Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Claims 1-6, 12-13, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (US20210028470 A1; hereinafter “Mori”) in view of Protz et al. (US20110154822 A1; hereinafter “Protz”).
Regarding Claim 1: Mori teaches a fuel cell 1 supplied with a cathode gas through a cathode gas supply system 2 and with an anode has through an anode gas supply system (a fuel cell assembly configured to receive an inlet feed at a fuel cell inlet and discharge a fuel cell exhaust at a fuel cell outlet fluidically coupled to the fuel cell inlet, wherein the inlet feed comprises one of an oxidizing agent or a fuel, and wherein the fuel cell assembly is configured to oxidize the fuel using the oxidizing agent) [0022], wherein the cathode exhaust gas discharged from the fuel cell 1 is received by a discharge passage 5 (…discharge a fuel cell exhaust) [0007].
Mori further teaches an outlet valve 5v and a turbine bypass valve 7v arranged to control the cathode exhaust gas discharged from the fuel cell 1 (a flow device configured to receive the fuel cell exhaust, discharge an exhaust flow comprising a first portion of the fuel cell exhaust and a second flow comprising a second portion of the fuel cell exhaust, and alter a flow rate of at least the second flow) [0026], [0030]. In particular, the first connecting portion 7a communicates with the discharge passage 5 upstream of turbine 3c, while the second connecting portion 7b communicates with the discharge passage 5 downstream of the turbine 3c, whereby the cathode exhaust may flow either through the turbine 3c or through the turbine bypass passage 7 [0029]. Mori expressly teaches that the cathode exhaust gas flows through the bypass passage 7 to the turbine 3c and that the turbine bypass valve 7v controls its flow rate [0030].
Mori teaches a turbine 3c receiving a cathode exhaust gas from the discharge passage 5 and recovering energy therefrom (a turbine configured to receive at least a portion of the exhaust flow and discharge a turbine exhaust comprising the portion of the exhaust flow) [0025].
Mori further teaches a pressure sensor 8 that detects fuel-cell pressure and supplies detection data to controller 9 (control circuitry configured to receive a signal indicative of a flow parameter) [0031], wherein the controller 9 controls the opening degree of the turbine bypass valve 7v based on the pressure-sensor data (cause the flow device to alter the flow rate of the second flow based on the flow parameter).
However, Mori does not teach a two-inlet ejector and nozzle arrangement.
Protz teaches an ejector 112 having a first ejector inlet 194, second ejector inlet 196 and ejector outlet 198 (an ejector including a first inlet configured to receive the turbine exhaust and a second inlet configured to receive the second flow). Protz teaches that the second ejector inlet receives exhaust gas originating from the power turbine 108 through the boiler exhaust path while the first ejector inlet receives vaporized working fluid serving as a motive flow [0012].
Protz further teaches a nozzle 202 into which the first ejector inlet leads, the nozzle and the inlet operate as a as jet (wherein the ejector comprises a nozzle configured to accelerate the second flow). Protz teaches that the motive flow reduces pressure in the exhaust gas inlet plenum 204 (to provide a suction on the turbine exhaust using the low-pressure region generated by the second flow) [0063]. Protz expressly teaches that the operation of the ejector 112 creates reduced pressure region that entrains turbine exhaust and increases the pressure drop across the power turbine (to alter a differential pressure between the portion of the exhaust flow at a turbine inlet and the turbine exhaust at a turbine outlet) [0063].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the downstream end of Mori’s turbine bypass passage according to the ejector arrangement of Protz because Protz teaches that the ejector -generated suction at the turbine outlet increases the pressure drop across the turbine and helps to assist the operation of the power turbine. See Protz [0063].
Regarding Claim 2: Mori in view of Protz teaches all the limitation of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mori further teaches a pressure sensor 8 configured to detect a pressure associated with fuel cell 1 and provide detection data indicative of the detected pressure to the controller (wherein the signal is indicative of at least one of a flow parameter of the inlet feed or a flow parameter of the fuel cell exhaust) [0031]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Applicant’s Specification, the claim “flow parameter” encompasses pressure because Applicant describes pressure as a parameter indicative of flow.
Accordingly, Mori reads on the additional limitation of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 3: Mori in view of Protz teaches all the limitation of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mori further teaches a pressure sensor 8 configured to detect a pressure associated with fuel cell 1 and provide detection data indicative of the detected pressure to the controller (a sensor configured to sense the flow parameter, wherein the sensor is configured to communicate the flow parameter to the control circuitry) [0031]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Applicant’s Specification, the claim “flow parameter” encompasses pressure because Applicant describes pressure as a parameter indicative of flow.
Accordingly, Mori reads on the additional limitation of claim 3.
Regarding Claim 4: Mori in view of Protz teaches all the limitation of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mori further teaches a turbine 3c receiving a cathode exhaust gas from the discharge passage 5 upstream of the turbine and discharging the exhaust gas downstream of the turbine 3c (wherein the turbine is configured to receive the portion of the exhaust flow at the turbine inlet and discharge the turbine exhaust at the turbine outlet) [0025]-[0026]. Mori teaches a turbine pressure ratio corresponding to a ratio of the pressure upstream of turbine 3c to pressure downstream of turbine 3c (the differential pressure between the portion of the exhaust flow at the turbine inlet and the turbine exhaust at the turbine outlet) [0007].
Mori expressly teaches that the cathode exhaust gas flows through the bypass passage 7 to the turbine 3c and that the turbine bypass valve 7v controls its flow rate [0030].
However, Mori does not teach that the ejector is configured to alter the differential pressure between the portion of the exhaust flow at the turbine inlet and the turbine exhaust at the turbine outlet when the flow device alters the flow rate of the second flow.
Protz teaches an ejector 112 having a nozzle 202 through which a motive flow is supplied, whereby the motive flow reduces the pressure in the exhaust gas inlet plenum 204. Protz teaches that the operation of ejector 112 creates suction on the outlet side of the power turbine 108 that increases the pressure drop across the power turbine 108 (wherein the ejector is configured to alter the differential pressure between the portion of the exhaust flow at the turbine inlet and the turbine exhaust at the turbine outlet when the flow device alters the flow rate of the second flow) [0063].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ejector arrangement of Protz into Mori’s controllable turbine bypass passage because Mori already provides a controllable exhaust bypass path from the upstream to the downstream of the turbine and Protz demonstrates that the motive flow through an ejector predictable produce suction downstream of a turbine and increases the turbine pressure drop. See MPEP §2143 (A) “Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results”.
Regarding Claim 5: Mori in view of Protz teaches all the limitation of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mori further teaches a turbine bypass passage 7 having first connecting portion 7a connected to discharge passage 5 upstream of turbine 3c and second connecting portion 7b connected to discharge passage 5 downstream of turbine 3c (the flow device is configured to cause the second flow to bypass the turbine inlet and the turbine outlet when the flow device discharges the second flow) [0029].
Accordingly, Mori teaches the additional limitation of claim 5.
Regarding Claim 6: Mori in view of Protz teaches all the limitation of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mori further teaches an outlet valve 5v and a turbine bypass valve 7v being operated by a common volve body 12 and actuator 14 to adjust the cathode exhaust flow through turbine bypass passage 7 (the flow device is configured to alter a flow rate of the exhaust flow when the flow device alters the flow rate of the second flow) ([0052], Fig. 5).
Accordingly, Mori teaches the additional limitation of claim 6.
Regarding Claim 12: Mori in view of Protz teaches all the limitation of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mori further teaches compressor 3a configured to compressor cathode gas supplied to fuel cell 1 (a compressor configured to compress one of the inlet feed, the fuel cell exhaust, or the exhaust flow using a compressor power) [0024]; and a turbine 3c configured to receive a cathode exhaust gas, recovery energy therefrom, and generate power, wherein the turbine and the compressor are connected by a shaft and the energy recovered by the turbine is used as driving power for the compressor (the turbine is configured to provide at least some portion of the compressor power by extracting energy from the portion of the exhaust flow) [0025].
Accordingly, Mori teaches the additional limitation of claim 12.
Regarding Claim 13: Mori in view of Protz teaches all the limitation of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mori further teaches a compressor 3a and a turbine 3c connected by a shaft, wherein the turbine transfers recovered turbine power through the shaft to the compressor (wherein the compressor is a shaft-driven compressor configured to receive the portion of the compressor power from a compressor shaft, and wherein the turbine is configured to transfer the portion of the compressor power from a turbine shaft of the turbine to the compressor shaft.) [0025].
Accordingly, Mori teaches the additional limitation of claim 13.
Regarding Claim 15: Mori in view of Protz teaches all the limitation of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mori further teaches a fuel cell 1 including a cathode gas supply system and an anode gas supply system, wherein the fuel cell generates electric power using a cathode gas comprising air and anode gas comprising hydrogen (wherein the fuel cell assembly defines a cathode side and an anode side, the cathode side receives the inlet feed, and the anode side receives the fuel) [0022], Fig. 1.
Mori further teaches cathode gas supplied through the supply passage 4 to the fuel cell and the cathode exhaust gas discharged from the fuel cell into the discharged passage (wherein the fuel cell assembly is configured to generate a cathode exhaust) [0007]. Mori teaches that the cathode exhaust gas discharged from the fuel cell is supplied through the discharged passage toward the turbine and/or the turbine bypass passage (wherein the exhaust flow is at least a portion of the cathode exhaust) [0025].
Accordingly, Mori teaches the additional limitation of claim 15.
Regarding Claim 19: Mori teaches supplying a reactant gas to the fuel cell, discharging a cathode exhaust through the discharge passage, splitting the cathode exhaust between the turbine and the turbine bypass passage, and controlling the bypass flow using a turbine bypass valve, pressure sensors and a controller [0007].
Mori does not teach using the second flow as motive flow of an ejector to create suction on the turbine exhaust.
Protz teaches an ejector having two inlets and a nozzle, wherein the motive flow through the nozzle generates a low-pressure region that entrains the turbine exhaust and creates suction on the turbine outlet side, increasing the pressure drop across the turbine [0063].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ejector arrangement of Protz into Mori’s controllable turbine bypass passage because Mori already provides a controllable exhaust bypass path from the upstream to the downstream of the turbine and Protz demonstrates that the motive flow through an ejector predictable produce suction downstream of a turbine and increases the turbine pressure drop. See MPEP §2143 (A) “Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results”.
Claims 7-10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (US20210028470 A1; hereinafter “Mori”) and Protz et al. (US20110154822 A1; hereinafter “Protz”) as applied to claim 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Metzler (US20060029849 A1; hereinafter “Metzler”).
Regarding Claim 7: Mori in view of Protz teaches all the limitation of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mori and Protz do not expressly teach a condenser configured to transfer heat from the exhaust flow to the turbine exhaust.
Metzler teaches a condenser having a hot side through which fuel cell exhaust gas flows and a cold side receiving dehumidified fuel cell exhaust gas discharged from the turbine T1 as the cooling medium (a condenser configured to transfer heat from the exhaust flow to the turbine exhaust) Fig. 1, [0037]. Metzler teaches that the turbine outlet communicates with the cold side of the condenser and that the exhaust gas expanded and cooled in turbine T1 serves as the cooling medium for the condenser [0037].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Mori as modified by Protz with the condenser arrangement of Metzler because Metzler teaches that using the dehumidifies exhaust expanded through the turbine as the condenser cooling medium provides a higher degree of condensation and more efficient dehydration of the fuel cell exhaust. See Metzler [0007].
Regarding Claim 8: Mori and Protz in view of Metzler teaches all the limitation of claim 7 as discussed above.
Metzler further teaches a main heat transfer device MHX through which the hot fuel cell exhaust gas flows, wherein cooling air flows through the cold side of MHX to remove heat from and pre-cool the fuel cell exhaust gas (intercooler configured to transfer heat from the exhaust flow prior to the condenser receiving the exhaust flow) [0037]. Metzler further teaches that after leaving MHX, the pre-cooled fuel cell exhaust flows through reheater REH and subsequently enters the hot side of condenser CON (Fig. 1, [0037]).
Accordingly, Metzler teaches the additional limitation of claim 8.
Regarding Claim 9: Mori and Protz in view of Metzler teaches all the limitation of claim 7 as discussed above.
Metzler further teaches a water separator WE positioned downstream of the condenser, wherein the outlet side if the hot side of the condenser communicates with the inlet side of water separator (an extractor configured to receive the exhaust flow from the condenser) [0037]. Metzler further teaches that the water condensed from the fuel cell exhaust in the condenser is separated in the water separator, with the separated liquid water collected while the remaining fuel cell exhaust gas continues downstream in a dehumidifies state (wherein the extractor is configured to extract liquid water from the exhaust flow and discharge a first portion of the exhaust flow as a water flow and a second portion of the exhaust flow as a dehumidified exhaust flow).
Accordingly, Metzler teaches the additional limitation of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10: Mori and Protz in view of Metzler teaches all the limitation of claim 9 as discussed above.
Metzler teaches reheater REH arranged such that the fuel cell exhaust gas passes through the warm side of the reheater before condensation and water separation, while the dehumidified exhaust gas leaving water separator subsequently passes through the cold side of the reheater and is heated therein (a reheater configured to transfer heat from the exhaust flow to the dehumidified exhaust flow) [0037], [0043]. Metzler further teaches that after leaving water separator and being reheated in reheater, the dehumidified exhaust gas is supplied to the turbine for expansion (wherein the turbine is configured to receive the portion of the exhaust flow by receiving the dehumidified exhaust flow).
Accordingly, Metzler teaches the additional limitation of claim 10.
Regarding Claim 20: Mori and Protz in view of Metzler teaches all the limitation of claim 9 as discussed above.
Metzler teaches a condenser receiving a fuel cell exhaust gas on a hot side and receiving exhaust gas discharged from turbine on a cold side, wherein the expanded turbine exhaust serves as the cooling medium for the condenser (transferring heat, by a condenser, from the exhaust flow to the turbine exhaust) [0043]. Thus, heat from the warmer fuel cell exhaust passing through condenser is transferred to the relatively cooler turbine exhaust passing through the cold side of the condenser. See Metzler [0043].
Accordingly, Metzler teaches the additional limitation of claim 20.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (US20210028470 A1; hereinafter “Mori”), Protz et al. (US20110154822 A1; hereinafter “Protz”) and Metzler (US20060029849 A1; hereinafter “Metzler”) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Gunther et al. (US20060134482 A1; hereinafter “Gunther”).
Regarding Claim 11: Mori, Protz and Metzler teaches all the limitation of claim 9 as discussed above. This combination does not teach a water distribution system supplying at least a portion of the liquid water extracted from the fuel cell exhaust to the inlet feed.
Gunther teaches that it was known to use fuel cell product water recovered from the fuel cell exhaust as a water source from the humidification at the stack cathode inlet [0004]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the liquid water recovered from the full cell exhaust of Metzler in the inlet feed humidification arrangement taught by Gunther because Gunther teaches that fuel cell product water from the exhaust may be transferred to the stack cathode for humidification, and further teaches that maintaining membrane humidification protects the membrane and supports the fuel cell operation efficiency. See Gunther [0003].
Claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (US20210028470 A1; hereinafter “Mori”) and Protz et al. (US20110154822 A1; hereinafter “Protz”) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Haag et al. (US20190363381 A1; hereinafter “Haag”).
Regarding Claim 14: Mori in view of Protz teaches all the limitation of claim 13 as discussed above. Mori and Protz do not teach a separate motor-driven compressor configured to compress the inlet feed prior to the shaft driven compressor.
Haag teaches a first compressor of a turbocharger drive-effectively connected to an exhaust-gas driven turbine (wherein the shaft-driven compressor is configured to compress the inlet feed) [0010], and a second compressor driven by an electric motor (a motor-driven compressor configured to compress the inlet feed using a motor power from a motor) [0011]. Haag further teaches that the second compressor is connected to the upstream of the turbocharger compressor, such that air compressed by the motor-driven compressor is subsequently supplied to and further compressed by the turbocharger compressor (wherein the motor-driven compressor is configured to compress the inlet feed prior to the shaft-driven compressor compressing the inlet feed) [0011]-[0012].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Mori’s shaft-driven compressor with the upstream motor-driven compressor taught by Haag because Haag teaches a two-stage charging system that provides a high degree of freedom in setting the flow rates and pressures supplied to the fuel cell while maintaining a high energy efficiency. See Haag [0005].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzler (US20060029849 A1; hereinafter “Metzler”) in view of Mori et al. (US20210028470 A1; hereinafter “Mori”) and Protz et al. (US20110154822 A1; hereinafter “Protz”).
Regarding Claim 16: Metzler teaches a fuel cell exhaust treatment system including a reheater, a condenser, a water separator and a turbine, wherein the fuel cell exhaust is first cooled in the reheater and condenser, the liquid water is removed in the eater separator, and the resulting dehumidified exhaust is reheated in the reheater and then supplied to the turbine, and the turbine exhaust is used as the cooling medium in the condenser [0037].
Metzler does not teach that a second portion of the fuel cell exhaust, and alter a flow rate of at least the second flow and an ejector including a first inlet configured to receive the turbine exhaust and a second inlet configured to receive the second flow, wherein the ejector comprises a nozzle configured to accelerate the second flow to generate a low pressure region, wherein the ejector is configured to provide a suction on the turbine exhaust using the low pressure region generated by the second.
Mori teaches a turbine bypass passage, a bypass valve, a pressure sensor and a controller [0030].
Protz teaches an ejector having two inlets and a nozzle, wherein the motive flow generates suction on the turbine exhaust and increases the pressure drop across the turbine [0063].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fuel cell exhaust system of Metzler with Mori’s controllable turbine bypass arrangement and the ejector configuration of Protz because Mori teaches controlling the bypass exhaust flow to regulate the turbine pressure conditions an improve the turbine power and recovery efficiency [0012] and Protz teaches that using a motive flow in an ejector to create suction at the turbine outlet increase the pressure drop across the turbine [0063]. Accordingly, combining Mori’s controllable bypass flow with the ejector of Protz in the fuel cell exhaust recovery of Metzler would have predictably provided improvement in the control of the exhaust distribution and turbine differential pressure.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzler (US20060029849 A1; hereinafter “Metzler”), Mori et al. (US20210028470 A1; hereinafter “Mori”) and Protz et al. (US20110154822 A1; hereinafter “Protz”), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Gunther et al. (US20060134482 A1; hereinafter “Gunther”).
Regarding Claim 17: Metzler, Mori and Protz teaches all the limitation of claim 16 as discussed above.
Gunther further teaches that a fuel cell product water recovered from the exhaust o the fuel cell stack may be transferred to the stack cathode inlet [0004].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the liquid water recovered from the full cell exhaust of Metzler in the inlet feed humidification arrangement taught by Gunther because Gunther teaches that fuel cell product water from the exhaust may be transferred to the stack cathode for humidification, and further teaches that maintaining membrane humidification protects the membrane and supports the fuel cell operation efficiency. See Gunther [0003].
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzler (US20060029849 A1; hereinafter “Metzler”), Mori et al. (US20210028470 A1; hereinafter “Mori”) and Protz et al. (US20110154822 A1; hereinafter “Protz”), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Allam et al. (US20180058318 A1; hereinafter “Allam”).
Regarding Claim 18: Metzler, Mori and Protz teaches all the limitation of claim 16 as discussed above. This combination does not teach an intercooler configured to transfer heat from the exhaust flow to the turbine exhaust prior to the reheater causing the first heat transfer.
Allam further teaches a heat exchanger 648 receiving a cooler first star turbine outlet flow 634 and transferring heat thereto from a hotter second stage turbine discharge flow 654 (transfer heat from the exhaust flow to the turbine exhaust) Fig. 8, [0117]. Allam teaches that the turbine outlet stream is heated in the heat exchanger using heat provided by the hot turbine discharge stream [0117].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the exhaust-to-turbine-exhaust heat transfer arrangement of Allam into the system of Metzler-Mori-Protz because Allam teaches using a heat exchanger to recover heart from the hot second stage turbine discharged and transfer that heat to a turbine outlet flow, thereby increasing the heat recovery and improving the efficiency of the turbine system. See Allam [0003].
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 5, 11, 16, and 19 are currently amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending. The amendments to claims 1, 16 and 19 add limitations directed to an ejector including an inlet configured to receive a turbine exhaust, another inlet configured to receive a second flow, a nozzle configured to accelerate the second flow to generate a low-pressure region, and suction on the turbine exhaust to alter a differential pressure across the turbine. The amended claims have been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/04/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-10,12-16 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Mori et al. (US20210028470 A1), Protz et al. (US20110154822 A1), Metzler (US20060029849 A1), Haag et al. (US20190363381 A1), Allam et al. (US20180058318 A1), and Gunther et al. (US20060134482 A1) as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NMRO/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725