DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 25 November 2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The new limitation is disclosed by at least the newly cited references as detailed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3 and 5-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernhardt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2002/0157841) in view of Gengler et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2001/0004018), and further in view of Blackwell et al. (U.S. Patent # 10,111,373).
Regarding claim 1, Bernhardt discloses an autonomous (claims 17, 21, 23, etc) agricultural system (figs, P2, 8, 27, 30, etc) comprising:
a mobile power unit (figs, etc) including a power supply (inherently required for agricultural vehicle and implement to operate as disclosed in at least P4-5, 31, 33, 48-49) and one or more drive mechanisms (figs 1-2: wheels, etc);
an implement releasably (figs 1-2, P15, 25, etc) secured to said mobile power unit, wherein said implement includes one or more drive mechanisms (figs 1-2, etc); and
wherein said implement is releasably secured to said mobile power unit via an articulated coupling (figs 1-2, P16, etc), wherein said articulated coupling comprises a steering mechanism (figs 1-3, P4-5, 31, 33, 48-49, etc),
wherein said mobile power unit is configured to transport said implement (figs 1-3, etc), and wherein said mobile power unit is further configured to provide power from said power supply to said implement (P31, 33, 48-49, etc).
Bernhardt fails to disclose that said steering mechanism is configured to steer said autonomous agricultural system, such that said articulated coupling assists with maneuvering and turning of the agricultural system, and does not explicitly disclose the power supply.
In the same field of endeavor, Gengler discloses that said articulated coupling comprises a steering mechanism configured to steer said autonomous agricultural system, such that said articulated coupling assists with maneuvering and turning of the agricultural system (P24, etc).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bernhardt to use such a steering mechanism, as taught by Gengler, in order to more efficiently and/or effectively turn the agricultural system (P24, etc), with predictable results.
In the same field of endeavor, Blackwell discloses the power supply (abstract, P17-19, 62, etc).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bernhardt to use a power supply, as taught by Blackwell, in order to enable operation of the agricultural vehicle and implement as disclosed in at least P4-5, 31, 33, 48-49, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said articulated coupling comprises a connection assembly including a vertical pivot (figs 1-2, P16, etc).
Regarding claim 3, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said mobile power unit and said implement are configured to rotate with respect to each other about a vertical axis extending through a vertical pivot of said articulated coupling (figs 1-2, P16, etc).
Regarding claim 5, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that the steering mechanism comprises an electric linear actuator (Blackwell col 14: 13-15, col 12: 27-30, etc: electric linear actuator in combination with disclosed steering mechanisms).
Regarding claim 6, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that the steering mechanism comprises one or more steering cylinders configured to steer said autonomous agricultural system (figs 1-3, P4-5, etc).
Regarding claim 7, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that the one or more steering cylinders comprise hydraulic cylinders (figs 1-3, P4-5, etc).
Regarding claim 8, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that each of the one or more steering cylinders extends from either said mobile power unit or said implement and include a mating element configured to engage with a mating element associated with the other of said mobile power unit or said implement (figs 1-3, P4-5, 16, etc).
Regarding claim 9, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that connection assembly comprises a power coupling configured to permit power and/or communications to be transferred back and forth between said mobile power unit and said implement (P31, 33, 48-49, etc).
Regarding claim 10, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that the power coupling comprises an electric coupler configured to transfer electric power between said mobile power unit and said implement (P31, 48-49, etc).
Regarding claim 11, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that the power coupling comprises a hydraulic coupler configured to hydraulic electric power between said mobile power unit and said implement (P31, 33, 48-49, etc).
Regarding claim 12, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said articulated coupling comprises a connection assembly, and wherein said connection assembly comprises a hitching assembly configured to shift its position in one or more directions (figs 1-2, P16, etc).
Regarding claim 13, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said mobile power unit is configured to transport said implement by pulling said implement (figs 1-2, etc).
Regarding claim 14, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said mobile power unit is configured to transport said implement by pushing said implement (Blackwell figs 37-39, 49, 53, 59, col 6: 60 – col 7: 1, col 8: 11-46, etc).
Regarding claim 15, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that wherein said mobile power unit is autonomously controlled based on a location-determining element associated with said mobile power unit (P25, 49, claim 16, etc; Blackwell abstract, col 21: 48-50, col 22: 20-33, claims 18-19).
Regarding claim 16, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said implement is an agricultural implement configured to modify the ground soil (figs, P2, 8, 27, 30, etc: plow).
Regarding claim 17, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said implement is an agricultural implement configured to apply material into or onto the ground soil (Blackwell col 8: 18-36, claim 1, etc).
Regarding claim 18, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said implement is an agricultural implement configured to harvest crop from the ground soil (Blackwell P16, etc).
Regarding claim 19, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said power supply comprises an electric generator or one or more batteries (Blackwell abstract, P17-19, 62, etc).
Regarding claim 20, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said drive mechanisms of said mobile power unit comprises one or more tracks (Blackwell figs, etc).
4. Claims 1-3 and 5-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernhardt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2002/0157841) in view of Cooper (U.S. Patent # 5,823,270), and further in view of Blackwell et al. (U.S. Patent # 10,111,373).
Regarding claim 1, Bernhardt discloses an autonomous (claims 17, 21, 23, etc) agricultural system (figs, P2, 8, 27, 30, etc) comprising:
a mobile power unit (figs, etc) including a power supply (inherently required for agricultural vehicle and implement to operate as disclosed in at least P4-5, 31, 33, 48-49) and one or more drive mechanisms (figs 1-2: wheels, etc);
an implement releasably (figs 1-2, P15, 25, etc) secured to said mobile power unit, wherein said implement includes one or more drive mechanisms (figs 1-2, etc); and
wherein said implement is releasably secured to said mobile power unit via an articulated coupling (figs 1-2, P16, etc), wherein said articulated coupling comprises a steering mechanism (figs 1-3, P4-5, 31, 33, 48-49, etc),
wherein said mobile power unit is configured to transport said implement (figs 1-3, etc), and wherein said mobile power unit is further configured to provide power from said power supply to said implement (P31, 33, 48-49, etc).
Bernhardt fails to disclose that said steering mechanism is configured to steer said autonomous agricultural system, such that said articulated coupling assists with maneuvering and turning of the agricultural system, and does not explicitly disclose the power supply.
In the same field of endeavor, Cooper discloses that said articulated coupling comprises a steering mechanism configured to steer said autonomous agricultural system, such that said articulated coupling assists with maneuvering and turning of the agricultural system (col 4: 56-64, etc: “Through actuation of the hydraulic cylinders, particularly those 96,98 controlling movement about the pivot axis 50, the hitch 12 can be used to provide a positive steering force to assist during turns of a tractor with the implement in the soil”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bernhardt to use such a steering mechanism, as taught by Cooper, in order to more efficiently and/or effectively turn the agricultural system (col 4: 56-64, etc), with predictable results.
In the same field of endeavor, Blackwell discloses the power supply (abstract, P17-19, 62, etc).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bernhardt to use a power supply, as taught by Blackwell, in order to enable operation of the agricultural vehicle and implement as disclosed in at least P4-5, 31, 33, 48-49, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said articulated coupling comprises a connection assembly including a vertical pivot (figs 1-2, P16, etc).
Regarding claim 3, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said mobile power unit and said implement are configured to rotate with respect to each other about a vertical axis extending through a vertical pivot of said articulated coupling (figs 1-2, P16, etc).
Regarding claim 5, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that the steering mechanism comprises an electric linear actuator (Blackwell col 14: 13-15, col 12: 27-30, etc: electric linear actuator in combination with disclosed steering mechanisms).
Regarding claim 6, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that the steering mechanism comprises one or more steering cylinders configured to steer said autonomous agricultural system (figs 1-3, P4-5, etc).
Regarding claim 7, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that the one or more steering cylinders comprise hydraulic cylinders (figs 1-3, P4-5, etc).
Regarding claim 8, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that each of the one or more steering cylinders extends from either said mobile power unit or said implement and include a mating element configured to engage with a mating element associated with the other of said mobile power unit or said implement (figs 1-3, P4-5, 16, etc).
Regarding claim 9, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that connection assembly comprises a power coupling configured to permit power and/or communications to be transferred back and forth between said mobile power unit and said implement (P31, 33, 48-49, etc).
Regarding claim 10, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that the power coupling comprises an electric coupler configured to transfer electric power between said mobile power unit and said implement (P31, 48-49, etc).
Regarding claim 11, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that the power coupling comprises a hydraulic coupler configured to hydraulic electric power between said mobile power unit and said implement (P31, 33, 48-49, etc).
Regarding claim 12, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said articulated coupling comprises a connection assembly, and wherein said connection assembly comprises a hitching assembly configured to shift its position in one or more directions (figs 1-2, P16, etc).
Regarding claim 13, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said mobile power unit is configured to transport said implement by pulling said implement (figs 1-2, etc).
Regarding claim 14, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said mobile power unit is configured to transport said implement by pushing said implement (Blackwell figs 37-39, 49, 53, 59, col 6: 60 – col 7: 1, col 8: 11-46, etc).
Regarding claim 15, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that wherein said mobile power unit is autonomously controlled based on a location-determining element associated with said mobile power unit (P25, 49, claim 16, etc; Blackwell abstract, col 21: 48-50, col 22: 20-33, claims 18-19).
Regarding claim 16, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said implement is an agricultural implement configured to modify the ground soil (figs, P2, 8, 27, 30, etc: plow).
Regarding claim 17, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said implement is an agricultural implement configured to apply material into or onto the ground soil (Blackwell col 8: 18-36, claim 1, etc).
Regarding claim 18, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said implement is an agricultural implement configured to harvest crop from the ground soil (Blackwell P16, etc).
Regarding claim 19, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said power supply comprises an electric generator or one or more batteries (Blackwell abstract, P17-19, 62, etc).
Regarding claim 20, Bernhardt in view of Blackwell further discloses that said drive mechanisms of said mobile power unit comprises one or more tracks (Blackwell figs, etc).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shelley Chen/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3665
January 16, 2026