim 2, comprising:
a cold plate engagement mechanism (655; figure 9; see column 11 line 1 to column 12 line 17) configured to move the cold plates between the engaged state and the disengage state (see column 11 line 1 to column 12 line 17); and wherein the module locking mechanism (657; figure 9) is mechanically coupled (see figure 9 and see column 11 line 1 to column 12 line 17) to the cold plate engagement mechanism (655) such that motion of the cold plate engagement mechanism (655) drives motion of the module locking mechanism (651).
Regarding claim 4, Leigh et al. teaches the information processing device of claim 3, wherein the cold plate engagement mechanism (655) comprises a manually actuatable lever (657; figure 9).
Regarding claim 6, Leigh et al. teaches the information processing device of claim 4, comprising:
a cold plate force transfer mechanism (653; figure 9) engaged with the cold plate engagement mechanism (655) and movable in response to actuation of the cold plate engagement mechanism (655), wherein the cold plate force transfer mechanism is configured to convert (see figures 9-11 and column 11 lines 1-12) motion of the cold plate force transfer mechanism into motion of the cold plates.
Regarding claim 7, Leigh et al. teaches the information processing device of claim 1, , wherein the module locking mechanism is configured to prevent (by locking pins 627 when a module is in the bay; see paragraph bridging columns 7-8) insertion and removal of the pluggable modules into or out of the bays by physically blocking the bays.
Regarding claim 9, Leigh et al. teaches the information processing device of claim 7, for the same reasons stated in the above rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 10, Leigh et al. teaches the information processing device of claim 9, wherein the group of bays (600; figure 9) comprise a plurality of columns (left, middle of right 600) of bays and the blocking unit comprises a plurality of vertical blockers (vertical pins 627 in each bay; see column 18, lines 1-28) configured to respectively block the plurality of columns in the locked state.
Regarding claim 11, Leigh et al. teaches the information processing device of claim 1, comprising:
a cold plate engagement mechanism (655; figure 9; see column 11 line 1 to column 12 line 17) actuatable to move the cold plates (630) between the engaged state and the disengage state (see column 15, lines 8-15); and
wherein the module locking mechanism (651, figure 9) is mechanically coupled to the cold plate engagement mechanism (655) such that actuation of the cold plate engagement mechanism (655) causes the module locking mechanism (651) to change (see column 17, lines 30-38 and column 18, lines 1-28) between preventing insertion and removal and allowing insertion and removal (see column 17, lines 30-38 and column 18, lines 1-28).
Regarding claim 12, Leigh et al. teaches the information processing device of claim 11, wherein the module locking mechanism (651; figure 9) comprises a blocking unit (“locking pin 627; see column 18, lines 1-28) configured to be moved between a locked state (assuming when a pluggable module is already received in the bay) in which the blocking unit blocks the bays to prevent insertion and removal of pluggable modules in the bays, and an unlocked state (when the locking pin 627 is down) in which the blocking unit does not block the bays, and wherein the blocking unit is mechanically coupled (pin 627 is indirectly and mechanically coupled to cold plate engagement mechanism 655; see figure 9) to the cold plate engagement mechanism such that actuation of the cold plate engagement mechanism (655) causes the blocking unit (627) to move between the locked state and the unlocked state.
Regarding claim 13, Leigh et al. teaches the information processing device of claim 11, wherein cold plate engagement mechanism (655; figure 9) is configured to be manually actuated (by lever 657; also see column 20, lines 48-58).
Regarding claim 14, Leigh et al. teaches an information processing device, comprising:
a chassis (3; figure 9);
a group of bays (600; figure 9) coupled to the chassis, each of the bays (600) configured to removably receive a pluggable module (700; figure 9; see column 5, lines 20-27);
a liquid cooling system (610; figure 9) comprising a group of cold plates (630; figure 9) disposed in the bays, respectively, wherein the cold plates (630) are movable between (i) an engaged state (see column 16, lines 48-52; and see figures 9-13) in which the cold plates are positioned to thermally contact with pluggable modules received in the bays, respectively, and (ii) a disengaged state (see column 16, lines 48-52; and see figures 9-13) in which the cold plates are positioned to disengage from the pluggable modules (700);
a cold plate engagement lever (657; figure 9) configured to be manually actuatable to drive the cold plates (630) to move between (see column 16, lines 48-52; and see figures 9-13) the engaged state and the disengaged state ; and
a module locking mechanism (Lock pin 627 ) mechanically coupled (by actuator 660) to the cold plate engagement lever (651) such that actuation of the cold plate engagement lever drives the module locking mechanism to change between:
a locked state (by pin 627 move upward) in which the module locking mechanism prevents insertion and removal of the pluggable modules into or out of the bays; and
an unlocked state (by pin 627 extend downward) in which the module locking mechanism allows insertion and removal of the pluggable modules into or out of the bays.
Regarding claim 16, Leigh et al. teaches the information processing device of claim 14, wherein in response to actuation of the cold plate engagement lever (657; figure 9) in a first direction (upward direction; see figures 9-13), the cold plates (630) are moved by the cold plate engagement lever) to the disengaged state and the module locking mechanism is moved by the cold plate engagement lever to the unlocked state, and wherein in response to actuation of the cold plate engagement lever (in a second direction (downward; see figures 9-13), the cold plates (630) are moved by the cold plate engagement lever to the engaged state (see figures 9-13) and the module locking mechanism is moved by the cold plate engagement lever to the locked state.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest an information processing device in combination with all the positively recited elements of claim 4, wherein the module locking mechanism comprises a blocking unit configured to block the bays in the locked state, a cam coupled to the lever, and a follower coupled to the blocking unit and engaged with the cam such that, actuation of the lever drives motion of the blocking unit via interaction between the cam and the follower.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the information processing device of claim 7, in combination with all the positively recited elements of claim 7, wherein module locking mechanism is configured to, while physically blocking the bays, physically block ejection mechanisms of pluggable modules installed in the bays.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest an information processing device, in combination with all the positively recited elements of claim 14, wherein the module locking mechanism comprises a cam connected to the cold plate engagement lever and a follower connected to the blocking unit and engaged with the cam such that actuation of the cold plate engagement lever drives motion of the blocking unit
Conclusion
HUNG Q. DANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2835
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841