DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are currently pending in the application and are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harada et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0214041).
Regarding claim 1, Harada teaches a battery module (paragraph [0046]) (see figure 2) comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (i.e., four prismatic battery cells) (paragraph [0046]) arranged side by side in a first direction (see figure 2) (paragraph [0046]), each of the plurality of battery cells having a prismatic shape (paragraph [0046]) (see figure 2); and
a partition wall member (i.e., cell holders) provided between the plurality of battery cells (i.e., alternately arranging) (paragraph [0046], [0056], [0090]-[0092]) and having an insulating property (paragraph [0055]), wherein
the partition wall member includes a main body portion (i.e., planar portion) and a plurality of protrusions (paragraph [0092]) protruding from the main body portion toward at least one battery cell of the plurality of battery cells (see figure 13),
each of the plurality of protrusions has
a first end portion (i.e., cooling medium inlet) and a second end portion (i.e., cooling medium outlet) (paragraph [0061], [0092]) facing each other in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (see figure 13), and
an intermediate portion (i.e., baffle plate) located between the first end portion and the second end portion (paragraph [0099]),
a cooling medium path (i.e., cooling channel) along the second direction is formed between the plurality of protrusions (paragraph [0092]), and
when viewed in the second direction, a cross-sectional area of the cooling medium path is decreased from the first end portion toward the intermediate portion and is increased from the intermediate portion toward the second end portion (see figure 13 below).
Regarding claim 4, Harada teaches wherein a width of the cooling medium path in the first direction is narrowed in a tapered form from the first end portion toward the intermediate portion (see figure 13 above) and is widened in a tapered form from the intermediate portion toward the second end portion (see figure 13 above).
Regarding claim 10, Harada teaches wherein the partition wall member is formed in a case that accommodates the plurality of battery cells (paragraph [0055]) (see figure 6), that supports the plurality of battery cells in at least the first direction (paragraph [0055]), and that forms a unit including the plurality of battery cells (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, Harada teaches wherein the plurality of protrusions are formed in one piece with the partition wall member.
Regarding claim 14, Harada teaches wherein a cooling medium flowing through the cooling medium path is air (paragraph [0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0214041).
Regarding claim 7, Harada teaches the batter as described above in claim 1 including the tapered areas as described above in claim 4.
Harada does not teach the specifics of the width of the cooling medium path in the first direction has a taper angle of more than 0.2° and less than 0.5°.
However, the taper angle constitute a result-effective variable that directly influences coolant flow characteristics, pressure loss, flow uniformity, and heat transfer performance, as know in the art of fluid mechanics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select or optimize the taper angle through routine experimentation to achieve a desired balance between cooling efficiency and flow resistance. Selecting a taper angle within the claimed range therefore would have been an obvious matter of routine experimentation absent evidence that the claimed range yields unexpected results or is critical.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In other words, claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form to incorporate either:
all the limitations of claim 1 and claim 2.
Applicant is encouraged to consider amending claim 1 accordingly to place the application in condition of allowance.
The prior art whether alone or in combination do not teach or fairly suggest the limitations “wherein a width of the cooling medium path in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction is narrowed in a tapered form from the first end portion toward the intermediate portion and is widened in a tapered form from the intermediate portion toward the second end portion.” as recited in claim 2 in combination with claim 1.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0229749). Kim teaches a cooling path with a tapered form from a first end to an intermediate end (see figure 8) (paragraph [0023]).
Correspondence
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723