DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites: “for the incorporation thereof” in lines 1-2 and lines 5-6 which should read: “for incorporation thereof”.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations: “the blades” in line 6 and line 7; “the same blades” in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may amend to: “the plurality of blades”.
Claim 2 recites the limitations: “can be previously incorporated”. The phrase “can be” is a non-affirmative statement and it is unclear whether the magnetic means are actually previously incorporated or not. The metes and bounds of the claim are unknown.
Claims 2, 4-5 each recites the limitation "the blades". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may amend to: “the plurality of blades”.
Claims 3, 6-7 are indefinite by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tchakarov (US 11,458,595 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Tchakarov teaches an accessory for a polishing machine, suitable for the incorporation thereof in a polishing machine comprising: a plurality of blades (300, 400, 500) (Figs. 2, 4A-4B; Col. 4, lines 19-25; Col. 5, lines 60-67) , the accessory comprising abrasive means (550) and magnetic means (510) (Figs. 5A-5B; Col. 6, line 57-Col. 7, line 8), wherein the abrasive means (550) and the magnetic means are mutually fitted out so as to be mutually fixable, the magnetic means in turn being fitted out for the incorporation thereof in the blades (Figs. 4A-5B), with the abrasive means (550) thereby being incorporated in the blades through said magnetic means (510), and with the same blades also being suitable and having movement capacity to allow floor polishing by means of the abrasive means incorporated therein (Figs. 4A-5B).
Regarding claim 2, Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Tchakarov further teaches the magnetic means can be previously incorporated and reversibly fixed in the blades before the fixing thereof with the abrasive means (Figs. 4B, 5B and 6).
Regarding claim 3, Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Tchakarov further teaches the magnetic means incorporate hook and loop type fastener sheets (Col. 4, lines 29-39) and the abrasive means are in turn fitted out for the connection thereof with said hook and loop type fastener sheets (Col. 4, lines 29-39).
Regarding claim 5, Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Tchakarov further teaches the abrasive means (550) and the magnetic means (510) are already mutually fixed in an integral manner before the incorporation of the magnetic means in the blades (Figs. 4B-6).
Regarding claim 6, Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Tchakarov further teaches the magnetic means (510) comprise magnetized elements (510) (Figs. 5A-5B; Col. 6, line 57-Col. 7, line 8).
Regarding claim 7, Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Tchakarov further teaches the abrasive means comprise diamond-coated elements (Col. 3, line 66-Col. 4, line 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tchakarov.
Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1 including the abrasive means and the magnetic means are mutually fitted out so as to be mutually fixable before the incorporation of the magnetic means in the blades but is a silent to the as to the abrasive means and the magnetic means fixable in a reversible manner before the incorporation. However, having the abrasive means and the magnetic means fixable in a reversible manner before the incorporation is not inventive and it is simply a reversal of parts or rearrangement of parts since the reversing would not have modified the operation of the device (In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) and In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the abrasive means and the magnetic means in the manner claim to allow only the replacement of a worn abrasive means.
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howle (US 2019/0211517 A1) in view of Tchakarov.
Regarding claim 1, Howle teaches an accessory for a polishing machine, suitable for the incorporation thereof in a polishing machine comprising: a plurality of blades (2) (Fig. 1, para. 0042), the accessory comprising abrasive means (10) (paras. 0043, 0049-0053; Figs. 3A, 3) and, with the abrasive means thereby being incorporated in the blades (paras. 0043, 0049-0053; Figs. 1-3A), and with the same blades also being suitable and having movement capacity to allow floor polishing by means of the abrasive means incorporated therein (Figs. 1-3A; paras. 0043, 0049-0053).
Howle fails to teach magnetic means, wherein the abrasive means and the magnetic means are mutually fitted out so as to be mutually fixable, the magnetic means in turn being fitted out for the incorporation thereof in the blades through the magnetic means.
However, Tchakarov teaches an accessory for a polishing machine, suitable for the incorporation thereof in a polishing machine comprising: a plurality of blades (300, 400, 500) (Figs. 2, 4A-4B; Col. 4, lines 19-25; Col. 5, lines 60-67) , the accessory comprising abrasive means (550) and magnetic means (510) (Figs. 5A-5B; Col. 6, line 57-Col. 7, line 8), wherein the abrasive means (550) and the magnetic means are mutually fitted out so as to be mutually fixable, the magnetic means in turn being fitted out for the incorporation thereof in the blades (Figs. 4A-5B), with the abrasive means (550) thereby being incorporated in the blades through said magnetic means (510), and with the same blades also being suitable and having movement capacity to allow floor polishing by means of the abrasive means incorporated therein (Figs. 4A-5B).
Since both Howle and Tchakarov teaches the similar device for surface polishing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Howle by including magnetic means such that the abrasive means and the magnetic means are mutually fitted out so as to be mutually fixable, the magnetic means in turn being fitted out for the incorporation thereof in the blades through the magnetic means in order to provide increased pull strength during lifting of the device (Tchakarov, Col. 2, lines 40-44).
Regarding claim 2, Howle as modified by Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Howle as modified by Tchakarov further teaches the magnetic means can be previously incorporated and reversibly fixed in the blades before the fixing thereof with the abrasive means (Tchakarov, Figs. 4B, 5B and 6).
Regarding claim 3, Howle as modified by Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Tchakarov further teaches the magnetic means incorporate hook and loop type fastener sheets (Tchakarov; Col. 4, lines 29-39) and the abrasive means are in turn fitted out for the connection thereof with said hook and loop type fastener sheets (Tchakarov; Col. 4, lines 29-39).
Regarding claim 4, Howle as modified by Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Howle as modified by Tchakarov further teaches the abrasive means and the magnetic means are mutually fitted out so as to be mutually fixable before the incorporation of the magnetic means in the blades but is a silent to the as to the abrasive means and the magnetic means fixable in a reversible manner before the incorporation. However, having the abrasive means and the magnetic means fixable in a reversible manner before the incorporation is not inventive and it is simply a reversal of parts or rearrangement of parts since the reversing would not have modified the operation of the device (In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) and In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the abrasive means and the magnetic means in the manner claim to allow only the replacement of a worn abrasive means.
Regarding claim 5, Howle as modified by Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Howle as modified by Tchakarov further teaches the abrasive means (550) and the magnetic means (510) are already mutually fixed in an integral manner before the incorporation of the magnetic means in the blades (Tchakarov, Figs. 4B-6).
Regarding claim 6, Howle as modified by Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Howle as modified by Tchakarov further teaches the magnetic means (510) comprise magnetized elements (510) (Tchakarov; Figs. 5A-5B; Col. 6, line 57-Col. 7, line 8).
Regarding claim 7, Tchakarov teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Tchakarov further teaches the abrasive means comprise diamond-coated elements (Tchakarov, Col. 3, line 66-Col. 4, line 5 and Howle; para. 0044).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2021/0317669 A1 discloses a polishing machine comprising a plurality of blades and magnetic means.
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745