DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to US App. 18/489,781. Claims 1-30 have been examined.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 18, 21-24, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by VIVO, “Consideration on use of NCD-SSB instead of CD-SSB for RedCap UE”; R4-2117806; 3GPP TSG-RAN WG4 Meeting #101-e, Electronic Meeting, Nov.1 – 12, 2021 (included in IDS; hereafter VIVO).
Regarding Claim 1,
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to:
obtain at least one of a first measurement of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) or a downlink (DL) reference signal that is quasi-colocated with the first SSB, or a second measurement of a second SSB or a DL reference signal that is quasi-colocated with the second SSB within a bandwidth of an initial DL bandwidth part configured by a serving cell of the UE [VIVO: Sec. 1: Introduction; RAN1 respectfully requests RAN2 and RAN4 to provide feedback about the use of NCD-SSB instead of CD-SSB … for idle … mode procedures for serving and non-serving cells for a Rel-17 RedCap UE operating with an initial … DL BWP not containing CD-SSB; 1) [RAN2/4] whether it is feasible to use NCD-SSB for serving and non-serving cell measurements for idle … mode for all or some of RRM, RLM, BFD, link recovery, RO selection mobility, time/frequency tracking and AGC; 2) [RAN2/4] whether it is feasible to use NCD-SSB as QCL source of other DL channels/signals … transmitted in idle … mode in the initial … DL BWP of RedCap UE; Sec. 2: Discussion; … it is feasible to use NCD-SSB for serving and non-serving cell measurements for idle … mode; see also Sec. 2; Proposal 1],
wherein the first SSB and the second SSB do not carry scheduling information for system information and wherein the first SSB is associated with a serving cell of the UE and the second SSB is associated with a non-serving cell [VIVO: Sec. 2: Discussion; … it is feasible to use NCD-SSB for serving and non-serving cell measurements for idle … mode; Sec. 2; Proposal 7: … we suggest that the design principle of using NCD-SSB for RedCap UE is when NCD-SSB is configured, CD-SSB based actions could be done through NCD-SSB and from RAN4 measurement point of view, the dependency on CD-SSB should not be needed; Sec. 1: Introduction; Option 1: for a separate initial DL BWP … RedCap UE does NOT expect it to contain SSB/CORESET#0/SIB …; Option 2: for a separate initial DL BWP … if it is configured for random access while not for paging in idle … mode, RepCap does NOT expect it to contain SSB/CORESET#0/SIB]; and
perform a cell reselection operation based on at least one of the first measurement or the second measurement [VIVO: Sec. 2; Proposal 7: … we suggest that the design principle of using NCD-SSB for RedCap UE is when NCD-SSB is configured, CD-SSB based actions could be done through NCD-SSB and from RAN4 measurement point of view, the dependency on CD-SSB should not be needed; Sec. 2; Proposal 3; … it is possible for a NCD-SSB to be located at the sync raster …; Sec. 2: Discussion; 9.2.1.2; Cell Reselection; cell reselection is always based on CD-SSBs located on the synchronization raster (see clause 45.2.4)].
Note:Cell reselection is done through NCD-SSB.
Regarding Claim 2,
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: indicate a set of capabilities of the UE and UE assistance information (UAI) associated with at least one of a measurement relaxation, the cell reselection operation, a small data transmission, or a small data reception of the UE in an inactive mode or an idle mode; and receive a configuration message for the measurement relaxation associated with the cell reselection operation [VIVO: Sec. 2; Proposal 7: … we suggest that the design principle of using NCD-SSB for RedCap UE is when NCD-SSB is configured, CD-SSB based actions could be done through NCD-SSB and from RAN4 measurement point of view, the dependency on CD-SSB should not be needed; Sec. 2; Proposal 3; … it is possible for a NCD-SSB to be located at the sync raster …; Sec. 2: Discussion; 9.2.1.2; Cell Reselection; cell reselection is always based on CD-SSBs located on the synchronization raster (see clause 45.2.4); Sec. 1: Introduction; the network may choose to configure SSB or MIB-configured CORESET#0 or SIB1 to be within the respective DL BWP].
Regarding Claim 3,
wherein a cell-defining synchronization signal block (CD-SSB) is not present in the initial DL bandwidth part of the UE [VIVO: Sec. 1: Introduction; RAN1 respectfully requests RAN2 and RAN4 to provide feedback about the use of NCD-SSB instead of CD-SSB … for idle … mode procedures for serving and non-serving cells for a Rel-17 RedCap UE operating with an initial … DL BWP not containing CD-SSB].
Regarding Claim 4,
wherein each of the first SSB and the second SSB is a non-cell-defining synchronization signal block (NCD-SSB) [VIVO: Sec. 1: Introduction; RAN1 respectfully requests RAN2 and RAN4 to provide feedback about the use of NCD-SSB instead of CD-SSB … for idle … mode procedures for serving and non-serving cells for a Rel-17 RedCap UE operating with an initial … DL BWP not containing CD-SSB].
Regarding Claims 6-9, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 1-4 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1-4 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 11,
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to:
obtain, in response to an event trigger or a message received at the UE, at least one of a first measurement of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) or a downlink (DL) reference signal that is quasi-colocated with the first SSB, or a second measurement of a second SSB or a DL reference signal that is quasi-colocated with the second SSB in one or more bandwidth parts that is not an initial DL bandwidth part configured by a serving cell of the UE [VIVO: message received == choose to configure; Sec. 1: Introduction; RAN1 respectfully requests RAN2 and RAN4 to provide feedback about the use of NCD-SSB instead of CD-SSB … for idle … mode procedures for serving and non-serving cells for a Rel-17 RedCap UE operating with an initial … DL BWP not containing CD-SSB; 1) [RAN2/4] whether it is feasible to use NCD-SSB for serving and non-serving cell measurements for idle … mode for all or some of RRM, RLM, BFD, link recovery, RO selection mobility, time/frequency tracking and AGC; 2) [RAN2/4] whether it is feasible to use NCD-SSB as QCL source of other DL channels/signals … transmitted in idle … mode in the initial … DL BWP of RedCap UE; Sec. 2: Discussion; … it is feasible to use NCD-SSB for serving and non-serving cell measurements for idle … mode; see also Sec. 2; Proposal 1; Sec. 1: Introduction; the network may choose to configure SSB or MIB-configured CORESET#0 or SIB1 to be within the respective DL BWP],
wherein the first SSB is associated with the serving cell of the UE and the second SSB is associated with a non-serving cell [VIVO: Sec. 2: Discussion; … it is feasible to use NCD-SSB for serving and non-serving cell measurements for idle … mode; Sec. 2; Proposal 7: … we suggest that the design principle of using NCD-SSB for RedCap UE is when NCD-SSB is configured, CD-SSB based actions could be done through NCD-SSB and from RAN4 measurement point of view, the dependency on CD-SSB should not be needed; Sec. 1: Introduction; Option 1: for a separate initial DL BWP … RedCap UE does NOT expect it to contain SSB/CORESET#0/SIB …; Option 2: for a separate initial DL BWP … if it is configured for random access while not for paging in idle … mode, RepCap does NOT expect it to contain SSB/CORESET#0/SIB]; and
perform a cell reselection operation based on at least one of the first measurement or the second measurement [VIVO: Sec. 2; Proposal 7: … we suggest that the design principle of using NCD-SSB for RedCap UE is when NCD-SSB is configured, CD-SSB based actions could be done through NCD-SSB and from RAN4 measurement point of view, the dependency on CD-SSB should not be needed; Sec. 2; Proposal 3; … it is possible for a NCD-SSB to be located at the sync raster …; Sec. 2: Discussion; 9.2.1.2; Cell Reselection; cell reselection is always based on CD-SSBs located on the synchronization raster (see clause 45.2.4)].
Note:Cell reselection is done through NCD-SSB.
Regarding Claims 12-14, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 2-4 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 2-4 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 18,
wherein the message orders the UE to perform the first measurement, the second measurement, or additional measurements for the serving cell or the non-serving cell, and the message includes at least one of control information or a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), wherein the control information or the MAC-CE commands the UE to obtain the at least one of the first measurement of the first SSB or a DL reference signal that is quasi-colocated with the first SSB, or the second measurement of the second SSB or a DL reference signal that is quasi-colocated with the second SSB, or additional measurements for the serving cell or non-serving cell, in the one or more bandwidth parts [VIVO: message received == choose to configure; Sec. 1: Introduction; RAN1 respectfully requests RAN2 and RAN4 to provide feedback about the use of NCD-SSB instead of CD-SSB … for idle … mode procedures for serving and non-serving cells for a Rel-17 RedCap UE operating with an initial … DL BWP not containing CD-SSB; 1) [RAN2/4] whether it is feasible to use NCD-SSB for serving and non-serving cell measurements for idle … mode for all or some of RRM, RLM, BFD, link recovery, RO selection mobility, time/frequency tracking and AGC; 2) [RAN2/4] whether it is feasible to use NCD-SSB as QCL source of other DL channels/signals … transmitted in idle … mode in the initial … DL BWP of RedCap UE; Sec. 2: Discussion; … it is feasible to use NCD-SSB for serving and non-serving cell measurements for idle … mode; see also Sec. 2; Proposal 1; Sec. 1: Introduction; the network may choose to configure SSB or MIB-configured CORESET#0 or SIB1 to be within the respective DL BWP; Sec. 2; Proposal 7: … we suggest that the design principle of using NCD-SSB for RedCap UE is when NCD-SSB is configured, CD-SSB based actions could be done through NCD-SSB and from RAN4 measurement point of view, the dependency on CD-SSB should not be needed; Sec. 1: Introduction; Option 1: for a separate initial DL BWP … RedCap UE does NOT expect it to contain SSB/CORESET#0/SIB …; Option 2: for a separate initial DL BWP … if it is configured for random access while not for paging in idle … mode, RepCap does NOT expect it to contain SSB/CORESET#0/SIB].
Regarding Claim 21,
A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
obtaining, in response to an event trigger or a message received at the UE, at least one of a first measurement of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) or a downlink (DL) reference signal that is quasi-colocated with the first SSB, or a second measurement of a second SSB or a DL reference signal that is quasi-colocated with the second SSB in one or more bandwidth parts that is not an initial DL bandwidth part configured by a serving cell of the UE [VIVO: message received == choose to configure; Sec. 1: Introduction; RAN1 respectfully requests RAN2 and RAN4 to provide feedback about the use of NCD-SSB instead of CD-SSB … for idle … mode procedures for serving and non-serving cells for a Rel-17 RedCap UE operating with an initial … DL BWP not containing CD-SSB; 1) [RAN2/4] whether it is feasible to use NCD-SSB for serving and non-serving cell measurements for idle … mode for all or some of RRM, RLM, BFD, link recovery, RO selection mobility, time/frequency tracking and AGC; 2) [RAN2/4] whether it is feasible to use NCD-SSB as QCL source of other DL channels/signals … transmitted in idle … mode in the initial … DL BWP of RedCap UE; Sec. 2: Discussion; … it is feasible to use NCD-SSB for serving and non-serving cell measurements for idle … mode; see also Sec. 2; Proposal 1; Sec. 1: Introduction; the network may choose to configure SSB or MIB-configured CORESET#0 or SIB1 to be within the respective DL BWP],
wherein the first SSB is associated with the serving cell of the UE and the second SSB is associated with a non-serving cell [VIVO: Sec. 2: Discussion; … it is feasible to use NCD-SSB for serving and non-serving cell measurements for idle … mode; Sec. 2; Proposal 7: … we suggest that the design principle of using NCD-SSB for RedCap UE is when NCD-SSB is configured, CD-SSB based actions could be done through NCD-SSB and from RAN4 measurement point of view, the dependency on CD-SSB should not be needed; Sec. 1: Introduction; Option 1: for a separate initial DL BWP … RedCap UE does NOT expect it to contain SSB/CORESET#0/SIB …; Option 2: for a separate initial DL BWP … if it is configured for random access while not for paging in idle … mode, RepCap does NOT expect it to contain SSB/CORESET#0/SIB]; and
performing a cell reselection operation based on at least one of the first measurement or the second measurement [VIVO: Sec. 2; Proposal 7: … we suggest that the design principle of using NCD-SSB for RedCap UE is when NCD-SSB is configured, CD-SSB based actions could be done through NCD-SSB and from RAN4 measurement point of view, the dependency on CD-SSB should not be needed; Sec. 2; Proposal 3; … it is possible for a NCD-SSB to be located at the sync raster …; Sec. 2: Discussion; 9.2.1.2; Cell Reselection; cell reselection is always based on CD-SSBs located on the synchronization raster (see clause 45.2.4)].
Note:Cell reselection is done through NCD-SSB.
Regarding Claims 22-24, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 2-4 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 2-4 is applicable.
Regarding claim 28, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claim 18 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 18 is applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 10, 15, 19-20, 25, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIVO in view of Qualcomm, “Remaining Issues on Procedures of RedCap UE”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #111, R1-2212086, Toulouse, France, Nov. 14-18, 2022 (hereafter 3GPP-2086).
Regarding Claim 5,
VIVO teaches:
wherein the initial DL bandwidth part is configured … at the UE in an inactive mode or an idle mode and is less than a total bandwidth of the serving cell [VIVO: less than total bandwidth == not include CD-SSB and the entire CORESET#0; Sec. 1: Introduction; Option 1: for a separate initial DL BWP (if it does not include CD-SSB and the entire CORESET#0), RedCap UE does NOT expect it to contain SSB/CORESET#0/SIB …; Sec. 2; Proposal 1; it is feasible to use NCD-SSB for serving and non-serving cell measurements for idle … for all or some of RRM, RLM, link recovery, RO selection, mobility, time/frequency tracking and AGC].
However, VIVO does not teach that the initial DL bandwidth part is configured for a small data transmission or a small data reception at the UE ….
3GPP-2086 teaches:
wherein the initial DL bandwidth part is configured for a small data transmission or a small data reception at the UE in an inactive mode or an idle mode and is less than a total bandwidth of the serving cell [3GPP-2806: Sec. 4; according to [1], when a RedCap UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitors Type1-PDCCH within an initial DL BWP) without CD-SSB, the RedCap UE is not required to monitor Type2-PDCCH CSS set outside its initial DL BWP; if the RedCap UE performs SDT in an initial DL BWP without CD-SSB, the UE does not expect the initial DL BWP to include CORESET#0 and Type0/0A/2-PDCCH CSS sets [1]].
Note:
[1] incorporated by reference is 3GPP TS 38.213, V17.3.0 (Sept. 2022).
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of VIVO and 3GPP-2086 in order to avoid the increase of UE complexity [3GPP-2086: Sec. 3].
Regarding claim 10, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 5 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 5 is applicable.
Regarding claim 15, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 5 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 5 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 19,
VIVO teaches that for a separate initial DL BWP (if it does not include CD-SSB and the entire CORESET#0), RedCap UE does NOT expect it to contain SSB/CORESET#0/SIB … [VIVO: ; Sec. 1: Introduction; Option 1].
However, VIVO does not teach that a payload, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits of the message is scrambled with information associated with an identifier of the UE.
3GPP-2806 teaches:
wherein a payload, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits of the message is scrambled with information associated with an identifier of the UE [3GPP-2806: Sec. 4; according to [1], when a RedCap UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitors Type1-PDCCH within an initial DL BWP) without CD-SSB, the RedCap UE is not required to monitor Type2-PDCCH CSS set outside its initial DL BWP; if the RedCap UE performs SDT in an initial DL BWP without CD-SSB, the UE does not expect the initial DL BWP to include CORESET#0 and Type0/0A/2-PDCCH CSS sets [1]; under such circumstances, the RedCap UE can either switch BWP to monitor Type2/0/0A-PDCCH CSS sets outside its initial DL BWP, or be provided with SI update by dedicated RRC sginalling scheduled with C-RNTI without BWP switching].
Note:
[1] incorporated by reference is 3GPP TS 38.213, V17.3.0 (Sept. 2022).
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of VIVO and 3GPP-2086 in order to avoid the increase of UE complexity [3GPP-2086: Sec. 3].
Regarding Claim 20,
VIVO teaches that for a separate initial DL BWP (if it does not include CD-SSB and the entire CORESET#0), RedCap UE does NOT expect it to contain SSB/CORESET#0/SIB … [VIVO: ; Sec. 1: Introduction; Option 1].
However, VIVO does not teach that the control information is included in a field of a downlink control information (DCI) format, wherein the field in the DCI format indicates whether to obtain the first measurement, or the second measurement, or additional measurements for the serving cell or the non-serving cell, in the one or more bandwidth parts.
3GPP-2806 teaches:
wherein the control information is included in a field of a downlink control information (DCI) format, wherein the field in the DCI format indicates whether to obtain the first measurement, or the second measurement, or additional measurements for the serving cell or the non-serving cell, in the one or more bandwidth parts [3GPP-2806: Sec. 4; according to [1], when a RedCap UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitors Type1-PDCCH within an initial DL BWP) without CD-SSB, the RedCap UE is not required to monitor Type2-PDCCH CSS set outside its initial DL BWP; if the RedCap UE performs SDT in an initial DL BWP without CD-SSB, the UE does not expect the initial DL BWP to include CORESET#0 and Type0/0A/2-PDCCH CSS sets [1]].
Note:
[1] incorporated by reference is 3GPP TS 38.213, V17.3.0 (Sept. 2022).
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of VIVO and 3GPP-2086 in order to avoid the increase of UE complexity [3GPP-2086: Sec. 3].
Regarding claim 25, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 5 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 5 is applicable.
Regarding claim 29, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 19 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 19 is applicable.
Regarding claim 30, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 20 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 20 is applicable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17 and 26-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li (WO 2024/031671) teaches that if the NCD-SSB is configured for RedCap UEs in the non-active state using Scheme 2, both CD-SSB and NCD-SSB can be configured in neighboring cells for cell selection [Li: 0038].
SAAD A. WAQAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468