DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “recording device” in claims 4, 5, and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell (2016/0069644) in view of Gordon (7194204).
In reference to claim 4, Bell discloses a system comprising:
a rangefinder (paragraph 285, “rangefinder”);
a scope operatively coupled to the rangefinder (figures, e.g. figure 14C-2; paragraph 285, “scope”)
wherein the rangefinder is configured to determine a distance to an object and provide the distance information to the scope; and
wherein the scope is configured to automatically adjust focus based on the determined distance to the object provided by the rangefinder and automatically adjust focus and zoom based on the distance information (paragraph 285).
Thus, Bell discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the scope constitutes a recording device, wherein the recording device is capable of increasing a field of view as claimed, and wherein the rangefinder is an infrared positioning device.
Regarding the scope being a recording device, Gordon teaches that it is known to form a scope as a recording device (i.e., a fully integrated scope/camera), in order to allow a user to capture still images and video of the field of view of the scope (abstract; column 6, second paragraph, element 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form the scope of Bell as a recording device, in order to allow a user to capture still images and video of the field of view of the scope.
Regarding the functionality to increase a field of view, Bell fails to explicitly disclose automatically increasing and decreasing a field of view angle, as claimed. However, it is noted that a field of view can be changed via zooming, and Bell discloses a programmable auto-zoom function (paragraph 285). Further, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to configure auto-zoom functions such that they automatically increase and decrease field of view angles (i.e., field of view) as claimed, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system made obvious by Bell in view of Gordon with the functionality to automatically increase and decrease a field of view angle as claimed, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed.
Regarding the infrared positioning device, Bell discloses that the rangefinder transmits a beam of energy, but doesn’t specify infrared energy (paragraph 196). However, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to form a rangefinder an infrared range finder, in order to render the beam of energy invisible to the naked eye. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form the rangefinder of Bell in view of Gordon as an infrared rangefinder, in order to render the beam of energy invisible to the naked eye.
In reference to claim 5, Bell in view of Gordon makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above.
In reference to claim 21, Bell in view of Gordon makes obvious the claimed invention (Bell, paragraphs 172 and 203, “wired-based link or a wireless link,” “wireless links”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues that Bell does not disclose a recording device. The examiner agrees that Bell does not disclose a recording device. However, the examiner does not rely upon Bell to teach or disclose a recording device. The examiner relies upon Bell to disclose a scope having a rangefinder and distance-based autozoom and autofocus.
Further, the examiner relies upon Gordon to teach that it is known to form a scope, similar to that of Bell, as a recording device, i.e., a fully integrated scope and camera (see Gordon, element 1), in order to allow a user to record images and/or video of a target scene. Thus, the examiner concludes that is would be obvious to form the scope of Bell as a recording device, by fully integrating the scope with a camera, in order to allow a user to record images and/or video of a target scene.
Thus, each and every limitation of claim 1 is taught by the prior art, albeit not in a single reference. However, the examiner has clearly addressed each and every limitation, and pointed to the relevant portions of Bell and Gordon. Fully integrating the scope of Bell with a camera, as taught by Gordon, would not somehow remove the distance-based autozoom and autofocus of Bell, as seemingly argued by Applicant. The distance-based autozoom and autofocus provide desired image characteristics for a target scene, whereas integrating a camera into the scope of Bell forms said scope as a recording device capable of recording images and/or video of said target scene.
Once the scope of Bell is fully integrated with a camera, as proposed, the resultant combination reasonably meets the term “recording device.” In fact, Gordon specifically labels the fully integrated scope/camera combination as a “photographic firearm apparatus,” which certainly constitutes a “recording device.” Thus, the examiner asserts that the proposed modification of Bell in view of Gordon makes obvious the claimed invention, wherein the motivation to modify lies in the increased functionality (e.g., video capture) provided by a camera fully integrated into the scope to form said scope as a recording device.
Double Patenting
Claims 4 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18 and 20 of copending Application No. 19/022,547 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims set forth each and every feature of the instant application claims, albeit more specifically. Thus, the invention of the reference application claims is a species of the more generic invention of the instant application claims. As such, the invention of the reference application claims “anticipates” the invention instant application claims. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GABRIEL J. KLEIN
Examiner
Art Unit 3641
/Gabriel J. Klein/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641