DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has presented several arguments, each of which are addressed below.
The 3D porous electrode (reticulated vitreous carbon or RVC) of Walsh et al was used in a completely different electrosynthesis reaction and differences in reactant solubility, solvent composition and viscosity, ionic conductivity, diffusivity, reaction kinetics, reactive intermediates, and electrode-surface processes may materially affect mass transport and the role of electrolyte stirring or flow.
In response, while section 5.3 of Walsh et al refers to the ability of the RVC electrode to obviate the need for stirring in the context of a CdSe electrosynthesis process, additional teachings are present in Walsh et al, especially section 4.2, that discuss another electrosynthesis process (electrodeposition of MnO2) where the RVC electrode in a flow-by configuration increased mass transport across the entire RVC electrode surface area and uniform reaction rates could be achieved without stirring. Thus, the totality of evidence in Walsh et al shows that it is not the particular synthesis reaction that benefits from the RVC electrode to avoid the need for stirring, but rather a characteristic of the RVC electrode that improves mass transfer at the electrode surface better than stirring when the RVC electrode is utilized in a flow-by or flow-through configuration.
However, Applicant’s argument does invoke reconsideration of the rejection of claim 6, as that claim recites the reactor being a batch reactor. Since the benefit of the RVC electrodes was taught by Walsh et al as being in flow-by or flow-through configurations, the advantage of the RVC electrodes would have been absent from the batch reactor and thus there was no motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art from Walsh et al to have added the RVC electrode to a batch reactor.
Bortnikov et al fail to teach an RVC electrode and no stirring while Walsh et al fail to teach an AC power supply and organic reactants.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In view of the withdrawal of the rejection grounds for claim 6, a new search was performed, resulting in new prior art being found and applied against all claims below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bortnikov et al (“Coupling of Alternating Current to Transition-Metal Catalysis: Examples of Nickel-Catalyzed Cross-Coupling”) in view of Walsh et al (“The continued development of reticulated vitreous carbon as a versatile electrode material: Structure, properties and applications”).
Bortnikov et al teach (see abstract, first paragraph of “Results and Discussion” section, and fig. 2(a)) an electrochemical reactor apparatus comprising a reactor body (beaker), glassy carbon electrodes and an AC source.
Bortnikov et al fail to teach (1) at least one electrode being a 3D porous electrode or (2) the electrochemical reactor does not include a stirring element.
Regarding (1), Walsh et al teach (see abstract, sections 1 and 5.3) that reticulated vitreous carbon (RVC) electrodes in organic electrosynthesis reactors were advantageous due to the high active surface area and high mass transport of electroactive species to the surface of the reticulated vitreous carbon material. The RVC electrodes were useful in organic electrosynthesis applications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have substituted the RVC electrodes of Walsh et al in place of the glassy carbon electrodes of Bortnikov et al because Walsh et al teach that the reticulated vitreous carbon was an advantageous electrode material for electrochemical synthesis, including high surface area and high mass transport at the electrode surface.
Regarding (2), Walsh et al teach (see next to last paragraph of section 5.3) that using RVC electrodes in a flow through reactor design could prevent the need (“could be superseded”) for stirring of the electrolyte. Thus, there was recognition in the prior art that RVC electrodes could obviate stirring elements that would otherwise be necessary for adequate mass transfer in the electrolyte.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have omitted the stirring element of Bortnikov et al when using the RVC electrodes in a flow through reactor as suggested by Walsh et al when stirring was not desired. See MPEP 2144.04.II.A.
Note that the term “glassy carbon” used by Bortnikov et al is known to be synonymous with the term “vitreous carbon”, and thus the difference between the electrodes of Bortnikov et al and the electrodes of Walsh et al is considered to be the shape of the material since both electrodes were made form the same vitreous/glassy carbon material.
With respect to “wherein said reactor is an organic electrosynthesis reactor”, this limitation refers to the intended use of the reactor. Per MPEP 2114, apparatus claims that include recitations to the manner of operation are limited by the recited structural elements, and here, the identity of the reaction being performed by the electrochemical cell does not impart any structure. However, even if the claim limitation is given patentable weight, Bortnikov et al clearly teaches using the electrochemical reactor for performing organic electrosynthesis reactions (see abstract, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Walsh et al teach (see section 5.3) using RVC as an electrode in an organic electrosynthesis reactor.
Regarding claims 3-5, Walsh et al describes (see section 2) various RVC materials with a ppi (pores per inch) value of either 10, 30, 60 or 100. In section 5.3, Walsh et al teach using the 10 ppi RVC material as an electrode for electrosynthesis.
Regarding claim 7, Walsh et al suggest using the RVC electrodes in a flow through reactor to obviate the need for stirring elements.
Regarding claim 8, Bortnikov et al suggest both electrodes by glassy carbon. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have substituted the RVC material of Walsh et al for both electrodes in the reactor of Bortnikov et al.
Regarding claim 9, Bortnikov et al teach (see page S24 of the supporting information) utilizing the glassy electrodes with an alternating current, wherein a glass paper filter was used as a divider between the electrodes.
Regarding claim 21, with respect to “wherein said organic electrosynthesis is selected from” followed by a long list of potential reactions, this limitation refers to the intended use of the reactor. Per MPEP 2114, apparatus claims that include recitations to the manner of operation are limited by the recited structural elements, and here, the identity of the reaction being performed by the electrochemical cell does not impart any structure. However, even if the claim limitation is given patentable weight, Bortnikov et al clearly teaches using the
electrochemical reactor for performing amination of aryl halides (see abstract, fig. 2, part B reproduced herein).
Claims 1-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bortnikov et al (“Coupling of Alternating Current to Transition-Metal Catalysis: Examples of Nickel-Catalyzed Cross-Coupling”) in view of Szanto et al (“Evaluation of carbon electrodes and electrosynthesis of coumestan and catecholamine derivatives in the FM01-LC electrolyser”) with evidence from Rivera et al (“The filter-press FM01-LC laboratory flow reactor and its applications”).
Bortnikov et al teach (see abstract, first paragraph of “Results and Discussion” section, and fig. 2(a)) an electrochemical reactor apparatus comprising a reactor body (beaker), glassy carbon electrodes and an AC source. Bortnikov et al further teach (see fig. 4C and first full paragraph on page 787) an embodiment where stirring was omitted.
Bortnikov et al fail to teach at least one electrode being a 3D porous electrode.
Szanto et al teach (see abstract, sections 1 and 3.2) that reticulated vitreous carbon (RVC) electrodes were useful for performing organic electrosynthesis reactions due to the high active surface area and high mass transport of electroactive species to the surface of the reticulated vitreous carbon material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have substituted the RVC electrodes of Szanto et al in place of the glassy carbon electrodes of Bortnikov et al because Szanto et al teach that the reticulated vitreous carbon was an advantageous electrode material for electrochemical synthesis, including high surface area and high mass transport at the electrode surface.
Note that the term “glassy carbon” used by Bortnikov et al is known to be synonymous with the term “vitreous carbon”, and thus the difference between the electrodes of Bortnikov et al and the electrodes of Szanto et al is considered to be the shape of the material since both electrodes were made form the same vitreous/glassy carbon material.
With respect to “wherein said reactor is an organic electrosynthesis reactor”, this limitation refers to the intended use of the reactor. Per MPEP 2114, apparatus claims that include recitations to the manner of operation are limited by the recited structural elements, and here, the identity of the reaction being performed by the electrochemical cell does not impart any structure. However, even if the claim limitation is given patentable weight, Bortnikov et al and Szanto et al both clearly teach using the electrochemical reactor for performing organic electrosynthesis reactions (see abstract, fig. 2 of Bortnikov et al, section 3.2 of Szanto et al).
Regarding claim 2, Szanto et al teach (see section 3.2) using RVC as an electrode in an organic electrosynthesis reactor.
Regarding claims 3-5, Szanto et al describes (see last paragraph on page 254) using various RVC materials with a ppi (pores per inch) value of 30, 60 or 100.
Regarding claim 6, Bortnikov et al show the electrochemical reactor being a batch reactor. Szanto et al also indicate that the RVC electrodes improved mass transfer at the electrode surface, and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing understood that stirring was performed in electrochemical reactors to improve mass transfer. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that the improved mass transfer of the RVC electrodes could offset the loss of mass transfer for the no-stirring embodiment of Bortnikov et al.
Regarding claim 7, Szanto et al suggest using the RVC electrodes in a flow through reactor (see fig. 2 of Rivera et al).
Regarding claim 8, Bortnikov et al suggest both electrodes by glassy carbon. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have substituted the RVC material of Szanto et al for both electrodes in the reactor of Bortnikov et al.
Regarding claim 9, Bortnikov et al teach (see page S24 of the supporting information) utilizing the glassy electrodes with an alternating current, wherein a glass paper filter was used as a divider between the electrodes.
Regarding claim 21, with respect to “wherein said organic electrosynthesis is selected from” followed by a long list of potential reactions, this limitation refers to the intended use of the reactor. Per MPEP 2114, apparatus claims that include recitations to the manner of operation are limited by the recited structural elements, and here, the identity of the reaction being performed by the electrochemical cell does not impart any structure. However, even if the claim limitation is given patentable weight, Bortnikov et al clearly teaches using the electrochemical reactor for performing amination of aryl halides (see abstract, fig. 2, part B reproduced above).
Conclusion
/HARRY D WILKINS III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794