DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 30, 2026, have been considered. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 7 and 10 are not persuasive in view of the amendments to the claims and the correspondingly necessitated new grounds of rejection set for the below. It is noted that the arguments presented, while identified as pertaining to Claim 1, actual are directed to features of Claim 7, and are considered relevant to Claim 7, not Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0231853 to Hiroyuki et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0131083 to Couderc et al. and JP 2012-219004 A (cited in Applicant’s June 30, 2026, IDS, which included a translation, hereinafter “JP ‘004”)
Regarding Claim 7, Hiroyuki discloses (e.g., at least Figs. 1 and 2 and their description) a wire grid polarizing element comprising: a transparent substrate 10; and grid-like projections arranged on one surface of the transparent substrate with a pitch shorter than the wavelength of light in a used band (paragraph [0051]), and extending in a predetermined direction (Figs. 1 and 2), the transparent substrate being transparent to light in the used band (paragraph [0036]), and the grid-like projections each having a reflective layer 42, a dielectric layer 44, and an absorption layer 46.
Hiroyuki teaches a protective film and water repellent film (paragraph [0068]) and teaches the water repellent film may be an organic material, “a fluorine-based silane compound such as perfluorodecyltriethoxysilane (FDTS),” but Hiroyuki does not explicitly disclose the grid-like projections “having a surface on at least a part of which an inorganic structure capable of expressing water repellency exists.”
Couderc discloses “providing a transparent article having a face provided with a nanostructure wherein a top part of the nanostructure has hydrophobic or superhydrophobic properties” (paragraph [0017]), where the structure includes an organic-inorganic resin, that is etched to “preferentially etch the organic part of the organic-inorganic resin” to achieve a roughness structure (e.g., paragraphs [0162]]-[0168] and Figs. 6A–C).
Hiroyuki also does not explicitly disclose that the water repellent film has a surface on which a concave part and/or a convex part is formed, and having an angle of contact with water of equal to or greater than 110°, and the convex part has a shape of one or more types selected from a group consisting of a fractal shape, a pillar shape, a whisker shape, and a tetrapod shape.
Couderc teaches, as part of the suitable water repellent film, a nanopillar shape which includes a generally concave/convex configuration (e.g., at least Fig. 6C), where the structure achieves hydrophobic or superhydrophobic properties (paragraph [0017], where a specific contact angle is not taught by Couderc, but the teaching of superhydrophobic properties reasonably suggests a large contact angle, such as greater than 110° in paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Hiroyuki such that the grid-like projections have a surface on at least a part of which an inorganic structure capable of expressing water repellency exists, as suggested by Couderc, and also that the water repellent film has a surface on which a concave part and/or a convex part is formed, and having an angle of contact with water of equal to or greater than 110°, and the convex part has a shape of one or more types selected from a group consisting of a pillar shape, as also suggested by Couderc, as a suitable configuration of a water repellent film to achieve hydrophobic or superhydrophobic properties (e.g., MPEP §§ 2144.06–07). Note that Applicant in the specification provides no further description of what materials might be used or exemplify the claimed "inorganic structure." As such, the "organic-inorganic resin" of Couderc, where reactive ion etching preferentially etches the organic portion of the resin, is considered to reasonably correspond to the claimed "inorganic structure".
The combination of Hiroyuki and Couderc does not explicitly disclose that the convex shape is one of a fractal shape, a whisker shape, and a tetrapod shape.
JP ‘004 discloses a water-ultrarepellent configuration for a display device, and teaches convex portions having a fractal, whisker, and/or tetrapod shape (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3), where the shapes achieve improved water repellent properties, durability and abrasion resistance, and fingerprint resistance (e.g., paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Hiroyuki and Couderc such that the convex portions have a fractal, whisker, and/or tetrapod shape, as suggested by JP ‘004, in order to achieve improved water repellent properties, durability and abrasion resistance, and fingerprint resistance, and further as a suitable configuration for a surface having superhydrophobic properties and surface roughness as desired by Couderc.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Hiroyuki, Couderc, and JP ‘004 would have rendered obvious wherein the inorganic structure has an angle of contact with water of equal to or greater than 150° (paragraphs [0017] and [0054] of Couderc; also paragraph [0095] of JP ‘004, achieves contact angle of 160°).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1–3, 8, and 9 remain allowed, noting that the teachings of newly applied JP ‘004 do not appear applicable where the claimed sizes of the concave/convex parts are significantly different than the sizes taught in JP ‘004.
Conclusion
/RYAN CROCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871