DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 13-15, 17-19 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pezeshki et al. (US 2022/0150727, Pezeshki hereafter).
RE claims 1 and 26, Pezeshki discloses an apparatus and method for wireless communication at a first wireless node, comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (Processor and memory are inherent generic components) and cause the first wireless node to: transmit, to a second wireless node, an indication that a first machine learning (ML) model shares one or more properties with at least a second ML model (Paragraphs 111-116 discloses a network entity or a UE transmitting an indication of one or more machine learning models. The one of more models being associated with one out of a plurality of TRPs. Multiple models may be associated with /share the same TRP); and utilize at least the first ML model to communicate with the second wireless node (Paragraphs 111-118 discloses the models are used in wireless communications.).
RE claim 2, Pezeshki discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Pezeshki further discloses wherein the first ML model and the second ML model are used for at least one of: channel state information (CSI) feedback processing or beam management (Paragraph 109 discloses: “Example of such wireless communication applications include a channel state information (CSI) compression, a cross frequency channel prediction, beam management (e.g., a beam selection), etc.”).
RE claim 3, Pezeshki discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Pezeshki further discloses wherein at least a portion of the first ML model or the second ML model is running at the first wireless node (Paragraphs 111-116 discloses a network entity or a UE transmitting an indication of one or more machine learning models. The one of more models being associated with one out of a plurality of TRPs. Multiple models may be associated with /share the same TRP).
RE claim 5, Pezeshki discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Pezeshki further discloses wherein at least one of the first ML model or the second ML model comprises ML functionality (Paragraphs 111-116 discloses a network entity or a UE transmitting an indication of one or more machine learning models. The one of more models being associated with one out of a plurality of TRPs. Multiple models may be associated with /share the same TRP), an ML physical model, or an ML logical model.
RE claim 6, Pezeshki discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Pezeshki further discloses wherein the one or more properties comprise one or more wireless properties (Paragraphs 111-116 discloses a network entity or a UE transmitting an indication of one or more machine learning models. The one of more models being associated with one out of a plurality of TRPs. Multiple models may be associated with /share the same TRP).
RE claims 13 and 27, Pezeshki discloses an apparatus and method for wireless communication at a second wireless node, comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the second wireless node to: receive, from a first wireless node, an indication that a first machine learning (ML) model shares one or more properties with at least a second ML model (Paragraphs 111-116 discloses a network entity or a UE transmitting an indication of one or more machine learning models. The one of more models being associated with one out of a plurality of TRPs. Multiple models may be associated with /share the same TRP); and perform ML model management based, at least in part, on the indication. (Paragraphs 111-118 discloses the models are used in wireless communications.).
RE claim 14, Pezeshki discloses the apparatus of claim 13 as set forth above. Note that Pezeshki further discloses wherein the first ML model and the second ML model are used for at least one of: channel state information (CSI) feedback processing or beam management (Paragraph 109 discloses: “Example of such wireless communication applications include a channel state information (CSI) compression, a cross frequency channel prediction, beam management (e.g., a beam selection), etc.”).
RE claim 15, Pezeshki discloses the apparatus of claim 13 as set forth above. Note that Pezeshki further discloses wherein at least a portion of the first ML model or the second ML model is running at the first wireless node (Paragraphs 111-116 discloses a network entity or a UE transmitting an indication of one or more machine learning models. The one of more models being associated with one out of a plurality of TRPs. Multiple models may be associated with /share the same TRP).
RE claim 17, Pezeshki discloses the apparatus of claim 13 as set forth above. Note that Pezeshki further discloses wherein at least one of the first ML model or the second ML model comprises ML functionality (Paragraphs 111-116 discloses a network entity or a UE transmitting an indication of one or more machine learning models. The one of more models being associated with one out of a plurality of TRPs. Multiple models may be associated with /share the same TRP), an ML physical model, or an ML logical model.
RE claim 18, Pezeshki discloses the apparatus of claim 13 as set forth above. Note that Pezeshki further discloses wherein in order to perform ML model management, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the second wireless node to perform at least one of: ML model activation (Paragraphs 111-116 discloses a network entity or a UE transmitting an indication of one or more machine learning models. The one of more models being associated with one out of a plurality of TRPs. Multiple models may be associated with /share the same TRP)., ML model deactivation, ML model selection (Paragraphs 111-116 discloses a network entity or a UE transmitting an indication of one or more machine learning models. The one of more models being associated with one out of a plurality of TRPs. Multiple models may be associated with /share the same TRP), ML model switching, or falling back from operating on one ML model to operating on another ML model
RE claim 19, Pezeshki discloses the apparatus of claim 13 as set forth above. Note that Pezeshki further discloses wherein the one or more properties comprise one or more wireless properties (Paragraphs 111-116 discloses a network entity or a UE transmitting an indication of one or more machine learning models. The one of more models being associated with one out of a plurality of TRPs. Multiple models may be associated with /share the same TRP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0108214, Lee hereafter)
RE claims 4 and 16, Pezeshki discloses the apparatuses of claims 1 and 13 as set forth above. Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication identifies at least one of the first ML model or the second ML model via a local model ID or a global model ID.
However, wherein the indication identifies at least one of the first ML model or the second ML model via a local model ID (Paragraph 331: “A model ID and model version. Here, the model ID and model version may be local information rather than global unique information of an ML model provider NWDAF”) or a global model ID (Paragraph 303 teaches a ML model indicated by a model ID within a “global update”.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatuses of Pezeshki with the teachings of Lee since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 114745786 A, Yang hereafter).
RE claims 7 and 20, Pezeshki discloses the apparatuses of claims 6 and 19 as set forth above. Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more wireless properties relate to at least one of: an average delay, a delay spread, a Doppler shift, or a Doppler spread.
However, Yang teaches wherein the one or more wireless properties relate to at least one of: an average delay, a delay spread, a Doppler shift, or a Doppler spread (Paragraphs 39-43 teaches an artificial intelligence algorithm whereby at least one of the parameters obtained is “Doppler shift (Doppler shift), Doppler spread (Dopplergy), average time delay (average delay), delay spread (delay) from the reference signal”.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatuses of Pezeshki with the teachings of Yang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claims 11-12 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki in view of Ma et al. (US 2021/0160149, Ma hereafter).
RE claims 11 and 25, Pezeshki discloses the apparatuses of claims 1 and 13 as set forth above. Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose the first wireless node comprises a user equipment (UE); the second wireless node comprises a network entity; and the indication is transmitted via at least one of a UE capability exchange, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), or physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)
However, Ma teaches the first wireless node comprises a user equipment (UE); the second wireless node comprises a network entity; and the indication is transmitted via at least one of a UE capability exchange, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), or physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Paragraph 113: “The information exchange procedure begins with UE sending information indicating an AI/ML capability of the UE to the BS at 1010.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatuses of Pezeshki with the teachings of Ma since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
RE claims 12 and 24, Pezeshki discloses the apparatuses of claims 1 and 13 as set forth above. Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first wireless node comprises a network entity; the second wireless node comprises a user equipment (UE); and the indication is transmitted via at least one of radio resource control (RRC), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)
However, Ma teaches wherein: the first wireless node comprises a network entity; the second wireless node comprises a user equipment (UE); and the indication is transmitted via at least one of radio resource control (RRC), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Paragraph 126: “RRC channel: In some embodiments, training sequences/training data can be sent to UE via RRC signaling.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatuses of Pezeshki with the teachings of Ma since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
RE claims 8 and 21, prior art does not explicitly disclose, teach or suggest a first wireless node transmitting, to a second wireless node, an indication that a first machine learning (ML) model shares one or more wireless properties with at least a second ML model; wherein the wireless properties relate to at least one of: a transmit spatial filter or a receive spatial filter.
RE claims 9 and 22, prior art does not explicitly disclose, teach or suggest a first wireless node transmitting, to a second wireless node, an indication that a first machine learning (ML) model shares one or more wireless properties with at least a second ML model; wherein the one or more properties relate to at least one of: an area or areas for model applicability, applicable model operation time, or model complexity information.
RE claims 10 and 23, the claims depend upon claims 9 and 22, respectively, and thereby include the allowable features set forth above.
Conclusion
/James P Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461