CTNF 18/489,925 CTNF 102105 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/29/2024 has been considered by the examiner. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph [0032], “scoring(s). 102A.” should be written “scoring(s) 102A.” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 7, 12, 14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claims 7 and 14 , the term “approximately” renders the term indefinite. The specification fails to describe what range is encompassed by the term “approximately”. See MPEP 2173.05(b)(III)A. This rejection would be overcome by simply deleting the term. Claims 12, 16, and 20 recite the limitation “the battery cell” whereas independent claims 10 and 17 recite “one or more battery cells”. When there are a plurality of battery cells within the scope of the independent claims, the reference to “the battery cell” within the resulting dependent claims renders said dependent claims indefinite. One of ordinary skill in the art may interpret “the battery cell” as all of the plurality of battery cells or one of ordinary skill in the art may interpret “the battery cell” to any individual battery cell within the plurality of battery cells. Applicant is encouraged to recite “the one or more battery cells” if they intend to reference all of the battery cells or applicant is encouraged to recite “a first battery cell of the one or more battery cells” if they intend to reference an individual battery cell. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erhart et al. (US 2020/0112016 A1) in view of Timmons et al. (US 2013/0130074 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Erhart discloses a thermally reactive material coupled to a battery cell (Annotated Erhart Fig. 1 depicts a coating 91 disposed on a side surface of case 26 of an individual battery cell. Para. [0067] explains that coating 91 is configured to emit at least one gaseous species when a temperature of case 26 exceeds a predetermined temperature.) comprising: a “volatile organic compound (“VOC”)” (Para. [0024] gives cyclohexane as an exemplary VOC.), “the VOC in a liquid state and at a temperature below boiling point of the VOC, wherein the boiling point of the VOC is below a threshold temperature” (Para [0021] teaches that coating 91 contains a liquid compound, which is transferred into its gaseous phase when the temperature reaches the boiling point of the compound. Example of VOC is cyclohexane as described in para. [0024], wherein cyclohexane is stored in a liquid state until the temperature of the battery case passes the boiling point of cyclohexane, at which cyclohexane will vaporize and emit in a gaseous state.). Erhart fails to disclose wherein the VOC is stored in a “capsule” and wherein “the capsule comprises a capsule shell comprising a thermally conductive material that transfers heat from a surface of the battery shell to the capsule shell”, and where “one or more pressure relief devices configured on a surface of the capsule shell, wherein pressure generated by vaporization of the VOC causes opening of the one or more pressure relief devices.”. PNG media_image1.png 960 938 media_image1.png Greyscale Annotated Erhart Fig. 1: Thermally reactive material (coating 91) coupled to a battery cell However, Timmons teaches a “capsule” (Fig. 3A, Para. [0025] describes the capsule as an evacuated and sealed heat pipe 122.) comprising: “a thermally conductive material that transfers heat from a surface of the battery cell to the capsule shell” (Para. [0027] describes that heat pipe 122 may be made from a high thermal conductivity metal, such as an aluminum-based or copper-based material. Para. [0033] explains that heat pipe 122 absorbs heat from the battery.), “a volatile organic compound (“VOC”) stored within a cavity of the capsule shell” (Para. [0025] gives de-ionized water as an exemplary heat transfer fluid stored within the cavity of the capsule.), and “one or more pressure relief devices configured on a surface of the capsule shell, wherein pressure generated by vaporization of the VOC causes opening of the one or more pressure relief devices” (Annotated Timmons Fig. 4A, Para. [0030] describes rupture disc 124 as a pressure control device. Annotated Timmons Fig. 4B illustrates and Para. [0034] describes wherein the heat flow “Q” increases the internal pressure within heat pipe 122 that exceeds the limit of rupture disc 124, causing it to rupture or otherwise become dislodged.). PNG media_image2.png 307 237 media_image2.png Greyscale Timmons Fig. 3A: Evacuated and sealed capsule 122 PNG media_image3.png 641 340 media_image3.png Greyscale Annotated Timmons Fig. 4A: Evacuated and sealed capsule (heat pipe 122) with pressure relief device attached (rupture disc 124) PNG media_image4.png 525 409 media_image4.png Greyscale Annotated Timmons Fig. 4B: Evacuated and sealed capsule (heat pipe 122) with pressure relief device (rupture disc 124) opened due to heat pipe 122 absorbing excessive heat (Q) Erhart and Timmons are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing systems for internal battery temperature stabilization for optimal battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Erhart to incorporate the teachings of one or more capsules, a thermally conductive capsule shell and one or more pressure relief devices as disclosed by Timmons because Timmons teaches that such a structure has the potential to limit damage to a battery under excessively high temperature conditions and protect against thermal runaway conditions (Para. [0006]). The simple substitution of one known element for another (VOC as the vapor species used for detecting thermal runaway in place of water) is likely to be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the results of the substitution would have been predictable (protecting a battery module against thermal runaway conditions). See MPEP 2143 (B). Regarding claim 2 , Erhart discloses “wherein the vaporization of the VOC comprises a conversion of the VOC from liquid state to gas state” (Paras. [0021] and [0024] describe cyclohexane as an exemplary VOC that is transferred from a liquid state to a gas state upon reaching the boiling point of the compound.). Regarding claim 3, Erhart and Timmons disclose “wherein the vaporization is caused by a transfer of heat from the surface of the battery shell to the capsule shell, the heat causing the VOC to reach or exceed the boiling point of the VOC”. Erhart describes how heat from the battery cell causes the temperature of the VOC to meet or exceed the boiling point of the VOC (Paras. [0021] and [0024] explain that upon receiving heat from the battery module, the VOC will reach or exceed its boiling point.). Additionally, Timmons describes vaporization is caused by a transfer of heat from a battery cell to a capsule (Para. [0033] states that heat pipe 122 is able to withdraw heat from the cell at the heat transfer fluid’s liquid-gas transition temperature.). Regarding claim 7 , Erhart discloses “wherein the boiling point of the VOC is within a range of approximately 50°C to 100°C” (Para. [0020] describe cyclohexane as an exemplary VOC that possesses a boiling point of 80°C, which is within the range of 50°C to 100°C.). Regarding claim 8, Erhart and Timmons disclose “wherein opening of the one or more pressure relief devices comprises releasing of VOC gas associated with the vaporization of the VOC” Erhart discloses the releasing of VOC gas associated with the vaporization of the VOC (Para. [0024] describes that the VOC will be emitted upon reaching the boiling point of the VOC.). Additionally, Timmons explains that opening of the pressure relief devices releases gaseous species (Para. [0027] describes a pressure control mechanism within heat pipe 122 that allows the gas to vent when a temperature imparted to heat pipe 122 is high enough to induce an overpressure situation within said heat pipe.). Regarding claim 10 , Erhart discloses a system for detecting thermal runaway in batteries (Annotated Erhart Fig. 3) comprising: one or more thermally reactive capsules coupled to one or more battery cells, (Annotated Erhart Fig. 3 depicts a coating 390 disposed on a top surface of each of the battery cells 380. Para. [0073] explains that when temperature at coating 390 exceeds a reference temperature, coating 390 will emit a gaseous species.) each of the one or more thermally reactive capsules comprising: “a thermally conductive material that transfers heat from a surface of the battery cell to the capsule shell” (Para. [0027] describes that heat pipe 122 may be made from a high thermal conductivity metal, such as an aluminum-based or copper-based material. Para. [0033] explains that heat pipe 122 absorbs heat from the battery.), a “volatile organic compound (“VOC”)” (Para. [0024] gives cyclohexane as an exemplary VOC.), “the VOC in a liquid state and at a temperature below boiling point of the VOC, wherein the boiling point of the VOC is below a threshold temperature”, (Para [0021] teaches that coating 90 (which is similar to coating 390 as explained in Para. [0068]) contain a liquid compound, which is transferred into its gaseous phase when the temperature reaches the boiling point of the compound. Para. [0024] explains cyclohexane is stored in a liquid state until the temperature of the battery case passes the boiling point of cyclohexane, at which cyclohexane will vaporize and emit in a gaseous state.) “and a gas sensor configured to detect the vaporization of the VOC” (Annotated Erhart Fig. 3, Para. [0073] states gas sensor 140 selectively detects the gaseous species emitted by coating 390.). PNG media_image5.png 945 959 media_image5.png Greyscale Annotated Erhart Fig. 3: Battery system 100 comprised of one or more thermally reactive capsules (390) coupled to one or more battery cells (380) and a gas sensor (140) Erhart fails to disclose wherein the VOC is stored in a “capsule” and wherein “the capsule comprises a capsule shell comprising a thermally conductive material that transfers heat from a surface of the battery shell to the capsule shell”, and where “one or more pressure relief devices configured on a surface of the capsule shell, wherein pressure generated by vaporization of the VOC causes opening of the one or more pressure relief devices.”. However, Timmons teaches a “capsule” (Fig. 3A, Para. [0025] describes the capsule as an evacuated and sealed heat pipe 122.) comprising: a thermally conductive material that transfers heat from a surface of the battery cell to the capsule shell” (Para. [0027] describes that heat pipe 122 may be made from a high thermal conductivity metal, such as an aluminum-based or copper-based material. Para. [0033] explains that heat pipe 122 absorbs heat from the battery.), “a volatile organic compound (“VOC”) stored within a cavity of the capsule shell” (Para. [0025] gives de-ionized water as an exemplary heat transfer fluid stored within the cavity of the capsule.), and “one or more pressure relief devices configured on a surface of the capsule shell, wherein pressure generated by vaporization of the VOC causes opening of the one or more pressure relief devices” (Annotated Timmons Fig. 4A, Para. [0030] describes rupture disc 124 as a pressure control device. Annotated Timmons Fig. 4B illustrates and Para. [0034] describes wherein the heat flow “Q” increases the internal pressure within heat pipe 122 that exceeds the limit of rupture disc 124, causing it to rupture or otherwise become dislodged.). Erhart and Timmons are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing systems for internal battery temperature stabilization for optimal battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Erhart to incorporate the teachings of one or more capsules, a thermally conductive capsule shell and one or more pressure relief devices as disclosed by Timmons because Timmons teaches that such a structure has the potential to limit damage to a battery under excessively high temperature conditions and protect against thermal runaway conditions (Para. [0006]). The simple substitution of one known element for another (VOC as the vapor species used for detecting thermal runaway in place of water) is likely to be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the results of the substitution would have been predictable (protecting a battery module against thermal runaway conditions). See MPEP 2143 (B). Regarding claim 11 , Erhart discloses “wherein the vaporization of the VOC comprises a conversion of the VOC from liquid state to gas state” (Paras. [0021] and [0024] describe cyclohexane as an exemplary VOC that is transferred from a liquid state to a gas state upon reaching the boiling point of the compound.). Regarding claim 12, Erhart and Timmons disclose “wherein the vaporization is caused by a transfer of heat from the surface of the battery shell to the capsule shell, the heat causing the VOC to reach or exceed the boiling point of the VOC”. Erhart describes how heat from the battery cell causes the temperature of the VOC to meet or exceed the boiling point of the VOC (Paras. [0021] and [0024] explain that upon receiving heat from the battery module, the VOC will reach or exceed its boiling point.). Additionally, Timmons describes vaporization is caused by a transfer of heat from a battery cell to a capsule (Para. [0033] states that heat pipe 122 is able to withdraw heat from the cell at the heat transfer fluid’s liquid-gas transition temperature.). Regarding claim 14 , Erhart discloses “wherein the boiling point of the VOC is within a range of approximately 50°C to 100°C” (Para. [0020] describe cyclohexane as an exemplary VOC that possesses a boiling point of 80°C, which is within the range of 50°C to 100°C.). Regarding claim 15, Erhart and Timmons disclose “wherein opening of the one or more pressure relief devices comprises releasing of VOC gas associated with the vaporization of the VOC” Erhart discloses the releasing of VOC gas associated with the vaporization of the VOC (Para. [0024] describes that the VOC will be emitted upon reaching the boiling point of the VOC.). Additionally, Timmons explains that opening of the pressure relief devices releases gaseous species (Para. [0027] describes a pressure control mechanism within heat pipe 122 that allows the gas to vent when a temperature imparted to heat pipe 122 is high enough to induce an overpressure situation within said heat pipe.). Regarding claim 17 , Erhart discloses a system (Annotated Erhart Fig. 3) comprising: one or more thermally reactive capsules coupled to one or more battery cells, (Annotated Erhart Fig. 3 depicts a coating 390 disposed on a top surface of each of the battery cells 380. Para. [0073] explains that when temperature at coating 390 exceeds a reference temperature, coating 390 will emit a gaseous species.) each of the one or more thermally reactive capsules comprising: a “volatile organic compound (“VOC”)” (Para. [0024] gives cyclohexane as an exemplary VOC.), “the VOC in a liquid state and at a temperature below boiling point of the VOC, wherein the boiling point of the VOC is below a threshold temperature”, (Para [0021] teaches that coating 90 (which is similar to coating 390 as explained in Para. [0068]) contain a liquid compound, which is transferred into its gaseous phase when the temperature reaches the boiling point of the compound. Para. [0024] explains cyclohexane is stored in a liquid state until the temperature of the battery case passes the boiling point of cyclohexane, at which cyclohexane will vaporize and emit in a gaseous state.) “and a gas sensor coupled to a battery management system” (Annotated Erhart Fig. 3 shows gas sensor 140 is coupled to battery management system (BMS) 120.), “the gas sensor configured to”: “detect VOC gas from the vaporization of the VOC” (Annotated Erhart Fig. 3, Para. [0073] states gas sensor 140 selectively detects the gaseous species emitted by coating 390.), “and transmit a data signal to the battery management system, the data signal representative of the detection of the VOC gas.” (Para. [0074] states that detection of the gaseous species by the gas sensor 140 causes output of a control signal by the gas sensor 140, followed by transmission of the control signal to the BMS 120.). PNG media_image6.png 1008 959 media_image6.png Greyscale Annotated Erhart Fig. 3.1: Battery system 100 comprised of one or more thermally reactive capsules (390) coupled to one or more battery cells (380) and a gas sensor (140) coupled to battery management system (120) Erhart fails to disclose wherein the VOC is stored in a “capsule” and wherein “the capsule comprises a capsule shell comprising a thermally conductive material that transfers heat from a surface of the battery shell to the capsule shell”, and where “one or more pressure relief devices configured on a surface of the capsule shell, wherein pressure generated by vaporization of the VOC causes opening of the one or more pressure relief devices.”. However, Timmons teaches a “capsule” (Fig. 3A, Para. [0025] describes the capsule as an evacuated and sealed heat pipe 122.) comprising: a thermally conductive material that transfers heat from a surface of the battery cell to the capsule shell” (Para. [0027] describes that heat pipe 122 may be made from a high thermal conductivity metal, such as an aluminum-based or copper-based material. Para. [0033] explains that heat pipe 122 absorbs heat from the battery.), “a volatile organic compound (“VOC”) stored within a cavity of the capsule shell” (Para. [0025] gives de-ionized water as an exemplary heat transfer fluid stored within the cavity of the capsule.), and “one or more pressure relief devices configured on a surface of the capsule shell, wherein pressure generated by vaporization of the VOC causes opening of the one or more pressure relief devices” (Annotated Timmons Fig. 4A, Para. [0030] describes rupture disc 124 as a pressure control device. Annotated Timmons Fig. 4B illustrates and Para. [0034] describes wherein the heat flow “Q” increases the internal pressure within heat pipe 122 that exceeds the limit of rupture disc 124, causing it to rupture or otherwise become dislodged.). Erhart and Timmons are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing systems for internal battery temperature stabilization for optimal battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Erhart to incorporate the teachings of one or more capsules, a thermally conductive capsule shell and one or more pressure relief devices as disclosed by Timmons because Timmons teaches that such a structure has the potential to limit damage to a battery under excessively high temperature conditions and protect against thermal runaway conditions (Para. [0006]). The simple substitution of one known element for another (VOC as the vapor species used for detecting thermal runaway in place of water) is likely to be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the results of the substitution would have been predictable (protecting a battery module against thermal runaway conditions). See MPEP 2143 (B). Regarding claim 18 , Erhart discloses “wherein the battery management system is configured to determine thermal runaway based on the data signal” (Para. [0074] describes that BMS 120 determines, based on the control signal from the gas sensor 140, the presence of an overheat situation within the overall battery system 100.). Regarding claim 19 , Erhart discloses “wherein the battery management system is configured to communicate with a charge controller to manage charging parameters of the battery pack based on the data signal” (Para. [0074] explains that BMS 120 communicates (sends a disconnect signal) with a charge controller (battery disconnect unit (BDU)). The BDU responds to the disconnect signal sent by BMS by disconnecting at least one of the first and second terminals 112 or 114 by switching relay 118.). Regarding claim 20, Erhart and Timmons disclose “wherein the vaporization is caused by a transfer of heat from the surface of the battery shell to the capsule shell, the heat causing the VOC to reach or exceed the boiling point of the VOC”. Erhart describes how heat from the battery cell causes the temperature of the VOC to meet or exceed the boiling point of the VOC (Paras. [0021] and [0024] explain that upon receiving heat from the battery module, the VOC will reach or exceed its boiling point.). Additionally, Timmons describes vaporization is caused by a transfer of heat from a battery cell to a capsule (Para. [0033] states that heat pipe 122 is able to withdraw heat from the cell at the heat transfer fluid’s liquid-gas transition temperature.) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erhart , as modified by Timmons, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Qian et al. (US 2024/0213573 A1) . Regarding claim 4 , Erhart, as modified by Timmons, discloses the thermally reactive capsule of claim 1. Erhart, as modified by Timmons, fails to disclose wherein the capsule shell is adhered to the surface of the battery cell with thermally conductive adhesive. However, Qian teaches “wherein the capsule shell is adhered to the surface of the battery cell with thermally conductive adhesive” (Annotated Qian Fig. 14, Para. [0088] states that thermal management component 13 may be attached to the second wall 21b of the battery cell 20 via a thermally conductive adhesive. Para. [0167] describes the structure of thermal management component 13 which is comprised of a first thermal management component 13a and second thermal management component 13b. First thermal management component 13a is comprised of a first connecting pipe 131a (capsule) in communication with a heat exchange channel 131 whereas the second thermal management component is comprised of a second connecting pipe in communication with heat exchange channel 131. Para. [0169] describes how first connecting pipe 131a (capsule) and first thermal management component 13a as well as second connecting pipe 132b (capsule) and second thermal management component 13b are both integrally formed structures.). Erhart, Timmons, and Qian are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing systems for internal battery temperature stabilization for optimal battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Erhart, as modified by Timmons, to incorporate the teachings of a capsule shell adhered to the surface of a battery cell with thermally conductive adhesive as disclosed by Qian because Qian teaches that the thermal management component can cool the battery cell that is at risk of undergoing thermal runaway, thus avoiding thermal diffusion and enhancing the safety of the battery (Para. [0006]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erhart, as modified by Timmons , as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and in further view of Gibbs et al. (US 2023/0327223 A1) . Regarding claims 5-6 and 13, Erhart, as modified by Timmons, discloses the thermally reactive capsule of claim 1 and the system of claim 10. Erhart, as modified by Timmons, fails to disclose wherein the VOC comprises a compound associated with battery off-gassing, according to instant claims 5 and 13 , and wherein the VOC comprises a compound selected from the group consisting of diethyl carbonate, ethyl acetate, methyl acetate, 1,2-dimethoxyethane, tetrahydrofuran, 2-methyl-tetrahydrofuran, 1,3-dioxolane, 4-methyl 1,3-dioxolane, 2-methyl 1,3-dioxolane, and acetonitrile, according to instant claim 6 . However, Gibbs teaches “wherein the VOC comprises a compound associated with battery off-gassing” (Para. [0061] lists five analytes that may be emitted once a battery cell bursts wherein the list includes ethylene, ethane, ethyl acetate, ethylene carbonate, and dimethyl carbonate, all of which are typical VOCs used in battery off-gassing.). Furthermore, Gibbs teaches “wherein the VOC comprises a compound selected from the group consisting of diethyl carbonate, ethyl acetate, methyl acetate, 1,2-dimethoxyethane, tetrahydrofuran, 2-methyl-tetrahydrofuran, 1,3-dioxolane, 4-methyl 1,3-dioxolane, 2-methyl 1,3-dioxolane, and acetonitrile” (Para. [0061] lists five analytes that may be emitted once a battery bursts wherein the list includes ethyl acetate as an exemplary VOC.). Erhart, Timmons, and Gibbs are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing systems for internal battery temperature stabilization for optimal battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Erhart, as modified by Timmons, as discussed above and incorporate the teachings of a VOC comprising a compound associated with battery off-gassing as disclosed by Gibbs because Gibbs teaches that enhanced sensitivity of analytes when emitted from a battery cell due to high temperature/pressure conditions at a relatively low concentration enhances an early warning system used for detecting thermal runaway conditions (Para. [0076]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erhart, as modified by Timmons , as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and in further view of Hom et al. (US 2021/0384567 A1) . Regarding claims 9 and 16 , Erhart, as modified by Timmons, discloses the thermally reactive capsule of claim 1 and the system of claim 10. Erhart, as modified by Timmons, fails to disclose wherein the threshold temperature comprises a temperature below a temperature associated with a risk of damage to the battery cell. However, Hom teaches “wherein the threshold temperature comprises a temperature below a temperature associated with a risk of damage to the battery cell” (Para. [0041] describes that a critical temperature may be the temperature at which the battery cells are prone to failure or an uncontrolled increase in overheating. In order to prevent this risk of damage to one or more battery cells within the battery submodule, a PCM may be used to undergo a phase change when absorbing heat from the battery cell(s) at a certain predetermined temperature which is below the critical temperature.). Erhart, Timmons, and Hom are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing systems for internal battery temperature stabilization for optimal battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Erhart, as modified by Timmons, as discussed above and incorporate the teachings wherein the threshold temperature comprises a temperature below a temperature associated with a risk of damage to the battery cell as disclosed by Hom because Hom teaches that a PCM can be chosen to absorb heat from a battery cell based on the temperature it absorbs heat at, the material type its constructed with, or its size in order to establish a temperature ceiling below a predetermined temperature to prevent thermal runaway (Paras. [0040] - [0041]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SANTINO M SERVAGNO whose telephone number is (571)270-0847. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, F 8:00 am - 4:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua Allen can be reached at (571) 270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SANTINO MICHALE SERVAGNO/Examiner, Art Unit 1713 /JOSHUA L ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 2 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 3 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 4 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 5 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 6 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 7 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 8 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 9 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 10 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 11 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 12 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 13 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 14 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 15 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 16 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 17 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 18 Art Unit: 1713 Application/Control Number: 18/489,925 Page 19 Art Unit: 1713