DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of claims 20, 24-25 are supported by the specification.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant's amendment filed on 12/19/2025. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 33 recites “the reduced graphene oxide composition is present in an amount of from 0.01 to about 1.0 phr”. The specification discloses the amount of graphene oxide in the composite composition is from about 0.01 to 1.0 phr. The specification does not support a composition comprising both graphene oxide and curing agents in an amount of 0.01-1 phr.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-23, 25, 28, 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al (CN105906854).
It is noted that “the reduced graphene oxide composition comprises a product of a reduction reaction involving graphene oxide and a combination of curing agents” is a product-by-process limitation. It does not specify the role of the combination of curing agents: a reagent, a catalyst, or just presents when the reaction occurs. Given the broadest reasonable claim interpretation, a mixture of reduced graphene oxide and the combination of curing agents reads on the claimed reduced graphene oxide composition.
Gao teaches a composition comprising a natural latex, a reduced graphene oxide, 0.5-5 phr of a stabilizer KOH (i.e. pH adjuster), 0.2-2 phr of an accelerator of zinc diethyl dithiocarbamate, 0.5-5 phr of a vulcanizing activator of zinc oxide, and 1-2 phr of a curing agent sulfur, 0.5-3 phr of an antioxidant (lines 54-60, 71-73, 88-106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (CN105906854) in view of Wang et al (US 2002/0173563).
Gao teaches the limitation of claim 20, as discussed above. Gao further teaches an excellent tensile strength is desired (1:27).
Goa does not teach the composition further comprises a thiazole compound.
However, Wang teaches an accelerator comprising zinc diethyldithiocarbamate, zinc 2-mercaptobenzothiazole and diphenyl guanidine can improve tensile strength [0070]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include triazole and guanidine into the polyisoprene latex composition to improve tensile strength.
Claim 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (CN105906854) in view of Fan et al (CN105037835).
Gao teaches the limitation of claim 28, as discussed above.
Gao does not teach an antioxidant like claimed.
However, Fan discloses a similar composition and teaches the antioxidant can be N-isopropyl-N’-phenyl phenylenediamine. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize a hindered arylamine as antioxidant because it is recognized in the art it is suitable for a composition of Gao.
Claims 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (CN105906854) in view of Zheng et al (CN105237828).
Gao teaches the limitation of claim 31, as discussed above.
Gao does not teach a pH value like claimed.
However, Zheng discloses a similar composition and teaches the composition can have a pH value of 10.5-11. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the pH value like claimed because it is recognized in the art it is a suitable value for composition of Gao.
Claims 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (CN105906854).
Gao teaches in the graphene modified natural latex polymer, the mass content of graphene is 0.1-10% (line 97). Case law holds that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 20, 24-25 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-7 of U.S. Patent No.11,214,664. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘664 claims a composition comprising a polyisoprene latex, a stabilizer, a reduced graphene oxide and a combination of curing agents.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and declaration filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because 1) the TEM figures shows the difference between unfilled polyisoprene and filled polyisoprene, it is insufficient to demonstrate the example of Gao would be different from the filled polyisoprene of instant application. A fair comparison is between Gao’s example and the filled polyisoprene of instant application. 2) Although reaction mechanisms shown in paragraphs 8,9 and 13 of the new declaration are all hypothesis, the XPS data showing additional C-S-C and C-S-S-C bonds formed indicates GO has been bonded to sulfur. However, the instant specification discloses the reduced graphene oxide particles are connected to or crosslinked with the latex particles, and sulfur is an optional curing agent, which indicates the inventors did not realize GO has been bonded to sulfur when the application was filed. Case law has held that basic property or utility must be disclosed in application as originally filed in order for affidavit evidence of unexpected properties to be offered. In re Davies et al. 177 USPQ 381 (CCPA 1973). 3) the data is not reasonably commensurate in scope with the scope of claims. The inventive data comes from a single embodiment with specific components, amounts and reaction conditions. Case law holds that evidence is insufficient to rebut a prima facie case if not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 741, 218 USPQ 769, 777 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763