DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “recording device” in claims 4 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bay (2014/0110482).
In reference to claim 4, Bay discloses a system, comprising:
a rangefinder (paragraphs 17, 190, and 192; figure 9B, infrared laser beam 615 of infrared laser range finder 20); and
a recording device operatively coupled to the rangefinder (figures 2A and 2B, elements 10+30+40 = a recording device, since elements 10 and 40 control camera 30; alternatively, the entirety of system 100B can be considered a recording device, wherein the rangefinder 20 is integrally housed therein),
wherein the rangefinder is configured to determine a distance to an object and provide the determined distance to the recording device (figure 2B, rangefinder 20),
wherein the rangefinder is an infrared positioning device (paragraph 17; laser range finder 20); and
wherein the recording device is configured to automatically increase a field of view in response to the object becoming relatively larger in the field of view (paragraphs 119, 213, 214, 217, 220, and 256-258; also see figures 9A and 9B, field of view 740B gets bigger if the vehicle 710 gets closer and vice versa, in a manner identical Applicant’s).
In reference to claim 5, Bay discloses the claimed invention (paragraph 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell (2016/0069644) in view of Gordon (7194204).
In reference to claim 4, Bell discloses a system comprising:
a rangefinder (paragraph 285, “rangefinder”);
a scope operatively coupled to the rangefinder (figures, e.g. figure 14C-2; paragraph 285, “scope”)
wherein the rangefinder is configured to determine a distance to an object and provide the distance information to the scope; and
wherein the scope is configured to automatically adjust focus and zoom based on the distance information (paragraph 285).
Thus, Bell discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the scope constitutes a recording device, wherein the recording device is capable of increasing a field of view as claimed, and wherein the rangefinder is an infrared positioning device.
Regarding the scope being a recording device, Gordon teaches that it is known to configure a scope as a combination scope and recording device, in order to allow a user to capture still images and video of the field of view of the scope (abstract; column 6, second paragraph). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to configure the scope of Bell as a combination scope and recording device, in order to allow a user to capture still images and video of the field of view of the scope.
Regarding the functionality to increase a field of view, Bell fails to explicitly disclose automatically increasing and decreasing a field of view angle, as claimed. However, it is noted that a field of view can be changed via zooming, and Bell discloses a programmable auto-zoom function (paragraph 285). Further, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to configure auto-zoom functions such that they automatically increase and decrease field of view angles (i.e., field of view) as claimed, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system made obvious by Bell in view of Gordon with the functionality to automatically increase and decrease a field of view angle as claimed, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed.
Regarding the infrared positioning device, Bell discloses that the rangefinder transmits a beam of energy, but doesn’t specify infrared energy (paragraph 196). However, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to form a rangefinder an infrared range finder, in order to render the beam of energy invisible to the naked eye. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form the rangefinder of Bell in view of Gordon as an infrared rangefinder, in order to render the beam of energy invisible to the naked eye.
In reference to claim 5, Bell in view of Gordon makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (5631699) in view of Kang (KR 20080112757 A).
In reference to claim 4, Saito discloses a system, comprising:
a rangefinder (column 5, last two lines, to column 6, lines 1-3); and
a recording device operatively coupled to the rangefinder (paragraph bridging columns 5 and 6; camera 10),
wherein the rangefinder is configured to determine a distance to an object and provide the determined distance to the recording device (paragraph bridging columns 5 and 6),
wherein the recording device is configured to automatically increase a field of view in response to the object becoming relatively larger in the field of view, i.e., wherein the recording device is configured to automatically increase a field of view in response to the object getting closer to the recording device (paragraphs bridging columns 5 and 6; figures 11(a) and 11(b)).
Thus, Saito discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the rangefinder is an infrared positioning device, i.e., an infrared rangefinder. Saito does mention that the rangefinder (distance measurement sensor) can be shared with an autofocus (AF) mode/function of the camera. Kang teaches it is known to form such a rangefinder as an infrared rangefinder, in order to provide a cost-effective, ubiquitous, and widely available option that also provides strong performance in dark conditions (see provided translation, page 3, line 12, to page 4, line 7). Kang discloses that such a rangefinder is commonly found in current phone cameras, i.e., they are extremely well-known. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rangefinder of Saito as an infrared rangefinder, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a cost-effective, ubiquitous, and widely available option that also provides strong performance in dark conditions.
In reference to claim 5, Saito in view of Kang makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above (see cited portions of Kang).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that the examiner relies on a conclusory statement regarding the proposed modification to the scope of Bell to render said scope as a combination of a scope and recording device. However, the examiner’s rejection presents a clear teaching by Gordon that it is known to configure a scope as a combination scope and recording device, and clear motivation for doing so—in order to allow a user to capture still images and video of the field of view of the scope. Thus, it is clear that the examiner does rely upon a mere conclusory statement. Further, Applicant argues that the claims do not recite a scope, but the examiner notes that the transitional phrase “comprising,” found in claim 4, does not preclude the prior art from disclosing a scope as relied upon in the rejection.
Applicant also argues that the examiner improperly relies upon Official Notice in the rejection of claim 4 under Bell in view of Gordon. However, the examiner notes that the Official Notice was originally asserted in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 01 July 2024. Further, Applicant did NOT traverse the examiner’s assertions of Official Notice in the reply to said Non-Final Rejection. Thus, the well-known in the art statements were taken to be admitted prior art. See Ahlert, 424 F.2d at 1091, 165 USPQ at 420.
Specifically, the statement that it is well-known to configure auto-zoom functions such that they automatically increase and decrease field of view angles (i.e., field of view) as claimed, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed, was taken to be admitted prior art. Also, the statement that it is well-known to form a rangefinder an infrared range finder, in order to render the beam of energy invisible to the naked eye, was taken to be admitted prior art.
Further, Applicant was clearly informed of the above information in the Final Rejection mailed 03 January 2025. Thus, the examiner’s reliance upon Official Notice in said Final Rejection was clearly proper, since Applicant failed to traverse said Official Notice in response to said Non-Final Rejection. Nevertheless, Applicant now traverses the previously untraversed assertions of Official Notice. In response, the examiner provides the following as documentary evidence to the statements of Official Notice.
Regarding the assertion pertaining to auto-zoom functions, Applicants attention is directed to the above-cited prior art references to Bay and Saito, which both disclose auto-zoom functions that automatically increase and decrease field of view angles (i.e., field of view) as claimed, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed.
Regarding the assertion pertaining to a rangefinder as an infrared range finder to render the beam of energy invisible to the naked eye, Applicant attention is directed to the above-cited prior art references to Bay and Kang, which both discloses such.
Thus, Applicant’s newly asserted traversal of the examiner’s reliance on Official Notice is now moot, considering the provided documentary evidence. The examiner asserts that the above-rejections, including that which relies upon Bell in view of Gordon, either disclose or render obvious the claimed invention.
Conclusion
GABRIEL J. KLEIN
Examiner
Art Unit 3641
/Gabriel J. Klein/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641