DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to the RCE filed on 8/14/2026. Claims 1-5, 7 and 21-34 are pending the case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 21-26, and 28-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerling-Ospina et al. (US 20200349580 A1, hereinafter Gerling-Ospina) in view of Hodder et al. (US 20200104107 A1) and further in view of Rao Krishnagi et al. (US 20220284032 A1, hereinafter Rao Krishnagi), and Du et al. US 6078982, hereinafter Du).
As to independent claim 1, Gerling-Ospina teaches a system for performing
one or more memories (memories 220); and
one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (“memory 220, and one or more transaction processors 230,” paragraph 0070) configured to:
receive an indication of a click event associated with a single-click uniform resource locator (URL) that is associated with an action (“One-click response API 236 may use a unique identifier associated with an interactive session and generate a web URL for the one click interaction. In such embodiments, one-click response API 236 may generate a customized user interaction-specific web page. For example, in some embodiments, once an alert is generated by alert trigger module 232 and a session established by session API module 234, one-click response API 236 may be used to request changes in a user account or provide instructions on how to resolve issues” paragraph 0083);
Gerling-Ospina does not appear to expressly teach a system for preventing double actions using configuration files, the system comprising:
receive a configuration file associated with the action associated with the action, wherein the configuration file includes a concurrency indicator associated with the action;
determine, on the concurrency indicator included in the configuration file, that the action is controlled for concurrency;
communicate with a remote database to determine whether the action is currently locked;
selectively trigger execution of the action based on whether the action is currently locked.
Hodder teaches a system for preventing double actions using configuration files (“A suitable configuration file (specified in the YAML data serialization language) that implements the concurrency control mechanisms” paragraph 0049), the system comprising:
receive a configuration file associated with the action associated with the action, wherein the configuration file includes a concurrency indicator associated with the action (“A suitable configuration file (specified in the YAML data serialization language) that implements the concurrency control mechanisms according to an embodiment of the present disclosure is as follows: Table 1…” paragraph 0049, “Alternatively, an environment can be defined as having just the following attributes
TABLE-US-00004 Environment: { environmentUuid: Uuid, name: String, lock: OpenLock | ClosedLock }” paragraph 0064, 0073-0100);
determine, on the concurrency indicator included in the configuration file, that the action is controlled for concurrency (“The call to Deploy Service 220 includes a request for an environment lock that is applicable to the environment to which the deployment step is scheduled to deploy its software product (e.g. staging or production).” Paragraph 0099,0024);
communicate with a database to determine whether a lock key associated with the currency control group is present (“Upon receipt of the call, Deploy Service 220 retrieves the Environment from the Database 230, using the environmentUuid provided by the DeploymentJob.[…] Deploy Service 220 performs this determination by issuing a suitable query to the Environment Table maintained on Database 230.” Paragraph 0100. “Data stored in the Environment Table also includes the value of the ‘lock’ attribute of the designated environment, that value indicating whether the lock is an OpenLock or a ClosedLock,” paragraph 0105,0137);
selectively trigger execution of the action based on whether the lock key is present (“The Deploy Service 220 responds to the Result Service 210 with the pertinent information from the Environment Table. In the event that the returned information indicates that the designated environment is already locked by another deployment step,” paragraph 0107-0108,0024-0025, 0073-0074, Fig. 3, steps 304-318).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims invention to modify the system of Gerling-Ospina to comprise receive a configuration file associated with the action associated with the action, wherein the configuration file includes a concurrency indicator associated with the action; determine, on the concurrency indicator included in the configuration file, that the action is controlled for concurrency; communicate with a database to determine whether the action is currently locked; selectively trigger execution of the action based on whether the action is currently locked. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide optimal resource utilization.
Rao Krishnagi teaches communicate with a remote database (“In the network environment 200 of FIG. 2, the SDDD 202 is coupled to a plurality of server devices 204(1)-204(n) that hosts a plurality of databases 206(1)-206(n), and also to a plurality of client devices 208(1)-208(n) via communication network(s) 210.” Paragraph 0057).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims invention to modify the system of Gerling-Ospina to comprise communicate with a remote database to determine whether the action is currently locked. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to securely interact with a centralized database from any location with an internet connection.
Gerling-Ospina does not appear to expressly teach that the concurrency indicator identifying a concurrency control group that includes the action and a contradictory action.
Du teaches that the concurrency indicator identifying a concurrency control group that includes the action and a contradictory action (“Two workflow activities can conflict with each other in three different ways: write-read, read-write, and write-write - see Col. 7 line 65-67-Col. 8 lines 1-20, “undesired read-write conflicts can also be avoided. This is done by requiring an activity transaction to hold its read locks until it completes its execution. The read locks prevent other activity transactions from updating the data items it has read.” Col. 9 lines 25-68, “Optionally, workflow process activity information, such as resource data and rules, can be stored in a database on a centralized WFPM server 17” Col. 3 lines 67-Col. 4 lines 1-5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims invention to modify the system of Gerling-Ospina to comprise that the concurrency indicator identifying a concurrency control group that includes the action and a contradictory action. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to maintain “serializable workflow process execution and allowing a higher concurrency degree than normal database concurrency control protocols.” (Du, Col. 2 lines 16-18).
As to dependent claim 2, Gerling-Ospina teaches the system of claim 1, Gerling-Ospina does not appear to expressly teach wherein the one or more processors, to determine that the action is controlled for concurrency, are configured to:
determine, using the configuration file, a concurrency control group that includes the action.
Hodder teaches determine, using the configuration file, concurrency control group that includes the action (“A suitable configuration file (specified in the YAML data serialization language) that implements the concurrency control mechanisms according to an embodiment of the present disclosure is as follows: Table 1…” paragraph 0049, “Alternatively, an environment can be defined as having just the following attributes TABLE-US-00004 Environment: { environmentUuid: Uuid, name: String, lock: OpenLock | ClosedLock }” paragraph 0064, 0073-0100, Fig. 3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims invention to modify the system of Gerling-Ospina to comprise concurrency control group that includes the action. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide optimal resource utilization.
As to dependent claim 3, Gerling-Ospina teaches the system of claim 1, Gerling-Ospina further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
transmit a response to the indication of the click event, to a user device, based on selectively triggering execution of the action (“one-click response API 236 may generate scripts to execute the actions identified from the URI. For example, one-click response API 236 may configure scripts such as: <script type=“application/Id+json”> “@context”: “http://schema.org”, “@type”: “EmailMessage”, [0090] “potentialAction”: “@type”: “HttpActionHandler”, “address”: ActionAddress“description”: “$descript”, paragraph 0085-0094).
As to dependent claim 4, Gerling-Ospina teaches the system of claim 3, Gerling-Ospina further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the response, are configured to: transmit a webpage including the response (“generate a website template for configuring a customized web page for a one-click interaction. In such embodiments, the website template may include the generated URI and interactive icons to quickly receive user instructions.” Paragraph 0155).
As to dependent claim 5, Gerling-Ospina teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
transmit, in response to the indication of the click event, a request for the configuration file, wherein the configuration file is received in response to the request (“generate a website template for configuring a customized web page for a one-click interaction. In such embodiments, the website template may include the generated URI and interactive icons to quickly receive user instructions.” Paragraph 0155).
As to dependent claim 26, Gerling-Ospina teaches the method of claim 21, Gerling-Ospina further teaches a JavaScript object notation (JSON) file (generate JSON files, paragraph 0117). Hodder further teaches wherein the configuration file (specified in the YAML data serialization language) that implements the concurrency control mechanisms (paragraph 0049).
As to dependent claim 34, Gerling-Ospina teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 28, Gerling-Ospina does not appear to expressly teach wherein the configuration file indicates an expiry time associated with lock key, and wherein the expiry time indicates an amount of time after which the remote database is to remove the lock key.
Hodder teaches wherein the configuration file indicates an expiry time associated with lock key, and wherein the expiry time indicates an amount of time after which the remote database is to remove the lock key (“For each environment, a determination is made at step 506 as to whether the environment lock for the environment in question has expired. The determination is made by reference to the lockTime attribute of a ClosedLock. In general, a lock will expire if it is of a certain age (e.g over 3 hours old).” Paragraph 0138-0139,0090-0091).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims invention to modify the system of Gerling-Ospina to comprise wherein the configuration file indicates an expiry time associated with lock key, and wherein the expiry time indicates an amount of time after which the remote database is to remove the lock key. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide optimal resource utilization.
Claim 21-25 and 28-33 are substantially the same as claim 1-5 and 26 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale as above.
Claims 7 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerling-Ospina et al. in view of Hodder et al., Rao Krishnagi et al., Du et al., and Ovadia et al. (US 20210303295 A1, hereinafter Ovadia).
As to dependent claim 7, Gerling-Ospina teaches the system of claim 1, Gerling-Ospina does not appear to expressly teach wherein the configuration file comprises a Python file.
Ovadia taches wherein the configuration file comprises a Python file (“a Python configuration file” paragraph 0006).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims invention to modify the system of Gerling-Ospina to comprise wherein the configuration file comprises a Python file. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a simple, readable, and highly useful way to automate tasks/actions.
Claim 27 is substantially the same as claim 7 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale as above.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Muthuvelu US 10078674 B2 A computer-implemented method and system to integrate workflow and database transactions.
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171