DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant argument and amendments filed on 04/06/2026 are considered. Claims 1, 14, 19 and 20 are amended. A new claim 21 is added.
Claim rejection under 35 U.S.C 112 (b): Applicant amended claims 1, 19 and 20 to remove the unclear terms. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
Claim rejection under 35 U.S.C 102/103: A further search and consideration Found prior art teaching or suggesting the amended limitation. Please the claims rejections in their respective sections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-17, 19, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed US 20180266233 A1 in view of Mojtaba et al “Implementation of a fully automated real-time torque and drag model for improving drilling performance: Case study, 2018” herein after “Mojtaba”
Regarding claim 1, Ahmed teaches a method comprising:
acquiring real-time data during rig operations that comprise rig operations for drilling a borehole in a subsurface geologic region using a drillstring that comprises a drill bit (para [0008] In a first aspect, a computer-implemented method for realtime remote management of operation of a drilling rig is disclosed. The method includes monitoring a calculated actual vertical running speed of a drill string during tripping of the drill string into and from a subterranean well from the drilling rig, para [0061] The casing 152 houses a plurality of segments of a drill string 150 as well as a bit (not shown) located at a downhole end of the drill string that is used for drilling operations within the drilled hole 154.), wherein the drill string comprises stands of drill pipe (para [0035] FIG. 23 is a table view of a number of stands included in a drill string, displayed within the graphical user interface of FIG. 3, according to a possible embodiment of the present disclosure);
From above paragraphs, the method of Ahmed provides a real time monitoring or acquiring rig operations for drilling in subterranean (i.e., subsurface) geologic region using a drillstring that has a drill bit.
based on stand statistics, using at least a portion of the real-time data (para [0070] In example embodiments, the displacement analysis component 214 calculates an actual displacement for each stand (e.g., segment) that is added to or removed from the drill string.) calibrating a torque and drag model that models torque and drag of the drill string in the borehole (para [0081] The flowchart also compares a filtered hook load to a drilling model (step 408), which can be accomplished as shown by, for example, filtering initial acceleration and deceleration in a hookload while tripping and comparing that to planned hookload determined from an engineering desktop model for torque and drag features of the well.);
From above paragraphs based on the increase or decrease of displacement of stand from real time data (i.e., the stand statistics), a torque and drag model is calibrated (i.e., by comparing a hook load) for the drill string in well or borehole.
based on operation statistics (para [0071] The displacement analysis component 214 is further useable to compare that actual displacement to a calculated displacement to determine if there is an over/under displacement on a per-stand basis. This calculation is measured taking into account the specific practices on the associated drilling rig, such as filling/emptying the trip tank while tripping.), calling for use of the torque and drag model to make a prediction (para [0081] this can also include generation of alarms when the difference between actual and calculated torque (or drag) exceeds a user-defined threshold, or if a trend changes drastically over time.); and
Taking into account of process for the drilling rig (i.e., based on operation statistics), the torque and drag model is used (i.e., call) to generate (i.e., make) an alarm indicating if a difference between actual and calculated torque and drag exceeds a threshold (i.e., prediction).
based at least in part on the prediction, detecting an anomaly (para [0086] For example, in addition to those show, maximum initial pickup weight, slack off weight, and torque per stand can be displayed. Optionally, a color coding of a row for each row is provided (each row representing a particular segment or stand being added or removed). Additionally, an alarm will sound when there is an anomaly in displacement and/or running speed of a drill string that is monitored.).
based on the prediction that (i.e., torque or drag change display or monitor), an alarm will sound when anomaly is detected.
Ahmed does not clearly teach wherein the stand statistics are determined by aggregating the real-time data over first time intervals corresponding to adding or removing respective stands of drill pipe and wherein the calibrating is performed at a first frequency corresponding to stand addition or removal events;
wherein the operation statistics are determined over second time intervals shorter than the first time intervals, and wherein the calling for use of the torque and drag model is triggered based on the operation statistics and performed at a second frequency higher than the first frequency.
Mojtaba teaches wherein the stand statistics are determined by aggregating the real-time data over first time intervals corresponding to adding or removing respective stands of drill pipe (page 2, line 16, In addition to real-time data, the system takes information from multiple sources, including the daily drilling report (DDR), to aggregate the data for use in near real-time models.
Page 4, second paragraph. The inputs required to create a torque and drag model include: wellbore surveys, block weight, mud weight, mud type, drill pipe weights, grades, and connections, as well as casing depths and friction factors (for both cased and open hole sections).Drill pipe weight, which makes up the vast majority of total drill string weight in lateral assemblies, is often a major source of error due to subjection to harsh environments and differences in manufacturing techniques. Connections suffer wear from repeated make up and break out, tool joints wear from contact with the formation, internal plastic coatings wash out over time, large loads and high pressures deform pipe bodies, and even the tightest manufacturing tolerances result in differing dimensions that affect hook load values over tens of thousands of feet.),
Here examiner views the real time drill pipe weights and connections (i.e., adding or removing respective stands of drill pipe) are aggregated before (i.e., first time interval) a torque and drag model is used. and wherein the calibrating is performed at a first frequency corresponding to stand addition or removal events (page 4, second paragraph,… For this reason, it is often necessary to modify the adjusted drill pipe weight to more closely match actual hook load values for a trip. Adjusting the drill pipe weight equally alters the slope of modeled trip in and out values, as shown below in torque and drag broomstick plots for a horizontal well in the Pern1ian Basin (Figure 2 and 3).
Page 11, line 5. ln an effort to analyze the effectiveness of the real time data selection, the resulting data points were compared to unfiltered 1-Hz data from the third party EDR provider for a test well (Figure 10) );
The real time drill pipe weights and connections (i.e., adding or removing respective stands of drill pipe) is compared to the unfiltered data and adjusted (i.e., calibrated) at a frequency.
wherein the operation statistics are determined over second time intervals shorter than the first time intervals, and wherein the calling for use of the torque and drag model is triggered based on the operation statistics (page 3 line 2. Many have focused efforts on increasing accuracy of the stiffstring model and decreasing the time and computing power required to generate them. Menand et al. (2006) presented a stiff-string model with an improved numerical scheme that does not require time-consuming finite element calculations. Tikhonov et al. (2014) illustrated a stiff-string model which assumes a SteadyState solution for the drill string motion, thereby reducing computing time.
page 5, line 9. however, in order to use it in an automated manner, the adjusted pipe weight should be calculated. To do so, we compiled a database of drill pipe specifications including that of API 5DP, the industry standard, and a catalog in torque and drag modeling software commonly used by the Operator. Then, using a generalized linear regression model, we have extracted an equation to be used in real-time to calculate adjusted pipe weight. As shown in Figure 4 and Table 1, adding the pipe grade to the formulation)
Examiner views after data collection, the torque and drag model is used or trigged for regression data analysis (i.e., operation statistics) at the second interval (which is shorter time) than collecting data (first time interval) from drilling operation.
and performed at a second frequency higher than the first frequency (page 13, second paragraph line 4. More iterations are being run with different filtering techniques to further refine the data selection process. Figure l 4 below shows the torque and drag broomstick plot for BHA 5 from our test well in the real-time platform.); and
Since torque and drag model analyzes data faster in shorter time with a reduced computation time, more iterations with different filtering technique are obtained. Examiner views the frequency of use of the model with filtered (for example high pass filter) data will be higher than the first frequency.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Mojtaba into Ahmed for the purpose of using torque and drag model after the data is collected at higher frequency so that the analyzed data by the model is accurately presented for the detection of anomaly in drilling process.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 1, Ahmed teaches wherein the anomaly comprises stuck drill pipe (para [0125] Referring to FIGS. 36-37, details regarding a drag alarm are provided. An increase in drag alarm may occur, for example, where a drill string is being operated at too high a speed, and is experiencing substantial hookload stress that may result in damage to the drill string and/or may cause breakage of the formation around the wellbore, resulting in loss of drilling mud and various other drilling problems.).
Here alarm (i.e., anomaly) due to high hookload is viewed to comprise problem of stuck drill pipe.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 1, Ahmed teaches wherein the anomaly comprises a precursor to stuck drill pipe (Para [0083] Additionally, the method 400 includes determining a differential pressure exerted on the string (step 414), and alarm generation based on those pressures. For example, the method can be performed to alert users to prevent a drop in hydrostatic pressure and corresponding potential collapse in the drill pipe during tripping in a closed-ended mode. A closed-ended trip is generally a type of trip performed in which drilling fluid cannot enter the bottom of the drill string while tripping, and therefore returns up the drilled hole external to the drill string. Para [0086] For example, in addition to those show, maximum initial pickup weight, slack off weight, and torque per stand can be displayed. Optionally, a color coding of a row for each row is provided (each row representing a particular segment or stand being added or removed). Additionally, an alarm will sound when there is an anomaly in displacement and/or running speed of a drill string that is monitored.).
Herein examiner views the alarm for anomaly comprises an alert (precursor) to collapse in drill pipe where the drill fluid cannot pass or enter the bottom of the drill string while tripping.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 3, Ahmed teaches wherein the precursor comprises a variation in one or more of pick-up forces and slack-off forces (please see in claim 3 the display for changes in pickup and slack off weight (force)).
Regarding claim 5, Ahmed teaches the method of claim 1, comprising determining the stand statistics responsive to detection of a rig state indicative of adding a stand for increasing length of the drillstring (para [0070] In example embodiments, the displacement analysis component 214 calculates an actual displacement for each stand (e.g., segment) that is added to or removed from the drill string… the actual displacement corresponds to an amount of drilling mud added to or removed from the drill string based on the change in drill string (to accommodate the length of the stand). Para [0071] …This calculation is measured taking into account the specific practices on the associated drilling rig,).
From above paragraphs examiner views the increase or adding of stand (i.e., stand statistic) for increasing string length is responsive to detection associated with drilling rig state.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 1, Ahmed teaches comprising determining the operation statistics responsive to detection of a rig state indicative of type of rig operation (para [0069] In addition to the components of the well event detection and response application 212, the memory 204 stores drill rig data 224, corresponding to data aggregated from one or more drilling rig sites 102a-n of FIG. 1. Details regarding the various types of drill rig data 224 are provided below in connection with the discussion of the analysis performed by the well event detection and response application 212.).
The processing of recording data of drill rig (i.e., determining operation statistics) is responsive or based on the type of rig state indicative of type of rig operation or performance data.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 1, Ahmed teaches comprising processing the real-time data to generate processed real-time data (para [0060] The one or more realtime operators 106 have primary responsibility to monitor data at the drill site management server 105, e.g., via the automated well event detection and response system…. The one or more drilling site managers 107 consult with the realtime operators 106 to assess events and respond appropriately. Details regarding automated detection of events that were previously required to be monitored and assessed by the realtime operators 106 and drilling side managers are provided below.
Here realtime operator is viewed to generate processed real time data.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 1, Ahmed teaches comprising detecting a rig state based at least in part on the real-time data (para [0005] When realtime operators detect an anomaly or other operation of a rig that might require intervention, the realtime operator may consult with a drill site manager, who is another employee at a centralized control center).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 1, Ahmed teaches wherein the calibrating, calling and detecting occur automatically ([0014] FIG. 2 is a schematic view of a system for automated well event detection and response, according to an example embodiment of the present disclosure;).
Here automated well event detection (i.e., drilling, detecting torque drag in drillstring etc) and response is viewed as automated calling, detection and calibrating torque drag are performed in the prior art.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 1, Ahmed teaches comprising, responsive to the detecting, issuing a signal (para [0086] Additionally, an alarm will sound when there is an anomaly in displacement and/or running speed of a drill string that is monitored.).
Alarm is viewed to be issuing a signal responsive to detecting anomaly.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 10, Ahmed teaches wherein the signal comprises an alarm (please see claim 10 above).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 10, Ahmed teaches wherein the signal comprises a control signal for control of at least one piece of equipment (para [103] Example alarming features may be used to adjust a running speed and/or fluid levels to manage bottom hole pressure and avoid unsafe, damaging, or wasteful conditions that might occur in the wellbore.).
Here alarm (signal) is viewed to use to control or manage the speed or fluid level equipment.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 1, Ahmed teaches wherein the calibrating occurs during adding or removing a stand added to the drill pipe. (para [0057] Referring first to FIGS. 1-5, an automated well event detection and response system is described that can be used to implement aspects of the present disclosure, according to example embodiments. [0070] In example embodiments, the displacement analysis component 214 calculates an actual displacement for each stand (e.g., segment) that is added to or removed from the drill string… In this context, the actual displacement corresponds to an amount of drilling mud added to or removed from the drill string based on the change in drill string (to accommodate the length of the stand).
Here the displacement analysis is used to calibrate (i.e., to compare and accommodate/adjust) during the addition or removal of stand of drill pipe.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 1, Ahmed teaches comprising generating a visualization in real-time for assessing torque and drag with respect to measured depth of the drill bit (para 0146] In addition to the above, various other informational alerts may be generated by the well event detection and response application 212 and displayed via user interface 300. For example, the user interface 300 may display a schematic of the well bore and bottom hole assembly in the well with actual bit depth as the drill string is being run or pulled from the well. Para [0147] Working a drill sting within acceptable torque and drag limitations may assist in reducing drill string wear and preventing drill sting failure, so maintaining a proper running speed is critical to cost-effective tripping).
Display is viewed to be a visualization in real time of torque and drage assessment with respect to the bit depth of the drill.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 15, Ahmed teaches, wherein the visualization comprises indicators of friction factors (para [0126] The method 3600 includes allowing a user to select a friction factor (step 3604), which allows the user to select a constant that models the average friction experienced per stand length in the wellbore.).
Here the user is able select the indicator of friction factor and visualize the friction factor.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 1, Ahmed teaches wherein the calibrating utilizes a friction factor (para [0126], [0127] The filtered hookload curve that is monitored during tripping can be compared to a model hookload curve that is expected given the drill string parameters and the friction factor (step 3610). If a difference between the filtered hookload and the model hookload is greater than a predetermined threshold, it is likely that the drill string is encountering one of two conditions. First, the drill string could be experiencing a greater-than-expected hookload, and therefore may require intervention to reduce operation speed to reduce the experienced hookload. Second, the drill string may be experiencing a lower-than-expected hookload, and therefore an operational speed may be increased, as long as the actual running speed is below the modeled running speed.)
From above, examiner views calibrating of hookload uses a friction factor.
Claim 19 and 20 are rejected as claim 1 having same limitations or elements.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 1, Ahmed teaches wherein the calibrating is performed in response to detection of adding or removing a stand of drill pipe (para [0057] Referring first to FIGS. 1-5, an automated well event detection and response system is described that can be used to implement aspects of the present disclosure, according to example embodiments. [0070] In example embodiments, the displacement analysis component 214 calculates an actual displacement for each stand (e.g., segment) that is added to or removed from the drill string… In this context, the actual displacement corresponds to an amount of drilling mud added to or removed from the drill string based on the change in drill string (to accommodate the length of the stand).
Here the displacement analysis is used to calibrate (i.e., to compare and accommodate/adjust) during detection of the addition or removal of stand of drill pipe.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba in view of Benson et al (US 20210293128 A1) herein after “Benson”.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 1, the combination does not clearly teach wherein the calibrating occurs at a connection of a stand to the drillstring.
Benson teaches wherein the calibrating occurs at a connection of a stand to the drillstring (para [0210] A standard practice in drilling operations for drilling with newly added drill pipes is to measure the lengths and inventory the sequence of drill pipe joints as they are being assembled into stands (sub assembled pieces sized to the height of the derrick) and queued for assembly into the deepening drill string. This inventory is often referred to as the pipe tally. As described earlier the pipe tally can be referenced during drilling to calculate the length of the drillstring (sum of the lengths of all assembled joints comprising the drill string. These periodic corrections are called pipe tally corrections, and are generally furnished to the rig sensors as a small correction to the WITS (wellsite information transfer specification) hole depth. WITS hole depth is subsequently tracked by adding the measure block position movement as the drill string drills deeper.
Herein examiner views the periodic pipe tally corrections as calibration occurring at a joints or connections of a stand to the drillstring.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Benson into Ahmed for the purpose of having a calibration at the connection of standpipe for the drill string so that the appropriate correction or adjustment of the pipes can be performed when the pipes are added for the drilling.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed in view of Samuel (US 20230054050 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ahmed and Mojtaba teaches the method of claim 1, the combination does not clearly teach wherein the calibrating utilizes a linear weight coefficient.
Samuel teaches wherein the calibrating utilizes a linear weight coefficient (para [0019] Various example embodiments also adjust the estimated hook load based on the measured hook load for a drillstring with centralizers (or standoff devices). For a drillstring with centralizers, running drag can be calculated and added to the measured hook load to determine adjusted drillstring weight. The estimated drillstring weight can then be adjusted based on a comparison between the slope of the measured hook load and the slope of the estimated hook load.).
Herein examiner views the slope of hook load (i.e., linear weight coefficient) is used for calibration of drill string weight.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Samuel into Ahmed for the purpose of using linear weight coefficient for calibration so that the drillstring weight (torque or drag) can be properly adjusted for drilling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang US 20200173268 A1 discusses monitoring borehole during drilling.
Caswell et al US 20140020953 A1 discuss monitoring drill rig in boring.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARAD TIMILSINA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857