Claim Objections
2. Claims 1, 2, 4, 11, 14, 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 3-4, “a change in capacity and a change in voltage” should be—a change in a capacity and a change in a voltage—
Claim 2, line 2, “a voltage with respect to a capacity” should be – the voltage with respect to the capacity—
Claim 4, line 7, “at the current time” should be – at the current time point—
Claim 11, line 3, “a lifespan state—should be – the lifespan state—
Claim 14, line 1, “the method” should be – the charging control method—
Claim 14, line 4-5, “a change in capacity and a change in voltage” should be—a change in a capacity and a change in a voltage—
Claim 15, line 2, “a voltage with respect to a capacity” should be – the voltage with respect to the capacity—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3.Claims 2 ,4, 15, 16,17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 ,4, 15, 17 recite differential value ( dV/dQ), which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear the dV/dQ is part of limitation or not because of the bracket. For examination purpose, the claim is interpretated as differential value as dV/dQ.
Claim 3, claim 16 are rejected for the same reason because their dependency.
Claim 20 recites “obtaining the accumulated current amount comprises excluding a current component due to DCIR and accumulating the charging current,” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what is a current component ( in accumulated current amount) due to accumulating the charging current since the specification only describes in para [0083] of specification, “In operation S43, the charging control device 12 may reduce or prevent the likelihood of the DCIR affecting the result by excluding the current component due to DCIR from accumulation if the charging current is accumulated.” For examination, the limitation has been interpretated as obtaining the accumulated current amount comprises excluding a current component due to DCIR from accumulating the charging current.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-7, 9-10,14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US20210053450A1) in view of Lee (WO2023085906A1 ) and Choe (US20130119921A1)
With regard to claim 1, Oh teaches a charging control device comprising:
a storage device (1203, Fig. 12, [0125]-[0127], Fig. 1-12 implemented by 1202 and 1203) configured to: store tables defining a correlation between a change in capacity (dSOC, Fig. 7 or dQ/dV, Fig. 9, 901) and a change in voltage (dV, Fig. 7,or Fig. 9, 901) of a cell ( Fig.7, 701, or Fig. 9, 901, see [0112] a battery charging apparatus, a battery charging apparatus acquires a differential value of a SOC or a quantity of electricity with respect to a voltage or the SOC of a battery. ) ; and
map and store lifespan states and temperatures corresponding to the tables ( 701, Fig. 7, SOH, temperature, see current application [0053] the charging control device 12 may convert and store a dV/dQ curve 21 that varies according to the SOH (for example, SOH 100%, SOH 90%, SOH 80%) and the temperature (for example, −10° C., 0° C., 25° C., 40° C.) of the cell in a table form, so SOH is considered by the current application as lifespan states) ; and
a control device (e.g., 1202, Fig. 12) configured to:
obtain a table corresponding to a current state of a battery module ( SOC, Fig. 7) from the tables based on a lifespan state and a temperature of the battery module at a charging start time point ( e.g., 701, Fig. 7, SOH and T);
Oh does not teach obtain a predicted voltage value for the battery module using the table and an accumulated current amount obtained by accumulating charging currents detected while charging is in progress; and control a charging current according to a comparison result of comparing a measured voltage value that is measured in the battery module with the predicted voltage value.
However, Lee teaches obtain a predicted voltage value for the battery module using the table and an accumulated current amount obtained by accumulating charging currents detected while charging is in progress ([0019] In addition, the parameter calculation unit calculates the rate of change of charging capacity relative to voltage (dQ/dV) during constant current charging and the rate of change of voltage relative to charging capacity (dV/dQ) during constant voltage charging, and the dQ/dV and dV/dQ calculated at preset cycles can be matched with the accumulated charging amount and stored in the DB.. since accumulated charging amount is Q or dQ, through accumulated charging mount, voltage (dV) can be calculated through the dV/dQ *dQ)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh, to obtain a predicted voltage value for the battery module using the table and an accumulated current amount obtained by accumulating charging currents detected while charging is in progress, as taught by Lee, in order to operate the battery/system [0023] according to the model and achieve desired performance
In addition, Choe teaches control a charging current ( modify the charging profile, [0017] charging the battery ( according to a comparison result ( [0015]using the monitored terminal voltage of the battery and the estimated terminal voltage to determine an error between the two) of comparing a measured voltage value that is measured in the battery module with the predicted voltage value ([0011]-[0017](b) monitoring a terminal voltage of the battery while applying the charge using the charging profile; (c) using a mathematical model to estimate a desired lithium ion concentration at an electrode of the battery and to estimate a predicted terminal voltage; (d) using the monitored terminal voltage of the battery and the estimated terminal voltage to determine an error between the two;
(e) applying the error to the desired lithium ion concentration to calculate a calculated lithium ion concentration; and (f) modifying the charge applied by the charging profile)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh and Lee, to control a charging current according to a comparison result of comparing a measured voltage value that is measured in the battery module with the predicted voltage value, as taught by Choe, in order to urge the estimated internal characteristic toward a desired level. ([0018])
With regard to claim 2, the combination of Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Oh further teaches the table comprises a differential value (dV/dQ) of a voltage with respect to a capacity of the cell ( [0112], dQ/dV ) or comprise a value derived from the differential value (dV/dQ).
With regard to claim 3, the combination of Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 2, and Oh further teaches wherein the control device is configured to:
calculate a voltage change amount from the charging start time point to a current time point using a table corresponding to the accumulated current amount and the current state of the battery module ( Fig. 7, and 901, Fig. 7 shows that dSOC/dv corresponding to the temperature and SOH of the battery ( current state of the battery), [0112] and Fig. 9 describes either acquires dQ/dV or dSOC/dV, and Lee teaches dQ/dV and dV/dQ calculated at preset cycles can be matched with the accumulated charging amount and stored in the DB) ; and
obtain the predicted voltage value by adding the voltage change amount to a charging start voltage value of the battery module detected at the charging start time point ( Oh teaches about a predicted dV in DQ/dV, and it is known in the art that V( predicted)= Vstart +dV ).
With regard to claim 4, the combination of Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 3, and Oh further teaches, wherein the control device is configured to:
determine a state of charge (SOC) of the battery module at a current time based on the accumulated current amount ( see [0112] a battery charging apparatus acquires a differential value of a SOC or a quantity of electricity with respect to a voltage or the SOC of a battery, which teaches a dQ/dV vs SOC figure, dQ is the accumulated current amount and based on dQ/dV vs SOC figure, it is related to SOC).;
extract the differential value (dV/dQ) from the table based on a charging start state of charge (SOC) at the charging start time point of the battery module and the state of charge (SOC) at the current time (( see [0112] a battery charging apparatus acquires a differential value of a SOC or a quantity of electricity with respect to a voltage or the SOC of a battery, which teaches a dQ/dV vs SOC figure,); and
calculate the voltage change amount using the differential value (dV/dQ) extracted from the table corresponding to the current state of the battery module( Oh teaches about a predicted dV in DQ/dV, and it is known in the art that V( predicted)= Vstart +dV ).
With regard to claim 5, the combination of Oh, Lee, and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Choe further teaches wherein the control device is configured to decrease the charging current if a difference between the predicted voltage value and the measured voltage value exceeds a threshold value ( [0011]the terminal voltage of the battery is measured during charging and is compared with a predicted or modeled terminal voltage to allow the charging profile to be adjusted one way or another (charging increased, decreased, or resting) in order to urge the estimated internal characteristic toward a desired level. [0011] teaches if to get estimated characteristic. In this case, set the threshold is 0, [0063] teaches a feedback controller is employed to compensate the error. And Choe disclose an option to decrease charge when there is a error/difference between predicted voltage value and measured voltage exceeds the threshold 0).
With regard to claim 6, the combination of Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 5, Choe further teaches wherein the control device is configured to increase the charging current if the difference between the predicted voltage value and the measured voltage value is less than the threshold value ([0011]the terminal voltage of the battery is measured during charging and is compared with a predicted or modeled terminal voltage to allow the charging profile to be adjusted one way or another (charging increased, decreased, or resting) in order to urge the estimated internal characteristic toward a desired level. [0011] teaches if to get estimated characteristic. In this case, set the threshold is 0, [0063] teaches a feedback controller is employed to compensate the error. And Choe disclose an option to increase charge when there is an error/difference between predicted voltage value and measured voltage below the threshold 0)
With regard to claim 7, the combination of Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 5, Choe further teaches wherein the threshold value comprises a single value ( the threshold in Choe case is 0 which is a single value), or comprises a range having an upper limit value and a lower limit value.
With regard to claim 9, the combination of Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Oh further teaches wherein the control device ( e.g., 1202, Fig. 12)is configured to communicate with a charging device ( 1104, Fig. 11), and to control the charging current applied from the charging device to the battery module through communication ( see Fig. 11, Fig. 12), [0120]-[0126]. In [0123] the battery charging apparatus 1101 includes one or more processors configured to control the charging of a battery 1102 of a vehicle. The battery charging apparatus 1101 estimates a state of the battery 1102 using an estimator 1103 and controls the charging of the battery 1102 using a BMS 1104. And the processor is 1202. )
With regard to claim 10, the combination of Oh, Lee, and Cheo teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Oh further teaches a battery pack comprising:
the battery module comprising cells ( [0069], battery include cell), and
the charging control device (battery includes a charger, [0069] and bms, [0068] as claimed in claim 1.
With regard to claim 14, Oh teaches a charging control method of a battery pack, the method comprising:
selecting, based on a lifespan state and a temperature at a charging start time point of a battery module ( see Fig. 7, a table ( Fig. 7) selecting the dSOC/dv, dQ/dV based on SOH and T, see [0115], the battery charging apparatus estimates an internal state of battery using the model in response to the battery being charged, this means select the charging profile in response to the battery being charging, Fig. 10, [0121] a battery charging apparatus charges a battery using a charging profile, and estimates an internal state of the battery based on the charging of the battery which starts at the charging start time point as shown in Fig. 10) corresponding to a current state of the battery module from among tables that define a correlation between a change in capacity ( dSOC, Fig. 7 or dQ/dV, Fig. 9, 901) and a change in voltage (dV, Fig. 7,or Fig. 9, 901) of a cell ( Fig.7, 701, or Fig. 9, 901, see [0112] a battery charging apparatus, a battery charging apparatus acquires a differential value of a SOC or a quantity of electricity with respect to a voltage or the SOC of a battery. ), and that correspond to different lifespan states and temperatures of the cell ( see Fig. 7, different SOH and T of cells corresponding to dSOC/dV or DQ/DV, [0112];
obtaining an accumulated current amount by accumulating a charging current detected during charging ( Fig. 9, dQ/dV, dQ is the accumulated charge).
Oh does not teach obtaining a predicted voltage value for the battery module using a table corresponding to the accumulated current amount and the current state of the battery module; and controlling the charging current based on a measured voltage value that is measured in the battery module and the predicted voltage value.
However, Lee teaches obtaining a predicted voltage value for the battery module using a table corresponding to the accumulated current amount and the current state of the battery module; ([0019] In addition, the parameter calculation unit calculates the rate of change of charging capacity relative to voltage (dQ/dV) during constant current charging and the rate of change of voltage relative to charging capacity (dV/dQ) during constant voltage charging, and the dQ/dV and dV/dQ calculated at preset cycles can be matched with the accumulated charging amount and stored in the DB.. since accumulated charging amount is Q or dQ, through accumulated charging mount, predicted voltage (dV) can be calculated through the dV/dQ *dQ)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh, to obtain a predicted voltage value for the battery module using the table and an accumulated current amount as taught by Lee, in order to operate the battery/system [0023] according to the model and achieve desired performance
In addition, Choe teaches controlling the charging current based on a measured voltage value that is measured in the battery module and the predicted voltage value([0011]-[0017](b) monitoring a terminal voltage of the battery while applying the charge using the charging profile; (c) using a mathematical model to estimate a desired lithium ion concentration at an electrode of the battery and to estimate a predicted terminal voltage; (d) using the monitored terminal voltage of the battery and the estimated terminal voltage to determine an error between the two;
(e) applying the error to the desired lithium ion concentration to calculate a calculated lithium ion concentration; and (f) modifying the charge applied by the charging profile)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh and Lee, to control a charging current according to a comparison result of comparing a measured voltage value that is measured in the battery module with the predicted voltage value, as taught by Choe, in order to urge the estimated internal characteristic toward a desired level. ([0018])
With regard to claim 15, the combination of Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 14, and Oh further teaches the table comprises a differential value (dV/dQ) of a voltage with respect to a capacity of the cell( [0112], dQ/dV ) or comprise a value derived from the differential value (dV/dQ)., or comprises a value derived from the differential value (dV/dQ).
With regard to claim 16, the combination of Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 15, Oh further teaches calculating a voltage change amount from the charging start time point to a current time point using the table corresponding to the accumulated current amount and the current state of the battery module( Fig. 7, and 901, Fig. 7 shows that dSOC/dv corresponding to the temperature and SOH of the battery ( current state of the battery), [0112] and Fig. 9 describes either acquires dQ/dV or dSOC/dV, and Lee teaches dQ/dV and dV/dQ calculated at preset cycles can be matched with the accumulated charging amount and stored in the DB); and
adding the voltage change amount to a charging start voltage value of the battery module detected at the charging start time point ( Oh teaches about a predicted dV in DQ/dV, and it is known in the art that V( predicted)= Vstart +dV ).
With regard to claim 17, the combination of Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 16, Oh further teaches calculating the voltage change amount comprises
determining a state of charge (SOC) of the battery module at a current time based on the accumulated current amount ( see [0112] a battery charging apparatus acquires a differential value of a SOC or a quantity of electricity with respect to a voltage or the SOC of a battery, which teaches a dQ/dV vs SOC figure, dQ is the accumulated current amount and based on dQ/dV vs SOC figure, it is related to SOC).;
extracting the differential value (dV/dQ) from the table based on a charging start state of charge (SOC) at the charging start time point of the battery module and the state of charge (SOC) at the current time (( see [0112] a battery charging apparatus acquires a differential value of a SOC or a quantity of electricity with respect to a voltage or the SOC of a battery, which teaches a dQ/dV vs SOC figure,); and
calculating the voltage change amount using the differential value (dV/dQ) extracted from the table corresponding to the current state of the battery module( Oh teaches about a predicted dV in DQ/dV, and it is known in the art that V( predicted)= Vstart +dV ).
With regard to claim 18, the combination of Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 14, Choe further teaches
controlling the charging current comprises decreasing the charging current if a difference between the predicted voltage value and the measured voltage value exceeds a threshold value( [0011]the terminal voltage of the battery is measured during charging and is compared with a predicted or modeled terminal voltage to allow the charging profile to be adjusted one way or another (charging increased, decreased, or resting) in order to urge the estimated internal characteristic toward a desired level. [0011] teaches if to get estimated characteristic. In this case, set the threshold is 0, [0063] teaches a feedback controller is employed to compensate the error. And Choe disclose an option to decrease charge when there is an error/difference between predicted voltage value and measured voltage exceeds the threshold 0).; and the threshold value comprises a single value, or comprises a range having an upper limit value and a lower limit value (here, the threshold is 0, a single value).
With regard to claim 19, the combination of Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 18, Choe further teaches wherein controlling the charging current comprises increasing the charging current if the difference between the predicted voltage value and the measured voltage value is less than the threshold value ([0011]the terminal voltage of the battery is measured during charging and is compared with a predicted or modeled terminal voltage to allow the charging profile to be adjusted one way or another (charging increased, decreased, or resting) in order to urge the estimated internal characteristic toward a desired level. [0011] teaches if to get estimated characteristic. In this case, set the threshold is 0, [0063] teaches a feedback controller is employed to compensate the error. And Choe discloses an option to increase charge when there is an error/difference between predicted voltage value and measured voltage below the threshold 0).
5. Claims 8, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh(US20210053450A1) , Lee (WO2023085906A1) and Choe (US20130119921A1) in further view of Battery Design(“DCIR of a cell” screen shot at 2023/1/31)
With regard to claim 8, the combination of Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but not the control device is configured to exclude a current component due to direct current internal resistance (DCIR) from the accumulated current amount
However, Battery design teaches the control device is configured to exclude a current component due to direct current internal resistance (DCIR) from the accumulated current amount ( see page 4, V=Vocv-IRint, Vocv is voltage measured across the battery’s terminal with no current flowing, Rint is the DCIR and I is current draw by the DCIR)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim 1, to exclude a current component due to direct current internal resistance (DCIR) from the accumulated current amount
, as taught by Battery design, since the cell is not perfect current source (page 1 of Battery design) and DCIR effect has to be considered/removed from accumulated current when calculate the battery voltage ( dQ/dV)
With regard to claim 20, the combination of Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 14, but not wherein obtaining the accumulated current amount comprises excluding a current component due to DCIR and accumulating the charging current.
However, Battery design teaches obtaining the accumulated current amount comprises excluding a current component due to DCIR and accumulating the charging current.
( the limitation is interpreted under 112(b) as excluding a current component due to DCIR from accumulating the charging current.
see page 4, V=Vocv-IRint, Vocv is voltage measured across the battery’s terminal with no current flowing, Rint is the DCIR and I is current draw by the DCIR)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim 1, to exclude a current component due to direct current internal resistance (DCIR) from accumulating the charging current , as taught by Battery design, since the cell is not perfect current source (page 1 of Battery design) and DCIR effect has to be considered/removed from accumulated current when calculate the battery voltage ( dQ/dV)
6. Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh(US20210053450A1) , Lee ( WO2023085906A1) and Choe (US20130119921A1
In further view of Takaoka (US20100327809A1)
With regard to claim 11, Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 10, and further teaches the control device is configured to obtain the table ( T and SOH, Fig. 7, table) corresponding to the current state of the battery module based on a lifespan state and the temperature ( Fig. 10, [0121] a battery using the charging profile and Fig. 7 shows the calling the charging profile using the SOH and T) at the charging start time point(see [0115], the battery charging apparatus estimates an internal state of battery using the model in response to the battery being charged, this means select the charging profile in response to the battery being charging, Fig. 10, [0121] a battery charging apparatus charges a battery using a charging profile, and estimates an internal state of the battery based on the charging of the battery which starts at the charging start time point as shown in Fig. 10) .
Oh does not teach use a representative cell selected from among the cells.
In addition, Takaoka teaches a most deteriorated battery cell can be used as representative to evaluate/calculate SOH. At para [0054]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh , Lee and Choe, to use a representative cell selected from among the cells, as taught by Takaoka, because the most deteriorated cell is very possible to be deteriorated [0077] and use the most deteriorated cell is a standard and known practice in battery management system because the use the worst-case cell ensures the overall systems stays with safe limits and prevented unexpected failure in device.
With regard to claim 12, the combination of Oh , Lee Choe and Takaoka teaches
All the limitations of claim 11, and Takaoka further teaches wherein the representative cell has a largest deterioration state among the cells (a most deteriorated battery cell can be used as representative to evaluate/calculate SOH. At para [0054].
7. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh(US20210053450A1) ,Lee ( WO2023085906A1) and Choe (US20130119921A1
In further view of and Lim (US20190195956A1)
With regard to claim 13, Oh, Lee and Choe teaches all the limitations of claim 10, and further teaches the control device is configured to obtain the table ( T and SOH, Fig. 7, table) corresponding to the current state of the battery module based on a lifespan state and the temperature ( Fig. 10, [0121] a battery using the charging profile and Fig. 7 shows the calling the charging profile using the SOH and T) at the charging start time point(see [0115], the battery charging apparatus estimates an internal state of battery using the model in response to the battery being charged, this means select the charging profile in response to the battery being charging, Fig. 10, [0121] a battery charging apparatus charges a battery using a charging profile, and estimates an internal state of the battery based on the charging of the battery which starts at the charging start time point as shown in Fig. 10) .
Oh does not teach average values of lifespan states and temperatures detected for the cells.
Lim teaches average values of lifespan states and temperatures detected for the cells ([0105] the parameter to generating the models are based on a mean state of the plurality of battery cells and Lim also teaches about battery state as temperature, Oh teaches about lifespan states and temperature are used to obtain the table)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh , Lee and Choe, to configure average values of lifespan states and temperatures detected for the cells, as taught by Lim, because average values serves as a perfectly accurate representation for overall battery performance and average values and it simplify the input.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwak (US 20230384392 A1) teaches about a degree of deterioration of each of the battery cells may be determined by comparing a representative value, for example, a median value or an average value, of the correlation coefficient obtained from all the battery cells with the correlation coefficient obtained between each of the battery cells and other battery cells.
Rottinger (DE 102020109210 A1 ) teaches [0008] determining the discharging current by the battery model as a function of the parameter of respective cell at the start time,
/PINPING SUN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872