DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “recording device” in claims 4, 5, and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell (2016/0069644) in view of Gordon (7194204), further in view of Lacorte (2017/0175081).
In reference to claim 4, Bell discloses a system comprising:
a rangefinder (paragraph 285, “rangefinder”);
a scope operatively coupled to the rangefinder (figures, e.g. figure 14C-2; paragraph 285, “scope”)
wherein the rangefinder is configured to automatically, continuously determine a distance to an object and provide the distance information to the scope, wherein the distance information changes as the distance to a target changes (paragraphs 251 and 285: a user aims at a target and the system automatically determines distance to the target, and updates to the determined distance can be made continuously); and
wherein the scope is configured to automatically adjust focus based on the determined distance to the object provided by the rangefinder and automatically adjust focus and zoom based on the distance information, i.e., changing distance information (paragraph 285).
Thus, Bell discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the scope constitutes a recording device, wherein the recording device is capable of increasing a field of view as claimed, and wherein the rangefinder is an infrared positioning device. Further, Bell fails to disclose a button or a trigger, wherein the button or the trigger is configured to be held down, thereby causing the rangefinder to effect continuous determinations of the changes to the distance to the object and to send the changing distance information to the recording device.
Regarding the scope being a recording device, Gordon teaches that it is known to form a scope as a recording device (i.e., a fully integrated scope/camera), in order to allow a user to capture still images and video of the field of view of the scope (abstract; column 6, second paragraph, element 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form the scope of Bell as a recording device, in order to allow a user to capture still images and video of the field of view of the scope.
Regarding the functionality to increase a field of view, Bell fails to explicitly disclose automatically increasing and decreasing a field of view angle, as claimed. However, it is noted that a field of view can be changed via zooming, and Bell discloses a programmable auto-zoom function (paragraph 285). Further, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to configure auto-zoom functions such that they automatically increase and decrease field of view angles (i.e., field of view) as claimed, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system made obvious by Bell in view of Gordon with the functionality to automatically increase and decrease a field of view angle as claimed, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed.
Regarding the infrared positioning device, Bell discloses that the rangefinder transmits a beam of energy but doesn’t specify infrared energy (paragraph 196). However, the examiner takes Official Notice it is well-known to form a rangefinder as an infrared range finder, in order to render the beam of energy invisible to the naked eye. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form the rangefinder of Bell in view of Gordon as an infrared rangefinder, in order to render the beam of energy invisible to the naked eye.
Regarding the button or trigger of the rangefinder, Lacorte teaches that it is known to provide a rangefinder with a trigger that causes the rangefinder to continuously determine a distance to a target when pressed, in order to allow for dynamic ranging of a target that provides up-to-the-moment range data for the target, e.g., if the target is moving, the range will be changing (paragraph 19). In other words, Lacorte teaches it is known to provide a rangefinder with a trigger, wherein the trigger is configured to be held down, thereby causing the rangefinder to continuously determine changes to the distance to the object.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the rangefinder of Bell with a trigger that causes the rangefinder to continuously determine the distance to a target when pressed, in order to allow for dynamic ranging of a target that provides up-to-the-moment range data for the target, e.g., if the target is moving, the range will be changing (or if the target is large, portions of said target may be disposed at different ranges). Further, as set forth above, Bell discloses that the rangefinder sends the distance information to the scope, and the proposed modification relative to Gordon renders the scope as a recording device, wherein the recording device can adjust the focus and an angle of field of view in view of changing distance information.
In reference to claim 5, Bell in view of Gordon makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above (also see Bell, paragraph 196).
In reference to claim 21, Bell in view of Gordon makes obvious the claimed invention (Bell, paragraphs 172 and 203, “wired-based link or a wireless link,” “wireless links”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 September 2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 4, 5, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 4, 5, and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18 and 20 of copending Application No. 19/022,547 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims set forth each and every feature of the instant application claims, albeit more specifically. Thus, the invention of the reference application claims is a species of the more generic invention of the instant application claims. As such, the invention of the reference application claims “anticipates” the invention instant application claims. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
GABRIEL J. KLEIN
Examiner
Art Unit 3641
/Gabriel J. Klein/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641