DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claims 28 and 37 and dependent claims 29-36 and 38-54.
The Preliminary Amendment has been entered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “aperture with a center axis”; the “insertion of the grasping point into the aperture along the center axis”; and the “protrusion” of the “end effector” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. (The examiner notes that Fig. 13 illustrates an “end effector” having some kind of structure for the addition of different types of “grasping structures” disclosed in para. 0053 of the publication of this application (US 2024/02364926))
The drawings are also objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “137”.
Claim Objections
Claims 48 and 53 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims are missing “from”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 28 recites ”the end effector configured to facilitate connection of the robotic device and the battery via insertion of the grasping point into the aperture along the center axis”. There is no support for this claim limitation in the disclosure as filed on 10/18/2023.
Independent claim 37 recites “causing . . . a grasping point of a battery to be inserted into an aperture along a center axis of the aperture so as to connect the battery to the robotic device . . . the aperture being of an end effector of the robotic device”. There is no support for this claim limitation in the disclosure as filed on 10/18/2023.
Regarding the dependent claims, claim 31 recites “the end effector comprising a protrusion”. There is no support for this claim limitation in the disclosure as filed on 10/18/2023. Claim 41 recites “causing . . . the grasping point to be withdrawn from the aperture along the center axis so as to disconnect the battery from the robotic device.” There is no support for this claim limitation in the disclosure as filed on 10/18/2023. Claim 42 recites “causing the grasping point to be withdrawn from the aperture, causing, by the controller, a second grasping point of a second battery to be inserted into the aperture along the center axis so as to connect the second battery to the robotic device”. There is no support for this claim limitation in the disclosure as filed on 10/18/2023. Claim 43 recites “before causing the grasping point to be inserted into the aperture”. There is no support for this claim limitation in the disclosure as filed on 10/18/2023. Claim 46 recites “the grasping point to be withdrawn from the aperture along the center axis”. There is no support for this claim limitation in the disclosure as filed on 10/18/2023. Claim 47 recites “after causing the grasping point to be withdrawn from the aperture, causing, by the controller, a second grasping point of a second battery to be inserted into the aperture along the center axis so as to connect the second battery to the robotic device”. There is no support for this claim limitation in the disclosure as filed on 10/18/2023. Claim 49 recites “the second grasping point to be withdrawn from the aperture along the center axis”. There is no support for this limitation in the disclosure as filed on 10/18/2023. Claim 51 recites “the grasping point to be withdrawn from the aperture along the center axis”. There is no support for this limitation in the disclosure as filed on 10/18/2023. Claim 52 recites “causing the grasping point to be withdrawn from the aperture, causing, by the controller, a second grasping point of a second battery to be inserted into the aperture along the center axis so as to connect the second battery to the robotic device”. There is no support for this limitation in the disclosure as filed on 10/18/2023. Claim 54 recites “after causing the second battery to be moved, causing, by the controller, the second grasping point to be withdrawn from the aperture along the center axis”. There is no support for this limitation in the disclosure as filed on 10/18/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 28-32 and 36-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Corser et al. (US 2024/0425279).
Regarding independent claim 28, Corser discloses a system for replacing a battery in a vehicle, the system comprising: a battery comprising: a housing (202), and a grasping point (206) extending from a portion from a housing; a robotic device comprising an end effector (226) having an aperture (opening between “pair of gripping members” see para. 0122) with a center axis, the end effector configured to facilitate connection of the robotic device and the battery via insertion of the grasping point into the aperture along the center axis.
Regarding independent claim 37, Corser discloses a method removing a battery from a vehicle, the method comprising: causing, by a controller (see at least para. 0168) of a robotic device (220), a grasping point (206) of a battery to be inserted into an aperture (opening between “pair of gripping members” see para. 0122) along a center axis of the aperture so as to connect the battery to the robotic device, the grasping point extending from a portion of a housing (202, see Fig. 6B) of the battery, the aperture being of an end effector (226) of the robotic device; and after the battery is connected to the end effector, causing, by the controller, the battery to be moved (see at least para. 0122).
Regarding dependent claims 29-32, 36, and 38-42, Corser discloses a charging repository (340) containing a plurality of charging bays (344), each of the charging bays configured to receive the battery and charge the battery (see at least para. 0161). Corser discloses a controller configured to: determine when the battery is received in any of the charging bays (see at least paras. 0166 and 0168); and cause electrical power to be provided to one of the charging bays when the battery is received within the one of the charging bays (see at least paras. 0166 and 0168). The grasping point is a post comprising a groove (see at least Fig. 6b); and the end effector comprising a protrusion (see para. 0122, “gripper finger” configured to be positioned within the groove when the robotic device is connected to the battery. The battery further comprises a flat surface (see Fig. 8) extending around an entirety of the post. The robotic device comprises a detector mounted on the end effector, the detector configured to facilitate detection of a position of the battery when the robotic device is not connected to the battery (see at least para. 0138). Causing the battery to be moved comprises removing the battery from a housing assembly of a vehicle (100). Causing the battery to be moved comprises inserting the battery into a charging bay (344) of a charging repository (340). After causing the battery to be moved, determining, by the controller, that the battery is received in the charging bay (see at least paras. 0166 and 0168); and after determining that the battery is received in the charging bay, causing, by the controller, electrical power to be provided to the charging bay (see at least paras. 0166 and 0168). After causing the battery to be moved, causing, by the controller, the grasping point to be withdrawn from the aperture along the center axis so as to disconnect the battery from the robotic device (see at least paras. 0122, 0164, and 0168). After causing the grasping point to be withdrawn from the aperture, causing, by the controller, a second grasping point of a second battery to be inserted into the aperture along the center axis so as to connect the second battery to the robotic device, the second grasping point extending from a portion of a second housing of the second battery; and after the battery is connected to the end effector, causing, by the controller, the second battery to be moved (see at least paras. 0122, 0164, and 0168).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33-35 and 43-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corser et al. (US 2024/0425279) in view of Bakogiannis (WO 2022/064230 A1).
Regarding claims 33-35, Corser discloses a system for replacing a battery in a vehicle, the system comprising: a battery comprising: a housing (202), and a grasping point (206) extending from a portion from a housing; a robotic device comprising an end effector (226) having an aperture (opening between “pair of gripping members” see para. 0122) with a center axis, the end effector configured to facilitate connection of the robotic device and the battery via insertion of the grasping point into the aperture along the center axis. The grasping point is a post comprising a groove (see at least Fig. 6b); and the end effector comprising a protrusion (see para. 0122, “gripper finger” configured to be positioned within the groove when the robotic device is connected to the battery. The battery further comprises a flat surface (see Fig. 8) extending around an entirety of the post. The robotic device comprises a detector mounted on the end effector (see at least para. 0138). Corser further discloses a vehicle including a housing assembly comprising an outer wall and an outer wall aperture (see Fig. 6A). Corser discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that the battery comprises a readable indicia comprising at least one of a bar code or a QR code; the detector configured to facilitate detection of the readable indicia when the robotic device is not connected to the battery; and it does not disclose a second readable indicia located on the outer wall; wherein the detector is further configured to facilitate detection of the second readable indicia when the robotic device is not connected to the battery; and wherein the controller is configured to: receive a first signal from the detector, the first signal associated with the readable indicia and a characteristic of the battery, and receive a second signal from the detector, the second signal associated with the second readable indicia and a position of the housing assembly. However, Bakogiannis discloses a similar system which includes a battery comprising a readable indicia comprising at least one of a bar code or a QR code (see at least paras. 0060 and 0066); a detector configured to facilitate detection of the readable indicia when a robotic device is not connected to the battery; and a second readable indicia located on an outer wall of the robotic device; wherein the detector is further configured to facilitate detection of the second readable indicia (see at least para. 0060) when the robotic device is not connected to the battery; and a controller configured to: receive a first signal from the detector, the first signal associated with the readable indicia and a characteristic of the battery, and receive a second signal from the detector, the second signal associated with the second readable indicia and a position of the housing assembly (see at least paras. 0060 and 0066) for the purpose of ensuring an appropriate battery is exchanged for a specific battery of a particular vehicle. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Corser by having the battery comprise a readable indicia comprising at least one of a bar code or a QR code; the detector configured to facilitate detection of the readable indicia when the robotic device is not connected to the battery; and a second readable indicia located on the outer wall; wherein the detector is further configured to facilitate detection of the second readable indicia when the robotic device is not connected to the battery; and wherein the controller is configured to: receive a first signal from the detector, the first signal associated with the readable indicia and a characteristic of the battery, and receive a second signal from the detector, the second signal associated with the second readable indicia and a position of the housing assembly, as disclosed by Bakogiannis, for the purpose of ensuring an appropriate battery is exchanged for a specific battery of a particular vehicle.
Regarding claims 43-54, Corser discloses a method removing a battery from a vehicle, the method comprising: causing, by a controller of a robotic device (220), a grasping point (206) of a battery to be inserted into an aperture (opening between “pair of gripping members” see para. 0122) along a center axis of the aperture so as to connect the battery to the robotic device, the grasping point extending from a portion of a housing (202, see Fig. 6B) of the battery, the aperture being of an end effector (226) of the robotic device; and after the battery is connected to the end effector, causing, by the controller, the battery to be moved (see at least para. 0122). Causing the battery to be moved comprises inserting the battery into a charging bay (344) of a charging repository (340). After causing the battery to be moved, causing, by the controller, the grasping point to be withdrawn from the aperture along the center axis so as to disconnect the battery from the robotic device (see at least paras. 0122, 0164, and 0168). After causing the grasping point to be withdrawn from the aperture, causing, by the controller, a second grasping point of a second battery to be inserted into the aperture along the center axis so as to connect the second battery to the robotic device, the second grasping point extending from a portion of a second housing of the second battery; and after the battery is connected to the end effector, causing, by the controller, the second battery to be moved (see at least paras. 0122, 0164, and 0168). Causing the battery to be moved comprises removing the second battery a second charging bay of the charging repository and inserting the second battery into a housing assembly of the vehicle (see at least paras. 0122, 0164, and 0168). Causing the battery to be moved comprises removing the battery from a first charging bay of a charging repository and inserting the battery into a second charging bay of the charging repository (see at least paras. 0122, 0164, and 0168). Causing the battery to be moved comprises removing the second battery a third charging bay of the charging repository and inserting the second battery into a housing assembly of the vehicle (see at least paras. 0122, 0164, and 0168). After causing the second battery to be moved, causing, by the controller, the second grasping point to be withdrawn from the aperture along the center axis so as to disconnect the second battery from the robotic device (see at least paras. 0122, 0164, and 0168). Corser discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that before causing the grasping point to be inserted into the aperture, causing, by the controller, a detector mounted on the end effector to detect a readable indicia of the battery and determining, by the controller, based on the readable indicia, at least one: a position of the battery or a characteristic of the battery. However, Bakogiannis discloses a similar method which includes before causing ta grasping point to be inserted into an aperture, causing, by a controller, a detector mounted on an end effector to detect a readable indicia of a battery and determining, by the controller, based on the readable indicia, at least one: a position of the battery or a characteristic of the battery (see at least paras. 0060 and 0066) for the purpose of ensuring an appropriate battery is exchanged for a specific battery of a particular vehicle. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Corser by having before causing the grasping point to be inserted into the aperture, causing, by the controller, a detector mounted on the end effector to detect a readable indicia of the battery and determining, by the controller, based on the readable indicia, at least one: a position of the battery or a characteristic of the battery, as disclosed by Bakogiannis, for the purpose of ensuring an appropriate battery is exchanged for a specific battery of a particular vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sachdev et al. (US 2025/0051042) discloses a battery exchange system including a robotic arm having an end effector with an aperture. Gulmarin et al. (US 5,612,606) discloses an automatic battery exchange system.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653