Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Etherington (WO 2016/120599). With respect to claim 1, Etherington discloses the claimed shallow draft float 2 providing intact stability to a marine structure with a lower portion having an inverted conical section 10 having a pointed bottom transitioning to a circular top which is engaged with a short cylindrical portion (7; Figure 4), an upper portion being a tall cylindrical portion 8 engaged at an end atop the short cylindrical portion, the float supports a marine structure 14 and the lower portion resides at least partially beneath the water surface and the upper portion resides above the water surface until a tipping force is applied to the marine structure forcing the lower portion beneath the water surface with the upper surface proving additional floatation to counter tipping forces and increase stability of the structure (inherently). With respect to claim 4, note Etherington, note claim 30.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etherington (WO 2016/120599) in view of Todter et al (US 10029773). With respect to claim 2, Etherington does not disclose an inflatable upper portion. Todter et al teach an inflatable upper portion 104. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the upper portion of Etherington to be inflatable as taught by Todter et al with a high likelihood of success for improved safety. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. It is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention is designing complex offshore floatation devices would have years of experience and advanced degrees and such a person would be familiar with stability enhancing features.
Claim(s) 5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etherington (WO 2016/120599) in view of Whittle (US 3285213). With respect to claim 5, 8, Etherington discloses the claimed shallow draft float 2 providing intact stability to a marine structure with a lower portion having an inverted conical section 10 having a pointed bottom transitioning to a circular top which is engaged with a short cylindrical portion (7; Figure 4) and the float supports a marine structure 14. Etherington does not disclose an inverted parachute. Wittle teaches a structure with an inverted parachute (column 7, lines 30-40) including storage. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Etherington with an inverted parachute including storage as taught by Whittle with a high likelihood of success for improved safety by providing increased stability. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. It is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention is designing complex offshore floatation devices would have years of experience and advanced degrees and such a person would be familiar with stability enhancing features. With respect to claim 7, note Etherington, note claim 30.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etherington (WO 2016/120599) in view of Whittle (US 3285213), and further in view of Rutten et al (US 4481900). With respect to claim 6, Etherington does not disclose a textile parachute. Rutten teaches a textile parachute 16. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Etherington with a textile parachute as taught by Rutten with a high likelihood of success for improved storage and economy. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. It is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention is designing complex offshore floatation devices would have years of experience and advanced degrees and such a person would be familiar with stability enhancing features. With respect to claim 7, note Etherington, note claim 30.
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-13 are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schmitz, Sr. (US 2007/0028822) show a vessel.
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615