Detail Action
This office action is a response to an amendment submitted on 07/29/2026.
Claims 1- 23 are pending for examination.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/19/2023. These drawings are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) were submitted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 10, 11, 13, 17 and 18 have been cancelled.
Claims 21- 23 have been newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are summarized as follows;
Applicant argued that Prior Art Hu does not disclose “X consecutive preambles, available for different terminal types, … and all associated with an SSB”. [See Remarks/ Argument: Pg. 6].
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the current above arguments.
In response to applicants’ argument that, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In this case, the claim broadly recites additional limitation “ where SSB is associated with X preambles with consecutive numbers…. Wherein N2 is greater than or equal to 2, and … number of preambles available for each terminal type in the X preambles are consecutive”. This additional limitation does not necessarily require to associated SSB with X consecutive preambles that are available for different terminal types. The claim reasonably encompasses one SSB associated with X consecutive preambles, with multiple preambles “available for each” of N2 terminal types/ respective terminal types, which are included in the method taught or suggested by He.
Additionally, He explicitly disclosed wherein the first resource corresponds to one synchronization signal block [He: Pg. 6 teaches Every N (N>=1) consecutive preambles are mapped to valid PUSCH resources], the synchronization signal block is associated with X preambles with consecutive numbers [He: Pg. 5; If N>=1, the preambles of R consecutive indices are mapped to SSB n], the X preambles comprise multiple preambles available for each N2 different terminal types [He: Figs. 10-12; Pgs. 9- 10 teaches preambles sets are used for first type and second type terminals], Wherein N2 is an integer greater than or equal to N1 and greater than or equal to 2, and numbers of preambles available for each terminal type in the X preambles are consecutive [He: Pg. 5; If N>=1, the preambles of R consecutive indices are mapped to SSB n; and Every N (N>=1) consecutive preambles are mapped to valid PUSCH resources in the following order:]
Therefore, the distinction is not enough under 102 if the same claim limitations are disclosed. And, a reference need not use the applicant’s terminology, disclose the applicant’s intended use if it reasonably teaches the same functional limitation, and He anticipated the limitations arranged as claimed.
Therefore, applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 12, 14-16, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a][2] as being anticipated by He et al. (WO 2022099614 A1); hereinafter “He”.
Regarding claim 1, He teaches A data transmission method, comprising:
sending uplink information of a first terminal device on a first resource [He Pg. 7; Par. 10 teaches In the random access process of type 2, the message A sent by the terminal of the first type or the terminal of the second type includes a preamble and a PUSCH, and the PUSCH resource corresponds to the time-frequency resource where the PUSCH is located], wherein the uplink information comprises a preamble [Abstract teaches he first preamble set belonging to a first RO set, and the first preamble set or the first RO set being used in a random access process of a first-type terminal; mapping a second preamble set to a second PUSCH resource set according to a second mapping mode, the second preamble set belonging to a second RO set, and the second preamble set or the second RO set being used in a random access process of a second-type terminal, wherein the random access process is a type-2 random access process], the preamble is a preamble that is available for a first terminal type in the first resource, a type of the first terminal device is the first terminal type, the first resource corresponds to a preamble available for N1 terminal types, wherein N1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and physical uplink shared channel resource units (PRUs) corresponding to preambles available for different terminal types are different; or the first resource is a PRU available for a first terminal type, a type of the first terminal device is the first terminal type, and PRUs available for different terminal types are different [He: Pg. 7; Par. 12 teaches since the PUSCH resource is associated with the DMRS, a PUSCH resource associated with each other and a DMRS constitute a physical uplink shared channel resource unit (PUSCH Resource Unit, PRU), and the first PUSCH resource set can also be understood as the first PRU set. , the second PUSCH resource set may also be understood as the second PRU set. The first set of PRUs includes PRUs for a type 2 random access procedure for a first type of terminal. The second set of PRUs includes PRUs for a type 2 random access procedure for a second type of terminal].
wherein the first resource corresponds to one synchronization signal block [He: Pg. 6 teaches Every N (N>=1) consecutive preambles are mapped to valid PUSCH resources], the synchronization signal block is associated with X preambles with consecutive numbers [He: Pg. 5; If N>=1, the preambles of R consecutive indices are mapped to SSB n], the X preambles comprise multiple preambles available for each N2 different terminal types [He: Figs. 10-12; Pgs. 9- 10 teaches preambles sets are used for first type and second type terminals], Wherein N2 is an integer greater than or equal to N1 and greater than or equal to 2, and numbers of preambles available for each terminal type in the X preambles are consecutive [He: Pg. 5; If N>=1, the preambles of R consecutive indices are mapped to SSB n; and Every N (N>=1) consecutive preambles are mapped to valid PUSCH resources in the following order:]
Regarding claim 2, He teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. He further teaches wherein demodulation reference signals (DMRSs) corresponding to the PRUs available for different terminal types are different, or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) time-frequency resources corresponding to the PRUs available for different terminal types are different [He: He: Pg. 7; Par. 12].
Regarding claim 5, He teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. He further teaches wherein the sending the uplink information is performed when the first terminal device is in a non-connected state [He: Pg. 6; Par. 8- 10 teaches t for the terminal, since it cannot obtain the information of the preamble set configured by the reduced capability terminal, it can only map the preamble set configured by itself with the PUSCH resource set. The preamble in message A sent by the terminal and the PUSCH do not conform to the mapping relationship determined by the network device according to the scheme, because the network device will determine the PUSCH sent by the terminal according to the received preamble and the mapping relationship determined by itself, while the terminal The actually sent PUSCH does not conform to the PUSCH determined by the network, so that the PUSCH of the terminal during the random access process of type 2 cannot be correctly received by the network device].
Regarding claim 7, He teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. He further teaches wherein antenna capabilities corresponding to different terminal types are different [He: Pg. 7; Par. 9 teaches of antennas of the reduced capability terminal].
Regarding claim 8, He teaches An apparatus, comprising: a memory comprising instructions and one or more processors configured to execute instructions causing the apparatus to: send uplink information of a first terminal device on a first resource [He Pg. 7; Par. 10 teaches In the random access process of type 2, the message A sent by the terminal of the first type or the terminal of the second type includes a preamble and a PUSCH, and the PUSCH resource corresponds to the time-frequency resource where the PUSCH is located], wherein the uplink information comprises a preamble, the preamble is a preamble that is available for a first terminal type in the first resource, a type of the first terminal device is the first terminal type, the first resource corresponds to a preamble available for N1 terminal types, wherein N1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and physical uplink shared channel resource units (PRUs) corresponding to preambles available for different terminal types are different; or the first resource is a PRU available for a first terminal type, a type of the first terminal device is the first terminal type, and PRUs available for different terminal types are different [He: Pg. 7; Par. 12 teaches since the PUSCH resource is associated with the DMRS, a PUSCH resource associated with each other and a DMRS constitute a physical uplink shared channel resource unit (PUSCH Resource Unit, PRU), and the first PUSCH resource set can also be understood as the first PRU set. , the second PUSCH resource set may also be understood as the second PRU set. The first set of PRUs includes PRUs for a type 2 random access procedure for a first type of terminal. The second set of PRUs includes PRUs for a type 2 random access procedure for a second type of terminal]
wherein the first resource corresponds to one synchronization signal block [He: Pg. 6 teaches Every N (N>=1) consecutive preambles are mapped to valid PUSCH resources], the synchronization signal block is associated with X preambles with consecutive numbers [He: Pg. 5; If N>=1, the preambles of R consecutive indices are mapped to SSB n], the X preambles comprise multiple preambles available for each N2 different terminal types [He: Figs. 10-12; Pgs. 9- 10 teaches preambles sets are used for first type and second type terminals], Wherein N2 is an integer greater than or equal to N1 and greater than or equal to 2, and numbers of preambles available for each terminal type in the X preambles are consecutive [He: Pg. 5; If N>=1, the preambles of R consecutive indices are mapped to SSB n; and Every N (N>=1) consecutive preambles are mapped to valid PUSCH resources in the following order:]
Regarding claim 9 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 12 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 14 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, He teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that are executable by a computer, and the instructions comprise instructions for: send uplink information of a first terminal device on a first resource [He Pg. 7; Par. 10 teaches In the random access process of type 2, the message A sent by the terminal of the first type or the terminal of the second type includes a preamble and a PUSCH, and the PUSCH resource corresponds to the time-frequency resource where the PUSCH is located], wherein the uplink information comprises a preamble, the preamble is a preamble that is available for a first terminal type in the first resource, a type of the first terminal device is the first terminal type, the first resource corresponds to a preamble available for N1 terminal types, wherein N1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and physical uplink shared channel resource units (PRUs) corresponding to preambles available for different terminal types are different; or the first resource is a PRU available for a first terminal type, a type of the first terminal device is the first terminal type, and PRUs available for different terminal types are different [He: Pg. 7; Par. 12 teaches since the PUSCH resource is associated with the DMRS, a PUSCH resource associated with each other and a DMRS constitute a physical uplink shared channel resource unit (PUSCH Resource Unit, PRU), and the first PUSCH resource set can also be understood as the first PRU set. , the second PUSCH resource set may also be understood as the second PRU set. The first set of PRUs includes PRUs for a type 2 random access procedure for a first type of terminal. The second set of PRUs includes PRUs for a type 2 random access procedure for a second type of terminal]. wherein the first resource corresponds to one synchronization signal block [He: Pg. 6 teaches Every N (N>=1) consecutive preambles are mapped to valid PUSCH resources], the synchronization signal block is associated with X preambles with consecutive numbers [He: Pg. 5; If N>=1, the preambles of R consecutive indices are mapped to SSB n], the X preambles comprise multiple preambles available for each N2 different terminal types [He: Figs. 10-12; Pgs. 9- 10 teaches preambles sets are used for first type and second type terminals], Wherein N2 is an integer greater than or equal to N1 and greater than or equal to 2, and numbers of preambles available for each terminal type in the X preambles are consecutive [He: Pg. 5; If N>=1, the preambles of R consecutive indices are mapped to SSB n; and Every N (N>=1) consecutive preambles are mapped to valid PUSCH resources in the following order:]
Regarding claim 16 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 19 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 21, He further teaches wherein the uplink information comprises the preamble, the preamble is the preamble that is available for the first terminal type in the first resource, the type of the first terminal device is the first terminal type, the first resource corresponds to the preamble available for N1 terminal types, wherein N1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and the PRUs corresponding to preambles available for different terminal types are different [Hu: Fig. 10; Pg.6, 7 teaches PRU have different set for different terminal types; first and second preamble sets is mapped to first and second resources and used for first-type and second type terminal; He: Pg. 5; If N>=1, the preambles of R consecutive indices are mapped to SSB n; and Every N (N>=1) consecutive preambles are mapped to valid PUSCH resources in the following order].
Regarding claim 22 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 21.
Regarding claim 23 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412