DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2022-92823 in view of Ohnaka et al. (US 2021/0179184).
JP 2022-92823, in reference to claim 1, discloses a front pillar lower (36) comprising a front pillar lower body (40), a bracket (50) that is fixed to the front pillar lower body (40), and a bulk (46) fixed to the front pillar lower body (40), as shown in Figures 1, 2, 4, and 5. The bracket (50) includes an attachment surface (5004) for a door hinge, as shown in Figures 4 and 5. The front pillar lower body (40) includes a ridge portion extending in the longitudinal directions of the front pillar lower body (40), as shown in Figure 5. The ridge portion includes a top plate (4002), a first side plate (4008), and a second side plate (4004), as shown in Figure 5. The bracket (50) includes a main cover (5004) covering the top plate (4002) from an outside of the ridge portion to provide a space between the main cover (5004) and the top plate (4002), as shown in Figure 6. A first side cover (5008) is superposed on the first side plate (4008) from the outside of the ridge portion, as shown in Figure 5. A second side cover (5006) is superposed on the second side plate (4004) from the outside of the ridge portion, as shown in Figure 5. The bulk (46) includes a reinforcing portion (4602) arranged inside the ridge portion in a position overlapping with the space in thickness direction of the top plate (4002), as shown in Figures 4-6. The bulk includes a first flange portion (4606) superposed on the first side plate (4008) from an inside of the ridge portion and a second flange portion (4604) superposed on the second side plate (4004) from the inside of the ridge portion, as shown in Figures 4 and 6. The front pillar lower body (40), the bracket (50), and the bulk (46) are connected together to form a first joining part such that the first side plate (4008), the first side cover (5008), and the first flange (4606) are connected together, as disclosed in paragraphs [0016] and [0019]. The first side plate (4008) is slanted toward a lower side and a rear side of the vehicle as viewed from the side of the vehicle, as shown in Figure 5.
In reference to claim 2, the front pillar lower body (40), the bracket (50), and the bulk (46) are connected together to form a second joining part such that the second side plate (4004), the second side cover (5006), and the second flange (4604) are connected together, as disclosed in paragraphs [0016] and [0019].
In reference to claims 4 and 6, a part of an outer surface of the top plate (4002) covered by the bracket (50) includes a flat surface, as shown in Figures 4-6.
However, JP 2022-92823 does not disclose the first flange of the bulk is positioned above the second flange.
Ohnaka et al. teaches forming a bulk (17) having a rear flange (18) that extends higher than a front portion of the bulk (17), as shown in Figure 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first flange of the bulk of JP 2022-92823 extending higher than the second flange, as taught by Ohnaka et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to increase the strength of the pillar without adding much weight.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued Ohnaka does not teach a first flange positioned above the second flange because the structure of Ohnaka is L-shaped so it does not have two flanges. Ohnaka is used to teach the rear flange forming the highest point of the bulk. It does not need a front flange to teach this structure, as shown in Figure 3. It is applicable to structures with/without a front flange.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 March 16, 2026