DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 11/6/25.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/19/23 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/6/25 with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. In addition, applicant's arguments filed 11/6/25 with respect to claims 1-20 has been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argued in page 6 that Yang does not teach or suggest that a
mirror with an embedded camera, as now required. Examiner cites Van for this limitation. Van col. 4 line 40-46 Turning attention to FIG. 1, a front perspective view of an embodiment of a smart mirror is shown. In the embodiment depicted, a viewer may perceive smart mirror 100, frame 101, mirror/touch screen 102, stand 103, camera 104, battery 105, remote dock station 106, USB port 107, speakers 108, light strip 109, and wifi 110.Fig. 1 shows item 100 as smart mirror and camera 104 is embedded there. Please note claim 7 states camera embedded within the frame. So same algorithm to embed camera to mirror frame is applicable embed camera to mirror.
Applicant argued in page 7 that Yang does not teach or suggest that a mirror frame with an embedded camera wired to a transmitter, as now required. Examiner disagree on this because Van col. 2 line 1-12 all elements listed by name, such as a mirror, camera, image, etc., are herein meant to include or encompass all equivalents for such elements. For example, in addition to a “mirror,” any electronic screen, reflective or otherwise, is also contemplated by the present invention. Such equivalents are contemplated for each element named in its particular herein. Moreover, while the invention will be described in connection with video chats, it is understood that the invention is not limited in scope to use with video chats, but may also be used with any internet and camera-based communication [communication with the transmitter] system or device. Van col. 3 line 3-15 the present invention may provide for a full length mirror, wherein the mirror has one or more of the following elements connected to it or embedded within it: at least one touchscreen, at least one camera, Bluetooth and WiFi [wireless communication] connectivity, at least one speaker, at least one USB port [wired communication], at least one light strip, at least one battery, at least one charging port, at least one LED light, at least one remote port, at least one digital frame, at least one detachable charging port plug chord.
Applicant argued in page 8 that Yang and Van, alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest a camera embedded within the second mirror in wireless communication with the transmitter; and that the camera is a video camera. Examiner disagree on this because Van col. 2 line 1-12 Moreover, while the invention will be described in connection with video chats, it is understood that the invention is not limited in scope to use with video chats, but may also be used with any internet and camera-based communication system or device. Van col. 5 line 46-47 Camera 104 may be a digital camera configured to stream video and/or capture images.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (U.S. Pub. No. 20190291647 A1), in view of Van (U.S. Pub. No. 10142592 B1).
Regarding to claim 1 and 11:
11. Yang teach a smart mirror device comprising: a battery; (Yang [0166] As discussed in further detail below, the base portion 114 can include a battery (e.g., a rechargeable battery)) a transmitter; (Yang [0116] Once a button, menu, slider, etc. associated with a particular state of the mirror assembly 2, 102 is selected and/or adjusted and/or a voice command is provided, the user device can transmit an instruction to the controller over the wired or wireless connection via the network interface, where reception of the instruction causes the controller to adjust or actuate the mirror assembly 2, 102 to place the mirror assembly 2, 102 in the state corresponding to the selection, adjustment, or voice command [0206] the display receives information from an information source (e.g., the internet, a home computer, etc.) and, based on a user's past behavior (e.g., purchases, websites visited, etc.), transmits related information to the user) a power cord; (Yang [0167] The mirror assembly 2, 102 can be powered using an electrical conduit (e.g., a cord) and/or it can be powered using an internal power source (e.g., in embodiments where the mirror assembly is cordless or wireless). The head portion (or some other portion of the mirror assembly) can include a power source (e.g., a battery, a rechargeable battery, or a cord to be plugged into an electrical outlet). In some embodiments, a cord is plugged directly into an external energy source and into the mirror assembly to charge an internal power source of the mirror assembly (e.g., rechargeable batteries)) a first side comprised of a first mirror comprised of a first light source; and a second side comprised of a second mirror (Yang [0010] coupling a first mirror to a first side of the mirror head and a second mirror to the second side of the mirror head. In some embodiments, the method comprises disposing a light source on or within the support portion. [0016] Certain aspects of this disclosure are directed to a mirror assembly that includes a front side and a back side, a housing portion, a support portion coupled to the housing portion, a mirror, a light source, a light path positioned around at least a portion of the mirror, and a controller. The controller can be configured to turn the light source on or off in response to a voice command) comprised of a second light source; (Yang [0052] The light sources can be positioned in various orientations in relation to each other, such as side-by-side, back-to-back, or otherwise. In certain embodiments, the light sources can be positioned to emit light in opposing directions (as shown in FIGS. 6 and 16). For example, as shown in FIG. 6, a first light source 30a projects light in a first direction (e.g., clockwise) around the periphery of the mirror 4, and a second light source 30b projects light in a second direction (e.g., counter-clockwise) around the periphery of the mirror 4. As shown, the light source 30a can project light toward a channel 48 that holds the light pipe 10 (not shown) of the mirror assembly 2. In some embodiments, multiple light sources can be positioned to direct light into a channel 148 that houses the light pipe. As shown, a first light source 130a′, 130a″ projects light in a first direction (e.g., counterclockwise) around the periphery of the mirror 104 (not shown), and a second light source 130b′, 130b″ projects light in a second direction (e.g., clockwise) around the periphery of the mirror 104. In certain embodiments, the light sources can be positioned to emit light generally and/or substantially orthogonally to the viewing surface of the mirror assembly 2, 102. In certain embodiments, the light sources can be positioned to emit light tangentially in relation to the periphery of the mirror 4, 104, 104′, 104″. Both front and back side mirror has its own light pipe because [0040] In some embodiments, the mirror assembly 102 comprises a housing portion 108. In some embodiments, the housing portion 108 can include one or more of a shaft portion 112, and/or a base portion 114. The housing portion 108 can also include a pivot portion 116 for connecting a support portion 120 to the housing 108. In some embodiments, the mirror assembly 102 comprises a mirror head 103. In some embodiments, the mirror head 103 of the mirror assembly 102 is connected to the pivot portion 116 and shaft portion 112 via a support portion 120 and an arm 113. In some embodiments, as illustrated in FIG. 8, the shaft portion 112 and/or the arm 113 can be connected to one of more portions of the mirror head 103 or the support portion 120 on a side thereof, and/or not in an interior or central region thereof, to permit the mirror head 103 or some portion thereof to rotate by a wide angle about an axis that traverses through the mirror head 103, such that respective front and rear surfaces of the mirror head 103 can be made to selectively switch positions on the mirror assembly 102.) and a mobile application. (Yang [0013] In some embodiments, one or more electronic features or settings or characteristics of the mirror assembly, such as light brightness or light temperature or battery level, can be viewed, selected, and/or adjusted remotely by a mobile electronic device, such as by way of a wireless communication protocol and/or using a software module or app on the mobile electronic device. [0185] an application (software, etc.) can be loaded onto the sensing device to allow the user to capture light information at a particular venue. In some variants, for instance, a light environment capture application (available at an app store or online) is downloaded to a mobile communication device and when the app is opened, light information can be captured automatically, by actuation of a button on the device, or by touching engaging a touchscreen. In some embodiments, the user can gather lighting information, such as by taking a picture (e.g., a digital image or photograph) or a “selfie” using the sensing device. Then, in certain implementations, the lighting information or picture or “selfie” can be analyzed by software or an application to capture light environment information therefrom)
Yang do not explicitly teach a first leg; a second leg; a frame that attaches to the first leg and the second leg via a first pivot point and a second pivot point; a camera embedded within the second mirror in wireless communication with the transmitter; and wherein the camera is a video camera.
However Van teach a first leg; a second leg; a frame that attaches to the first leg and the second leg via a first pivot point and a second pivot point; (Van annotated Fig. 1)
a camera embedded within the second mirror (Van col. 4 line 40-46 Turning attention to FIG. 1, a front perspective view of an embodiment of a smart mirror is shown. In the embodiment depicted, a viewer may perceive smart mirror 100, frame 101, mirror/touch screen 102, stand 103, camera 104, battery 105, remote dock station 106, USB port 107, speakers 108, light strip 109, and wifi 110.Fig. 1 shows item 100 as smart mirror and camera 104 is embedded there. Please note claim 7 states camera embedded within the frame. So same algorithm to embed camera to mirror frame is applicable embed camera to mirror) in wireless communication with the transmitter; (Van col. 2 line 1-12 all elements listed by name, such as a mirror, camera, image, etc., are herein meant to include or encompass all equivalents for such elements. For example, in addition to a “mirror,” any electronic screen, reflective or otherwise, is also contemplated by the present invention. Such equivalents are contemplated for each element named in its particular herein. Moreover, while the invention will be described in connection with video chats, it is understood that the invention is not limited in scope to use with video chats, but may also be used with any internet and camera-based communication [communication with the transmitter] system or device. Van col. 3 line 3-15 the present invention may provide for a full length mirror, wherein the mirror has one or more of the following elements connected to it or embedded within it: at least one touchscreen, at least one camera, Bluetooth and WiFi [wireless communication] connectivity, at least one speaker, at least one USB port [wired communication], at least one light strip, at least one battery, at least one charging port, at least one LED light, at least one remote port, at least one digital frame, at least one detachable charging port plug chord)
and wherein the camera is a video camera. (Van col. 2 line 1-12 Moreover, while the invention will be described in connection with video chats, it is understood that the invention is not limited in scope to use with video chats, but may also be used with any internet and camera-based communication system or device. Van col. 5 line 46-47 Camera 104 may be a digital camera configured to stream video and/or capture images)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang, further incorporating Van in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate a first leg; a second leg; a frame that attaches to the first leg and the second leg via a first pivot point and a second pivot point. This functionality will improve user experience with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 2, 5 and 6:
2. Yang teach the smart mirror device of claim 1, wherein the light source is positioned on the first side. (Yang [0052] The light sources can be positioned in various orientations in relation to each other, such as side-by-side, back-to-back, or otherwise. In certain embodiments, the light sources can be positioned to emit light in opposing directions (as shown in FIGS. 6 and 16). For example, as shown in FIG. 6, a first light source 30a projects light in a first direction (e.g., clockwise) around the periphery of the mirror 4, and a second light source 30b projects light in a second direction (e.g., counter-clockwise) around the periphery of the mirror 4. As shown, the light source 30a can project light toward a channel 48 that holds the light pipe 10 (not shown) of the mirror assembly 2. In some embodiments, multiple light sources can be positioned to direct light into a channel 148 that houses the light pipe. As shown, a first light source 130a′, 130a″ projects light in a first direction (e.g., counterclockwise) around the periphery of the mirror 104 (not shown), and a second light source 130b′, 130b″ projects light in a second direction (e.g., clockwise) around the periphery of the mirror 104. In certain embodiments, the light sources can be positioned to emit light generally and/or substantially orthogonally to the viewing surface of the mirror assembly 2, 102. In certain embodiments, the light sources can be positioned to emit light tangentially in relation to the periphery of the mirror 4, 104, 104′, 104″. Both front and back side mirror has its own light pipe because [0040] In some embodiments, the mirror assembly 102 comprises a housing portion 108. In some embodiments, the housing portion 108 can include one or more of a shaft portion 112, and/or a base portion 114. The housing portion 108 can also include a pivot portion 116 for connecting a support portion 120 to the housing 108. In some embodiments, the mirror assembly 102 comprises a mirror head 103. In some embodiments, the mirror head 103 of the mirror assembly 102 is connected to the pivot portion 116 and shaft portion 112 via a support portion 120 and an arm 113. In some embodiments, as illustrated in FIG. 8, the shaft portion 112 and/or the arm 113 can be connected to one of more portions of the mirror head 103 or the support portion 120 on a side thereof, and/or not in an interior or central region thereof, to permit the mirror head 103 or some portion thereof to rotate by a wide angle about an axis that traverses through the mirror head 103, such that respective front and rear surfaces of the mirror head 103 can be made to selectively switch positions on the mirror assembly 102.)
Regarding to claim 3 and 4:
3. Yang teach the smart mirror device of claim 1, wherein the light source is positioned in the frame. (Yang [0010] coupling a first mirror to a first side of the mirror head and a second mirror to the second side of the mirror head. In some embodiments, the method comprises disposing a light source on or within the support portion)
Regarding to claim 9:
Cancelled.
Regarding to claim 12:
12. Yang teach the smart mirror device of claim 11, wherein the mobile application controls a color of the first light source and a color of the second light source. (Yang [0053] In some embodiments, the light sources are configured to provide multiple colors of light and/or to provide varying colors of light. For example, the light sources can provide two or more discernable colors of light, such as red light and yellow light, or provide an array of colors (e.g., red, green, blue, violet, orange, yellow, and otherwise). In certain embodiments, the light sources are configured to change the color or presence of the light when a condition is met or is about to be met. For example, certain embodiments momentarily change the color of the emitted light to advise the user that the light is about to be deactivated. [0055] In some variants, the intensity of individual light sources (e.g., LEDs or combinations of LEDs) is independently adjustable. [0058] In certain embodiments, differing light emitters (e.g., LEDs) can be positioned at each end of a light pipe to increase the number of colors, color temperatures, brightness settings, etc., that can be achieved)
Regarding to claim 13:
13. Yang teach the smart mirror device of claim 11, wherein the mobile application controls a brightness of the first light source and a brightness of a second light source. (Yang [0076] In some embodiments, the controller can trigger at least two different levels of brightness from the light sources, such as brighter light or dimmer light. For example, if the user is anywhere in a first sensing region, then the controller signals for bright light to be emitted; if the user is anywhere in a second sensing region, then the controller signals for dim light to be emitted. [0077] In some embodiments, the controller can also trigger more than two brightness levels)
Regarding to claim 14:
14. Yang teach the smart mirror device of claim 11, wherein the mobile application controls an illumination pattern of the first light source and an illumination pattern of the second light source. (Yang [0057] Color temperatures and intensities can be selected by a user to duplicate or replicate particular light environments to improve the selection of make-up color palates, to apply make-up in optimal configurations and patterns, and to optimize grooming and make-up application outcomes. For instance, a person applying make-up to be worn at a candlelit restaurant may wish to match the color temperature and light intensity of that environment when applying make-up. A person who is applying make-up to be worn at a sunlit picnic may wish to match the color temperature and light intensity of that environment when applying make-up. Thus, a user can select particular temperatures of light to replicate lighting conditions. [0058] In certain embodiments, differing light emitters (e.g., LEDs) can be positioned at each end of a light pipe to increase the number of colors, color temperatures, brightness settings, etc., that can be achieved)
Regarding to claim 15:
15. Yang teach the smart mirror device of claim 11, wherein the mobile application is comprised of a countdown timer feature. (Yang [0084] Once activated, the light source can remain activated for a pre-determined period of time. For example, as discussed above, activating the light source can initialize a timer. If the sensor assembly does not detect sufficient movement from the object before the timer runs out, then the light source deactivates. However, if the sensor assembly detects movement sufficient in nature before the timer runs out [countdown], then the controller reinitializes the timer, keeping the mirror assembly in an active state. In some embodiments, the amount of object movement required to reinitialize the timer can be the same as or smaller in kind, speed, or frequency than the amount of movement sufficient to initially activate a mirror assembly that is inactive, or the proximity distance of the object to the mirror assembly can be the same as or greater than the proximity distance of the object to the mirror assembly sufficient to initially activate the mirror system that is inactive.)
Regarding to claim 16:
Cancelled.
Regarding to claim 18:
18. Yang teach the smart mirror device of claim 17, wherein the time period is at least 1 second. (Yang [0126] If no further object-detection event has occurred, the process 2600 can continue to block 2618. In some embodiments, the process 2600 includes a timer or delay before moving to block 2618. For example, the process 2600 can include determining that no further object-detection event has occurred for at least a predetermined amount of time, such as at least about: 1, 2, 3, or 4 seconds)
Claims 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (U.S. Pub. No. 20190291647 A1), in view of Van (U.S. Pub. No. 10142592 B1), further in view of Crawford (U.S. Pub. No. 20190142304 A1).
Regarding to claim 7:
7. Claim 7 is rejected for the same reason as claim 11 above. However, claim 7
Has following additional limitations – Camera in wired communication with the transmitter; and wherein the first mirror is a non-reversinq mirror.
However Van teach Camera in wired communication with the transmitter; and (Van col. 4 line 40-46 Turning attention to FIG. 1, a front perspective view of an embodiment of a smart mirror is shown. In the embodiment depicted, a viewer may perceive smart mirror 100, frame 101, mirror/touch screen 102, stand 103, camera 104, battery 105, remote dock station 106, USB port 107 [wired communication], speakers 108, light strip 109, and wifi 110.Fig. 1 shows item 100 as smart mirror and camera 104 is embedded there. Van col. 2 line 1-12 all elements listed by name, such as a mirror, camera, image, etc., are herein meant to include or encompass all equivalents for such elements. For example, in addition to a “mirror,” any electronic screen, reflective or otherwise, is also contemplated by the present invention. Such equivalents are contemplated for each element named in its particular herein. Moreover, while the invention will be described in connection with video chats, it is understood that the invention is not limited in scope to use with video chats, but may also be used with any internet and camera-based communication [communication with the transmitter] system or device. Van col. 3 line 3-15 the present invention may provide for a full length mirror, wherein the mirror has one or more of the following elements connected to it or embedded within it: at least one touchscreen, at least one camera, Bluetooth and WiFi [wireless communication] connectivity, at least one speaker, at least one USB port [wired communication], at least one light strip, at least one battery, at least one charging port, at least one LED light, at least one remote port, at least one digital frame, at least one detachable charging port plug chord)
The motivation for combining Yang and Van as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 7.
However Crawford teach wherein the first mirror is a non-reversinq mirror. (Crawford [0040] As shown in FIG. 9, a mirror 521 (or multiple) may be added to image cradle 501 to enable two (or more) projection angles to be captured by camera 107 of selection device 100 with one image from one angle. Mirror 521 may be a non-reversing mirror.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang, further incorporating Van and Crawford in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the first mirror is a non-reversinq mirror. This functionality will accommodate additional feature with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 10:
10. Yang teach the smart mirror device of claim 7, wherein the transmitter is in wireless electrical communication (Yang [0112] The transceiver can be located anywhere within the interior of the mirror assembly 2, 102. For example, the transceiver can be a chip included within the controller. The transceiver can package data for transmission over the antenna and unpackage data received by the antenna. The transceiver may be able to communicate over a variety of networks, such as a cellular network, a network using the IEEE 802.11 protocol (e.g., Wi-Fi), a network using the Bluetooth® protocol, and/or the like. The transceiver can forward unpackaged data to the controller for processing and/or storage) with the mobile application. (Yang [0013] In some embodiments, one or more electronic features or settings or characteristics of the mirror assembly, such as light brightness or light temperature or battery level, can be viewed, selected, and/or adjusted remotely by a mobile electronic device, such as by way of a wireless communication protocol and/or using a software module or app on the mobile electronic device. [0185] an application (software, etc.) can be loaded onto the sensing device to allow the user to capture light information at a particular venue. In some variants, for instance, a light environment capture application (available at an app store or online) is downloaded to a mobile communication device and when the app is opened, light information can be captured automatically, by actuation of a button on the device, or by touching engaging a touchscreen. In some embodiments, the user can gather lighting information, such as by taking a picture (e.g., a digital image or photograph) or a “selfie” using the sensing device. Then, in certain implementations, the lighting information or picture or “selfie” can be analyzed by software or an application to capture light environment information therefrom)
Claims 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (U.S. Pub. No. 20190291647 A1), in view of Van (U.S. Pub. No. 10142592 B1), further in view of Crawford (U.S. Pub. No. 20190142304 A1) and Sivan (U.S. Pub. No. 20190182415 A1).
Regarding to claim 8:
8. Yang teach the smart mirror device of claim 7, (Yang teach [0167] The mirror assembly 2, 102 can be powered using an electrical conduit (e.g., a cord) and/or it can be powered using an internal power source (e.g., in embodiments where the mirror assembly is cordless or wireless). The head portion (or some other portion of the mirror assembly) can include a power source (e.g., a battery, a rechargeable battery, or a cord to be plugged into an electrical outlet). USA electrical outlet are 110 v) Yang do not explicitly teach wherein the power cord is comprised of a 110v or 240v male power cord.
However Sivan teach wherein the power cord is comprised of a 110v or 240v male power cord. (Sivan [0011] The digital camera device or module 10 requires power for its described functions such as for capturing, storing, manipulating, and transmitting the image. A dedicated power source may be used such as a battery or a dedicated connection to an external power source via connector 19. The power supply may contain a DC/DC converter. In another embodiment, the power supply is power fed from the AC power supply via AC plug and a cord, and thus may include an AC/DC converter, for converting the AC power (commonly 115 VAC/60 Hz or 220 VAC/50 Hz) into the required DC voltage or voltages. Such power supplies are known in the art and typically involves converting 120 or 240 volt AC supplied by a power utility company to a well-regulated lower voltage DC for electronic devices.)
The motivation for combining Yang, Van and Crawford as set forth in claim 7 is equally applicable to claim 8. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang, further incorporating Van, Crawford and Sivan in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the power cord is comprised of a 110v or 240v male power cord. This functionality will improve user experience with predictable results.
Claims 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (U.S. Pub. No. 20190291647 A1), in view of Van (U.S. Pub. No. 10142592 B1), further in view of Sivan (U.S. Pub. No. 20190182415 A1).
Regarding to claim 17:
17. Yang teach the smart mirror device of claim 15, Yang do not explicitly teach wherein the camera can take a photo or a video after a time period of the countdown timer feature has ended.
However Sivan teach wherein the camera can take a photo or a video after a time period of the countdown timer feature has ended. (Sivan [0038] Furthermore, a camera that has the release button, a timer, a memory and a control part, and the timer measures elapsed time after the depressing of the release button is released, used to prevent a shutter release moment to take a good picture from being missed by shortening time required for focusing when a release button is depressed again)
The motivation for combining Yang and Van as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 17. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang, further incorporating Van and Sivan in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so to incorporate the camera can take a photo or a video after a time period of the countdown timer feature has ended. This functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results.
Claims 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (U.S. Pub. No. 20190291647 A1), in view of Van (U.S. Pub. No. 10142592 B1), further in view of Campbell (U.S. Pub. No. 20100025285 A1).
Regarding to claim 19:
19. Yang teach the smart mirror device of claim 11, Yang do not explicitly teach wherein the first pivot point and the second pivot point are comprised of a pivot pin.
However Campbel teach wherein the first pivot point and the second pivot point are comprised of a pivot pin. (Campbel Fig. 3 [0023] The mirror or magnifying device 14 can be arranged in a fixed position relative to the base unit 20, or can be arranged to pivot. For example, as shown in FIGS. 1 and 3, the mirror or magnifying 14 can be arranged to pivot about an axis extending substantially parallel with respect to an axis extending through the width of the base unit 20. The mirror or magnifying device 14 can be arranged to pivot about pivot pins 24 arranged on support arms 22 formed on the base unit 20. The mirror or magnifying device 14 can be arranged to pivot through a number of discrete positions along the substantially horizontal axis. Alternatively, the mirror or magnifying device 14 can be arranged relative to the base unit 20 such that the mirror or magnifying device 14 can pivot along a substantially vertical axis with respect to the base unit 20. For example, the mirror or magnifying device 14 can pivot 360 degrees about this substantially vertical axis.)
The motivation for combining Yang and Van as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 19. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang, further incorporating Van and Campbel in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so to incorporate the first pivot point and the second pivot point are comprised of a pivot pin. This functionality will improve cost with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 20:
20. Yang teach the smart mirror device of claim 11, Yang do not explicitly teach wherein the frame rotates 360 degrees around the first pivot point and the second pivot point.
However Campbel teach wherein the frame rotates 360 degrees around the first pivot point and the second pivot point. (Campbel Fig. 3 [0023] The mirror or magnifying device 14 can be arranged in a fixed position relative to the base unit 20, or can be arranged to pivot. For example, as shown in FIGS. 1 and 3, the mirror or magnifying 14 can be arranged to pivot about an axis extending substantially parallel with respect to an axis extending through the width of the base unit 20. The mirror or magnifying device 14 can be arranged to pivot about pivot pins 24 arranged on support arms 22 formed on the base unit 20. The mirror or magnifying device 14 can be arranged to pivot through a number of discrete positions along the substantially horizontal axis. Alternatively, the mirror or magnifying device 14 can be arranged relative to the base unit 20 such that the mirror or magnifying device 14 can pivot along a substantially vertical axis with respect to the base unit 20. For example, the mirror or magnifying device 14 can pivot 360 degrees about this substantially vertical axis)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896