Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-20 are pending and being considered.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/02/2026 and 02/03/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the application no. 18489561 on 10/18/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to 102/103 Rejections
Applicant’s argument filed on 01/02/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections. The arguments do not apply to the current art being used.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11832100. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of co-pending application 18/489561 are anticipated by the claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11832100. Claims of instant application 18/489561 are effectively subset of the claims in the patent. Thus, the claims recited in the instant application are anticipated by the claims recited in the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazandarany et al (hereinafter Mazandarany) (20150124791) in view of Anglin et al (hereinafter Anglin) (US 20180145956).
Regarding claim 1 Mazandarany teaches a method comprising, by a computing device: (Mazandarany on [0064] teaches method executed by computing device to share credential for WiFi network);
receiving a cryptographic request from a nearby computing device to access a wireless hotspot provided by the computing device for use by the nearby computing device to communicate with the wherein the cryptographic request includes user information associated with the nearby computing device; (Mazandarany on [0024-0025, 0043 and 0063] mobile device 102 (i.e., nearby computing device) can send request to server computing device 106 to share credential for Wi-Fi network 112. The request can include data that identifies (i.e., user information) the mobile device 102. The server computing device 106 can include a reception component 116 that receives the request from the mobile device 102. See on [0027] teaches the user of the mobile device 102 can be detected by the authorization component 118 from the data that identifies (i.e., data in the request identifies mobile device and user of the mobile device) the mobile device 102. See Fig 6 and text on [0051-0053] teaches responsive to the detection of the physical gesture by the gesture detection component 604, the authorization component 118 can determine that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112. Accordingly, the delivery component 120 can transmit the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 to the mobile device 102 wherein the disparate device 602 can be a computing device that grants access to the shared WiFi network 112. According to another example, the disparate device 602 can be a network device (e.g., wireless access point i.e., hotspot) associated with the shared WiFi network 112);
determining, based on the cryptographic request, that the nearby computing device satisfies a proximity threshold relative to the computing device (Mazandarany on [0036-0040] teaches a system 200 that delivers credentials for shared WiFi networks based upon a geographic location of the mobile device 102. The system 200 delivers WiFi credentials for shared WiFi network(s) that are within a limited geographic region or within proximity of the mobile device 102. Further teaches the server computing device 106 can include a location detection component 214 that can identify a geographic location of the mobile device 102 responsive to receipt of the request by the reception component 116 from the mobile device 102. The location detection component 214 can further determine shared WiFi network(s) that are within geographic proximity of the mobile device 102 based upon the identified geographic location of the mobile device 102. See on [0043] teaches the mobile device 102 can transmit a request to the server computing device 106. Responsive to the reception component 116 receiving the request, the location detection component 214 can identify the geographic location of the mobile device 102. Moreover, the location detection component 214 can determine that the mobile device 102 is within geographic proximity of the shared WiFi network 1 204 based at least in part upon the geographic location of the mobile device 102);
determining that the nearby computing device is recognized by the computing device by identifying the user information included in the cryptographic request (Mazandarany on [0025 and 0063] teaches the server computing device 106 can include an authorization component 118 that, responsive to the reception component 116 receiving the request from the mobile device 102, determines that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 based at least in part upon the data that identifies the mobile device 102 (i.e., mobile device is recognized based on data included in the request). See on [0027] teaches determine that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 based upon a social network relationship with a user of the mobile device 102. Further teaches the social network relationship between the user of the mobile device 102 and an owner of the shared WiFi network 112 can be determined. Based upon such social network relationship, the authorization component 118 can determine that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112. See on [0047-0048] teaches the inquiry can specify a social network relationship between the user of the mobile device 102 and the user of the computing device 402 (e.g., indicate that the user of the mobile device 102 is a friend of a friend of the user of the computing device 402, etc.). Following this example, the social network relationship can be displayed on the display screen of the computing device 402 when soliciting the input from the user of the computing device 402 to grant or deny access for the mobile device 102 to the shared WiFi network 112);
receiving an approval for the nearby computing device to access the wireless hotspot (Mazandarany on [0045-0048] teaches pushes a notification that prompts a user to grant or deny access for the mobile device 102 to the shared WiFi network 112. Further teaches the system 400 includes a computing device 402 that grants access to the shared WiFi network 112. For instance, the computing device 402 can be a computing device of an owner of the shared WiFi network 112 or a disparate user authorized to permit or deny access to the shared WiFi network 112. Further teaches push-based notifications can prompt the user of the computing device 402 to share the shared WiFi network 112 with the mobile device 102);
and providing, by the computing device to the nearby computing device, a password that enables the nearby computing device to access the (Mazandarany on [0025] server computing device 106 can further include a delivery component 120 that transmits the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 to the mobile device 102 responsive to determining that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112. See on [0043] teaches the delivery component 120 can transmit the credentials 1 202 for the shared WiFi network 1 204 to the mobile device 102 responsive to determining that the mobile device 102 is within geographic proximity of the shared WiFi network 1 204 and authorized to receive the credentials 1 202 for the shared WiFi network 1 204. Upon receiving the credentials 1 202, the network access component 122 can use the credentials 1 202 to access the shared WiFi network 1 204. See on [0045-0048] teaches responsive to the inquiry, the computing device 402 can transmit a response to the server computing device 106 (e.g., the authorization component 118) that indicates that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 (e.g., in response to the user of the computing device 402 granting access for the mobile device 102 to the shared WiFi network 112. Further teaches push-based notifications can prompt the user of the computing device 402 to share the shared WiFi network 112 with the mobile device 102. See Fig 8 and text on [0059] “that delivers credentials for the shared WiFi network 112 from a disparate device 802 associated with the shared WiFi network 112 to the mobile device 102. The disparate device 802 can be a computing device that grants access to the shared WiFi network 112…… Accordingly, various examples set forth herein where credentials are sent from the server computing device 106 of the WiFi credential sharing service 104 to the mobile device 102 can be extended to scenarios where credentials for the shared WiFi network 112 are delivered from the disparate device 802 to the mobile device 102).
Mazandarany fails to explicitly teach establishing a connection to a cellular data network, however Anglin from analogous art teaches
establishing a connection to a cellular data network (Anglin on [0019] teaches using one or more credential to access a cellular network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of Anglin into the teaching of Mazandarany by establishing a cellular network connection. One would be motivated to do so in order to enable access to a cellular network using one or more credentials (Anglin on [0019]).
Regarding claim 8 Mazandarany teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium configured to store instructions that, when executed by at least one processor included in a computing device, cause the computing device to carry out steps that include: (Mazandarany on [0070-0072] teaches computer-readable storage medium for storing instruction executed by a processor for performing steps of);
receiving a cryptographic request from a nearby computing device to access a wireless hotspot provided by the computing device for use by the nearby computing device to communicate with (Mazandarany on [0024-0025, 0043 and 0063] mobile device 102 (i.e., nearby computing device) can send request to server computing device 106 to share credential for Wi-Fi network 112. The request can include data that identifies (i.e., user information) the mobile device 102. The server computing device 106 can include a reception component 116 that receives the request from the mobile device 102. See on [0027] teaches the user of the mobile device 102 can be detected by the authorization component 118 from the data that identifies (i.e., data in the request identifies mobile device and user of the mobile device) the mobile device 102. See Fig 6 and text on [0051-0053] teaches responsive to the detection of the physical gesture by the gesture detection component 604, the authorization component 118 can determine that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112. Accordingly, the delivery component 120 can transmit the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 to the mobile device 102 wherein the disparate device 602 can be a computing device that grants access to the shared WiFi network 112. According to another example, the disparate device 602 can be a network device (e.g., wireless access point i.e., hotspot) associated with the shared WiFi network 112);
determining, based on the cryptographic request, that the nearby computing device satisfies a proximity threshold relative to the computing device (Mazandarany on [0036-0040] teaches a system 200 that delivers credentials for shared WiFi networks based upon a geographic location of the mobile device 102. The system 200 delivers WiFi credentials for shared WiFi network(s) that are within a limited geographic region or within proximity of the mobile device 102. Further teaches the server computing device 106 can include a location detection component 214 that can identify a geographic location of the mobile device 102 responsive to receipt of the request by the reception component 116 from the mobile device 102. The location detection component 214 can further determine shared WiFi network(s) that are within geographic proximity of the mobile device 102 based upon the identified geographic location of the mobile device 102. See on [0043] teaches the mobile device 102 can transmit a request to the server computing device 106. Responsive to the reception component 116 receiving the request, the location detection component 214 can identify the geographic location of the mobile device 102. Moreover, the location detection component 214 can determine that the mobile device 102 is within geographic proximity of the shared WiFi network 1 204 based at least in part upon the geographic location of the mobile device 102);
determining that the nearby computing device is recognized by the computing device by identifying the user information included in the cryptographic request (Mazandarany on [0025 and 0063] teaches the server computing device 106 can include an authorization component 118 that, responsive to the reception component 116 receiving the request from the mobile device 102, determines that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 based at least in part upon the data that identifies the mobile device 102 (i.e., mobile device is recognized based on data included in the request). See on [0027] teaches determine that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 based upon a social network relationship with a user of the mobile device 102. Further teaches the social network relationship between the user of the mobile device 102 and an owner of the shared WiFi network 112 can be determined. Based upon such social network relationship, the authorization component 118 can determine that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112. See on [0047-0048] teaches the inquiry can specify a social network relationship between the user of the mobile device 102 and the user of the computing device 402 (e.g., indicate that the user of the mobile device 102 is a friend of a friend of the user of the computing device 402, etc.). Following this example, the social network relationship can be displayed on the display screen of the computing device 402 when soliciting the input from the user of the computing device 402 to grant or deny access for the mobile device 102 to the shared WiFi network 112);
receiving an approval for the nearby computing device to access the wireless hotspot (Mazandarany on [0045-0048] teaches pushes a notification that prompts a user to grant or deny access for the mobile device 102 to the shared WiFi network 112. Further teaches the system 400 includes a computing device 402 that grants access to the shared WiFi network 112. For instance, the computing device 402 can be a computing device of an owner of the shared WiFi network 112 or a disparate user authorized to permit or deny access to the shared WiFi network 112. Further teaches push-based notifications can prompt the user of the computing device 402 to share the shared WiFi network 112 with the mobile device 102);
and providing, by the computing device, to the nearby computing device, a password that enables the nearby computing device to access the (Mazandarany on [0025] The server computing device 106 can further include a delivery component 120 that transmits the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 to the mobile device 102 responsive to determining that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112. See on [0043] teaches the delivery component 120 can transmit the credentials 1 202 for the shared WiFi network 1 204 to the mobile device 102 responsive to determining that the mobile device 102 is within geographic proximity of the shared WiFi network 1 204 and authorized to receive the credentials 1 202 for the shared WiFi network 1 204. Upon receiving the credentials 1 202, the network access component 122 can use the credentials 1 202 to access the shared WiFi network 1 204. See on [0045-0048] teaches responsive to the inquiry, the computing device 402 can transmit a response to the server computing device 106 (e.g., the authorization component 118) that indicates that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 (e.g., in response to the user of the computing device 402 granting access for the mobile device 102 to the shared WiFi network 112. Further teaches push-based notifications can prompt the user of the computing device 402 to share the shared WiFi network 112 with the mobile device 102. See Fig 8 and text on [0059] “that delivers credentials for the shared WiFi network 112 from a disparate device 802 associated with the shared WiFi network 112 to the mobile device 102. The disparate device 802 can be a computing device that grants access to the shared WiFi network 112…… Accordingly, various examples set forth herein where credentials are sent from the server computing device 106 of the WiFi credential sharing service 104 to the mobile device 102 can be extended to scenarios where credentials for the shared WiFi network 112 are delivered from the disparate device 802 to the mobile device 102).
Mazandarany fails to explicitly teach establishing a connection to a cellular data network, however Anglin from analogous art teaches
establishing a connection to a cellular data network (Anglin on [0019] teaches using one or more credential to access a cellular network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of Anglin into the teaching of Mazandarany by establishing a cellular network connection. One would be motivated to do so in order to enable access to a cellular network using one or more credentials (Anglin on [0019]).
Regarding claim 15 Mazandarany teaches a computing device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to carry out steps that include: (Mazandarany on [0070-0072] teaches computer-readable storage medium for storing instruction executed by a processor for performing steps of);
receiving a cryptographic request from a nearby computing device to access a wireless hotspot provided by the computing device for use by the nearby computing device to communicate with network through the computing device, wherein the cryptographic request includes user information associated with the nearby computing device (Mazandarany on [0024-0025, 0043 and 0063] mobile device 102 (i.e., nearby computing device) can send request to server computing device 106 to share credential for Wi-Fi network 112. The request can include data that identifies (i.e., user information) the mobile device 102. The server computing device 106 can include a reception component 116 that receives the request from the mobile device 102. See on [0027] teaches the user of the mobile device 102 can be detected by the authorization component 118 from the data that identifies (i.e., data in the request identifies mobile device and user of the mobile device) the mobile device 102. See Fig 6 and text on [0051-0053] teaches responsive to the detection of the physical gesture by the gesture detection component 604, the authorization component 118 can determine that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112. Accordingly, the delivery component 120 can transmit the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 to the mobile device 102 wherein the disparate device 602 can be a computing device that grants access to the shared WiFi network 112. According to another example, the disparate device 602 can be a network device (e.g., wireless access point i.e., hotspot) associated with the shared WiFi network 112);
determining, based on the cryptographic request, that the nearby computing device satisfies a proximity threshold relative to the computing device (Mazandarany on [0036-0040] teaches a system 200 that delivers credentials for shared WiFi networks based upon a geographic location of the mobile device 102. The system 200 delivers WiFi credentials for shared WiFi network(s) that are within a limited geographic region or within proximity of the mobile device 102. Further teaches the server computing device 106 can include a location detection component 214 that can identify a geographic location of the mobile device 102 responsive to receipt of the request by the reception component 116 from the mobile device 102. The location detection component 214 can further determine shared WiFi network(s) that are within geographic proximity of the mobile device 102 based upon the identified geographic location of the mobile device 102. See on [0043] teaches the mobile device 102 can transmit a request to the server computing device 106. Responsive to the reception component 116 receiving the request, the location detection component 214 can identify the geographic location of the mobile device 102. Moreover, the location detection component 214 can determine that the mobile device 102 is within geographic proximity of the shared WiFi network 1 204 based at least in part upon the geographic location of the mobile device 102);
determining that the nearby computing device is recognized by the computing device by identifying the user information included in the cryptographic request (Mazandarany on [0025 and 0063] teaches the server computing device 106 can include an authorization component 118 that, responsive to the reception component 116 receiving the request from the mobile device 102, determines that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 based at least in part upon the data that identifies the mobile device 102 (i.e., mobile device is recognized based on data included in the request). See on [0027] teaches determine that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 based upon a social network relationship with a user of the mobile device 102. Further teaches the social network relationship between the user of the mobile device 102 and an owner of the shared WiFi network 112 can be determined. Based upon such social network relationship, the authorization component 118 can determine that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112. See on [0047-0048] teaches the inquiry can specify a social network relationship between the user of the mobile device 102 and the user of the computing device 402 (e.g., indicate that the user of the mobile device 102 is a friend of a friend of the user of the computing device 402, etc.). Following this example, the social network relationship can be displayed on the display screen of the computing device 402 when soliciting the input from the user of the computing device 402 to grant or deny access for the mobile device 102 to the shared WiFi network 112);
receiving an approval for the nearby computing device to access the wireless hotspot (Mazandarany on [0045-0048] teaches pushes a notification that prompts a user to grant or deny access for the mobile device 102 to the shared WiFi network 112. Further teaches the system 400 includes a computing device 402 that grants access to the shared WiFi network 112. For instance, the computing device 402 can be a computing device of an owner of the shared WiFi network 112 or a disparate user authorized to permit or deny access to the shared WiFi network 112. Further teaches push-based notifications can prompt the user of the computing device 402 to share the shared WiFi network 112 with the mobile device 102);
and providing, by the computing device, to the nearby computing device, a password that enables the nearby computing device to access the (Mazandarany on [0025] The server computing device 106 can further include a delivery component 120 that transmits the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 to the mobile device 102 responsive to determining that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112. See on [0043] teaches the delivery component 120 can transmit the credentials 1 202 for the shared WiFi network 1 204 to the mobile device 102 responsive to determining that the mobile device 102 is within geographic proximity of the shared WiFi network 1 204 and authorized to receive the credentials 1 202 for the shared WiFi network 1 204. Upon receiving the credentials 1 202, the network access component 122 can use the credentials 1 202 to access the shared WiFi network 1 204. See on [0045-0048] teaches responsive to the inquiry, the computing device 402 can transmit a response to the server computing device 106 (e.g., the authorization component 118) that indicates that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 (e.g., in response to the user of the computing device 402 granting access for the mobile device 102 to the shared WiFi network 112. Further teaches push-based notifications can prompt the user of the computing device 402 to share the shared WiFi network 112 with the mobile device 102. See Fig 8 and text on [0059] “that delivers credentials for the shared WiFi network 112 from a disparate device 802 associated with the shared WiFi network 112 to the mobile device 102. The disparate device 802 can be a computing device that grants access to the shared WiFi network 112…… Accordingly, various examples set forth herein where credentials are sent from the server computing device 106 of the WiFi credential sharing service 104 to the mobile device 102 can be extended to scenarios where credentials for the shared WiFi network 112 are delivered from the disparate device 802 to the mobile device 102).
Mazandarany fails to explicitly teach establishing a connection to a cellular data network, however Anglin from analogous art teaches
establishing a connection to a cellular data network (Anglin on [0019] teaches using one or more credential to access a cellular network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of Anglin into the teaching of Mazandarany by establishing a cellular network connection. One would be motivated to do so in order to enable access to a cellular network using one or more credentials (Anglin on [0019]).
Regarding claim 3,10 and 17 the combination of Mazandarany and Anglin teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, Mazandarany further teaches further comprising, prior to receiving the approval: presenting a notification that the nearby computing device is requesting to access the wireless hotspot, wherein the approval corresponds to a selection provided by way of a user interface in which the notification is displayed (Mazandarany on [0045-0048] teaches pushes a notification that prompts a user to grant or deny access for the mobile device 102 to the shared WiFi network 112. Further teaches the system 400 includes a computing device 402 that grants access to the shared WiFi network 112. For instance, the computing device 402 can be a computing device of an owner of the shared WiFi network 112 or a disparate user authorized to permit or deny access to the shared WiFi network 112. Further teaches push-based notifications can prompt the user of the computing device 402 to share the shared WiFi network 112 with the mobile device 102).
Regarding claim 4, 11 and 18 the combination of Mazandarany and Anglin teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, Mazandarany further teaches wherein the password is in a format that renders the nearby computing device incapable of accessing the wireless hotspot after a threshold period of time is satisfied (Mazandarany on [0030] teaches the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 can be temporary credentials that expire after a predetermined duration of time or a preset number of uses for access to the shared WiFi network 112. For instance, the predetermined duration of time or the preset number of uses can be set for the credentials 110 (e.g., by an owner of the shared WiFi network 112, etc.). Accordingly, the network access component 122 can employ the credentials 110 received from the WiFi credential sharing service 104 for the predetermined duration of time or the preset number of uses for access to the shared WiFi network 112).
Regarding claim 5, 12 and 19 the combination of Mazandarany and Anglin teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, Mazandarany further teaches wherein the password comprises a pre-shared key (PSK) for a WiFi Protected Access (WPA) network or a WiFi Protected Access II (WPA2) network (Mazandarany on [0002] teaches the credentials, for instance, can include a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), a network key, and so forth. For instance, the network key can be a Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP) key, a WiFi Protected Access (WPA) key, a WiFi Protected Access II (WPA2) key).
Regarding claim 6, 13 and 20 the combination of Mazandarany and Anglin teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, Mazandarany further teaches wherein identifying the user information comprises: comparing the user information to prior user information provided by the nearby computing device that is stored at the computing device (Mazandarany on [0025 and 0063] teaches the server computing device 106 can include an authorization component 118 that, responsive to the reception component 116 receiving the request from the mobile device 102, determines that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 based at least in part upon the data that identifies the mobile device 102 (i.e., mobile device is recognized based on data included in the request). See on [0027] teaches determine that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112 based upon a social network relationship with a user of the mobile device 102. Further teaches the social network relationship between the user of the mobile device 102 and an owner of the shared WiFi network 112 can be determined. Based upon such social network relationship, the authorization component 118 can determine that the mobile device 102 is authorized to receive the credentials 110 for the shared WiFi network 112. See on [0047-0048] teaches the inquiry can specify a social network relationship between the user of the mobile device 102 and the user of the computing device 402 (e.g., indicate that the user of the mobile device 102 is a friend of a friend of the user of the computing device 402, etc.). Following this example, the social network relationship can be displayed on the display screen of the computing device 402 when soliciting the input from the user of the computing device 402 to grant or deny access for the mobile device 102 to the shared WiFi network 112).
Claims 2, 7, 9, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazandarany et al (hereinafter Mazandarany) (20150124791) in view of Anglin et al (hereinafter Anglin) (US 20180145956) and further in view of Ziraknejad et al (hereinafter Ziraknejad) (US 10231128).
Regarding claim 2, 9 and 16 the combination of Mazandarany and Anglin teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein: the cryptographic request is associated with a Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI) that is established by a wireless communications component of the computing device, and the proximity threshold is satisfied when the RSSI is greater than or equal to a predetermined value, however Ziraknejad analogous art teaches
wherein: the cryptographic request is associated with a Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI) that is established by a wireless communications component of the computing device, and the proximity threshold is satisfied when the RSSI is greater than or equal to a predetermined value (Ziraknejad on [Col 3 line 20-40, Col 8 line 20-40 and Col 20 line 45-60] teaches receiving the message from the second electronic device, identifying, based on the message, the second electronic device or a user associated with the second electronic device: and accessing data indicating a signal strength threshold designated for the second electronic device or a user associated with the second electronic device, wherein the signal strength threshold indicates a signal strength that represents a user-selected level of proximity for providing access to the first electronic device}.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of Ziraknejad into the combined teaching of Mazandarany and Anglin by having proximity strength threshold is associated with a Received Signal Strength indication. One would be motivated to do so in order to grant access toa user based on the proximity of trusted device and a user can automatically unlock or otherwise obtain access to a resource by simply bringing a trusted device in proximity of the resource (Ziraknejad on [Col 1 line 20-25 and Col 6 line 25-254).
Regarding claim 7 and 14 the combination of Mazandarany and Anglin teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises, prior to providing password to the nearby computing device: establishing a secure communication link with the nearby computing device to enable the computing device to provide the password to the nearby computing device in a secure manner, however Ziraknejad from analogous art teaches
wherein the method further comprises, prior to providing password to the nearby computing device: establishing a secure communication link with the nearby computing device to enable the computing device to provide the password to the nearby computing device in a secure manner (Ziraknejad on [col 8 line 10-15 and col 10 line 57-65] teaches As the device 110 comes near to the resource 120, the devices 110, 120 can identify each other from the periodic signals establish secure communication using the data stored from pairing).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of Ziraknejad into the combined teaching of Mazandarany and Anglin by establishing a secure link for sharing password. One would be motivated to do so in order to securely share password to the nearby computing device of secure channel (Ziraknejad on [Col 1 line 20-25 and Col 6 line 25-254).
Conclusion
/MOEEN KHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436