Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “ groove for sliding said central rib” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 are objected to because they include reference characters in parentheses. Use of references characters in the claim language makes it unclear if the structures referenced by the characters should be directly imported into the claim or if the broader terms used in the claim should be used. Using binding (AT) as an example, Fig. 1 shows a specific type of binding, i.e., an alpine-touring pin binding for backcountry ski use, however the term binding could be much broader than this, e.g., any type binding for attaching a user’s boot to the ski, e.g., a traditional alpine binding. Thus, reference characters within the claims should be removed and the claims are interpreted as not having reference characters.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a belt (6) closed on itself and wound longitudinally around the ski under a condition for which it slides around the two rollers (51, 52), being dragged in rotation by the above-mentioned drum (4) and being slidingly inserted on the duct (16)” is unnecessarily narrative in form and would be easier to understand if rewritten, for example, “a closed belt wound longitudinally around the ski and the two rollers being dragged in rotation by the drum and slidingly inserted through the duct.”
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “said belt (6) it dragged” should be and is interpreted as “said belt (13) [[it]]is dragged”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “a bridge-like structure” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the meets and bounds of the scope are of bridge-like are. Is it only bridge structures? Said in another way, it is unclear what structure would be “bridge-like” that wouldn’t also be considered a bridge structure. For the sake of compact prosecution, the claims are interpreted as reciting “a bridge
Further regarding claim 1, the phrase “wherein said ski (1) comprises … a bridge-like structure (15, arranged … above the ski (1)” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the bridge structure can be both part of the ski and arranged above the structure, i.e., the ski that it is a part of.
Further regarding claim 1, the phrase “the upper portion” lacks antecedent basis.
Further regarding claim 1, the phrase “a hooking surface (15a) for binding (AT) of a user’s boot” renders the claim indefinite because the phrase is unclear. Fig. 1 depicts bindings attached to the upper surface of the bridge but the specification and figures are devoid of further details as to how the bindings are secured to the bridge, if secured via a hook this is not properly disclosed under 112(a). Under a second interpretation of the phrase, the phrase might be interpreted as claiming that the hooking surface, i.e., the binding, secures the user’s boot to the ski. However, this interpretation is challenging to make because of the character references present in the claim.
Regarding claims 2 and 7 the phrase “without continuity solution” is not understood and thus renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the meets and bounds of the claim are.
wherein said belt (6) even comprises an external level configured to come in contact with a ground and having a surface finishing of the seal skin type, or equivalent.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase “wherein said belt (6) even comprises an external level configured to come in contact with a ground and having a surface finishing of the seal skin type, or equivalent” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the meets and bounds of the scope are of seal skin type are. The specification provides no additional details as to what seal skin type means other than seal skin itself. Although the Specification repeats “equivalents” it is unclear what other surface finished might be considered an equivalent as no examples have been listed.
Regarding claim 9, the following render the claim indefinite.
“the above-mentioned opposite flanks (F1, F2),” lacks antecedent basis, flanks are introduced in claim 8 not claim 6 which 9 depends from, and “above-mentioned” should be removed as it is redundant with antecedent basis established by “the”. This is merely one example of use of “above-mentioned” but all should be removed from the claims.
“has as many slots (Ap) extending in the sense of length of the ski (1) and which are suitable to be crossed by a transverse rod (71)” – the scope of the claim cannot be determined because it is unclear how many slots if any are required by the claim. How is it determined how many slots are suitable? What if none are?
“suitable to slid from an end to another one of said pair of slots (Ap)” – it is unclear what this “suitable” is referring to. “slide” or should it be “slide”?
“wherein the ends of said transverse rod (71) project outside such slots (Ap) to sustain the opposing arms (72) of the above-mentioned carriage (70)” – “such slots” is not proper antecedent basis. It is unclear what is meant by “to sustain the opposing arms”
which sustain, at their end positioned on the side of the above-mentioned drum (4), the above-mentioned tension roller (7); wherein the above-mentioned register means (8) of the tension roller (7) consists of two threaded handwheels (81) cooperating too with the above-mentioned slots (Ap), so as to be able to lock their position in a wished position of said slots (Ap)” – “above-mentioned tension roller (7); wherein the above-mentioned register means (8)” both the tension roller and the register means lack antecedent basis. It is unclear what is meant by a “wished position.”
Claim 9 is generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. It appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and is replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase “a cradle-like support” renders the claim indefinite because the meets and bounds of the claim cannot be determined. What does it mean to be “cradle-like?”
Claim 12 contains the trademark/trade name “Velcro.” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a hook and loop fastener system and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Any claim not specifically addressed under 112(b) is rejected as being dependent on a claim rejected under 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0113119 A1 to Burger.
Regarding claim 1, Burger discloses sports equipment comprising a ski (2) and a lift group (13, 17, 18,94) (Burger Annotated Fig. 13 and Fig. 14 and Abstract):
wherein said ski (2) comprises a longitudinal axis (16), a tip (21), a tail (20), two lateral edges (Fig 1) and a bridge-like structure (36), arranged between the tail (20) and the tip (21), above the ski (Figs. 1, 8-10 and Burger Annotated Fig. 13 & [0055], [0109]);
said bridge-like structure (36) comprising, on the upper portion, a hooking surface (84) for bindings (6) of a user's boot (7) and defining, on the lower side, a duct (25) below said hooking surface (84) (Figs. 1, 8-10 and Burger Annotated Fig.13 & [0055], [0109]);
said lift group (13, 17, 18,94) comprising:
- an engine unit (17) comprising a motor (51) and a drum (50) moved by said
motor (51) (Figs. 1,3, Burger Annotated Fig. 13 & [0051] and [0068]);
said drum (50) having a rotation axis (57) orthogonal to the longitudinal axis (16) of the ski (2) (Figs. 1,3,13 & [0051] and [0068]);
- a management and control unit (94) connected to said motor (51) (Figs. 1,3, Burger Annotated Fig. 13 & [0114]-[0115]);
- a power supply battery (19) for said motor (51) of the engine unit (17) and said control unit (94) (Figs. 1,3,10, Burger Annotated Fig. 13 & [0113] and [0114]);
- a first roller (18) arranged on the tip (21) of the ski (2) (Fig. 1 & [0061]);
- a second roller (A) arranged on the tail (20) of the ski (2) (Burger Annotated Fig. 13 & [0068] disclose and depict a second roller at the end of the tail 20);
- a belt (13) closed on itself and wound longitudinally around the ski under a condition for which it slides around the two rollers (18,A), being dragged in rotation by the above- mentioned drum (50) and being slidingly inserted on the duct (25) (Burger Annotated Fig. 13, Fig. 1, & [0078], [0106]-[0107])
and characterized by the fact that - said belt (13) comprises a central rib (65) protruding from said belt (13) towards said ski (2) - said ski (2) comprises a groove (66) for sliding said central rib (65) when said belt (13) it dragged in rotation by the above-mentioned drum (50) (Burger Annotated Fig. 13, Fig. 5, & [0091]).
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Burger further discloses wherein said central rib (65) protrudes from said belt (13) for the whole extension of said belt (13) without continuity solution (Burger Annotated Fig. 13, Fig. 5, & [0091]).
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 1, Burger further discloses wherein said central rib (65) and said belt (13) are made of the same material and in one single piece (Fig 5 and [0090]-[0092] disclose and depict the belt is of a single piece. Assuming, arguendo, that Burger was silent as to the uniform construction, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have integrated the belt into a single piece, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (V) (b); see also In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) stating "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.").).
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 4, Burger further discloses wherein said belt (13) comprises at least a structural primary (70) level proximate to said ski (2); and wherein said central rib (65) protrudes from said primary level of said belt (13) and it can be implemented in one single piece with said primary level of said belt (13) (Fig 5 and [0090]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 6, depending on claim 5, Burger further discloses wherein said belt (13) even comprises an external level configured to come in contact with a ground and having a surface finishing of the seal skin type, or equivalent ([0077]).
Regarding claim 7, depending on claim 1, Burger further discloses wherein said groove (66) extends on the entirety of the lower surface of the ski (2) without continuity solution (Burger Annotated Fig. 13, Figs. 1, 5 & [0091]).
Regarding claim 8, depending on claim 1, Burger further discloses wherein said engine unit (17) comprises a supporting frame (B) fastened to the ski (2), wherein said frame (B) comprises two flanks (C,D) which delimit a compartment for housing said motor (51) and said drum (50) (Burger Annotated Figs. 6 and 13, and Figs. 6,7 & [0093]-[0095]).
Regarding claim 10, depending on claim 1, Burger further discloses wherein said lift group (13, 17, 18,94) comprises two sides (58) for the longitudinal edges of said belt (13) near the first roller (18) and near the second roller (A) (Burger Fig. 13 and Figs. 1,3 & [0079]-[0080] and [0089] disclose a fork mounts the front and rear rollers which is depicted as having two sides, one on each side of the roller and the mounted belt. Because the fork holds the rollers and thus the belt in place, it is interpreted as being “for the longitudinal edges of said belt).
Regarding claim 13, depending on claim 1, Burger further discloses wherein said belt (13) comprises a first end and a second end suitable to be connected to each other through connecting means of detachable type (38) (Fig. 1 & [0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger in view of US 4,077,483 A to Randolph.
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 1, Although Burger discloses the bottom of the ski includes a recess 66 for sliding the central rib 65, Burger does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein said drum (50) and said rollers (18,A) comprise annular cavities for sliding said central rib (65).
Randolph teaches that it was old and well known in the art of vehicles with endless belts, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, drum (36) and said rollers (46,48) comprise annular cavities for sliding said central rib (37) (Figs 1-3 and 9 & col 22 lns 44-col 3 ln 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicles with endless belts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the endless belt driven ski disclosed by Burger to incorporate for the drum and rollers to include annular cavities for sliding said central rib as taught by Randolph in order to get a tight fit of the belt with the drum and rollers, e.g., see col 22 lns 44-col 3 ln 12, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger in view of DE 102018119561 A1 to Soflow.
Regarding claim 11, depending on claim 1, Burger further discloses wherein said lift group (13, 17, 18, 94) comprises said battery (19) connected to the ski (2) (Fig. 10 depicts the battery is connected to the ski and the lift group via a wire).
Burger does not appear to disclose a quick connecting means to connect said battery to the ski; and wherein the above-mentioned quick connection means comprises a cradle-like support and an overlying pair of tapes made of Velcro.
Soflow teaches that it was old and well known in the art of outdoor sports equipment, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a quick connecting means (7) to connect said battery (4) to the [skateboard]; and wherein the above-mentioned quick connection means (7) comprises a cradle-like support and an overlying pair of tapes (6,8) made of Velcro (Fig. 1b & [0020] teaches a compartment is a cradle like support for the battery that is held in place with hook and loop fasteners).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of outdoor sports equipment before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric ski system disclosed by Burger to incorporate a quick connecting means to connect said battery to the ski; and wherein the above-mentioned quick connection means comprises a cradle-like support and an overlying pair of tapes made of Velcro as taught by Soflow in order to securely hold a battery on the skateboard, e.g., see Soflow [0020], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger.
Regarding claim 12, depending on claim 1, wherein the above-mentioned drum (50) at the ends has two radial series of teeth (54) suitable to engage with respective series of holes (62) implemented at the longitudinal edges of the belt (13) (Figs. 5 & 16 and [0090]-[0091] and [0137]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of tracked snow vehicles before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drum 50 of the embodiment of Fig. 5 including orifices 62 at the external edges of the belt and the groove 65 in the center to include teeth 54 of the embodiment of Fig. 16 to provide teeth that co-operate with the eyelets, [0137], thereby decreasing slippage of the belt with the drum, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger in view of JP 2000288152 A to Hosoda.
Regarding claim 14, depending on claim 1, Burger does not appear to disclose wherein said lift group (13, 17, 18,94) comprises a unidirectional clutch shaped so as to allow the rotation of the drum (50) from a direction and to prevent it from the other direction (Burger Annotated Fig. 13, Fig. 1).
Hosoda teaches that it was old and well known in the art of tracked snow vehicles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the lift group (23) to include a unidirectional clutch (35) shaped so as to allow the rotation of the drum (21) from a direction and to prevent it from the other direction (Fig. 1,5, 6, & [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of tracked snow vehicles before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lift group disclosed by Burger to incorporate the unidirectional clutch as taught by Hosoda in order to prevent slip and enable one way transmission of power, e.g., see Hosoda [0024], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611