DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the applied references do not teach the amended limitations of claim 1. Examiner notes that the amendment introduces a 112 second issues because it is not clear if applicant’s is claiming both a device and a process in the same claim. The limitations: “wherein the magnetic means are first incorporated and reversibly fixed in the plurality of blades before the fixing thereof with the abrasive means” includes a method step which is a temporal element to the claim of a structure outside of the scope of the product (see 112 second rejection below). Since Tchakarov and Howle in view of Tchakarov discloses all the structural limitations of the claimed product or device the limitations: “wherein the magnetic means are first incorporated and reversibly fixed in the plurality of blades before the fixing thereof with the abrasive means” are met by the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites: “wherein the magnetic means are first incorporated and reversibly fixed in the plurality of blades before the fixing thereof with the abrasive means” which is a method steps. There is in the claim 1, a temporal element to the claim of a structure outside of the scope of the product (i.e. " the magnetic means are first incorporated and reversibly fixed in the plurality of blades before the fixing thereof with the abrasive means" It is thus unclear if the “means are first incorporated and reversibly fixed in the plurality of blades before the fixing thereof with the abrasive means” is positively required by the claim or merely results in the claimed structure. (see also MPEP 2173 A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112 second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2011). In Katz, a claim directed to "A system with an interface means for providing automated voice messages…to certain of said individual callers, wherein said certain of said individual callers digitally enter data" was determined to be indefinite because the italicized claim limitation is not directed to the system, but rather to actions of the individual callers, which creates confusion as to when direct infringement occurs).
Claim 3-7 are indefinite by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 as far as definite and understood is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tchakarov (US 11,458,595 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Tchakarov teaches an accessory for a polishing machine, suitable for the incorporation thereof in a polishing machine comprising: a plurality of blades (300, 400, 500) (Figs. 2, 4A-4B; Col. 4, lines 19-25; Col. 5, lines 60-67), the accessory comprising abrasive means (550) and magnetic means (510) (Figs. 5A-5B; Col. 6, line 57-Col. 7, line 8), wherein the abrasive means (550) and the magnetic means are mutually fitted out so as to be mutually fixable, the magnetic means in turn being fitted out for the incorporation thereof in the plurality of blades (Figs. 4A-5B), with the abrasive means (550) thereby being incorporated in the blades through said magnetic means (510), and with the same plurality of blades also being suitable and having movement capacity to allow floor polishing by means of the abrasive means incorporated therein (Figs. 4A-5B), wherein the magnetic means are first incorporated and reversibly fixed in the plurality of blades before the fixing thereof with the abrasive means (note that the magnetic means and the abrasive means are both fixed on the plurality of blades (Figs. 4B, 5B and 6, note that Tchakarov teaches all the structural limitations of the claim).
Regarding claim 3, Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Tchakarov further teaches the magnetic means incorporate hook and loop type fastener sheets (Col. 4, lines 29-39) and the abrasive means are in turn fitted out for the connection thereof with said hook and loop type fastener sheets (Col. 4, lines 29-39).
Regarding claim 5, Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Tchakarov further teaches the abrasive means (550) and the magnetic means (510) are already mutually fixed in an integral manner before the incorporation of the magnetic means in the blades (Figs. 4B-6).
Regarding claim 6, Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Tchakarov further teaches the magnetic means (510) comprise magnetized elements (510) (Figs. 5A-5B; Col. 6, line 57-Col. 7, line 8).
Regarding claim 7, Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Tchakarov further teaches the abrasive means comprise diamond-coated elements (Col. 3, line 66-Col. 4, line 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tchakarov.
Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1 including the abrasive means and the magnetic means are mutually fitted out so as to be mutually fixable before the incorporation of the magnetic means in the blades but is a silent to the as to the abrasive means and the magnetic means fixable in a reversible manner before the incorporation. However, having the abrasive means and the magnetic means fixable in a reversible manner before the incorporation is not inventive and it is simply a reversal of parts or rearrangement of parts since the reversing would not have modified the operation of the device (In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) and In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the abrasive means and the magnetic means in the manner claim to allow only the replacement of a worn abrasive means.
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howle (US 2019/0211517 A1) in view of Tchakarov.
Regarding claim 1, Howle teaches an accessory for a polishing machine, suitable for the incorporation thereof in a polishing machine comprising: a plurality of blades (2) (Fig. 1, para. 0042), the accessory comprising abrasive means (10) (paras. 0043, 0049-0053; Figs. 3A, 3) and, with the abrasive means thereby being incorporated in the blades (paras. 0043, 0049-0053; Figs. 1-3A), and with the same blades also being suitable and having movement capacity to allow floor polishing by means of the abrasive means incorporated therein (Figs. 1-3A; paras. 0043, 0049-0053).
Howle fails to teach magnetic means, wherein the abrasive means and the magnetic means are mutually fitted out so as to be mutually fixable, the magnetic means in turn being fitted out for the incorporation thereof in the blades through the magnetic means and wherein the magnetic means are first incorporated and reversibly fixed in the plurality of blades before the fixing thereof with the abrasive means.
However, Tchakarov teaches an accessory for a polishing machine, suitable for the incorporation thereof in a polishing machine comprising: a plurality of blades (300, 400, 500) (Figs. 2, 4A-4B; Col. 4, lines 19-25; Col. 5, lines 60-67), the accessory comprising abrasive means (550) and magnetic means (510) (Figs. 5A-5B; Col. 6, line 57-Col. 7, line 8), wherein the abrasive means (550) and the magnetic means are mutually fitted out so as to be mutually fixable, the magnetic means in turn being fitted out for the incorporation thereof in the plurality of blades (Figs. 4A-5B), with the abrasive means (550) thereby being incorporated in the blades through said magnetic means (510), and with the same plurality of blades also being suitable and having movement capacity to allow floor polishing by means of the abrasive means incorporated therein (Figs. 4A-5B), wherein the magnetic means are first incorporated and reversibly fixed in the plurality of blades before the fixing thereof with the abrasive means (note that the magnetic means and the abrasive means are both fixed on the plurality of blades (Figs. 4B, 5B and 6, note that Tchakarov teaches all the structural limitations of the claim).
Since both Howle and Tchakarov teaches the similar device for surface polishing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Howle by including magnetic means such that the abrasive means and the magnetic means are mutually fitted out so as to be mutually fixable, the magnetic means in turn being fitted out for the incorporation thereof in the blades through the magnetic means and wherein the magnetic means are first incorporated and reversibly fixed in the plurality of blades before the fixing thereof with the abrasive means in order to provide increased pull strength during lifting of the device (Tchakarov, Col. 2, lines 40-44).
Regarding claim 3, Howle as modified by Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Tchakarov further teaches the magnetic means incorporate hook and loop type fastener sheets (Tchakarov; Col. 4, lines 29-39) and the abrasive means are in turn fitted out for the connection thereof with said hook and loop type fastener sheets (Tchakarov; Col. 4, lines 29-39).
Regarding claim 4, Howle as modified by Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Howle as modified by Tchakarov further teaches the abrasive means and the magnetic means are mutually fitted out so as to be mutually fixable before the incorporation of the magnetic means in the blades but is a silent to the as to the abrasive means and the magnetic means fixable in a reversible manner before the incorporation. However, having the abrasive means and the magnetic means fixable in a reversible manner before the incorporation is not inventive and it is simply a reversal of parts or rearrangement of parts since the reversing would not have modified the operation of the device (In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) and In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the abrasive means and the magnetic means in the manner claim to allow only the replacement of a worn abrasive means.
Regarding claim 5, Howle as modified by Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Howle as modified by Tchakarov further teaches the abrasive means (550) and the magnetic means (510) are already mutually fixed in an integral manner before the incorporation of the magnetic means in the blades (Tchakarov, Figs. 4B-6).
Regarding claim 6, Howle as modified by Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Howle as modified by Tchakarov further teaches the magnetic means (510) comprise magnetized elements (510) (Tchakarov; Figs. 5A-5B; Col. 6, line 57-Col. 7, line 8).
Regarding claim 7, Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Tchakarov further teaches the abrasive means comprise diamond-coated elements (Tchakarov, Col. 3, line 66-Col. 4, line 5 and Howle; para. 0044).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745