DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuhata et al. (US PGP 2008/0292983 A1), in view of Kobayashi (US PGP 2020/0257215 A1).
Mizuhata teaches an image forming apparatus including a magnetic one-component toner for development of an electrostatic latent image and an a-Si (amorphous silicone) photoconductor drum (Abstract). In the examples, an image formation method comprising the steps recited in instant claim 8 were performed ([0051]-[0078]). Mizuhata teaches that, even if a linear velocity of the photoconductor is large, for example 400 to 500 mm/sec, dielectric breakdown can be prevented from occurring ([0065]). Therefore, the image forming apparatus is capable of use at a linear velocity of at least 300 mm/sec, as recited in instant claim 7.
The toner is taught to include an inorganic metal oxide as an external additive. Alumina is taught to be a preferable embodiment of the inorganic metal oxide. The volume resistivity of the inorganic metal oxide is taught to preferably be from 100 to 107 Ω.cm, in view of imparting suitable chargeability to the toner particles ([0104]) (which reads on the corresponding ranges recited in instant claim 1, claim 2, claim 4, and claim 8). Additionally, the inorganic metal oxide is taught to have an average particle size of from 0.01 to 1 µm (which reads on the corresponding ranges recited in instant claim 1, claim 2, claim 3, and claim 8).
The volume resistivity of the inorganic metal oxide is taught to be adjusted by forming a coating layer made of tin oxide and antimony oxide on the surface of the inorganic metal oxide and varying the thickness of the coating layer formed, or varying the content ratio of tin oxide to antimony oxide ([0107]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 1 and claim 8).
The inorganic metal oxide is further taught to be subjected to a surface treatment using a hydrophobizing agent to impart hydrophobicity. Known hydrophobizing agents like titanate-based coupling agents are mentioned ([0116]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 5). Examples of the titanate-based coupling agents are taught to include those having a carbon number of at least 8 and no greater than 20 as a hydrophobic group, like hexyldimethoxymethyl titanium (C = 9) ([0122]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 6).
Mizuhata appears to be silent to teach or suggest an X-ray intensity ratio of the inorganic metal oxide being a ratio of an X-ray intensity of a peak derived from an antimony element to an X-ray intensity of a peak derived from a tin element. Kobayashi teaches a toner including external additives including a base, a conductive layer covering the base, and a surface treatment layer covering the conductive layer (Abstract). The conductive layer is taught to preferably contain antimony-doped tin oxide ([0037]).
A ratio of an amount of substance of antimony atoms to a total amount of substance of tin atoms and antimony atoms in the conductive layers is taught to preferably be at least 0.09 and no greater than 0.29, in view of imparting a suitable conductivity to the external additives ([0039]). The ratio of the amount of substance of antimony atoms to the amount of substance of tin atoms and antimony atoms is taught to be determined by analyzing the external additive particles using fluorescent X-ray analysis ([0140]). Therefore, a ratio of an amount of substance of antimony atoms to an amount of substance of tin atoms in the conductive layer can be calculated as ranging from about 0.0989 to 0.4091 (which reads on the corresponding ranges recited in instant claim 1, claim 4, and claim 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted the X-ray intensity ratio of the inorganic metal oxide of Mizuhata to fall within the range taught by Kobayashi, in view of imparting a suitable conductivity to the inorganic metal oxide particles. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to experiment with different values within Kobayashi’s range because Mizuhata teaches that the volume resistivity of the inorganic metal oxide particles can be adjusted to a suitable value by varying the ratio of the tin oxide to antimony oxide covering the inorganic metal oxide particles.
Conclusion
/BOONE ALEXANDER EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
02/06/2026
1 Kobayashi teaches the ratio X = Sb/(Sn+Sb), where X = 0.09 to 0.29. However, the claimed limitation is directed toward the ratio Y = Sb/Sn.
X = (Sb/Sn) / ((Sn/Sn) + (Sb/Sn)) = (Sb/Sn) / (1 + (Sb/Sn)) = Y / (1 + Y)
X(1 + Y) = Y -> X + XY = Y -> X = Y – XY -> X = Y(1 – X) -> Y = X/(1-X)
Ymin = 0.09 / (1 – 0.09) = 0.0989
Ymax = 0.29 / (1 – 0.29) = 0.409