DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jitaru (US 20160307695 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Jitaru teaches that a matrix transformer comprising:
a magnetic core structure (elements 112, 113 formed the core structure in Fig. 10; para 0054) having a plurality of magnetic legs (115A-115D) and first (112) and second magnetic plates (113), the magnetic plates being spaced apart from one another and being connected together by the magnetic legs; and
a plurality of electrical current-conductive windings (64, para 0054) , the windings being respectively wrapped around the magnetic legs, and
wherein the first magnetic plate has a recess (114A) extending through the middle region of the first magnetic plate within the magnetic field-free zone of the first magnetic plate.
As of limitation "the windings having electric current flow directions which cause magnetic fluxes within the magnetic core structure that cancel out in a middle region of each magnetic plate thereby leaving the middle region of each magnetic plate to be a magnetic field-free zone; and wherein the first magnetic plate has a recess extending through the middle region of the first magnetic plate within the magnetic field-free zone of the first magnetic plate", it is seen that Jitaru certainly teaches substantially identical structure as shown in Fig. 10 such as a plurality of magnetic legs and first and second
magnetic plates, the first magnetic plate has a recess extending through the middle region in same filed of endeavor. As per MPEP § 2112.01.I guideline, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as windings having electric current flow directions which cause magnetic fluxes within the magnetic core structure that cancel out in a middle region of each magnetic plate thereby leaving the middle region of each magnetic plate to be a magnetic field-free zone; and wherein the first magnetic plate has a recess extending through the middle region of the first magnetic plate within the magnetic field-free zone of the first magnetic plate"
Regarding Claim 3:
As applied to claim 1, Jitaru teaches that a printed circuit board (111, Fig. 10) having openings; and wherein the body forms a closed magnetic circuit through the openings in the PCB (construed from Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 4:
As applied to claim 3, Jitaru teaches that the magnetic legs respectively extend through the openings in the PCB; and the first magnetic plate is positioned under a bottom side of the PCB and the second magnetic plate is positioned over a top side of the PCB (construed form Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 6:
As applied to claim 4, Jitaru teaches that the magnetic plates are parallel with one another (construed form Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 7:
As applied to claim 6, Jitaru teaches that the magnetic legs are orthogonal to the magnetic plates (construed form Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 8:
As applied to claim 6, Jitaru teaches that the windings are conductive traces or strip conductors of the PCB (construed form Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 9:
As applied to claim 3, Jitaru teaches that the windings are formed, at least in part, from {wound wires } or cut sheet metal mounted on the PCB (construed form Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 10:
As applied to claim 1, Jitaru teaches that the plurality of windings include four windings. (construed form Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 11:
As applied to claim 1, Jitaru teaches that the magnetic core structure is made of a soft magnetic material (see para 0035).
Regarding Claim 12:
As applied to claim 1, Jitaru teaches that the magnetic legs and the magnetic plates are made of ferrite (see para 0035).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jitaru in view of Cammarata (US 20140022027 A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
As applied to claim 1, Jitaru does not teach that a heat sink having a cooling pin connected thereto, the cooling pin being inserted through the recess.
However, Cammarata disclosed in para 0048 (see Fig. 4) that the heat sink 300 comprises, at a body portion 301 that is arranged to secure the board 200 and opposite to the cooling fins 302, respective recesses 303.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a heat sink having a cooling pin connected thereto to prevent machinery from overheating during operation.
Regarding Claim 5:
As applied to claim 5, Jitaru does not teach that a heat sink having a cooling pin connected thereto, the cooling pin being guided through the recess as far as a surface of the bottom side of the PCB.
However, Cammarata disclosed in para 0048 (see Fig. 4) that the heat sink 300 comprises, at a body portion 301 that is arranged to secure the board 200 and opposite to the cooling fins 302, respective recesses 303.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a heat sink having a cooling pin connected thereto to prevent machinery from overheating during operation.
Regarding Claim 13:
Jitaru teaches that a matrix transformer comprising:
a body (elements 111- 113 formed the body in Fig. 10; para 0054) that is made of soft magnetic material (see para 0045) and that forms a closed magnetic
circuit through openings in at least one printed circuit board (111);
a plurality of windings (64, see parr 0054);
the body having magnetic legs (115A-115D) and two parallel magnetic plates (112-113), the magnetic legs being surrounded by the windings, the magnetic plates being on respective sides of the PCB and being connected to one another by the magnetic legs;
the windings, due to a suitably selected winding direction, forming a magnetic
field-free zone in each of the magnetic plates;
a heat sink having a cooling pin connected thereto; and
wherein at least a first one of the magnetic plates has a recess (114A) therein within the magnetic field-free zone of the first one of the magnetic plates, and the cooling pin is guided through the recess up to a surface of the PCB
Jitaru does not teach that a heat sink having a cooling pin connected thereto; and a recess therein within the magnetic field-free zone of the first one of the magnetic plates, and the cooling pin is guided through the recess up to a surface of the PCB.
However, Cammarata disclosed in para 0048 (see Fig. 4) that the heat sink 300 comprises, at a body portion 301 that is arranged to secure the board 200 and opposite to the cooling fins 302, respective recesses 303.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a heat sink having a cooling pin connected thereto to prevent machinery from overheating during operation.
Although, modified Jitaru explicitly does not disclose the functional characteristic “forming a magnetic field-free zone in each of the magnetic plates, the magnetic field-free zone of the first one of the magnetic plates, and the cooling pin is guided through the recess up to a surface of the PCB”, but the limitation “forming a magnetic field-free zone in each of the magnetic plates, the magnetic field-free zone of the first one of the magnetic plates, and the cooling pin is guided through the recess up to a surface of the PCB” is not patentable over modified Jitaru, because, the limitation is directed to function or characteristic of claimed structure. Each of the limitation has been fully considered to the extent that the structure taught by modified Jitaru, in fig. 10, in configuration of Cammarata with fig. 4, is reasonably capable of functioning or having the characteristic claimed. Basis in fact is provided by the fact that modified Jitaru, in fig. 10, in configuration of Cammarata with fig. 4 teaches all of the structural features of the claimed limitation such a plurality of magnetic legs and first and second magnetic plates, the first magnetic plate has a recess extending through the middle region and cooling fin.
Moreover, according to section 2114 of the MPEP, specifically, In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429,1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board’s finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971). In the instant case, the prior art of reference modified Jitaru, in fig. 10, in configuration of Cammarata with fig. 4, teaches claimed structure, Fed. Cir 1997, in view of the above, gave clear guidance that mere absence of functional limitation “forming a magnetic field-free zone in each of the magnetic plates, the magnetic field-free zone of the first one of the magnetic plates, and the cooling pin is guided through the recess up to a surface of the PCB” will not defeat the teaching of prior art.
Therefore, claim limitation “forming a magnetic field-free zone in each of the magnetic plates, the magnetic field-free zone of the first one of the magnetic plates, and the cooling pin is guided through the recess up to a surface of the PCB” is not patentable over modified Jitaru.
Regarding Claim 14:
As applied to claim 13, the modified Jitaru teaches that the magnetic legs and the magnetic plates are made of ferrite (see para 0035).
Regarding Claim 15:
As applied to claim 13, the modified Jitaru teaches that the windings are formed by strip conductors of the PCB (construed form Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 16:
As applied to claim 13, the modified Jitaru teaches that the windings are formed, at least in part, from wound wires or cut sheet metal mounted on the PCB (construed form Fig. 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/MALCOLM BARNES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837