DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11, & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nix (US 2023/0308424), hereon referred to as Nix, in view of Seaborn (US 2023/0308271), hereon referred to as Seaborn.
In regards to claims 1, 11 & 17, Nix discloses receiving, by a first computing system, a resumption message from a second computing system (To securely resume a first session between device and a network. Device can generate a message for server, where the message could comprise a second "Client Hello 2" message..... the message from device to server can comprise the identity of the PSK, which is PSK-IO 231-1 stored, the device extensions selected, the second random number random, and the tag value. The message can also include the fifth symmetric ciphertext symm. The inclusion of the tag value increases security compared to conventional technology, since server can verify the tag value before deciding how to respond to the message... Server can receive the message as second "Client Hello" in order to conduct a resumed session; Paragraphs 0206; 0215-0220; Figs.1-3); encrypting, by the first computing system, one or more messages using a session key based on the resumption secret (Server could process the "Client Finished" message and then both device and server could transmit and receive in messages encrypted and authenticated application data. The encrypted and authenticated application data can be generated using at least the PSK; Paragraphs 0235; 0275; Figs.1-3); and sending, by the first computing system, the encrypted one or more messages to the second computing system (Server could process the "Client Finished" message and then both device and server could transmit and receive in messages encrypted and authenticated application data. The encrypted and authenticated application data can be generated using at least the PSK; Paragraphs 0235; 0275 Figs. 1-3).
However, Nix does not disclose decrypting, by the first computing system, the resumption message to obtain a resumption secret, wherein the resumption secret comprises on at least a portion of a shared secret that was obtained using a post-quantum cipher during a prior handshake sequence between the first computing system and the second computing system. In an analogous art Seaborn discloses decrypting, by the first computing system, the resumption message to obtain a resumption secret, wherein the resumption secret comprises on at least a portion of a shared secret that was obtained using a post-quantum cipher during a prior handshake sequence between the first computing system and the second computing system (The server can obtain the session key by decrypting the ticket using the server's KEK, allowing the server to decrypt the early data with the session key; the session data may be communicated between the client and the server using session tickets encrypted using the server's KEK similar to those used in TLS 1.3.; The session ticket may be encrypted by the server system's KEK such that the session ticket can only be decrypted by the server; the server obtains the session data from the session ticket. For example, the server may decrypt the session ticket using the server's KEK to produce the session data; Paragraphs 0017-0027; 0059).
At the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings disclosed by Nix, with the teachings disclosed by Seaborn regarding decrypting, by the first computing system, the resumption message to obtain a resumption secret, wherein the resumption secret comprises on at least a portion of a shared secret that was obtained using a post-quantum cipher during a prior handshake sequence between the first computing system and the second computing system. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to provide additional security for session resumption for cryptographic communications (Seaborn; Paragraph 0003).
In regards to claims 2 & 18, Nix discloses wherein encrypting, by the first computing system, the one or more messages based on the resumption secret comprises: obtaining, by the first computing system, a primary secret from the resumption secret; and encrypting, by the first computing system, the one or more messages using a session key obtained using the primary secret ( a first secure session established using the messages “Client Hello 1” 202 through “Server Finished 1” 233 could be used to establish a PSK shared between device 101 and server 111, where the PSK can be used to secure resumption or continuation of the first secure session; exemplary steps for the nodes and exemplary message flows between the nodes after a first session; device 101 could read the identity of a “pre-shared” secret key PSK-ID 231-1 stored in memory 101m of device 101 during the first session; Paragraphs 0187; 0204-2012).
Claims 3-5, 9-10, 12-13 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Nix and Seaborn, in view of MIROSLAV MITEV ET AL: "Multi-factor Physical Layer Security Authentication in Short Blocklength Communication", ARXIV.ORG, CORNELL UNIVERSITY LIBRARY, 201 OLIN LIBRARY CORNELL UNIVERSITY ITHACA, NY 14853, 24 February 2021 (2021-02-24), and hereon referred to as Mitev [Provided by Examiner].
In regards to claims 3 & 19, the combination of Nix and Seaborn does not disclose wherein obtaining, by the first computing system, the primary secret comprises: hashing, by the first computing system, the resumption secret; and extracting, by the first computing system, a portion of the hashed output as the primary secret. However, in an analogous art Mitev discloses wherein obtaining, by the first computing system, the primary secret comprises: hashing, by the first computing system, the resumption secret; and extracting, by the first computing system, a portion of the hashed output as the primary secret (During the process of connecting the node with the server, the resumption protocol includes hashing, extracting elements as part of the primary secret; Pg.7-11 Fig.9-11).
At the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings disclosed by the combination of Nix and Seaborn, with the teachings disclosed by Mitev regarding hashing, by the first computing system, the resumption secret; and extracting, by the first computing system, a portion of the hashed output as the primary secret. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to provide lightweight, security primitives and protocols for device authentication; (Mitev; Pg.1).
In regards to claims 4 & 12, Mitev discloses wherein the shared secret was obtained by hashing a first value together with a second value, wherein the first value was obtained using the post-quantum cipher (During the process of connecting the node with the server, the shared secret includes hashing post-quantum values; Pg.7-11 Fig.9-11).
In regards to claims 5 & 13, Mitev discloses wherein the second value was not obtained using the post-quantum cipher (During the process of connecting the node with the server, the shared secret includes hashing post-quantum values; Pg.7-11 Fig.9-11).
In regards to claims 9 & 20, the combination of Nix, Seaboern and Mitev discloses wherein the prior handshake sequence comprises: receiving, by the first computing system and from the second computing system, a public key obtained using a post-quantum cipher; generating, by the first computing system and based on the public key, the shared secret and a keyshare; sending, by the first computing system, the keyshare to the second computing system; and receiving, by the first computing system and from the second computing system, one or more messages encrypted by the second computing system using the shared secret, wherein the second computing system obtained the shared secret using the keyshare and a private key corresponding to the public key (The elements presented in the claim(s) do not contain any additional features, do not present any inventive step or novelty not addressed/presented in the combination of Nix, Seaborn and Mitev discloses. Examiner takes official notice, that these elements are commonly known, minor design details that are derivable from the prior art and are well known, and obvious to an ordinary skill in the art. The additional features of these claims represent normal design options, which the skilled person would implement the combination of Nix, Seaborn and Mitev discloses, depending on the circumstances, without exercising any inventive activity).
In regards to claim 10, the combination of Nix, Seaborn and Mitev discloses wherein the first computing system does not receive the public key from the second computing system again when resuming the communication session (The elements presented in the claim(s) do not contain any additional features, do not present any inventive step or novelty not addressed/presented in the combination of Nix, Seaborn and Mitev discloses. Examiner takes official notice, that these elements are commonly known, minor design details that are derivable from the prior art and are well known, and obvious to an ordinary skill in the art. The additional features of these claims represent normal design options, which the skilled person would implement the combination of Nix, Seaborn and Mitev discloses, depending on the circumstances, without exercising any inventive activity).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SHARIF E ULLAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495