DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Garity (US Pat. No. 6,070,338).
Regarding claim 1, Garity discloses a tape measure device (FIG 1) comprising: a portable tape measure having a housing 11, a lock tab 5, and a tape 33; wherein said lock tab having a sliding portion for sliding said lock tab from a first tape locking position for preventing said tape from extending from said housing to a second tape unlocking position for enabling said tape to retract into said housing; and further wherein said tape having at least two sets of sequential numbers including a first set of sequential numbers in an ascending order and a second set of sequential numbers in a descending order (the numbers as claimed are shown on the tape in FIG 1).
Regarding claim 2, the housing of Garity is shown as having a flat base in FIG 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garity in view of Holevas et al. (US Pat. No. 5,435,074).
Garity discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Garity does not disclose a clip attached to the side surface of the housing as claimed. Holevas et al. discloses a clip 80 attached to the side of a tape measure housing so that the tape measure may be clipped to an object hands-free. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the clip of Holevas et al. in conjunction with the Garity device for the purpose of attaching the combined device hands-free to an object.
Claims 4-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garity in view of Tarver, III (US Pat. No. 6,530,159).
Garity discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Garity does not disclose a third set of sequential numbers or the specific sets of sequential numbers as claimed. Tarver, III. discloses a third set of sequential numbers (see FIGS 6, 7 and 9-11, for example) and various quantities of sequential numbers (FIG 5 discloses 144 sequential numbers and FIG 6 discloses 48 sequential numbers, for example) for the purpose of allowing a tape measure to be adapted for specific applications. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use similar number sets to those taught by Tarver et al. in conjunction with the Garity device for the purpose of adapting a tape measure for specific applications.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garity and Tarver, III as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Holevas et al..
Garity and Tarver, III disclose the invention substantially as claimed. However, neither Garity nor Tarver, III discloses a clip attached to the side surface of the housing as claimed. Holevas et al. discloses a clip 80 attached to the side of a tape measure housing so that the tape measure may be clipped to an object hands-free. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the clip of Holevas et al. in conjunction with the Garity and Tarver, III devices for the purpose of attaching the combined device to an object.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GEORGE B BENNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855
gbb
11 DEC 2025