DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Figures 9-11 and thus Claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 12/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/12/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “one or more sex toys” of the interchangeable seat, ”different sizes” of the interchangeable seat, and “the hooks” of the interchangeable seat must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, “said height” in line 37 should be recited as “a height”.
Regarding claim 1, “said angle” in line 39 should be recited as “an angle”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As no explicit definition is given, “substantially flat” is being defined as “flat” with minor deviations.
Claims 2-5 are rejected for depending on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roleder et al. (referred to as “Roleder”) (US 2006/0260053 A1) in view of SCHOFF (US 2009/0211026 A1) in view of Riach et al. (referred to as “Riach”) (US 5,943,965) in view of Lin (US 2003/0088919 A1) in view of Pats (FR 2842116 A1) (translation provided) further in view of Harris et al. (referred to as “Harris”) (US 6,698,431 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Roleder discloses an apparatus (510) for facilitating intimate activity (see Fig. 5; massage table 510 is an apparatus that can facilitate intimate activity), said apparatus (510) comprising:
a platform (see Annotated Fig. 5 of Roleder; [0048] discusses how the massage table 510 is somewhat similar to the massage table 10, therefore, the element #s will be described in regards to massage table 10 and Annotated in Fig. 5, therefore the massage table 510 has a platform which is both table top 22A/22B + frame 30 as they form a raised surface for a user to rest on, see [0019] and Fig. 1), said platform comprising:
a platform base (36+34) (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 1; [0048] discusses how the massage table 510 is somewhat similar to the massage table 10, therefore, the element #s will be described in regards to massage table 10 and Annotated in Fig. 5, thus flange 36 + frame base 34 is a platform base as it is the bottom or base of the table top 22A/22B);
one or more backrest hinges (24) (see Fig. 5 and Fig.1; [0048] discusses how the massage table 510 is somewhat similar to the massage table 10, therefore, the element #s will be described in regards to massage table 10 and Annotated in Fig. 5, and thus table top 22A is a backrest, as a user’s back would rest against table top 22A, as a headrest (not shown) extends away from the front of table top 22A, see [0019], and hinge assembly 24 is a backrest hinge as the hinge assembly 24 connects table tops 22A, 22B together and allows the table tops 22A to pivot, and is attached to the first table top 22A at the right side);
a backrest (22A) (see Fig. 5 and Fig.1; [0048] discusses how the massage table 510 is somewhat similar to the massage table 10, therefore, the element #s will be described in regards to massage table 10 and Annotated in Fig. 5, and thus table top 22A is a backrest, as a user’s back would rest against table top 22A, as a headrest (not shown) extends away from the front of table top 22A, see [0019]),
a seat (22B) (see Fig. 5 and Fig.1; [0048] discusses how the massage table 510 is somewhat similar to the massage table 10, therefore, the element #s will be described in regards to massage table 10 and Annotated in Fig. 5, and table top 22B is a seat, as a user can sit on table top 22B),
a support structure (14) (see Fig. 5 and Fig.1; [0048] discusses how the massage table 510 is somewhat similar to the massage table 10, therefore, the element #s will be described in regards to massage table 10 and Annotated in Fig. 5, thus leg assembly 14 are a support structure as they support the frame 30 and table tops 22A,22B), said support structure extending below said platform (30) (see Annotated Fig. 5 of Roleder; the leg assembly 14 extends below frame 30);
wherein said apparatus (510) is lightweight for ease of mobility (see [0021] and Figs. 1 and 5; [0048] discusses how the massage table 510 is somewhat similar to the massage table 10, therefore, the massage table is lightweight for ease of mobility due to the plurality of base apertures reducing the weight of the frame base 34).
Roleder is silent on said platform base comprising: a plurality of platform attachment points, platform inner pivot points, and folded attachment points; said backrest being connected to said platform with said one or more backrest hinges and capable of attaining a plurality of angles relative to said platform and locking into place, said backrest comprising: a backrest base, a hinge spring lock, and a plurality of handles, said handles depending from said backrest base; and an interchangeable seat, said interchangeable seat comprising: an interchangeable seat base, said interchangeable seat base being detachably connected to said platform; an inner base foot; an outer base foot; and said support structure being collapsible, and being capable of attaining a plurality of heights, said support structure comprising: two inner support legs, said inner support legs being parallel to each other and depending from said inner base foot, each inner support leg being rotatably connected to said platform by said platform inner pivot points; and two outer support legs, said outer support legs being parallel to each other and depending from said outer base foot, each said outer support leg being rotatably connectable to said platform at one of said platform attachment points or said folded attachment points in order to attain different heights; wherein said inner support legs and said outer support legs are rotatably connected by center pivot points; wherein different heights are attained by connecting said outer support legs to different said platform attachment points, thereby adjusting said height of said support structure; wherein said angle of said backrest is set using said hinge spring lock; and wherein said apparatus is capable of folding substantially flat for storage by attaching said outer support legs to said folded attachment points.
However, SCHOFF teaches an analogous platform base (2) and an analogous support structure (see Figs. 1-3; frame 2 is an analogous platform base as it is an elevated surface to receive a bed and person, as seen in Fig. 1, and all elements extending below the frame 2, specifically legs 10, are considered an analogous support structure as they support the frame 2), said platform base (2) comprising: platform inner pivot points (see Figs. 1-3 and [0021]-[0022]; the frame 2 comprises two platform inner pivot points, as there are four legs 10 in total, and thus two of the four legs 10 are inner support legs as they are placed more inwardly than outer support legs, and the two inner support legs are attached to an under-side of frame 2 and may pivot at this attachment point to allow the legs 10 to be folded like in position B as shown in Fig. 3 in dotted lines, or extended like in position A as shown in Fig. 1, also see Annotated Fig. 3 of SCHOFF), and
said platform base (2) comprising folded attachment points (see Figs. 1-3 and [0021]-[0022]; the frame comprises two folded attachment points, as there are four legs 10 total, and two of the four legs 10 are placed more outwardly, and thus are outer support legs and these outer support legs are attached to an under-side of frame 2 and may pivot and allow the legs 10 to fold toward bottom surface 4 of frame 2 as shown in Fig. 3 in dotted lines of position B, and thus where the outer support legs attach to frame 2 are the folded attachment points);
an inner base foot (11) (see Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 3 of SCHOFF; two of the wheels 11 that are attached to inner legs 10 are inner base foots, as they are each at the foot of the base of the support structure and attach to the inner legs 10);
an outer base foot (11) (see Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 3 of SCHOFF; two of the wheels 11 that are attached to the other two legs 10 that are outer legs are outer base foots, as they are each at the foot of the base of the support structure and attach to the outer legs 10); and
said support structure being collapsible (see Figs. 1-3 and [0022] which discusses how the four legs 10 may be folded from a first position A into the second position B, as shown in Fig. 3 in dotted lines, and thus is collapsible), and being capable of attaining a plurality of heights (see Figs. 1-3 and [0022] which discusses how the four legs 10 may be folded from a first position A into the second position B, as shown in Fig. 3 in dotted lines of a folded height and solid lines of an extended height, and thus is capable of attaining a plurality of heights) said support structure comprising:
two inner support legs, said inner support legs being parallel to each other and depending from said inner base foot (11) (see Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 3 of SCHOFF, and [0021]-[0022]; there are four legs 10, and two of the legs are inner support legs as they are placed more inwardly than the other two legs, thus the two legs placed more inwardly are the two inner support legs, and these two inner support legs are parallel to each other as they are similar in structure, and depend from their respective wheels 11 which are inner base foots, as they are each at the foot of the base of the support structure and attach to the inner legs 10), each inner support leg being rotatably connected to said platform (2) by said platform inner pivot points (see Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 3 of SCHOFF, and [0021]-[0022]; the two inner support legs are rotatably connected to the frame 2, as the legs 10 are attached to an under-side of frame 2 and allows the legs to pivot between a folded or extended position, see Fig. 3 which shows the folded position in dotted lines and an extended position in solid lines, and thus where the two inner legs are attached to the under-side of frame 2 are the inner pivot points, see Annotated Fig. 3 of SCHOFF); and
two outer support legs, said outer support legs being parallel to each other and depending from said outer foot base (11) (see Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 3 of SCHOFF, and [0021]-[0022]; there are four legs 10, and two of the legs are outer support legs, as they are placed more outwardly than the other two legs, thus the two legs placed more outwardly are the outer support legs, and these two outer support legs are parallel to each other as they are similar in structure, and the two outer support legs depend from their respective wheels 11 which are outer base foots, as they are each at the foot of the base of the support structure and attach to the outer legs 10), each said outer support leg being rotatably connectable to said platform (2) at one of said platform attachment points or said folded attachment points in order to attain different heights (see Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 3 of SCHOFF, and [0021]-[0022]; the two outer support legs are both rotatably connectable to frame 2, as the legs 10 are attached to an under-side of frame 2 and allows the legs to pivot between a folded or extended position, see Fig. 3 which shows the folded position in dotted lines and an extended position in solid lines, and thus where the two outer legs are attached to the under-side of frame 2 are the folded attachment points, see Annotated Fig. 3 of SCHOFF, and are rotatably connected to attain different heights as the folded position height is reduced);
wherein said inner support legs and outer support legs are rotatably connected by center pivot points (14) (see Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 3 of SCHOFF, and [0021]-[0022]; the inner support legs and the outer support legs are rotatably connected at midpoint 13 via pin 14, and thus is a center pivot point, as the legs may pivot between a folded or extended position, see Fig. 3 which shows the folded position in dotted lines and an extended position in solid lines); and
wherein said apparatus (1) is capable of folding substantially flat for storage by attaching said outer support legs to said folded attachment points (see Figs. 1-3 and Annotated Fig. 3 of SCHOFF, and [0021]-[0022]; the apparatus 1 is capable of folding flat for storage, as seen in Fig. 3 position B is shown in dotted lines of the apparatus 1 in a folded and flat configuration, by attaching said outer legs to said folded attachment points, as the two outer support legs are attached to an under-side of frame 2 allowing the legs to pivot between a folded or extended position), providing an apparatus that is able to be more mobile and easily fold into a more compact configuration for a user to easily store the apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the platform in the device of Roleder to comprise platform inner pivot points and folded attachment points as taught by SCHOFF and to have substituted the support structure (14) in the device of Roleder with two inner support legs, said inner support legs being parallel to each other and depending from said inner base foot, each inner support leg being rotatably connected to said platform by said platform inner pivot points; and two outer support legs, said outer support legs being parallel to each other and depending from said outer base foot, each said outer support leg being rotatably connectable to said platform at one of said platform attachment points or said folded attachment points in order to attain different heights; wherein said inner support legs and outer support legs are rotatably connected by center pivot points; and wherein said apparatus is capable of folding substantially flat for storage by attaching said outer support legs to said folded attachment points, such that the support structure is collapsible and be capable of attaining a plurality of heights as taught by SCHOFF to have provided an improved apparatus that is able to be more mobile and able to easily fold into a more compact configuration for a user to easily store the apparatus.
Harris in view of SCHOFF discloses the invention as discussed above.
Harris in view of SCHOFF is silent on said platform base comprising a plurality of platform attachment points; said backrest being connected to said platform with said one or more backrest hinges and capable of attaining a plurality of angles relative to said platform and locking into place, said backrest comprising: a backrest base, a hinge spring lock, and a plurality of handles, said handles depending from said backrest base; and an interchangeable seat, said interchangeable seat comprising: an interchangeable seat base, said interchangeable seat base being detachably connected to said platform; wherein different heights are attained by connecting said outer support legs to different said platform attachment points, thereby adjusting said height of said support structure; and wherein said angle of said backrest is set using said hinge spring lock.
However, Riach teaches analogous two outer support legs (52) (see Figs. 4-5; there are two leg braces 52 shown in Fig. 4 and thus are two outer support legs), and a plurality of platform attachment points (72) (see Figs. 4-10 and Col. 6 lines 37-43; there are a plurality attachment holes 72 such that brace member 48 can be attached to platform 41,41’ and thus are platform attachment points), and wherein different heights are attained by connecting said outer support legs (52) to different said platform attachment points (72), thereby adjusting said height of said support structure (45) (see Figs. 4-10; each of the leg braces 52 comprises an upper brace member 48 which is connected to an analogous platform 41,41’ via attachment holes 72, which are platform attachment points, see Fig. 9, and the attachment holes 72 come in pairs of two, therefore, depending on which attachment hole 72 the brace member 48 is attached to, the height of the leg assembly 45, which is an analogous support structure as it supports the platform 41,41’, can be adjusted, see Col. 6 lines 37-43), providing a lighter, stronger, and more compact attachment means (see Col. 6 lines 15-18), and allowing a user to adjust the height of the apparatus easily.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the platform in the device of Roleder in view of SCHOFF to include platform attachment points such that different heights are attained by connecting said outer support legs to different said platform attachment points, thereby adjusting said height of said support structure as taught by Riach to have provided an improved apparatus that has a lighter, stronger, and more compact attachment means (see Col. 6 lines 15-18), while allowing a user to adjust the height of the apparatus easily.
Roleder in view of SCHOFF further in view of Riach discloses the invention as discussed above.
Roleder in view of SCHOFF further in view of Riach is silent on said backrest being connected to said platform with said one or more backrest hinges and capable of attaining a plurality of angles relative to said platform and locking into place, said backrest comprising: a backrest base, a hinge spring lock, and a plurality of handles, said handles depending from said backrest base; and an interchangeable seat, said interchangeable seat comprising: an interchangeable seat base, said interchangeable seat base being detachably connected to said platform; and wherein said angle of said backrest is set using said hinge spring lock.
However, Lin teaches an analogous backrest (21) (see Fig. 1; back pad 21 is an analogous backrest as a user rests their back on it) and an analogous platform (11+12) (see Fig. 1; first frame 11 + second frame 12 form an analogous platform as it is a raised surface), and said backrest (21) being connected to said platform (11+12) with said one or more backrest hinges (a, 4) and capable of attaining a plurality of angles relative to said platform (11+12) and locking into place (see Figs. 1, 3, 7, and 9; back pad 21 is connected to the first frame 11 via hinge a, see [0032], as well as via inclination adjusting structure 4 which is also a hinge as it is movable joint which the back pad 21 hinges onto adjust the incline of the back pad 21, and thus the back pad 21 is capable of attaining a plurality of angles relative to frame 11, see Fig. 7 and 9, and locking into place, see [0034]), said backrest (21) comprising: a backrest base (see Figs. 1, 3, 7; the back/lower surface of back pad 21 is the backrest base as it is the base of the back pad 21), and a hinge spring lock (4) (see Fig. 7 and [0034]; the back pad 21 comprises the back pad inclination adjusting structure 4, which is a hinge spring lock, as the back pad inclination adjusting structure 4 is a movable joint which the back pad 21 hinges on to adjust the incline of the back pad 21, and includes a spring 421 and is able to lock the angle in place via toothed groove 411),
wherein said angle of said backrest (21) is set using said hinge spring lock (4) (see Figs. 1, 3, 7, and 9, and [0034]; the angle of the back pad 21 is set using the back pad inclination adjusting structure 4), providing an easy mechanism to change the angle of the backrest to a desired angle for better comfort.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connection between the platform and the backrest (22A of Roleder) in the device of Roleder in view of SCHOFF further in view of Riach to include the back pad inclination adjusting structure (4) such that said backrest is connected to said platform with said one or more backrest hinges and capable of attaining a plurality of angles relative to said platform and locking into place as taught by Lin, and thus said backrest comprising a backrest base and a hinge spring lock (4), wherein said angle of said backrest is set using said hinge spring lock as taught by Lin to have provided an improved apparatus that provides an easy mechanism to change the angle of the backrest to a desired angle for better comfort.
Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach further in view of Lin discloses the invention as discussed above.
Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach further in view of Lin is silent on a plurality of handles, said handles depending from said backrest base; and an interchangeable seat, said interchangeable seat comprising: an interchangeable seat base, said interchangeable seat base being detachably connected to said platform.
However, Pats teaches an analogous backrest (4) (see Figs. 1 and 11; the third movable plate 4 is a backrest), and a plurality of handles (24), a plurality of handles (24) depending from said backrest base (see Fig. 1 and 11; there are a plurality of handles 24 shown in Fig. 11 depending from a back/lower surface of the third movable plate 4 which is the backrest, see Pg. 3 highlighted portion of translation of Pats), providing a user with an easy mechanism to grip a backrest.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the backrest base in the device of Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach further in view of Lin with a fixing system that allows a user to mount a plurality of handles (24) to the backrest base as taught by Pats to have provided an improved apparatus that provides a user with an easy mechanism to grip a backrest.
Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin further in view of Pats discloses the invention as discussed above.
Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin further in view of Pats is silent on an interchangeable seat, said interchangeable seat comprising: an interchangeable seat base, said interchangeable seat base being detachably connected to said platform.
However, Harris teaches an analogous seat (50) and an analogous platform (13) (see Figs. 1-1B), and an interchangeable seat (50) (see Figs. 1-1B; seat 50 is an interchangeable seat as it is removable from the apparatus allowing for substitution of a new seat 50, see Col. 7 lines 26-27), said interchangeable seat comprising: an interchangeable seat base (38), said interchangeable seat base being detachably connected to said platform (13) (see Figs. 1-1B; seat rail 38 is an interchangeable seat base as it is below the interchangeable seat 50, and the seat rail 38 is detachably connected to adjustable frame 13 as it can be detached from main rail 24 which is part of platform 13, see Col. 9 lines 7-9), providing a user to easily detach the seat from the platform to better store the seat when not in use.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the seat (22B of Roleder) in the device of Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin further in view of Pats to be an interchangeable seat with an interchangeable seat base that detachably connects to the platform as taught by Harris to have provided an improved apparatus that allows a user to easily detach the seat from the platform to better store the seat when not in use.
Annotated Fig. 5 of Roleder.
Annotated Fig. 3 of SCHOFF.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats in view of Harris further in view of Nickell (US 5,851,175).
Regarding claim 2, Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats further in view of Harris discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats further in view of Harris is silent on said interchangeable seat further comprising one or more sex toys.
However, Nickell teaches an analogous seat (16) further comprising one or more sex toys (24) (see Fig. 1 and Col. 2 lines 14-16; platform 16 is an analogous seat as a user is able to sit on platform 16, and platform 16 comprises a vibrator 24 via slot 18), providing an easy way to sexually assist a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to have modified the interchangeable seat (50 of Harris) in the device of Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats further in view of Harris to comprise one or more sex toys as taught by Nickell to have provided an improved apparatus that has an easy way to sexually assist a user.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats in view of Harris further in view of Christianson et al. (referred to as “Christianson”) (US 2007/0284930 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats further in view of Harris discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats further in view of Harris is silent on said interchangeable seat further comprises different sizes.
However, Christianson teaches an analogous interchangeable seat (108) (see Fig. 1 and [0059] which discusses how the seat cushion assembly 108 is releasably coupled to the frame 104 and thus is interchangeable), said interchangeable seat (108) further comprises different sizes (see Figs. 1 and 13, and [0059], and [0086]; the seat cushion assembly 108 further comprises different sizes, as [0086] discusses how the second seat cushion assembly comprises a new cushion assembly of different size than the first seat cushion assembly, thus having multiple sizes), providing multiple sizes to better fit various users.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the interchangeable seat in the device of Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats further in view of Harris with different sizes as taught by Christianson to have provided an improved apparatus that has multiple sizes to better fit various users.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats in view of Harris further in view of KELLEY (US 2018/0220802 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats further in view of Harris discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats further in view of Harris is silent on wherein said interchangeable seat further comprises hooks.
However, KELLEY teaches an analogous seat (see Annotated Fig. 6 and [0012] which shows an analogous seat for a user to sit in, as seen in Figs. 1-2), and wherein said seat further comprises hooks (see Annotated Fig. 6 and [0012] which discusses how the seat comprises three hooks), providing an easy mechanism for a user to attach/hold things onto a seat.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an under side of the interchangeable seat in the device of Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats further in view of Harris with a plurality of hooks as taught by KELLEY to have provided an improved apparatus that provides an easy mechanism for a user to attach/hold things onto a seat.
Annotated Fig. 6 of KELLEY.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats in view of Harris in view of Platt (US 3,289,674) further in view of Harvey (US 2009/0235457 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats further in view of Harris discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats further in view of Harris is silent on wherein said platform further comprises: a plurality of knee supports, each said knee support comprising: a knee support pad and a knee support bar, which detachably connects to said platform.
However, Platt teaches an analogous platform (14) (see Fig. 1; frame 14 is an analogous platform as it is a raised surface), and wherein said platform (14) comprises: a plurality of knee supports (57,58) (see Fig. 1; knee rests 57,58 are a plurality of knee supports that are connected to frame 14), each knee support (57, 78) comprising: a knee support pad (72) (see Fig. 1; each of the knee rests 57,58 comprise suitable padding 72, see Col. 4 lines 32-36) and a knee support bar (59), which connects to said platform (14) (see Fig. 1; each of the knee rests 57,58 comprise receiving bar 59 and thus is a knee support bar, which indirectly connects to the frame 14), providing knee support for a more comfortable position.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the platform in the device of Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats further in view of Harris with a plurality of knee supports, each knee support comprising: a knee support pad and a knee support bar which connects to said platform as taught by Platt to have provided an improved apparatus that provides knee support for a more comfortable position.
Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats in view of Harris further in view of Platt is silent on the knee support bar detachably connects to the platform.
However, Harvey teaches an analogous platform (20), and an analogous support bar (12/22) is detachably connects to the platform (20) (see Fig. 1; table platform 20 is an analogous platform as it is a raised surface, and support bar 12 is an analogous support that comprises support bar segment 22 which detachably connects to the table platform 20 via aperture 20a, see [0019], [0020]), providing a user to easily attach/detach the support bars so that the platform may be used in the wanted configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the knee support bars (59 of Platt) in the device of Roleder in view of SCHOFF in view of Riach in view of Lin in view of Pats in view of Harris further in view of Platt to be detachably connected to the platform as taught by Harvey to have provided an improved apparatus that provides a user to easily attach/detach the support bars so that the platform may be used in the wanted configuration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CA 2,204,191
/ROBIN HAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/ALIREZA NIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786