DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 12/08/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1149 filed 10/18/2023 & 02/14/2025. These IDS have been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a machine control unit” and “a display module” in claim 1.
Machine control unit is described in paragraph [0043] of the specification (“e.g., a programable logic controller (PLC)”).
Display module is described in paragraph [0044] of the specification (“The display module 800 may comprise a remote communication input/output unit including HD pixel screen resolution HDMI output, CPU, serial ports, USB, Type A and B ports, and Ethernet port.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draghetti et al. (US 2024/0246709; “Draghetti”) in view of Schroder et al. (USPN 5,594,184; “Schroder”).
Regarding claim 1, Draghetti discloses a weighing machine (10, see e.g. figure 1) comprising a plurality of load cells (figure 5:60, ¶¶ [0112]-[0113]) configured to weigh a material contained in individual conically shaped paper rolls (100) of a plurality of conically shaped paper rolls (100), wherein the individual conically shaped paper rolls (100) include a top (103) having a first diameter and a bottom having a second diameter (102) that is less than the first diameter (¶¶ [0074]-[0076]), a machine control unit (76) configured to receive signals from the plurality of load cells (60) and process the signals into readable data (¶ [0138]).
Draghetti is silent to a display module and a display.
In the same field of endeavor, Schroder teaches in figure 1 a weighing machine (7) for paper rolls (6) (col. 5, lines 57-67) comprising a display module configured to receive, from the machine control unit, the readable data, and process the readable data to a display layout representing readable information of a weight of the material contained in the individual conically shaped paper rolls (6) and a display unit configured to receive, from the display module, data representing the display layout, and display the readable information of the weight of the material contained in the respective conically shaped paper rolls (6) (col. 6, lines 18-47, col. 8, lines 43-55; note display not shown however, the combination of the signal processing unit and the described display performs the claimed function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to include Schroder’s display module and display in Draghetti’s weighing machine for the purpose of allowing the machine attendant to inspect the assembly process in order to verify there are no machine malfunctions.
Furthermore, courts have ruled that applying a known technique such as displaying a weight signal during manufacturing to a known device such as Draghetti’s weighing apparatus to achieve the predictable result of allowing the user to monitor the manufacturing process is within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421 (2007).
Regarding claim 3, Draghetti’s discloses in figure 4 a tray (207) for removeably receiving the plurality of conically shaped paper rolls (100) (¶ [0068]).
Regarding claim 4, Draghetti discloses in figure 6 one or more guides (209) disposed on a surface (11) in the weighing machine (10), wherein the one or more guides (209) align the tray (207) with the plurality of load cells (60) such that the respective bottoms (102) of the individual conically shaped paper rolls (100) come into contact with individual load cells (60) of the plurality of load cells (60) (¶¶ [0068], [0111]).
Regarding claim 5, Draghetti discloses in figure 6 one or more guides (209) disposed on a surface (11) in the weighing machine (10) and a cover plate (207) having a plurality of openings (210), the cover plate (210) disposed on the one or more guides (209) above the plurality of load cells (60) such that a portion of the plurality of conically shaped paper rolls (100) pass through the plurality of openings (210) and are aligned by the cover plate (207) to come into contact with the plurality of load cells (60) (¶¶ [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 7, Draghetti discloses in figure 5 the plurality of load cells (60) are arranged in one or more rows.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draghetti in view of Schroder as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Hove et al. (USPN 6,396,002; “Hove”).
Regarding claim 2, Draghetti as modified by Schroder disclose all the limitations on claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Neither Draghetti nor Hove explicitly disclose an interconnection board to amplify the signals.
However, using an amplifier for weight signals, especially in a manufacturing checkweighing process, is well-known in the art. For example, Hove discloses a checkweigher for paper roll manufacturing and packaging wherein a circuit (see figure 3) receives and amplifies the signals (via 50) and the machine control unit receives the signals from the circuit (col. 6, lines 9-58).
While the teaching is not expressly disclosed as an “interconnection board”, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the circuitry components of figure 3 are physically embodied as a circuit board.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to utilize Hove’s amplifier and circuit board in Draghetti’s modified weighing apparatus for the purpose of automatically comparing the weight of a filled paper roll with the target weight to determine whether or it meets a filled condition.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draghetti in view of Schroder as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Garthaffner et al. (US 2022/0267035; “Garthaffner”)
Regarding claim 6, Draghetti as modified by Schroder discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Draghetti discloses the plurality of load cells (60) are mounted on a plate (59) disposed on one or more guides (11) (¶ [0112]).
Draghetti does not explicitly disclose the guide is on a surface in the weighing machine.
However, one having ordinary skill in the art would come to the conclusion that the structure represented in figures 1 and 5 may represent the working components of the machine but that there are further structural elements not described in the specification, on being a surface on which the guide is disposed.
For example, Garthaffner generally teaches a container filling assembly with multiple stations such as the one taught by Draghetti, including a shuttle transport mechanism between stations. These elements are located in a larger support frame which holds these elements up off the ground (see figures 1B and 3A which shows metering section 104, container section 108, load station 112 and shuttle 106 transporting the containers among the sections similar to Draghetti’s figure 1, all supported by a larger frame including platforms and feet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to ensure Dreghetti’s load cell plate and guides are disposed on a further surface as suggested by Garthaffner for the purpose of preventing the moving elements from resting directly on the ground. The achieves the predictable result of protecting the assembly line from dirt, moisture and cleaning agents/detergents while also making the assembly line easier to access for an attendant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPN 4,976,326 discloses a weighing machine comprising multiple stations each having a load cell and a display for the individual scale.
USPN 11,382,351 discloses a paper cone filling machine with one weighing station and a display.
The remaining references represent the general state of the art of paper cone filling and weighing assemblies.
/NATALIE HULS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863