Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending (claim set as filed on 10/18/2023).
Priority
This application filed on 10/18/2023 claims benefit to foreign application no. AU2022903056 filed on 10/18/2022 which finds full support for the instant claims. Therefore, the effective filing date of the application is 10/18/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The use of the terms:
Tricho-ShieldTM
Trianum Shield
Sabel-X® Hort
Richgro® Green Products
Searles® Garden Products
All Purpose Mushroom Compost
Premium Mushroom Compost
which are trade names or marks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, includes a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 18-20 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claim 18 recites “wherein the mixture is present as an elongate pile.” The term “elongate pile” is not defined in the specification. It is unclear what specific structure the applicant is attempting to define since both terms (elongate and pile) respectively are relative terminology. Claims 19 and 20 are rejected as being dependent on claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Le (US Patent No. 10,524,487 – date of patent 6/18/2020).
Le’s general disclosure relates to a sporulated microbial mixture; and specifically, a mixture intended for livestock ingestion to germinate within their GI tract and then excrete into the soil to enhance soil fertility (see [0074 and 0095]). Note this rejection is based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims which does not recite where step I and II occur.
Regarding claim 1 pertaining to the method for producing Trichoderma spp. fungi, Le teaches the combination of an almond hull carrier, a compost composition (broadest reasonable interpretation applied), and Trichoderma spp. spores into a mixture (see [0080], [0027], [0156]). The instant app defines the “compost” as a source of nutrition, and Le teaches calcium carbonate and wheat as dietary sources of nutrition in the microbial-carrier mixture (see [0027]). Le teaches that Trichoderma is a spore embodiment of the three microbial species taught (see [0156]). Le teaches that the microbial mixture is incubated within the gastrointestinal tract of the livestock after consumption, and then subsequently germinates living microbes (see [0006-0007]). Le teaches that the fungi is collected when it is preserved and screened (see [0153] and [0178]).
Regarding claims 2-3, Le teaches T. harzianum, T. viride, T. koningii, and T. hamatum (see [0156]) and Trichoderma spp. fungi as an embodiment of the microorganism selected (see [0156]). As evidenced by Steyaert, the Trichoderma fungi inherently produces both conidia and mycelia as a function of its asexual reproductive functioning (see Steyaert Introduction).
Regarding claims 9-11 pertaining to watering the mixture, Le teaches that a preservative solution is applied to the embodied microorganisms and/or spores, and specifically that an embodiment of this preservative solution contains water (see [0180]). Le teaches that the mixture is watered prior to the incubation as its administered to the animals in a liquid form (see [0044]). Le teaches that the mixture is watered after the mixture is incubated and excreted into the soil (see [0094]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (WO15/126571 – publication date – 8/27/2015) in view of Wood (Wood, “Control nematodes when planting new trees”, Farm Progress, 2019 Jan 16, https://www.farmprogress.com/planting/control-nematodes-when-planting-new-trees) and in further view of Vargas-Garcia (Vargas-Garcia, “Laboratory study of inocula production for composting processes”, 2004 Jan 23, Biosource Technology, 96, pgs. 797-799), as evidenced by Steyaert (Steyaert et al., “Reproduction without sex: conidiation in the filamentous fungus Trichoderma”, 2010 Oct 01, Microbiology, 156(10), pg. 2887) and as evidenced by Lekshmi (Lekshmi et al., “A critical review of soil moisture measurement”, 2014 Apr 11, Elsevier, 54, pg. 92).
Yamashita’s general disclosure relates to a microbial fertilizer composition; and specifically, to a mixture to remediate soil (see abstract).
Regarding claim 1, Yamashita teaches the mixture of the shredded almond hull, compost composition, and Trichoderma spp. (see pg. 50, claim 1 and pg. 52, claim 17). Yamashita teaches incubating the mixture (see pg. 48, lines 28-29). Yamashita does not teach spores and collecting Trichoderma spp. fungi.
Wood’s general disclosure relates to the use of fungal spore composition to treat plant pathogens in the soil (see ¶ 2).
Regarding claim 1, Wood teaches spores (see ¶ 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add fungal spores as taught by Wood to the microbial mixture taught in Yamashita. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so because Wood teaches a benefit for the use of spores in a soil fertilizer composition as they treat pathogenic species harmful to plants (see Wood ¶ 2). Therefore, such a use of a fertilizer containing fungal spores would be considered an advantage in Yamashita’s disclosure which also recognizes a need for a fertilizer composition to reduce the number of pathogens found in soil (see Yamashita pg. 47, lines 10-18).
Vargas-Garcia’s general disclosure relates to optimizing microbial compost using agricultural waste substrates (see abstract).
Regarding claim 1, Vargas-Garcia teaches collecting the Trichoderma spp. fungi (see pg. 799, ¶ 3) by counting the number of fungi grown.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamashita and Vargas-Garcia to collect the Trichoderma fungi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so because Vargas-Garcia teaches collecting the fungi to determine which grew under most favorable conditions to further optimize a recyclable compost (see Vargas-Garcia pg. 798, ¶ 1). Therefore, such a use of collecting the spores would have been an advantage in Yamashita which recognizes a need for collecting the fungi for recycling of a fertilizer into the soil (see Yamashita pg. 36, lines 19-20).
Regarding claims 2-3, Yamashita teaches the Trichoderma spp. fungi is T. harzianum, T. viride, T. koningii, or T. hamatum (see pg. 52, claim 17). As evidenced by Steyaert, the Trichoderma fungi inherently produces both conidia and mycelia as a function of its asexual reproduction (see Steyaert Introduction).
Regarding claim 4-5, Yamashita teaches shredded almond hull, compost nutrition, and Trichoderma spp. in a ratio of “about” [0.5][0.05][0.000115] (see pg. 51, claim 7; pg. 53, claim 30; pg. 52, claim 22). . Yamashita discloses a ratio of almond hull to the compost nutrition of “about” [0.5]:[0.05] where the almond hull has a range that is ten times the amount of the compost nutrition range; for example, almond hull is 50% by weight and the compost nutrition is 5% by weight of the composition (see pg. 51, claim 7 and pg. 53, claim 30). Yamashita discloses a ratio of compost nutrition to microbial species of “about” [0.05]:[0.000115] where the Trichoderma spp. microbial mixture at 1 x 105 cfu/ml is 0.00001% by weight of the composition, which is “about” 434 times smaller than the compost nutrition component as given in the ratio (see pg. 52, claim 22). Though Yamashita teaches shredded almond hull (see pg. see pg. 50, claim 1), it does not teach the size of the shredded almond hull (claim 5).
Regarding claim 5, Vargas-Garcia teaches the shredded almond hull is between “about” 1-10 mm (see pg. 798, ¶5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamashita and Vargas-Garcia and teach the size of the shredded almond hull. Therefore, one would have been motivated to use a similar size since Vargas-Garcia there is a reasonable expectation that the modified teachings of Yamashita and Vargas-Garcia would have met the claimed functional limitation because Yamashita discloses the almond hull as a substrate, but Vargas-Garcia teaches a size of 1 mm is an effective size of the substrate to be used to promote fungal growth (see pg. 799, ¶ 3).
Regarding claims 6-7, Yamashita teaches a compost nutrition composition of straw, green and dry manure, and calcium sulfate, also known as gypsum (see pg. 2, lines 1-5 and pg. 26, line 23). Yamashita teaches that nitrogen is found within the compost nutrition (see pg. 14, line 7) at 5% w/w (see pg. 17, line 29-30).
Regarding claim 8, Yamashita teaches the make-up of the soil is checked daily (see pg. 37, lines 24-27; pg. 38, lines 26-28) including the salt composition of the mixture-containing soil. As evidenced by Lekshmi, it is inherent that assessing the salt composition would also give indication of the moisture content (see Lekshmi, Introduction) therefore reading on claim 8.
Regarding claims 12-15, Yamashita teaches that the mixture has a temperature of “about” 25-27 [Symbol font/0xB0]C (see pg. 44, lines 11-14). Yamashita teaches that the period of time is between about 20-35 days (see pg. 49, lines 14-17). Yamashita teaches an acidic component in the mixture (see pg. 41, lines 13-17), but it does not specify that the pH has a range of “about” 6.6-6.8. Yamashita teaches that the mixture contains moisture (see pg. 45, lines 16-20), but does not specify that the moisture content is “about” 40-80%.
Regarding claims 12 and 14, Vargas-Garcia teaches a pH range of “about” 6.6-6.8 and a moisture content of “about” 40-80% (see pg. 798, ¶ 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the values of the pH and the moisture content as disclosed by Vargas-Garcia for use in process of inducing fungal growth in the mixture composition disclosed by Yamashita. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so because the pH and moisture content would have shown to be effective at promoting the growth of Trichoderma fungi as taught by Vargas-Garcia when applied to the mixture composition as taught by Yamashita.
Accordingly, both the claimed invention and the prior art references, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. The ordinary artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the prior art references to arrive at the claimed invention because both Yamashita and Vargas-Garcia are directed to a microbial mixture composition containing Trichoderma spp. and a cellulose almond-based substrate with certain conditions such as pH, temperature, moisture, size and incubation period effective for inducing growth of the fungus.
Regarding claims 16-17, Yamashita teaches that the three, layered structure and agitation to form the mixture (see pg. 48, lines 14-24). Yamashita discloses the three components in pellet form contained inside a column (pg. 48, lines 14-20). Yamashita discloses one of the pellets contains rice hulls + hardwood + microbes + activator (pg. 48, line 20). Almond hulls can be substituted for rice hulls based off Yamashita’s embodiments (pg. 2, lines 2-4) and form “a bottom layer” under the sand layer at the top of the column (pg. 48, line 20-23). A cellulose source of nutrients made of straw, manure, and calcium sulfate can be substituted from hardwood based off of Yamashita’s embodiments (see pg. 2, lines 1-5 and pg. 26, line 23) and form “a middle layer” between the rice hull layer and the microbe layer (pg. 48, line 20). The microbe forms “a top layer” over the activator layer (pg. 48, line 20). Applicant defines “agitation” in the specification to mean any suitable means of mixing the three components.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita in view of Wood and Vargas-Garcia and in further view of An (An et al., “Effect of Ridge Height, Row Grade, and Field Slope on Nutrient Losses in Runoff in Contour Ridge Systems under Seepage with Rainfall Condition”, 2021 Feb 19, International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 18, pgs. 1-3) and as evidenced by Steyaert and as evidenced by Lekshmi.
The teachings of Yamashita, Wood, and Vargas-Garcia has been set forth above, and herein referred to as modified-Yamashita-Wood-Vargas-Garcia.
An’s general disclosure relates to contour-ridge soil systems (see abstract).
Regarding claims 18-20, modified-Yamashita-Wood-Vargas-Garcia teaches that the mixture was incorporated into the soil (see Yamashita summary) and that the period of time after laying the mixture was “about” 5-10 days (see Yamashita pg. 48, lines 22-26) during of a period of 96 hours or 4 days. However, modified-Yamashita-Wood-Vargas-Garcia does not specifically teach that the soil was arranged in elongate piles with a depression over the length or that the depression formed “about” 5-10 days after period of time before the layered mixture is formed.
Regarding claims 18-20, An teaches an elongate pile with depressions over the length of the piles (see pg. 2, ¶ 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the elongate piles with depressions over the length as taught by An to the mixture within the soil as taught by modified-Yamashita-Wood-Vargas-Garcia. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so because An teaches that the depressed elongate piles are a common agricultural practice for reducing loss of nutrients within the soil (see pg. 2, ¶ 2-3). Therefore, such use of a depressed elongate pile would be considered an advantage in modified-Yamashita-Wood-Vargas-Garcia which also recognizes the need for correct deficiencies in the nutrient compositions of soil (see Yamashita pg. 1, introduction).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8, and 11 of Application No. 18/024,725 in view of Yamashita, Wood and Le – references cited from above and reprised herein.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claims are directed towards:
Mixing shredded almond hull, nitrogen-containing component, and Trichoderma spp. spores and collecting the Trichoderma spp. fungi (claim 1)
Size of the almond hull being about 1-10 mm or about 2-5 mm (claim 5)
Mixture having a moisture content of about 40-80% (w/w) or about 55-65% (w/w) (claim 14)
Separating of the components and agitating the mixture (claim 16)
Co-pending Application No. 18/024,725 claims are directed towards:
Mixing shredded almond hull and a nitrogen-containing component (claims 1-3)
Size of the almond hull being about 1-10 mm or about 2-5 mm (claim 11)
Mixture having a moisture content of about 40-80% (w/w) or about 55-65% (w/w) (claim 8)
Separating of the components and agitating the mixture (claim 1)
Although the preamble are different both sets of claims are directed to producing compost mixture. Co-pending Application No. 18/024,725 does not recite:
Adding Trichoderma spp. spores to mixture and collecting the Trichoderma spp. fungi
Yamashita teaches a fertilizer mixture similar to the one disclosed in ‘725(see Yamashita pg. 50, claim 1 and pg. 52, claim 17). Wood teaches the fungal spores (see Wood ¶ 2). Le teaches the collection of the Trichoderma spp. fungi (see Le [0153] and [0178]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the fertilizer mixture as taught in Yamashita, the spores as taught in Wood, and the collection of the Trichoderma spp. fungi as taught in Le with the fertilizer mixture as taught in ‘725. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so because Yamashita teaches that the fertilizer composition provides nutrients for soil remediation (see Yamashita pg. 7, lines 20-22), Wood teaches that the addition of Trichoderma spp. spores to fertilizer are beneficial for soil health by controlling plant pathogens (see Wood ¶ 2), and Le teaches that the collection of Trichoderma spp. fungi is beneficial to screen for a more successful subsequent microbial generation to add back to the soil (see Le [0157]). Therefore, such use of these methods would be considered an advantage in ‘725 which also recognizes the need for an enriched soil as an important part of agriculture (see ‘725 [0003]).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence Information
/E.R.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653